BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

City Furniture, Inc. (Headquarters)

Phone: (954) 597-2200 ext 7200Fax: (954) 718-3342

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

330 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 122 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues17
Billing / Collection Issues12
Delivery Issues26
Guarantee / Warranty Issues71
Problems with Product / Service204
Total Closed Complaints330

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (330)
06/20/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought a bed frame for city furniture had it delivered and put together the installers ripped bed frame and my box spring mattress and noone will help
I bought a platform bed frame aug 3,2015 had it delivered
spent 592.64 Horrible delivery drivers they show up I show them where bed frame is going to go as I am showing them the area I am picking up the 2 box springs from the floor and my Mattress I show them everything is in good condition I tell them don't worry about these we will put them in the frame when your done but they didn't listen. the drivers were getting ready to leave so I went and check on there bed frame as I was walking around it the leather wrap around was ripped and the left side of the bed frame was not put together right I have this bed frame in a queen Size I told them to come back and fix it and I asked the short delivery guy what happened why is it ripped he said I don't know I said I am not keeping the bed so he called customer service from my cell phone because his did not work the delivery guy wanted us to put a service call in I said no it's ripped I want a new piece the customer service person on the phone said anything attached to the ripped piece had to go back which this piece is attached to the whole bed so whole bed has to back these delivery guys were mad said now they were not going to get paid for the delivery as the tall delivery guy went to truck to get his drill again I said how did the bed really rip he said it was him when he went to put my box springs in the new bed frame he dropped them on the leather and ripped the bed I told both of them it;s not my fault they were not getting paid but the bed has to go back I am not keeping a ripped bed . do they started taking the bed frame apart they were dropping stuff on the floor they were throwing stuff arounfg left mt front doors wide open for over 30 minutes it was raining out tracked dirt all over my floor and when they were taking the bed frame out they scraped my new fresh painted wall we just moved into this house and had whole house painted they tried to leave partial bed parts so they would get some credit for the delivery but I said no take the whole bed .so after they left I called customer service to report the whole incident how the bed frame they delivered they ripped they ripped my box spring, dirt all over the floor , and scraped my wall they called the drivers and the drivers said none of this is true I sent customer service pictures of everything the delivery drivers also stood in my drive way and tool there city furniture shirts off and put regular t shirts on they could have done this in there truck .so on 8/18/2015 I drove to the store asked for store manager he was busy got the assistant Weston *********** told him then story he refunded me 592.54 the price of the platform bed he then said he would have the highest supervisor at warranty call me the same day never happened I asked for district and regional managers names Weston's reply to me was they don't deal with those kind of issues my reply its customer service issue so I left waited one day no call from supervisor went back to the store finally was able to speak to the store Manager Paul ******** he was no help his exact words to me was you got your refund what else do you want . I asked if he knew what happened he said yes and basically told me he I was LIAR he's very rude and no help he also told me he was going to have a supervisor call me i week later i get a phone call from christian he is at customer service he also has a partner *** he left me a message I have called both of these people 7 times each no return phone call there numbers XXX-XXX-XXXX ext XXXXXX
since this incident I have had 2 other furniture companies delivery furniture and no issues at all . city furniture you have customer service issues , delivery issues and this needs to be taken care of I will proceed to next level if I have to . I can send pictures upon request or get with your customer service dept they have them .

Desired Settlement
I will only accept money or you can get with temper pedic on sending me a new box spring for my bed if it wasn't for you delivery drivers being upset and mad in the first place my box spring would be fine none asked them to but the box spring or the bed in the bed frame I told them myself and husband would take care of it now I have a ripped box spring that looks horrible and city furniture does not want to pay for it or help The store manager is very rude and no help at all and could care less the box spring costs 127.00 . if city Furniture does not pay for the box spring I will take this further I have spoken to a Lawyer about the whole situation and there are things I can do I am giving city Furniture one last chance to fix this situation .

