BBB Business Review

Text Sizesmall medium large

BBB Accredited Business since

I Drive Smart, Inc.

Phone: (301) 605-7761 Fax: (301) 605-7791 View Additional Phone Numbers 30 Courthouse Sq Ste G2, Rockville, MD 20850 http://www.idrivesmart.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We are a professional driver-education program founded in 2004 and best known for our slogan: Driver's Ed Taught by Cops! We guarantee active-duty or retired police officers provide 100% of the instruction and that each in-car session is personalized. Our Instructors share real-world life experiences. We focus on smart decisions, good judgment, and creating a safe driver for life! We provide all required training to become licensed in our areas of operation (CA, DC, MD, VA), which includes classroom instruction, online learning, and behind-the-wheel training.  We also offer supplementary in-car training, specialized training to prepare for the final driving test (Driver's Test Support), manual transmission training, customized refresher training (e.g., for seniors or adults), customized corporate driving training, and skid-avoidance training (known as Skid Car). Our online platform allows busy clients to register, schedule sessions, and complete all required documentation for licensing online, without trading messages or chasing paperwork.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that I Drive Smart, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for I Drive Smart, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on I Drive Smart, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 27, 2005 Business started: 02/02/2004 in MD Business started locally: 02/02/2004 Business incorporated 02/02/2004 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA)-MD
6601 Ritchie Highway NE, Glen Burnie MD 21062
http://www.mva.maryland.gov/businesses/dealers/
Phone Number: 410-768-7000
BusinessLicensing@mdot.state.md.us
The number is C00246.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Thomas A. Pecoraro, President Ms. Norma King, Office Manager Mr. Patrick May, Vice President of Sales & Mktg
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas A. Pecoraro, President
Business Category

Driving Instruction Driving Proficiency Test Service Auto Driving School Drivers Education

Products & Services

I Drive Smart, Inc. offers the following product(s): Behind-the-Wheel (In-Car) Instruction (toward state licensing or supplemental/refresher training), Corporate Driving Training, Driver Education - Classroom, Driver Education - Online, Driver's Test Support (parallel parking, two-point turn, backing into a space; helps prepare for road skills test and for "tight" driving situations), Manual Transmission Training, SkidCar (for skid avoidance)

Method(s) of Payment

Discover Card, Visa, Mastercard, electronic check (eCheck), check (if mailed to our corporate address)

Refund and Exchange Policy
Within two years of purchase, we will provide a refund of unused services for any reason, with a charge of $25 to cover transaction and processing costs. If a client has completed a portion of the training, we will prorate the refund based upon the portion of total services represented by the unused services. Clients have two years from the date of purchase to complete all training. At two years, the account will become inactive and any unused training will expire and cannot be refunded. A client can reinstate an account that has become inactive, and any associated unused training, by paying a Reinstatement Fee, which currently costs $179 but is subject to change.
Alternate Business Names
Driver's Ed Taught by Cops
X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.