BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/29/2005

3 Guys Moving

Phone: (813) 249-1889Fax: (813) 880-8300

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
09/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contracted services for moving, took longer, and was billed. Service ws awful. were not responsible for damages. Below a summary, shared with them
1. The day of the moving the guys arrived at 8:30 and after the inspection started to work after 9am; but the bill was done as if it was on 8am. The staff started working good and at a fast pace, but the only not so good experience was the complaining, and ******(pardon my words) from one of the staff, specifically the driver, about how heavy the items were, and about the drawers been with cloth inside. I may understand his frustration with the company, but in my mind the customer does not need to know about it. As agreed in our initial conversations during the quote the drawers was not needed to be emptied.
2. The normal drive from one house to other is about 15 mins., but do not know why it took them over 1 hour to get there. Since it is a truck filled with furniture the most time I understand was acceptable is 30 mins.
3. Since the truck is big it need to be parked in from of the house which also obstruct our neighbors driveway. Eventually the neighbor also arrived with his own moving, and I requested him to move the truck the other way around, which he did but not after complaining and whining again, giving comments I as customer do not need to hear.
4. The cherry on the pie, was when I complained to him about a smash my daughter's drawer got on top of one of the corners. This same guy had the nerve of putting my word in question when I pointed it to him stating that it was there before the move, hinting I was trying to pass * fast one or taking advantage. This drawer is completely new just bought it 3 month ago, and for sure the smash was not there. Since this guys are in my house and I was already upset, I only wanted to get over it, and let them go.

We were far from disappointed and frustrated with this service, and I expected a little more on just how the staff address and manage the customers. I have moved 5 times in 2 years 3 of them in the last 9 month so I'm not new to moving.

Desired Settlement
$200.00 cost to fix the drawer
$100.00 late arriving (based on 100/hr fee.)
$50.00 (based on $100/hr fee.)time wassted in arriving to the new house. this is considering the trip is approx 15mins but giving 30 mins as appropiatte.
$500.00 compensation for extremely bad situation dealt by us.

Business Response
I am writing in response to the consumer complaint from ****** ******, case number #XXXXXXXX. I was aware of Mr. ******'s dissatisfaction with our company at the beginning of August and had left him a message to try to resolve this issue. I would first like to apologize for not getting in touch with him sooner. We take pride in all that we do and never want to give our customers the feeling that we do not care. It was brought to my attention from my sales coordinatator, ************ that Mr. ****** travels a lot for work and I was waiting for his call. I would like to settle the complaint with Mr. ****** and will reach out for him again this week. It is still being treated as an active complaint and I will leave the file on my desk until the complaint is resolved.

12/19/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The arrival and completion time was falsified to add 1/2 hour to the billing. They refused to reimburse me.
On December 3, 2012 they arrived at 12:30 PM. The 2 movers were slow and lazy obviously dragging the time out as it was not a flat rate quote. They completed at 3PM and stalled until 3:08 PM and called it 3:15. I noted the arrival time was noted as 12:15 not 12:30 when presented the bill, I complained to the office who said they would contact me to resolve it and vever did. Tyhe movers were so slow it was obvious I was the last move of the day and they wanted to drag it out as long as they could. I attempted to stop payment on the check the next day, but they cashed it already.

Desired Settlement
$100.00

Business' Initial Response
In response to the above complaint. The customer did call the office and tell us that he thought that one of the men seemed a bit lazy. We did not, however, know anything about falsified start and end times. On our paperwork the customer is required to sign at the time that we start as well as sign when we complete the job so there can be no falsification at all. We did not recieve this complaint at all from the customer or we would have been able to take care of this right then and there. ******* would have done this to ensure that we continue to stay in good standing. Being who we are, and tha fact that Mr. ****** stated that we falsified 1/2 hour on the bill we would like to reund that 1/2 hour back to him. The hourly charge was $99.00 per hour so we would have no problen giving him back half of that for the amout of $49.50.

09/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Significant damage to walls in new home, refusal to bring known (from estimate) equipment up stairs, very unprofessional. Rec'd email w/promise to fix
We had someone from this moving company come to the place we were renting about a week or so before we moved to do an estimate. They were aware at that time that we had a space saver treadmill that required going up 1 flight of stairs in the new home. When the movers got to the new home, they refused to move it and it remains in my living room.
One of the movers wrote their name and after it put "was here" in some dust on our bedroom mirror and left it that way when he left. Very unprofessional.
Finally and the major reason for this complaint is, there was significant damage to 3 of our walls and doorways in my new home from their moving. I had emailed back and forth someone named **** ******* from the company who promised to have these items fixed. We were either going to send a repair person I knew, or he was going to use someone he knew, but either or, **** promised that the company was going to pay for our damages and fix the problems. I hadn't heard back from him for a long time, so I emailed him again in February and again here in July. I don't feel that I should have to go through all of this for a company to make good on something they did wrong and then promised to fix.

Desired Settlement
I would like for someone to come to my home and bring the treadmill upstairs per the original estimate and expectation.

I would like for this company to make good on it's promise to have the items in my home fixed that were damaged by their employees during the move in.

