BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Wright Flooring, Inc.

Phone: (239) 938-9999Fax: (239) 938-9999

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
04/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

We originally bought the flooring from Wright Flooring this summer. Due to problems with the closing date on our condo, the installation date was pushed back several times. In fact, we even tried to cancel the sale and installation, but ****, the owner, said there were no refunds on special order product, (read the sales contract) so we went ahead and scheduled the installation. *Big mistake* We have a second floor condo at ********************* in Ft. Myers. The 2nd floor is precast concrete and clearly not perfectly level. When the installers laid the laminate over the concrete, they did not consider the low spots in the floor. After the installation, when we first walked in the condo, we were appalled. You could see the low spots in the new flooring, feel the depressions when walking the floor, and the dining room chairs would have one or two legs not even touching the floor! **** came out and reviewed the installation. He agreed the installation was indeed flawed, but said that was a circumstance of having a second floor condo. **** asked the installer if he had used a laser to check the level on the floor. The installer said he used a chalk line. Whatever they used clearly didn't work. I offered to have two or three other flooring companies come inspect the work to see if this was a standard installation issue. At the very least, I would have expected that when the installer noticed the uneven concrete floor, he would have called me and explained the problem before completing the flooring installation. Nope, not these guys. They installed the laminate right over the unlevel concrete floor! After we complained and withheld the final payment, **** came out to take a look, admitted the installer made a mistake and he said he'd try to remediate the error and make it right. The installer did return, he disassembled the flooring, used mud to try and level the concrete floor in the worst spot, and then glued the laminate flooring back in place. That repair did not work.
Product_Or_Service: Laminate Flooring

Desired Settlement
I emailed **** ****** on 3/2/2014 stating the repair was not completed in a satisfactory manner. A sharp edge has emerged where the laminate planks were glued together. He said he would "get on it ASAP". I followed up with a second email and have not received any response. (I have the emails as proof.)I have hired another flooring contractor to come in and repair the repair ****** Flooring completed on the original installation. I am asking for $300 from ****** Flooring to pay for the repair.

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We sent someone out yesterday to inspect the floor. The customer had the thermostat set at 81 degrees. They suggested to turn the thermostat down to see if that helps the floor settle. They are going back April 9 to reinspect. This matter is being addressed by our company.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There was not anyone sent to inspect our floor, we had hired another flooring contractor to repair the flaws. Our thermostat is always set at 78 degrees. Best guess is they have our condo mixed up with another. They did say they would pay for the repair. I have emailed a copy of the invoice and am awaiting the check from Wright Flooring.

Final Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

Everything has been resolved. We sent the customer a reimbursement check.

Final Consumer Response

07/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

On August 24, 2012 **** ****** the owner of ****** Flooring came to my home. I had not yet moved into the property but was attempting to clean the house where I had tenants who moved out and left it very dirty and damaged.

I had gotten a Value pac or something like that with ****** Flooring coupon. I telephoned the number on the coupon. I asked for someone to come to XXXXX Pine Glen Drive to give me an estimate for flooring for the three bedrooms. Although the carpet had only been installed two years earlier I wanted to possibly change it to some kind of wooden/laminate flooring.

Mr. ****** talked to me telling me all of the accolades his company had received and convinced me to do business with him, even though I told him that he was the only person I had spoken with relative to the flooring.

I was very upset relative to the house I was in as there was quite a bit of damage. I am 77 years old and after he left I went back to the house I owned and had sold but not closed. Unfortunately I had to sell my home for $135,000.00 less than I had paid for it. I did relay that information to Mr. ****** and I did tell him how depressed I was having to lose so much money.

I reflected upon what I had done and within a half day contacted Mr. ****** to tell him that I was very sorry but that I had made a mistake and I had to cancel the contract. I left this message as Mr. ****** did not answer the telephone. This was very early on Saturday the 25 of August. The following day, Sunday August 26, I called the same number and he did not answer and I left the same or similar message.

First thing on Monday morning I telephoned the same number I had been calling and finally reached Mr. **** ******. I explained to him that I was very sorry but I had to cancel this contract. I had made a huge mistake after giving it a lot of thought and said this to Mr. ******. He became angry with me and then said I could not cancel this contract. I cried and asked him to please return my deposit. He refused.

My brother telephoned Mr. ****** that same day and explained to him how upset I was and that I had been convinced to buy his product with only one estimate and no knowledge of the company and had hurriedly made a wrong decision. My brother told him that I had been ill. Mr ****** agreed to a credit of $2700.00 back to my credit card, CapitalOne. He was going to keep $500.00 for "his trouble".

