BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/14/1990

O'Laker's Moving, Inc.

Phone: (813) 249-6683Fax: (813) 880-8300

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
08/26/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My experience with 3 Guys Moving was the worst experience I have ever had. I wouldn't recommend them to my worst enemy.
On 4/8/2013 I received an estimate from **** for my move. He told me that if they did the total packing using there boxed everything would be guaranteed if damaged or lost. I am a senior citizen and though confusing I went with it. They packed and put my things in storage for 9 months. Paying $350 a month and $2787.50 1/2 of the moving estimate. On 2/1/2014 the moving truck arrived in ***** ****** The minute the driver arrived he was upset and rude because it was a way too far drive and he had to leave soon because he had to be back in four hours, which didn't give him too much time. The other drivers were contracted and wanted us to go to Publics and get chicken and do we have any beer! They started throwing boxes around. Carrying my desk by the hinges, broke the top completely. The legs from my sofa got broken, and the list goes on. They never put the beds or mirrors together. My granddaughters $1000 crib was in pieces, they lost some of the parts. The best is that they left my grand piano in pieces on the living room floor. The peddles are missing and the piano itself is so badly damaged that it left me in tears to see it. In speaking with *******,she sent someone to put the legs on. He used spare garage screws to put them on. A heartbreak because the piano was very expensive but something always wanted. That was all the did, the piano is damaged, chipped in many places. Theory should of told me they had no experience in piano storage. 5 boxes are missing along with other items that I never received, including my living room end tables, bedroom lamps and china and crystal items from my dining room. The driver and movers left before putting together even the beds, saying that they were missing the parts. So everything was left unessembled. The driver was aware of the damages and missing items and boxed and told me not to sign the inventory sheets because if
I did they would not be responsible for the loss. ******* did sent someone to stand up the piano but that was all. She said because of the distance I would have to put in a claim with a 3 rd party, ****** ****** .***. Finding out later that they are 3Guys Moving! I also notified my credit card company to hold payment until this was resolved. ******* called me yelling and threading me. I was so upset I notified the police.
She was so mad that I felt she was coming to my home or at least send someone to get her money! Is this the way a company conducts themselves? Now This so called 3rd party company is willing to pay me .60 per pound? They own me thousands of dollars.....until they repair and replace the things that they stole from me they will not see any more money from me. I can't believe in this country they can get away with stealing . I would never recommend this irresponsible rude and unprofessional company. They should be ashamed of themselves being so dishonest.

Desired Settlement

I want to have all the damages repaired and replaceme
nt of the items that were lost.

Business Response
I first will start by apologizing this costumer feels this way. It was our understanding until recently, customer was satisfied with our staff. There is a hand written note from her on the bill of lading stating (Excellent service very professional ) I did provide a copy.
As to the packing services we provided, If our company performs the packing and damage occurs we do in fact cover the damage since we packed it. The claims have been submitted to the claims department.
A third party, neutral company that is not 3 Guys Moving.

The hardware to the piano and to the beds were in fact left at our facility. To resolve this issue we first contacted this customer, apologized and set up a piano expert in her area to come and set up the piano, please see receipt.
While also on the phone we discussed the bed parts. This customer explained....do not worry about it, my son in law got parts and they are already together. If in fact they were not we would have hired someone in her area to resolve.

Damage to piano; I have attached the contact info for the piano expert. He stated based on his experience, the piano is old and has severe termite damage and has had termites for years. In addition ,An inventory and preexisting damage was noted on the piano before we moved from the original home. Customer signed and was left a copy.
I have also included a copy. If new damage is noted, it will be covered.

The credit card company did side with us and all monies have been returned to our company, now the claims can be settled.
The claims made to the 3 rd. party claims department are being reviewed and a settlement check will be sent if in fact monies are owed.

Please let me know if you need further info.

Thank you.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is crazy. I did put in a comment that the service was good at the time I was being packed I did not write a comment upon delivery. I signed nothing!!!? I did not sign anything stating my piano was damaged upon pick up, my piano was in perfect condition and I once again signed nothing!!! My son in law did put all the beds together but that is not the point they should of been put together as part of customer service they took them apart they should of put them together. They broke the legs of my sofa, broke the leg off a very expensive
Piece of furnature, broke the hinges off my secretary desk,my living room 2 end tables are missing, wall mirror broken corner,wooden artwork never got here along with 3 boxes with things from my dining room in addition to other items including my late fathers tool box, which they have in their office, stated ms Samatha. So what is there explanation and excuses now. My neighbor told me I was crazy to go with 3Guys Moving and I believe they are right. I never mentioned the peddles to my piano so what are they talking about. Let's stay with the claim and not make excuses for there actions. They stole from me and unless I have my things fixed and compensation for my loss I will continue to advertise.....you stole from me 3Guys and I will keep on talking until you make it right. Also my credit card company did not take your side they were pressed by you. I promise this will not end. Why am I paying storage and freight for things you stole from me??? Which I never received.

You company should be convicted of stealing...........




Final Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We sent a proposal to the customer to settle the claim. The customer will need to sign and notarize the form and return it to our office and the check will be released. As for the piano damage, the documents have been sent to BBB and the customer was given copies during the move.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As of today the 3rd party company, ****** ****** .net, manager **** told me my claim was on PERMANENT HOLD and it's bee on PERMANENT HOLD for 27 days. It will be yet to be seen if I WILL EVER GET MY 2 MISSING BOXES and my dad's tool box along with compensation for all the damages to my furnature. From what I have heard from other former customers I will never get compensated. They do as the please...But at this point I have to believe that what goes around comes around......

