BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Georgia & the CSRA

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2007

Mid Georgia Propane

Phone: (478) 474-3414Fax: (478) 474-3130

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
07/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
in january i switched propane company (after using mid.ga. propane for about 27 years) to ********* propane. so i called mid ga. pro propane to tell them that their tank was ready to be picked up, they said it would be two to three weeks (because of the weather and a lot of people needed their tanks refilled). i said ok, four weeks went by tank is still there. so i called and asked to speak to a manager and she tole me two or three weeks, i tole her thats what y'all said a month age, and she basically tole me we will get it when we can. that was 6 months ago and that big ugly tank is still sitting there killing the grass

Desired Settlement
come pick the tank now, and pay $60.00 for storage of there tank for six months.

Business Response
I spoke with **** ****** today, her tank is scheduled to be picked up on Tuesday, July 8, 2014.

05/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Have requested that they pickup their propane tank since Nov XXXXX. Have called numerous times & have been told they would pick it up, but haven't.
I called first of Nov 2012 to tell them that we had changed propane companies. Unsatisfied with service for a while. Decided to make a change and called & notified Mid Ga Propane that I wanted them to pick up their tank. Was told they were extremely busy, but would get it by Jan 1, 2013. Called several times and had appoints for pick up. Still they missed appointment dates. Last call was the week of April 21-25, 2014 spoke with **** and was assured that they would come get it. It is an eye sore in our yard and I can't work in my flower bed. All I want is for the tank to be gone from our yard.

Desired Settlement
We only want the gas tank gone. I want to work the flower bed and plant new shrubs.

Business Response
****** ****** is scheduled for 05/20/2014. She actually called me while I was getting it scheduled so she is aware of the pick up date.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was told the pick up appointment was 5/19/14. That if the tank was not pickuped by 4:00 PM to give her a call. So I need to know if it is for Monday the 19th or Tuesday the 20th.

Final Consumer Response
The tank was picked up at 3:50 PM on 5/20/2014. Thank you so much for your assistance. We can now clean it out and get ready for a flower bed - probably for next year. It's rather late this year. Really appreciate your assistance. Thanks so much.

05/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
For almost 6 mos I have been contacting them to return a tank that I no longer require.
I first contacted them in Nov of 2013 to cancel my service and requested they come and pick-up their tank. Dec 2013 I received a bill for the tank rental. I called on 01/01/2014 at 4:49 pm and spoke to someone named Kim. She told me my account would be credited and my tank was scheduled for pick-up on 01/19/2014.

My account was credited but, I have called every month since 11/2013 to have this tank removed from my premises and to date the tank is still sitting on my property. I understand that during the cold months people who required gas for survival were a priority so I didn't make a big fuss over it. The weather is not an excuse anymore and hasn't been for some time now.

I guess when you are still a paying customer you get some kind of service. All I have been getting is lip service, "Yes, I see your order and I promise someone will be at your place of residence on (date) to pick it up. I'm really sorry for the inconvenience."

Every month the same thing, I'm sick and tired of it. I want this tank removed from my property so I can move on with getting some other work done.

Desired Settlement
This tank removed from my property.

Final Consumer Response
Surprisingly they finally sent someone out yesterday to pick-up the tank.

09/30/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company delivered gas without being called or asked while we were not home. They want us to pay for gas and we refused.
On 17 May 2013 we were out shopping and Mid Georgia Propane came and put gas in our tank. We did not call them or ask them to deliver the gas. We called and told them on several occasions that we were not paying for the gas we did not order it. Now they have billed us and added late fees to it. This is not right. We have our own tank and we told them after having been over charged on a bill before that we did not want to do business with them anymore. Then they come out and put gas in out tank anyway and want us to pay for it.

Desired Settlement
that we don't owe any payment on the gas they delivered

Business Response
We have reversed the delivery and all charges associated with the delivery. We will send notice to the consumer's provided email address informing them of such.

05/30/2014Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 2
02/11/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company repeatedly has not delivered propane to our residence on numerous occasions.
I have been a customer for many years. The company does not deliver propane when called and most times several calls must be made before it is delivered. Several times they have charged me 100-125 dollars for emergency delivery fees when we have run out of gas when the company was previously called several days before to come out. I have been given various excuses such as management change, not on the route anymore, no drivers available. Many times I have been told propane would be delivered that day and had to call back days later because it was not delivered.
The customer service is poor and they do not inform customers of extra delivery fees.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of monies paid to Mid-Georgia propane for all the aggravation it has caused me every time I am out of gas and they have not delivered it as promised.

Business Response
We have reviewed the order and delivery history of Mr. *******'s account. According to our records, each delivery was made on the 4th day after the order was placed. Our company policy for will-call customers is to deliver within 5-7 business days. Each delivery was made within the guaranteed delivery date. We do offer forecast deliveries, whereas we keep the tank checked and filled on a regular route and have a no run-out guarantee. 24/7 emergency service is provided if we let a forecast customer run out of gas.

For will call deliveries that require emergency service, off route and leak check charges apply, and are clearly outlined in our company's terms and conditions, and are related to the customer prior to delivery.

If you have any other questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us.

Thank you.


***** *****
District Manager
****** Gas: ****
Office: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Office: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I must clarify the will-call customer issue. We were on-route or forecast delivery customers. The tank was not checked or filled on a regular basis. When I would call to ask why I was told there were no drivers available because they were having problems keeping drivers. So I switched back to will call since they weren't coming per the on-route agreement. The forecast delivery policies are also clearly outlined in the company's terms and conditions. They did not abide by their terms and conditions on that policy.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Gas - Propane, Gas - Propane - Equipment & Supplies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.