BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/06/2013

Modloft

Phone: (305) 779-9130Fax: (305) 779-9131

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
05/03/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
False information presented about a product to make a sale.
On 3/14/2016, I e-chatted with a sales rep by the name of Veronica. During this encounter I inquired about the measurements of the individual draws of the Park Tallboy dresser; specifically the drop/depth. Veronica told me the depth for each individual draw was 6 inches with no further information to go on but her word I proceeded to purchase 2 dressers. After, the purchase I received a coupon via email that I decided to apply to the order so I initiated another e-chat to see if some else could assist... again I received Veronica. Veronica was very helpful in assisting with applying the coupon and adding 2 bedside tables to the order. During the exchange I requested that I receive a new sales receipt via email to reflect the changes before I was billed, this did not happen. In fact I never received an amended sales receipt and only learned of the withdrawal to my account my daily checking my banking statement.

This was only the beginning of what was to come next. On 3/24/16 I received the 2 dressers and 2 bedside tables but hardware to affix the metal base on 1 bedside table had not been included, my inspection also resulted in finding that the draws for the dressers was smaller than was told to me which, actually measured 3 3/4 in depth. I immediately called the company and asked for a manager to discuss the problem at which time I was told I could speak to Ryan who would help. I explained to Ryan that I was given the wrong measurements and that the dresser draws were too small for me and my family at 3 3/4 inches and not 6 inches and about the missing hardware. Ryan appeared to only want to discuss the missing hardware and not the deceitful informatin given to me which, was the bigger issue. I asked Ryan for his email so that I could send him pictures of the measurements I had taken; he did such. After emailing the pictures and a complaint to him, Ryan insisted that there was 6 inches in usable space because I could use the empty space above the 3 3/4 inch edge. This was not the case and would have ended in clothing spilling into the back of the dresser because there is nothing to confine the items. Ryan then requested I take video of the problem and send to him... this was done and again Ryan gave me a song and dance about how this had not been an issue to other customers, and because this was a sale item it was non-returnable but proceeded to offer me a discount to buy another item all in the same email exchange. I insisted to Ryan that I would like to settle the issue amicably by his company taking responsibility for the deceitful information given and returning the product and my money. Ryan then in an effort to minimize responsibility stated there had been "miscommunication" about the product but never offered to rectify the issue. He then ceased all contact. I requested that I receive a full-refund and they pick up and ship the product back to their warehouse with no cost to me.

Desired Settlement
I have requested and continue to request a full-refund for all items purchased and for the company to pick up and ship items back to their warehouse with no cost to me.

Final Consumer Response
From: <*************@aol.com>
Date: Mon, May 2, 2016 at 2:43 PM
Subject: Case # XXXXXXXX
To: ****@bbbsefl.org


Mod loft contacted me to resolve the case and I am content to report that the issue has been resolved amicably.

06/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Modloft takes the issues of all eight drawers of dresser and nightstands as result of humidity and mistreatment
I purchased all Modloft furniture through Nationalfurnituresupply.com. I got ************ MD321-DR-***, and MD321-NS-WEN. Since Nationalfurnituresupply has been transferred my problem to the customer service of Modloft. I assume they NationalFurnitureSupply.com has been an intermediate sale relationship with Modloft. Therefore, all the response I receive comes from Modloft.

I purchased all items on 8/30/2013 and received all items on 10/01/2013. The order number is XXXXXXXXX. After using about 1 month, I found out one of the drawers had weird sound when I opened it. Turns out, it was the screws underneath the wood panel that were loosing off. So, when I tried to tighten it, I could not do it since the holes were too big to tighten again. I had to use woodfiller to make the hole small so I could retighten them. All right, problem solved after this one! However, afterwards, turns out more drawers had the same issue. So I sent an email with images about the problems to NationalFurnitureSupply.com which transferred the email to Modloft. The response was due to the mistreatment and humidity, they could not do anything. So I had to use wooldfiller again to solve the problem.

After a couple weeks, more and more drawers indicate the same problem, so I could not deal with it anymore but sent another email to Modloft with more images about the same problem for about all 8 drawers. The response was the same; due to the humidity and mistreatment, they could not solve the problem.

I meant seriously? I just moved into the new-built house in 9/2013. And does it just happen that I would mistreat all 8 drawers including nightstands and dresser? About humidity, I live in Maryland, not in Florida in case if you notice. Talking about humidity, we always control humidity level inside the house so please save the humidity excuse.

Desired Settlement
It was my first time to purchase Modloft furniture and the experience was not so great due to the customer service. I'm looking forward to another solution that Modloft can offer.