Business Response
invoice XXXXXX/17

On 8/15/15, the customer called in and reported the damage to their existing box springs. We interviewed the technicians, who denied causing the damage. As per our policy, we denied the customer's claim since the claim was not reported with the technicians in the home to confirm what happened. As a sign of good faith, we called the customer on 8/28 to offer her a $100 gift certificate or check. The customer did not answer the phone and a voicemail was left to return our call for assistance. There has been no contact between us and the customer since then.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
City Furniture is saying they denied the claim because we didn't call while technicians were in my house we called within 5 minutes of them leaving we went to inspect the bedroom and thats when we found dirt all over the floor wall was scraped and chipped and box spring was ripped the reason why we went back to the bedroom to check it out was because the delivery guys damaged the new bed they were delivering and had to take it back none has ever called me to offer me a gift card or a check for 100
dollars I have spoken to store manager and assistant manager numerous times and customer service and everyone has told me sorry there is nothing we can do for you . I want a check for the whole amount to replace my ripped boxed spring which is 127.84

Final Business Response
XXXXXX/17

We attempted to reach the customer on few occasions. We want to assist the customer with her box spring. We offered the customer $100.00 as a check or gift certificate for the box spring and the customer declined. We sell box springs and were trying to be able to offer her one similar to what she currently has in her home. In order to process a check for the full amount requested, we will need a receipt showing the cost of the item.


Final Consumer Response
What is the status on this it's been over 30 days I provided the
Receipt they wanted to show how much I paid for the box spring also I agreed I would accept a check for the amount and I have heard nothing back when I went on this site today it says the complaint is closed ?

****** **********

06/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a new bedroom set from Ashley Furniture,but they delivered damaged, unusable furniture on two occasions.They have breached their contract.
Original Invoice: XXXXXX/39
Reselect Invoice: XXXXXX/39
Purchase Date: 3/26/16
Original Model: Demarlos Dresser/Mirror, Bed, 2 nightstands
Reselect Model: Tanshire Dresser/Mirror, Bed, 2 nightstands
SKU: XXX-XXX, XXX-XXX
Reselect SKU: XXX-XXX
Payment Amount: $2428.05
Payment Method: VISA Debit Card
Problem Date/Delivery Date: 3/28/16

* Photos were taken of all damage *

Ashley Furniture delivered and assembled the bedroom set in my home on 3/28/16. Upon inspection, I found damage on all 4 pieces. The Customer Service Rep told me they would send out a furniture repairman. The Furniture Repairman came to our home, painted over the damage, and cleaned stains on upholstery. However, you could still see where the repairs were made. Also, there was a problem/defect with the wood finish as it chipped easily with normal use (lamp, alarm clock being set on it). The finish actually came off with the scratch of a fingernail and was not fit for normal/intended use.

I requested a refund. Customer Service denied this request and gave me the option of "reselecting". The exact same bedroom set in the 2 showrooms I visited also had similar damage...and the finish scratched off with a fingernail. Customer reviews for the Demarlos set on the Ashley website confirmed this same problem, so the only option was to pick a different bedroom set. However, Ashley does not carry another set in the same color and kind as my original purchase. I was forced to get a different color (light brown instead of cream) and different kind (non-upholstered bed).

The "new" bedroom set was delivered on 4/30/16. Upon my inspection, there was (again) damage on all 4 pieces. Also, the wood finish was not the same as the pieces in the retail store as it did not have the "distressed finish" that is also advertised on their online site. The mirror itself does have the distressed finish, but it does not match the un-distressed dresser it is attached to. Customer Service offered to send out a furniture repairman or give me a $75 gift card. I have not accepted either offer and requested a refund, which they denied.

When I initialed the "no return policy" on the Ashley contract, there was the assumption that the furniture would be as described by Ashley and fit for its intended and advertised use. There is also the assumption that I was buying new, not damaged, furniture. Ashley Furniture has not provided the product as promised and is in breach of contract. They have misrepresented their product and made false statements. It has been longer than 30 days and I have not yet received the new, useable, like kind/quality/color furniture that I purchased.

I should not have to suffer because of
Ashley Furniture's mistakes! I have lost over 3 days of my personal time waiting on furniture deliveries and repairmen. I have lost time talking to ******** service reps, going back and forth to their retail stores, and writing this complaint. I have lost my personal time with my children and family. This has been a month of continuing stress for me. I do not have the new furniture that I paid $2428.05 for. Ashley Furniture should have the consequence! I am asking that they pick up their damaged, unfinished furniture from my home and return my money in full.

Desired Settlement
I would like Ashley Furniture to pick up the damaged, unfinished furniture from my home and refund my money in full.

Business Response
6XXXXX/39
XXXXXX/39

We apologize for the many issues that the customer had surrounding her purchase. We are picking up the customer's items on Saturday 5/21 and issuing her a full refund.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
City Furniture/Ashley Furniture has not refunded my money. They picked up their damaged furniture a week ago on 5/21/16 but they have not refunded my $2428.05. I called them yesterday and today, but no one has an answer for me regarding this matter. The first customer service rep told me it would be 3 to 4 days.

