BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2007

Shred-It, Inc.

Phone: (630) 633-9990Fax: (630) 462-1079

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
12/04/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After repeated communications with Shred-It Management regarding the unethical and deceptive practices of their salesperson, Ms.************** we feel unfairly harassed by the collections department regarding a terminated trial service.

Ms.***** misrepresented both the capability of Shred-It and the terms of our trial period, to make a sale. And while we have provided the paper trail, communications, and testimony of office personal supporting Ms.*****'s false claims, Shred-It continues to ignore the facts, and harass our firm.

In August of 2013, Ms.***** presented Undo Identity Theft Inc. with the opportunity to use the Shred-It service. While it was not something our shared office space was considering, Ms.***** proposed a unique offering to accommodate the business model.

Our office environment is one that has five (5) different businesses occupying the same unit. It was made clear that if we considered using Shred-It, each of the businesses would require individually generated "Certificate of Destruction" documentation, specific to their company. Ms.***** assured us that this would not be an issue, and included that we could enroll in the program on a trial basis, to insure the documentation and the service would be accommodated for the shared office environment.

Upon presentation of the contract, September 16, 2013, we addressed the three (3) year term in the agreement and were assured by Ms.***** that it was not an issue, because of the unique situation. We relied on her representation of the agreement, and signed the contract.

After the first document pickup on November 18, 2013, we received the "Certificate of Destruction" documentation for Undo Identity Theft only. We immediately addressed this problem with Ms.*****, and were assured that she was going to have it resolved and provide individual documentation for each business in the office.

We made repeated attempts over the next few weeks to get the "Certificate of Destruction" matter resolved. Ms.***** ultimately responded on December 10, 2013 with, "Haven't forgotten about you..." to an email sent on December 04, 2014.

After we paid for two pick up cycles with no effort to provide individual "Certificate of Destruction" documentation as promised, it was determined that the service was not of value to our group. We contacted Shred-It to terminate the service and were informed they do not offer trials, and that the three (3) year contract was in force.

Ms.***** has since denied any recollection of her offer and maintains that our group agreed to the three (3) year term in the contract. While we relied and trusted Ms.***** at her word, her denial of ever having the discussion, is our cause for this communication.

All five (5) companies in the office space were aware of Ms.*****'s unique proposal, the need for individual documentation, and mutually agreed to a trial of the service based on the "Certificate of Destruction" requirement being met.

Shred-It's unwillingness to acknowledge the misrepresentation by Ms.***** has caused us grave concern for our business reputation, and feel a strong need for the BBB to intercede.

We await your response - thank you,
******************* VP
Undo Identity Theft, Inc.



Desired Settlement
Our request is simple. Honor the trial offer made by the Shred-It salesperson, Ms.*************** remove your Shred-It container from our office, void any existing invoices (services not performed after second pickup), and terminate the agreement without any early termination penalty, as was promised.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***********, Acct Mgr
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***********************
Upon discovery of the client's formal complaint, we have reversed all actions as a representative for client satisfaction.

Consumer Response
The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated:


Business Response
The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated:

11/06/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service was terminated in December 2012. Containers which held shred material were returned. Received bill for service in May 2013. No service was provided. Discussed with company and agreed with company to pay $35 to settle all outstanding 2012 service issues. Check written in Full Accord and Satisfaction and agreement of manager that account was closed with no amount owed. Check was cashed by Shred-IT. The problem invoice number is ********* ********* account number was ********. The amount involved is $32.35.

Desired Settlement
Close account, honor agreement that no amount owed and full accord and satisfaction notation on check and stop sending bills for which no service has been provided.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title:**************, CSM
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: *************************
As of current (11.6.2013) this account does not owe any amount to Shredit, and the matter is considered closed. The account has been closed since June.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I agree with this resolution so long as Shred-It does not send another invoice like the one sent October 1, 2013 indicating an amount owed despite the account being closed with no amount owed.

04/29/2013Problems with Product / Service
04/15/2013Delivery Issues
04/08/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Paper & Document Shredding, Identity Theft Protection & Prevention Services, Office Records - Destruction

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.