Business Response
This customer purchased the dresser and nightstands from National Furniture Supply, who were not advised of any problems until three months after delivery. Also, the customer did not report the initial problem to either National Furniture Supply or to us. Moreover, the customer attempted their own repairs (using wood filler and chemical liquid cleaner) this moistened the wood and caused crumbling, this was the 'humidity' issue that was referred to and was not any reference to humid weather as the customer claims. The customers own attempts at repairs has of course invalidated their warranty. Despite this our Customer Support Team and Damage Assessment Team have tried to work with the customer and were trying to come to some compromise with National Furniture Supply. There had been the expectation that the customer would have allowed us and National Furniture Supply to opportunity to do just that and thus that their complaint to you was somewhat premature.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, I hope your company indeed contacted with National Furniture Supply after talking with me on the phone on May 16th, 2014. And I did contact with National Furniture Supply through email and phone calls previously. So based on your word, if there is a problem about the quality of the furniture after using 3 months. I cannot address that? Again, let me repeat. I indeed did repair on my own on 1ST drawer. Can you count how many drawers there are for 2 nightstands and 1 dresser? Total of 8! Rest drawers basically demonstrated same problem later on. I took pictures one by one with pencil written number marked and sent them all to national furniture supply. By the way, if your comprise was finding me a furniture Doc, please save it because I have to spend time to take every piece and pay to repair a set of furniture that I have used less than 1 year. If there is a a problem of communication between you and National Furniture Supply, please fix it to get the additional images before judgment and make the correction about your communication system. Now, I really do not expect anything from you or national furniture supply since I'll be your first and last customer.

Final Business Response
We responded to the customer directly and discussed the case with him. Following which the customer advised that he was withdrawing his complaint and confirmed that he would advise BBB accordingly.

03/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Product arrived badly damaged
Product chipped, broken in in 3-4 places

Desired Settlement
Removal of product.

04/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Worse Customer Service! Not Honoring "Worry Free Gurantee", I have E-mail to Prove it!!!
I have had the run around with Ryan in Sales by e-mail. I have spoken to Supervisor Daniel several times in the past due to Five Star delivery not being completed. My mirror did not come complete with all parts. I requested for Modloft to pick up the Mirror. On 04/05/2016, I spoke with Veronica and requested to speak to a Supervisor and stated that Daniel was not available twice and transferred me to Ryan. I could go on and on about Ryan but I will not. If you need the 21 page print out please let me know, I will fax it to the BBB and/or Modloft.

Desired Settlement
Honor "Worry Free Guarantee" Policy especially after not informing Customer

Business Response
Modloft is happy to stand behind its policy (seen here at http://modloft.com/store/worry-free-guarantee). The policy stipulates the following condition: "Return in the original packaging: Our products are well packaged for shipping purposes. Without the original packaging, we will not be able to accept your return." This stipulation is not in small font size nor is it remotely ambiguous. This policy exists because without the packaging, we have no means of safely returning a product to our warehouse. With respect to missing parts, we've asked the customer for clarification on which part is missing without a reply. If a part is missing, we'd absolutely overnight the customer the part requested free of charge.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Better Business Bureau, thank you for allowing me the opportunity to respond to this matter. I was originally informed by Modloft that 5star delivery was not included for the mirror. With that being stated, the delivery men unpackaged it as a 5 star delivery and took all the contents with them. Modloft needs to contact them and have them pick up the mirror and have them redeliver it to them. As I stated previously demand a refund due to not being informed of such policy and selling a product with missing contents. If I can be of further assistance please feel free to contact me via the BBB. Respectfully, ****** ******

Final Business Response
Customer has claimed that he was not informed of our policy, however, it is very clearly stated on our site, in very clear and direct language.

An applicable excerpt is:
___________
To complete the return, all you need to do is contact our support team and send the item back to us in its original packaging. We'll issue a full credit as soon as it hits our doorstep. All we ask is that the item makes it back to us in its original shape. Easy breezy.

The Details (In Bold Letters)
We're pretty upfront about our products and services, and will not surprise you with any hidden fees or costs. We do place a few limitations on our returns policy, but we think that they are fair.

Return in the original packaging (In Bold Letters)

Our products are well packaged for shipping purposes. Without the original packaging, we will not be able to accept your return.

http://modloft.com/store/worry-free-guarantee
___________________

Our delivery company will not discard any portion of a customers order without explicit permission from the customer.

Customer has still refused to tell us what portion of the mirror contents were missing, as soon as we are informed we will overnight him the items at our cost.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
PLEASE REFER TO FAX SUBMITTED TO BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU ON 04/15/2016.

RESPECTFULLY,
****** ******

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.