Final Business Response
There are a total of 3 credits that were processed for the customer. These are the dates and amounts:

5/28/16 $2141.06
5/28/16 $ 166.09
5/30/16 $ 120.90

These credits total $2428.05. They should have been received by the ******** depending on how quickly her credit card company returns the funds.



Final Consumer Response
After several phone calls, I did receive a full refund (in 3 parts) to my account on 5/31/16.

06/06/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Damage to doorframe when a sofa was delivered.
On 4/19/16, they delivered a sofa and were having problems getting it in the house. I did examine the sofa once it was inside and it seemed fine. However, after the delivery men left, I saw the damage to the door frame. It was severe and I'm sure they need what they did, since they were having problems getting the sofa into the house. I immediately took pictures and called customer service and also went to the store. Now I am being told that unless the delivery drivers admit to causing the damage, they will not pay for the damage. This was a brand new house and everything was new. The damage wasn't there before hand and I have a video to prove it. They need to fix the damage or pick up the furniture and refund my money so I can then afford to fix the damage. They have told me for a week that they have tried to get in touch with the drivers. It doesn't take that long to get in touch with them.

Desired Settlement
I want the damage repaired. If they aren't willing to do that, they can refund my money and pick up the furniture.

Business Response
6XXXXX/37

We apologize for the issue with the ********'s delivery. We reviewed the pictures (attached) and the damage does not appear to be fresh, but old damage. We have asked and are waiting for the customer's video to see what it shows.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There is no way this could have been old damage. Everything in the house was brand new. If their drivers denied being responsible for the drivers, then then drivers are liars. I have witnesses that can attest to the fact that the damage was new. They have not requested any video and haven't responded at all.

05/13/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Negotiated a monetary settlement and still awaiting some 5 months later!
City furniture sold us bonded leather furniture. A sleeper and sofa for our living room and a total of 6000$ Worth of purchases from their store. Several discussions over the phone with Ms. *** ***** from the CT headquarters and finally want to end all of this and agreed to a 250$ settlement which is ridiculous! Still awaiting the cheque promised by Ms. ****** All excuses are good. (ex. wrong address, maybe it came back, US to Canada mail is long etc!!)
Bonded leather furniture should not be sold. It is ripping not only the furniture but ripping off clients who purchase it. It will last for about one year and then it starts to rip and tear. As a client I was not informed of this and maybe that is how they do business. Get the cash , then forget the ********. No refunds, no replacement of said article and certainly they are not going to take back the furniture. I purchassed it for our condo in Florida which we visit 4-6 weeks per year. So the furniture does not get used very much yet it looks like it was taken from a dump.
Since they are not honoring the refund promised I Wonder if I can file a refund charge against them.
Very frustrating!!

Desired Settlement
A refund or exchange of the furniture would be great! I also have bonded leather dining room chairs that will soon suffer the same fate as my living room furniture. Help!! What can be done?

Final Consumer Response
Finally,I received the cheque in the amount of
265$. I am happy that BBB accepted my case and I am now aware of the postings of business whereby I can make an informed decision before purchasing articles or seeking service.
Thank you.
I have no compliments for City Furniture for they give no Customer service. I makes no sense that customers spend thousands of dollars at their store and they see fit to settle with little monetary value. Frustrating.

04/20/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dining room table not even a year old and is wearing terribly and has two different finishes. Kitchen table is made poorly and is a few months old.
Our dining room table was delivered the end of November 2014. A month or so later, we noticed the finish was turning white or faded. It progressively got worse. I mentioned it to our sales lady. She just recommended cleaning supplies. I e-mailed ******** service. They told me they could not help me and to call a store that deals with wood. I thought that was the most ridiculous answer. I didn't know what else to do. The end of September 2015, we needed to use the leaf of our dining room table. When our furniture was delivered, the men never opened the table and we trusted that it would be in perfect condition. Wrong. The finish is completely different from the rest of the table. The finish is great and does not get ruined like the other part of the table (chairs have a terrible finish too). I e-mailed the warranty and quality control departments with pictures and everything. I have not gotten a response. Very disappointing. The invoice for this is XXXXXX. Our salesperson is Betty ******** The furniture is SKU XXX-XXX-X, XXX-XXX-X, and XXX-XXX-X. It was purchased with a City Furniture credit card. The total was $1,279.85. We also paid $172.99 for 3 year in home service. Now they are refusing to come to our home.

