BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1975

Cullum & Maxey Camping Center, Inc.

Phone: (615) 889-1600Fax: (615) 391-4296

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
10/31/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Tires were represented as new when we purchased a used RV, and although they were clean and apparently shiny with a "tire treatment" they weren't new
WE recently traveled from Arizona back to Tennessee and suffered a blow out on the rear driver's inside tire. We were stranded on the side of the road for over four hours with an elderly mother on board while we waited for **** ***'s to respond. We were no where close to civilization and were hesitant to replace one used tire with another, so we asked for a REAL new tire, only to discover it cost us an additional $165.00 since it was Saturday. We paid $440.03 for the entire ordeal. ****** and ***** failed to stand behind their salesman when they informed my husband we didn't purchase an extended warranty on the tires. We did purchase the extended warranty on the RV, but were never offered the option on tires. Of course, we were told they were new, but the tire man changing our flat showed my husband a 2008 manufacture date. I feel C&M put us in jeopardy by sending us out to RV with tires that had evidently sat for years and deteriorated or just didn't care.

I would not recommend anyone do service with a company who lies to their customers. We gave them an opportunity to make it right and they refused. The necessary trip to our home with a 90-year-old suddenly became more serious with a 4-hour delay. We specifically asked about the tires as anyone with safety in mind would do, and to be told they were brand new was a blatant lie and disregard for the safety of anyone using the vehicle. I'm ******.

Desired Settlement
I feel ****** & ***** should have the moral turpitude to stand behind their vehicles and want to make this right. I want them to pay for the tire, replace the existing ones and apologize for our inconvenience. The trip alone was costly enough without the added expense of a new tire at such a ridiculous rate, and now we are faced with purchasing new ones all around because of advice we received from a person in the tire industry.. Obviously C&M lacks a conscience, so I plan to share my opinion about them in as many places as possible. I only checked the health issue because the added stress of a four hour delay on the side of a road in the desert certainly had an adverse outcome on her state of mind.

Business Response
I don't know anything about this, if Mr. or Mrs. ******* will give me a call I **** try to resolve the problem. Thanks you, *** *****

Consumer Response
Mr. ****** contacted me first thing this morning and agreed to pay for the bad tire. As far as I'm concerned he displayed a true caring for the BB rating for his company and the pride he feels in his business. This problem has been fully resolved to my satisfaction and I would very much like to change my rating to a five to demonstrate the appreciation I did experience with the company especially having Mr. ****** contact me directly. It's clear that Mr. ****** is a man of integrity and stands by his good name.

11/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
No Warranty on Repair/Unsatisfactory Repair/Broken Part When Returned to Customer, 2 times.
Brought RV to dealer for repair in December of 2014 for Slide Out Repair under insurance costs. When picked up the unit, the electric steps were not working, but were completely operational when I brought the unit to them.
Dealer would not be accountable for the step failure and wanted to charge me to fix them. I also was not satisfied with the slide out repair, called the dealership and stopped by numerous times to re-adjust, and dealer would do nothing.
Dealer told me that the issue to the slide out room was a "auto body" repair, so took it to a body shop in *************** TN. The body shop said it was the RV repair issue.
So in October of 2015, I brought it back to Cullum and Maxey to have the owner look at the slide, *** *****. While *** and a Tech from the dealership was in the RV, I put the slide out, and it failed and jammed in front of them.
So I left the RV with Cullum and Maxey for about 2 weeks to repair the slide out for second time, and they charged the insurance company an EXCESSIVE 2,600.00.....
When I went to pick up the RV in latter October, there was caulking in excess on the slide out and very unprofessional job was done. I needed to get the RV that day, but could not. They agree to reseal the side out, so went the following day to get it, and they didn't get it done. So I took it and had to bring it back again for reseal.
But the day that I picked it up and before I left the dealership, I signed the 2,600 check over to them and proceeded to drive away. When I started the RV, I heard the electric steps making a grinding sound. I went and got the tech, and told him my "steps are not working" he said, "OH, I was going to mention that to you, thought you knew that." So I had to take an RV on the road with the steps that could open and tear off and possibly cause an accident and dealer did not care.
When I went back on Monday, November 2, 2015 to finally reseal the RV, I talked with the owner, *** ***** and asked him to repair my steps, because they had been working when I brought it in, and not working when I PICKED IT UP....THEY ARE ACCOUNTABLE FOR THINGS THAT BREAK.
*** said, "if we caused the steps to fail, they would fix them, but of course they couldn't find the dealer at fault, and wanted to charge me again to repair them. I said "no" to the repairs and will fix them myself.
*****, the service manager told me, "Once we reseal the unit side out, they are DONE with this RV....no return - no warranty"!!
So here I am with a RV that is "so called repair" and with no warranty and broken steps that I have to repair again myself.