I would like the company to offer my family and I compensation equal to what I paid in moving costs ($877.50).

Business Response
When we received the complain we immediately tried to call the customer on July 22nd, 2014.and left a voicemail. We then drove to the house and knocked on the door so we could get immediate resolution to the problem. No one was home so we left a note on the door. The *******'s got in touch with us later on that evening and asked us to wait until the following week to meet with them at their home. We made an appointment for Monday, July 25th, 2014 to meet with Mr. ******* to move the treadmill to the desired location in the home. At this time we also checked on the damage to the door to the *******'s guest room and the damage to the upstairs hallway wall. We agreed to repair the damage and made an appointment to come back on Thursday, July 31st, 2014 to complete the repairs. We completed the repairs as scheduled. On Friday, August 1st, I left a voicemail message for Mr. ******* to make sure the repairs were done to his satisfaction. I did not hear back from Mr. ******* so on Monday, August 4th, I sent an e-mail to Mrs. ******* to ask her if she was happy with the repairs. Mrs. ******* responded by e-mail that she was indeed satisfied by the repair.

I apologize for the communication difficulties we experienced dealing with each other. I was under the impression that you were going to use your own repair person and forward us the invoice. When I did not hear from you I was under the assumption that the problem was solved. Again, let me apologize for not being more persistent in my communication efforts. We have taken care of our obligations and completed the move and will not be issuing any other compensation.

Sincerely

**** *******
G.M.
3 Guys Moving

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I had to repeatedly attempt to contact this company in order for them to fix what was damaged in my brand new home, as well as move the treadmill that was supposed to be moved in the first place.
When Mr. ******* came back to our home to assess the damage, my husband also showed him where his employee had written on our bedroom mirror "BB was here". Mr ******* acknowledged that this also was very unprofessional and uncalled for.
The day after Mr. ******* left and the individual was here to fix our walls, he informed us that he couldn't believe the damage the employees did to our home and how long they took to fix it all. He stated that they knew better than to move pieces of furniture through the doors that way, and were lazy.
Additionally, I informed Mr. ******* that I would repaint over the areas that were damaged following them being fixed as I did not want any further interference in our home. The first day they came to our home to assess the damage, the individuals were conversing in yelling tones while I was working (I work from home as a case manager). I confirmed with my husband that they were only standing around talking about the damage, these loud noises were not from moving the treadmill.
This has been a terrible, unprofessional situation and no one should have to deal with these issues especially when moving into a brand new home and waiting almost a year to get it fixed. Mr. ******* knows full well that when he last contacted me, he informed me that he was going to try and get a contractor out here (in 2013/early 2014) and he never contacted me again after that. It took me going through the BBB to get a response.
I will not be satisfied until I receive a full refund for what I paid for the move. If I do not receive the full refund, I will make a complaint with the FTC as well as on social media sites such as Angie's List, as I am a member of such and feel a responsibility for letting other hard working individuals like me know how to avoid these situations. I would be more than happy to provide any documentation necessary to show contacts made/received and lack thereof.
Thank you!

03/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I hired 3 Guys Movings Company to move my furniture (May 31) and my parents furniture (June 3). They bascially damaged every piece of my furniture and my parents including making a hole in the wall of my townhouse. The total charge for the move was $1,273.75.

I submitted my claim to MovingClaims.Net, which included pictures of the damages. This documentation was also provided to American Express. I am still waiting for resolution on my claim and have been requesting that American Express not pay 3 Guys movers. I am not disputing that services were rendered. What I am asking for is restitution for all the damages incurred.

Business Response
Please note that O'Laker's / 3 Guys Moving is more than willing to thoroughly investigate this matter in an attempt to better
comprehend and validate all of the customers claims I complaints against our company. Customer satisfaction is critically important
to us and we want to ensure that every customer knows their business is valued and truly appreciated.
When it comes to these matters we put ourselves completely at the customer's disposal. Rest assured that if and upon a full and
thorough investigation through MovingClaims.net (Company Claims Processing Agent) we can validate that the customer's
claims/complaints against the company are in fact true and accurate, the company will compensate the customer in accordance
to their coverage and will ensure a fair resolution to their issues.
As per BBB regulations, we request that ****** **** submit copies of the contracts he received from the company he had
transactions with to determine the company he is attempting to file his complaint against.
We urge ****** **** to submit additional information as soon as possible so that we may address his issues.
We strongly believe that with mutual consideration we can easily reach an understanding and keep the relationship
between all parties in good standing.
Very Truly,
Customer Service Dept.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
What is the amount they are offering? Anything less than $400 is not than equitable. This is going on year and they have not shown much interest in resolving this matter. I have had to continually push this issue. I would never recommend this comapny to my worst enemy.

Final Business Response
Based on all documents and facts reviewed, the claim total amount will not change.
Our apologies to the customer for any inconvenience we may have caused.

Please note; The money owed to our company for this move has been returned to us by the credit card company.
A check will be sent out today to this customer for the claim.

Thank you,

01/29/2014Problems with Product / Service
06/07/2012Problems with Product / Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.