Feb. 2015 we had gotten our Sanibel dark tone round high table and 4 barstools. It would scratch easily with the slightest touch. Furniture should be usable, not having to watch every move. We only put paper plates and napkins on it to eat, nothing heavy. As time has moved on the whole table is scratched up. I would expect this after 3-5 years not less than a year. Again, I call our salesperson and write to City Furniture. No response. The order is XXXXXX. The sku numbers are XXX-XXX-X and XXX-XXX-X. The total was $1,116.30. We also paid for the 3 year in home service which is included in the total I provided. We paid with the City Furniture credit card.

I find this company and their value for customers unacceptable. They should honor the services we paid for and realize the furniture is not made to last.

Desired Settlement
We wish to have the furniture evaluated. We would like the furniture to be repaired or replaced accordingly. We want City Furniture to accept responsibility for poorly made furniture. They need to actually see the two different finishes of the dining room table. This needs to be fixed if possible or exchanged. The high table needs to be looked at as well to see why it scratches more easily than it should, and either be refinished or replaced. They can take everything back and just give us our money if that is easier.

Business Response
5XXXXX/03
XXXXXX/03

We have pictures of the Encore table (attached) and it has been damaged in the home. These marks are not due to a manufacturer's defect. We offered the customer to purchase another table at cost of $250.00 but the condition of the table does not warrant and exchange.

We do not have pictures of the Sanibel table. Scratches are not considered to be a manufacturer' defect. We do not service scratches and will not refund the customer's money.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This company is soooo not honest and does not accept responsibility. So quick to blame customers. Pictures were sent for both sets. Anyway, since they are being impossible and will obviously never come out for the 3 years we paid for in home service, we would like our in home service refunded for both tables. I am not going to waste money on a service they will never honor because everything is the customers fault.

Final Business Response
We have the accounting department working on the cancelation and refund for the customer's In Home Service in full. If there is still a balance on their finance account, this will be credited in the next one to two billing cycles. If not they will receive a check in the next 10-14 days. There are 2 invoices, one is for 172.99 and the other 80.00.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Glad to be getting our in home service money back.

Page 1 of 16
06/28/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been waiting for a bed I purchased for 5 days. They have scheduled 3 deliveries.They showed up twice without the hardware and didn't show once
On Thursday April 14,2016 I ordered a bed (model Preston Canopy XXX-XXX-X)from City furniture. It was supposed to be delivered Friday April 15th along with other pieces purchased form Ashley Furniture. When the delivery truck arrived we were told they did not have a bed for us. After asking them to check again they realized that they did have the bed in the truck. They unloaded and began to put it together but were missing hardware for the headboard. After talking to customer service We were told that the delivery truck would leave the pieces for the bed except for the headboard. This was an inconvenience as we were moving into a new house and doing many projects and there were pieces all over the floor. They would return Sunday April 17 with the head board and missing hardware. We asked that they come next day ( Saturday April 16) but they refused because they were all booked. My husband called and made sure with customer service that they new exactly what they had to bring (hardware for the headboard). They said yes that they knew. We waited at the house on Sunday and the next delivery truck showed up. they entered with the new headboard and started sifting through the pieces. Then one of the employees asked my husband where the hardware was. We spoke with customer service again and they said that my husband could drive to ft. Lauderdale, pick up the hardware and assemble the bed himself. I told them absolutely not that I would be going to the store to get my money back. We went to the store and spoke with our sales person and a manager. they refused to refund us our money because "cancellation has to be 24 hrs before delivery." I asked how I was supposed to cancel an order I didn't know was going to be missing pieces. The response I got was "sorry for the inconvenience". They scheduled a 3rd delivery for Monday April 18 between 5pm and 12am. I explained that I wake up very early and I would like to be on the early end. I waited until 9:30pm and called customer service. My husband asked them to locate the truck and find out an estimated arrival time. Customer service was unable to contact the delivery truck but told us they were at the stop right before us and should be on their way shortly. My husband asked them to tell him exactly what they were delivering and they said "footboard hardware". When he told them that that was incorrect and we needed head board hardware they responded "yes yes that's what you're getting." We waited up until 11:15 when we called again. This time customer service was able to reach the driver and told us our delivery had been cancelled because for the 3rd time they were missing the proper hardware. We asked why we had not been notified earlier and were given no response. We requested to be contacted by the customer service supervisor and were advised that we would be.On April 19th at 8 am I spoke with Tamara, a Sales supervisor. She said she could refund my delivery fee of $20.01 and I could "reselect" which means exchange my bed for another. I explained that I did not want to exchange. I want my money back. she said that because the bed was left in pieces at my house I can not return it. I told her I did not choose to have the the furniture left. I wanted them to take it and they refused. I asked to speak to her supervisor to which she said there was no other supervisor. I told her to make sure the items were delivered today and early as oppossed to at midnight, she said she can't control when it arrives. I let her know I would be reporting to the BBB.