Desired Settlement
I want the cost of the Electric Step Conversion Kit of $212.13..$100.00 Labor and $100.00 of my time going back and forth to this dealership at least 10 times over this UNIT. 10 DOLLARS x 10 time.....my time is worth something.


TOTAL COST: $412.13

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@***************
Mr.****** brought his 2002 Motorhome to us in December of 2014 for repairs. He told us he had been in an accident and had it repaired at a bus company in town and the work wasn't done properly.
He then took it to another RV dealer in town and they couldn't repair it either. We told him it really needed to be taken back to the factory to be fixed properly, but the manufacturer is out of business so we would try to help. We have told him since he first came in he needs a conversion kit for his steps and he doesn't want to spend the money and he put a new motor on the step himself thinking it would fix the step. For us to have broken his step gears is impossible. I have 3 work orders on this motorhome so I don't know where the 10 times he has brought his motorhome to us is coming from. There was a little excess caulking on the repairs and we cleaned it up. He has tried to extort the step conversion kit out of me and I have told him no and I am going to continue to tell him NO. I have told him a couple times he needs to get rid of the motorhome, because the slide-out will never be the same because of his wreck. I would prefer he take his business elsewhere.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all...I did not take my RV to another dealer in town between the two repairs that Cullum Maxey did.

Second... I am not using the step repair as extortion....

Cullum Maxey is starting to use strong accusations of my behavior (EXTORTION).... and that will not be tolerated by me...

Cullum Maxey knows that they did not use good judgement with keeping my RV from damage/ miss-use concerning the steps...this is the second that i received the RV with non-working steps from them....so they are negligent in proper care and storage of a item during repairs. The steps were working properly when brought in the second time...new they are not!

If any business has an item in their possession... It needs to returned in the same condition as it was brought in....not worse!!

I am still seeking the same financial reimbursement from Cullum Maxey



Final Consumer Response


Final Business Response
If Mr. ****** will call me I will be glad to discuss our options in this matter

11/14/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
****
I bought a 2014 Kodiak 300 BHSL on June 12, 2014. The salesman name was ******* I have a 2 page list of problems with this camper from minor stuff to major items such as the trim falling down throughout the camper. I took it back within 1 week of having it with a list of problems which never got fixed. I spoke with Dutchman RV and they advised me to get my camper from ******* ***** property and take it somewhere else. The camper is a lemon. I am financing the camper. I have spoke with just about everyone to try to get this resolved with no luck. I would be appreciated if I can get some help with this matter.

Desired Settlement
I need them to replace my camper or refund my money. I have asked them to replace it several times. All talks have stopped with them after the owner told me to come in and pick a item from his store to make everything right. I am only asking for them to do what is right in the matter.