09/18/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was given a written estimate for moving and then the price doubled after the Truck was loaded.
On July 30th 2013, I called O,lakers Movers for an estimate on a move from Anna Maria Island to Downtown St Petersburg Florida. I told the Sales representative that I needed to put my furniture in storage for a week in between my move because my new residence was not ready for me. I was told that O'Lakers has Storage and that it is $250.00 a month and I would have to pay the entire month even if I just needed to use it for a week. I agreed to that. I also received other quotes from other movers they were about $100.00 to $200.00 cheaper and did not have the $250.00 minimum for the Storage. I still moved forward and chose O'Lakers. I had used them in the past, they had done a great job,and they had a Aplus rating with the BBB.

They showed up on time the actual movers were cordial.
When the movers were done loading the truck. The driver handed me the invoice for $1466.00 about $100.00 more then the quote. I was fine with that. Then I asked if that was the invoice for the entire move from Anna Maria to Storage, then to my new condo in St Pete. The Driver said no that's just for today!! So I called the office and got the owners wife who referred me to the Sales person *** who wrote the order. I said *** we went over this, your Quote says's my Anna Maria address to my new St Petersburg location with a $250.00 charge for storage. He said oh no I never said that. It will cost you $135.00 an hour again for delivery from our storage to your new St Pete location plus $270.00 for Travel time again and $38.00 again for gas like its a totally new move. This move will end up costing more then $2000.00.

As I mentioned before I had gotten 3 quotes for the exact move one was for $1000.00, one was for $1200.00 and there's for
$1368.00

. I went with O'Lakers because I used them in the past.

After arguing with the Sales Rep. The owners wife got on the phone and said to me you are a liability we are unloading all of your furniture into your garage!!! this was at 3:30 in the afternoon!!! We offered to pay whatever they wanted but they still unloaded the truck. I'm sure if we offered to pay more they would have been happy to continue the move.

I had to find another mover within 24 hour's to move me. Imagine if I was closing the day of moving and all my furniture was put back in the garage!! These people should not have an A plus rating with the BBB. I checked them out and if they had a B rating I would never of used them.
Id like to forward the Quote to you and the others that I received for the exact move.

Desired Settlement
Id like them to loose their A plus rating with the BBB.

Business Response
In response to this complaint. Ms.******* contacted our office to receive an estimate on moving her household goods form Anna Maria FL. to St pete. F.L all to take place in the same day. The move were to take place on Aug. 13th. The quote was based on her addresses and articles list. She was quoted $1,368.00. After the move was booked and on a later date Ms. ******* contacted our office and explained her floors were not going to be done and what options does she have. (***) her salesman gave her options, she choose storage at the rate of $250.00 1 month minimum. On move day she contacted our office at 9am and notified us we would need to load the truck a certain way to accommodate her now having to put some items into a self storage when she comes out of our storage because all of her items will not fit into her condo in St Pete. I explained that will take more time and 2 separate inventories,she understood.
At the end of the day when it was time to pay the bill she told the driver she did not understand the charges however she e signed the estimate days before the move took place (brake down of the charges)she received in E mail format. She called the office to ask about the charges, I went over the charges and got her salesman involved (***) explained that her original estimate was to move her from 1 home to another in the same day by the hour as she agreed to. Once she need additional services the estimate changed because she needed 2 moves. 1 to move her into our storage (load and off load) on day 1 then when her floors were completed she would notify us and set up another move to move her out of storage into the condo in St Pete with a stop at her self storage because according to her all of her items will not fit into the condo. We kindly explained the charges for that day and explained her changing from the original to move from 1 home to another. 1 load,1 off load turned into 2 loads,2 off loads with another stop to a self storage on a different day which explains our charges Ms. ******* is speaking of for the additional fuel and travel when she comes out of storage when her floors are completed. Our company tried our very best to explain to Ms. ******* the charges and the estimate. As you can see by her notes we were $100.00 off the estimate and that was due to having to do an inventory that she requested on move day at 9 am. to accommodate her. After Ms. ******* became irate and accused us of "ripping her off" using fowl language and threating us, we made the decision to not complete her move and put her belongings back into her home at no charge. I kindly explained... our goal is to make our customers 100% satisfied and we planned to do so until she threated our company with bogus reviews and a complaint to the B.B.B if we did not do both of her moves for the price of 1. Please call me with any question.

Sincerely,

******** ********

O'Laker Moving INC. XXX-XXX-XXXX

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am attaching the estimate I received on 7/27/2013. I signed and agreed to the estimate. As you can see from the attached estimate it clearly says the pick up is on Anna Maria Island and the end destination is in St Petersburg Fl. It also clearly says that there is 1 month storage for $250.00. My estimate says it all. This was a bate and switch.
By the way when I finally got a new mover the new movers pointed out how poorly the boxes were thrown in my garage. Sure enough when I opened my boxes I had broken plates and glasses!
The other thing the BBB should be made aware of is this company has three different names that they go under all using the same address of XXXXX **** ***** Rd Tampa Fl XXXXX. The there Names are O'Lakers Movers, Stevens Van Lines, and 3 Guys Moving. I think that says it all!

07/25/2012Problems with Product / Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.