Desired Settlement
I understand that mistakes happen and had it been one incident where they forgot the hardware I would have no issue, things happen. But their lack of communication with each other and with me is unacceptable. I would like the hardware delivered and my bed assembled as well as a full refund of my purchase price.

Business Response
XXXXXX/08

We apologize for the numerous issues with the customer's delivery. We spoke to her and her bed is now properly set up and she is satisfied. We are sending her a gift certificate in the store for her inconvenience.

06/10/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We purchased a sofa from Ashley furniture last year with a stain removal plan. We recently got a blind dog who unfortunately marked the couch on several locations to help him learn his way around the house. We called about the Warrantee and after waiting an hour they sent us another product to try to remove the stain. When that didn't work I called again and waited 30 minutes to speak to someone and was scolded for not calling with in 5 days which I had with the previous call. They documented all the stains and after waiting weeks to get someone actually out here to remove the stains they were unable to. I was then told that they would replace the pieces that were marked (over 80%) of the sofa but that they could not guarantee the colors would match with what was left of the sofa. Additionally it could be up to 6 weeks to get the pieces which I will have to store and once all the pieces where in they could then set up the 3+ hour installation. But again the color match is not guaranteed
Product_Or_Service: Sofa
Order_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Replace the entire unit so that all pieces are the same color and so that it won't be dragged on for two more months

Business Response
6XXXXX/31

The sofa was received 2/26/15. The first call was on 3/28/16. It is noted on the customer's invoice that the customer called and states that the accent chair is dirty and that the sleeper has food stains. We explained to the customer that stains need to be reported within 5 days of their occurrence. We mailed the customer a cleaning kit in an attempt to assist. The customer called back on 4/14/16. The customer then told us that the stains were from dog urine and had occurred 2 weeks prior. We advised that customer that we do not do an all over cleaning but that the program they purchased was for spot cleaning. We then set up an appointment for a certified repair professional to visit the home to try to remove the stains. The technician was unable to remove all the spots so we ordered replacement parts for the sofa. The stains weren't reported in a timely manner and we do not guarantee color match. The sofa has been in the customer's home for over a year. If parts are available we will try to replace the parts first. If we are unable to obtain the parts, we will exchange the sofa.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They are stating the same facts and the dates two week prior to 4/14 coincided with the date we called. Their facts don't even match up with what we discussed the food stain was on the chair not the sofa. And those stains came out. We stated from the beginning the sofa was due to to dog urine. So again my complain continues to be that my sofa will be different colors and we are waiting for pieces to arrive over a 6 week period and then for an opening in a technicians schedule so it will be months before they attempt to fix the couch that will not be color matched. They response is basically that they will do nothing more than what they have already said

Final Business Response
We advised that customer that we do not do an all over cleaning but that the program they purchased was for spot cleaning. We then set up an appointment for a certified repair professional to visit the home to try to remove the stains. The technician was unable to remove all the spots so we ordered replacement parts for the sofa. The stains weren't reported in a timely manner and we do not guarantee color match. The sofa has been in the ********'s home for over a year. If parts are available we will try to replace the parts first. If we are unable to obtain the parts, we will exchange the sofa.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Again they are just repeating the exact same things they are not providing any additional information. Additionally since then i have only received 3 cushions and have had 0 correspondence letting me know the status of the other parts.

they keep repeating that we have not reported stains in a timely matter which i have repeatedly discussed but they keep repeating the same response.

I do not feel that they are going to make any further resolution and again not color matching an item does not seem like an adequate replacement.