Business Response
Mr. ******* purchased a new Rv on June 12th of 2014. He did bring the camper back after his first trip on July 7th to get some warranty work done, which is typical on a new RV and returned July 22nd to get the LED lights on the awning fixed. That was the last time we have heard from the *******. I talked with ******** (The Manufacturer) and they stated they talked to him twice in July and that he was unhappy with the air conditioner and it didn't cool to his liking. The factory said he took the camper to ******** ****** in his hometown of ************* TN on August 1st for a couple of adjustments and that's the last time the factory has heard from him and the last time any warranty work has been done. I have all the documentation from my service department and the factory to support everything. I don't remember telling him to come in and pick something from the store, but I do occasionally offer a gift certificate to reimburse customers for gas if they have traveled a long way. He lives approximately 40 -50 miles away so I was probably just trying to be nice. The factory does not reimburse for fuel. I will be glad to do any warranty work that needs to be done.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
******** RV told me to go get my camper and take to another dealership. ****** ******** They were not happy with the time frame that ******* & ***** was working in. ******** said they would deal directly with ******* & ***** about that. It does not do any good to go back to ******* & ***** to get my camper fixed. It will just sit there for another 2 weeks and not be fixed. The camper is a piece of junk and they will not warrenty it. I am trying to get back in touch with ******** to get them involved again. (They are not responding.) I have pictures of the camper and I believe Candy Camper will be honest as a third party in this case. I am dealing with a lady named ******* I have exhausted my resources trying to get this problem corrected.

Final Business Response
I talked with Mr. ******* today and he stated the camper is still at ******** ******* getting the warranty work done. I told him I will be glad to do the warranty work and talk with Dutchmen to resolve his issues.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did speak with Mr. ***** on XX - X - XX. We have not resolved the problem yet. I plan on continue the conversation next week. I feel like we are still a long ways from resolving this issue.

10/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to complete warranty work on Keystone camper
We purchased a Keystone Fuzion RV at an authorized Keystone dealer in December 2012 that required warranty repairs. Keystone recommended Cullum & Maxey for warranty repairs because they are a local authorized dealer. On July 29, 2013 we called and made an appointment for our camper to have the warranty work performed on August 12, 2013. On Aug.12 we delivered our camper to Cullum & Maxey.

Approximately 2 weeks after my appointment date, I called for a service update. I spoke to a lady in the service department (I believe her name is ****** and was told: They had not yet gotten to my camper.

One week later, I went into the service department at Cullum & Maxey for a service update. I again spoke to a lady in the service department (I believe her name is ****** and was told: They did not know when they would be able to get to the warranty work on my camper because I did not buy my camper with Cullum & Maxey. When I asked her about the fact that I had called two weeks in advance to make an appointment for the service and now my camper had been sitting on their lot for three weeks, she reiterated that since my camper was not purchased with this retailer, my warranty work was not a priority and she could not give a time for the service to be completed (or even started). During this conversation, I told Tonya that I would need the camper repaired and ready for pickup by September 18, 2013 for scheduled trips we having camping in the fall.

I am reporting this shoddy service because our camper has been sitting in the sun and untouched on their lot for over a month. I made an appointment in advance for the repairs that are covered under warranty and each time I have contacted Cullum & Maxey to inquire about the progress I have been expressly told my service work is not a priority. I now need to get my camper back, unrepaired for my family fall plans. Cullum & Maxey have done NOTHING to attempt to repair the defects with my camper and are apparently trying to force my repairs outside of the covered warranty time.

Desired Settlement
I would like for Cullum & Maxey to perform a complete check on my camper and perform all of the required warranty work before September 18, 2013 as previously scheduled and requested. If this is not possible, then at a minimum, I would like for them to perform a complete check on my camper by September 18 and order all of the needed parts to complete all required and requested warranty work. On September 18, I need to come back and pick up my camper but at that time I would like to schedule a mutually satisfactory date when all service work will be completed within 2-3 days.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ***** **
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@***************
Mr ********* brought his 2012 Keystone Fuzion 5th wheel to the dealership for service warranty work. He was told we were very busy, but we would try to help him. The service writer explained he was considered outside warranty and we had to take care of our customers first. After I received this complaint I called the customer and he said he came in and picked it up and was "pleasantly surprised" the work had been done. I explained to him that Camping World is a Fuzion dealer and they are 2 doors down from us. He told me he did not like Camping World and he prefer we do his service work. I have no problem doing his service work, but he has to realize that we have to take care of our customers first. His service work did take longer to do than either one of us would have liked, but we did the repairs when we could and got him on the road for his fall trip. That being said the service was slow, but not SHODDY in anyway.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.