06/07/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
White bonded leather sectional falling apart
We purchased a white sectional bonded leather sofa from City Furniture in Miami in 2013. We apparently also purchased the warranty for I believe $150 which at the time we were not even aware that we were getting and paying for a warranty. In the late spring of 2015 we noticed a couple of cracks in the bonded leather which quickly escalated over the summer to heavily cracked and pieces of leather coming off. In January 2016 I went to the same store where we purchased the sofa to inquire. The sales person told me there was nothing he could do as our warranty had expired. This is the first we even heard about having a warranty. He said that actually they did not even carry the bonded leather any longer as there were so many problems with it , thereby admitting that they had sold us a product that was faulty. He said he could credit us $150 for the warranty if we bought a new sofa there. We declined, because why would we buy another faulty item at a store we feel is being dishonest. In March 2016 we contacted and filed a claim with city furniture for the sofa as at this point it is not even usable. I was told over a chat that the manufacturer had a 5 year warranty on the product. After that we received a call from customer service claims telling us they would give us a 30% discount on a new sofa in store. We called back twice to speak to someone telling them we were not satisfied with that solution and that we didn't want to purchase anything else at their store. We got no resolution and we were denied access and conversations to escalate to a manager.

Desired Settlement
We are asking for a refund of our purchase price.

Business Response
XXXXXX/05

We apologize for the issues that the customer has with her sofa. The sofa was delivered on 9/5/12. The ******** purchased our In Home Service Program which extended her one year manufacturer warranty to three years. This expired on 9/5/15. The customer reported that her sofa was peeling on 3/30/16 (over 6 months past the warranty expiration). The warranty is not for 5 years and we still carry some bonded leather products. We try to assist customers with peeling issues for 5 years by ordering parts if they are available from the vendor. We cannot get parts for this sofa; it has been discontinued.

We offered the customer the option to purchase a new sofa set at a 30% discount off the retail price. The customer has the option to purchase a new sofa with a 30% discount until 6/1/16. We will not refund her money.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We don't accept the businesses response as 1) we didn't even know we had extended warranty on the sofa, apparently that was added without our knowledge or being explained. 2) even if we had known and reposted during the warranty apparently, based on reviews and BBB complaints, these are hardly ever resolved to the customers standards or resolved at all. 3) a sofa should not be peeling after 2,3,4, or 5 years - that is a mistake on the manufacturers behalf and should be corrected. Apparently city furniture IS aware of this defect and has therefore discontinued not only this sofa but other bonded leather items, as I was explained by the rep in store that was trying to sell me another sofa. He said there had been problems with the bonded sofa and therefore they don't carry it any longer. 4) a 30% discount on a new sofa? We will never buy again at a store that doesn't stand behind its product therefore a 30% should be at least be refunded to us on the sofa we did buy, that we could no longer use after 3 years of having it. We went to Rooms to Go and were told that they also had an issue with the bonded leather products they sold but they actually fully refunded or replaced their customers defected furniture. THAT is a company that stands behind its product!!!
So thank you for your reply. You probably will not care, but you have lost us as a ******** and I will make sure you will loose any friends I can warn about your product!

Final Business Response
We apologize again for the customer's issue. We will not refund the ********'s money for the sofa or any portion of what the customer paid for the sofa. We follow the manufacturer's warranty on all items we sell, and the warranty for the sofa expired. We understand that the ******** is not satisfied with our option of a 30% discount towards a new sofa but we will not offer additional compensation.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Did not expect anything different from this company. This case is closed for us. What poor ******** service practices.

06/06/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We purchased leather recliner set at City Furniture and 11 months later we noticed that the leather is peeling. Claim Denied
We purchased leather recliner set at City Furniture and 11 months later we noticed that the leather is peeling. After 2 unsuccessful attempts to have City furniture fix the problem, I have decided to take them to small claims court and attempt to inform folks that everyone needs to be attentive when purchasing insurance/extended warranty. We are led to believe that everything will be fixed by the extended warranty, but sadly this is not the case. The sad thing is that in my interpretation of the extended warranty, this is something that should be covered. I am really hoping for 2 things.

1 to have them contact me and reconsider their decision and repair the piece

2 to spread this message to as many people as possible.

Desired Settlement
I wish for City Furniture to repair this problem

Business Response
6XXXXX/33

We spoke to the customer back on 3/22/16. We advised him that we were going to file a claim with Ashley Furniture's quality control department. We needed to obtain the serial numbers and pictures of his sofa and love seat. We advised the customer that we were going to send a certified repair professional to his home to take pictures and get the serial numbers. The repair company went to the customer's home on 3/25/16. He told the customer that the issue was not due to a manufacturer's defect and it is noted that the customer asked him to leave. The repair technician was unable to obtain the serial numbers. We spoke to the customer today. He sent one serial number and will look for the other. In addition he will send pictures of the overall items so we can see where the damage is located on the items. Once we have this we can submit a claim to Ashley on the customer's behalf.

05/27/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was sold a product that they do not have in stock to sell.
I went to the Sunrise location and the salesman showed me a sectional, bonded leather. I was very specific that I wanted bonded leather not microfiber since I have cats and I had to be cleaning the couch all the time with the microfiber I had. I was there with my daughter that is 36 yrs old and we both sat on the couch and yes it was bonded leather not microfiber. I went through financing because I was also buying a dining set. My credit was checked and approved and I went through with the purchase on 4/9. Yesterday 4/13 I went on line to check the measurements on the couch and when I typed the item number on the invoice a microfiber sectional came up. I sent email to the salesman asking him to correct the invoice. He calls me and tells me that I was wrong that the couch I saw was a new type of microfiber and that they do not carry the couch in bonded leather. My daughter and I sat on the couch, it was not microfiber. I was then told that they do not carry the cough in bonded leather. I asked to speak with the store manager and was transfer to an assitant manager and got the same results from him. My 36 yr old daughter an myself, 59 yrs old, can not tell the difference between bonded leather and microfiber. I then contacted corporate office and asked to speak with a corporate manager. I was referred back to the store manager in Sunrise. End result, they do not have the couch I agreed to purchase.
I have a credit inquiry in my credit report, I have an open account with a credit company with a balance. Yes the cancelled the sale at my request, but if I go try to finance elsewhere it going to show credit inquiries and a credit account opened. Their behavior is irresponsible and their sales practices not acceptable.

Desired Settlement
They need to fix the issue with the credit company and removed the account and the credit inquiry from my credit report because both are negative transactions on my credit. It was wrong for them to sell me something they are not able to deliver and had me go through a credit application and open a credit account to buy something they do not have or they need to find me a bonded leather sectional comparable to the one I aggred to buy for the same price and that is satisfactory to me. They have caused me unnecessary stress and burden and the behavior of their salesman and assitant manager is unproffesional and borderline insulting.

Business Response
6XXXXX/03

We apologize for the issue that the customer had with the sofa. The sofa is made from microfiber designed to look and feel like leather. We display this on our showroom floor as microfiber, and it states microfiber on the customer's receipt (attached). If the ******** selected the Serina sofa, this is the correct sofa. We do not have a way to remove the inquiry from the ********'s credit bureau report. She applied for credit and was approved. If she no longer wants to have the credit card, she can cancel it with the credit card company.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My daughter has the same couch they showed me and is called Tribeca and she was there with me and we both sat on it and I was very clear to the salesman NO MICROFIBER so obviously they are not telling the truth. The salesman listed what they have on stock. They are selling items they do not have and then trying to bully the customers into something else. AGAIN.... I WAS VERY SPECIFIC NO MICROFIBER. See link below.

http://www.cityfurniture.com/catalogsearch/result/?material=780&q=tribeca

They should be ashamed of the way they disrespect customer and their sales tactics.

Final Business Response
6XXXXX/03

We apologize for the issue with the customer's sofa. The customer's invoice (attached) states that the name of the sofa she purchased is the Serina and it is brown microfiber. She signed this invoice in the store at the time of purchase. The Tribeca sofa is bonded leather and only comes in black and white. We review the invoice at the time of purchase with the customer. She signed off on this purchase. She called on 4/13/16 and spoke to a store manager. He asked her to come to the store to confirm what sofa she wanted prior to delivery. She insisted that we were lying to her and canceled her purchase. She was refunded in full.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was very clear with the salesman that I did not want microfiber I wanted bonded leather . He showed me and my daughter a TriBeCa brown sectional , the same couch me daughter has and rang a different couch. I did not check the receipt I did not expect him to ring a different item .

They have the TriBeCa bonded leather in black and white you can find it on their website . Again they tried to push on me the wrong couch. Customers check your reciept they are not trustworthy and have no remorse. I will never buy anything from them and I continue to tell everyone I know what they did to me.

Page 1 of 50
07/28/2016Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail, Furniture Designers & Custom Builders, Furniture Manufacturers, Chairs - Rent, Furniture - Wholesale, Office Furniture & Equipment - Rental & Leasing

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.