When this did not happen my brother attempted on two more occasions to reach Mr. ****** but was only able to leave a message. Mr. ****** never returned his calls. He had admitted to my brother that he had not ordered any materials for the job because of my earlier calls to him (**** ******).

I filed a dispute with CapitalOne right away. Although Capitalone did return the $3164 as a credit while they awaited **** ******'s answer to the dispute.

In the meantime, **** ****** advised Capital One that he was going to credit my account $2500.00. He explained to Capital One that my brother was calling him and he (**** ******) wanted to get this done.

His statement that he would credit my account $2500.00 thus indicating that he was going to reserve at least $700.00 for "his trouble".

He sent Capital One an answer to my dispute and sent the contract and a receipt for the credit card I had signed at my home for $3164.00.

Mr. ****** thereafter wrote to Capital one canceling the $2500.00 credit to my account. Capital One thereafter charged back to me the $3164.00.

At least three times Capital one called **** ******'s offices with me on the line to attempt to arbitrate this issue and **** ****** refused to talk with Capital One.

I did not know what to do. I was very sorry that I had to cancel this contract; but, I had made a huge mistake and realized it almost immediately.

I called him because of a coupon. He did come to my house. He spent about two hours and finally convinced me to do business with him. I regretted it very much but I had acted foolishly and too quickly. Considering that I am 77 and had no other guidance in my signing the contract was unfortunate. I had never been told by Mr. ****** that this contract could not be canceled and if he had told me that, it no doubt would have given me pause. His contract was for about 5200 or 5400 hundred dollars.

Mr. ****** lost nothing but his time on August 24, 2012. He did not do any work. He gave me nothing but has kept the $3164.00. I did send him a letter again asking for the money to be credited back to my account. He never responded to my certified letter.

Desired Settlement
August 24, 2012 I signed a contract with **** ****** Flooring and **** ****** was the salesperson who came to my home for an estimate on flooring.

Within approximately 12 hours I telephoned Mr. ****** to Cancel Contract. He later refused. I did pay him $3164 which he said was a deposit. I did this via credit card.

Mr. ****** ordered no material, did no work and refuses to return any portion of my money.

Business' Initial Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

We went back and forth with the credit card company on this dispute. On February 1, 2013 the money was returned to the customer and placed in her account. She has received a refund in full and I don't know what else the customer could be seeking at this point.

Consumer's Final Response
Thank you for your help in this matter. I have read the offer from Mr ****** and with a few stipulations I will be happy to accept his proposal.

I would give to Mr. ****** a copy of a letter addressed to ************* of Tell ***. I will tell her that Mr. ****** and I had been in contact via the BBB and that we have come to an amicable agreement. I will also state that Mr. ****** is going to give me back not $2500 as I had said I would accept; but he is going to return $2700.00 of the $3164.00 I gave as a deposit.

I appreciate this very much and I feel Mr. ****** is treating me fairly. Mr. ****** is giving me a substantial amount of money back from my deposit; and I am sorry for any misunderstanding to the contrary that may have occurred.

I would give Mr. ****** this letter at his place of business at the time of the refund.

Since I was not able to influence the Consumer Affairs editor prior to her publishing the story, I am not sure I can influence her to print exactly as I have stated. However she did tell both Mr. ****** and myself that if we came to an amicable agreement and both parties were satisfied that she would write a "follow up" story that he had "done right by me".

If asked I will most certainly say that Mr. ****** has treated me fairly. I am quite sure that ************* would very likely call Mr. ****** to confirm that what I have stated is true and that indeed we have come to an understanding concerning this situation. I am happy for this outcome.

Will you please advise me when I can see Mr ****** at his store to conclude this transaction or should I contact him myself to set it up?

Thank you,
****** ********

Business' Final Response
I will give her back what she has asked for she will have to come to shop to run card. I will give her back $2500 And do her one better. She claims I Offer to give her back over money except for 500.00 That is simply not true, However I will do that, I will return $2700 to Mrs. ********.

Once I see an article In Sunday's paper by tell *** or get in something in writing signed by Mrs ******** stating that She is going to contact tell *** of our agreement. I did nothing wrong, I never solicited her business, and that she chose to take the money Which was offered to her from the very beginning, instead of taking the Material which I am now stuck with

Tel *** must print an article that i am not only giving her back what she wanted, I am being more than generous and have more than done the right thing.

The article must clearly state that I did nothing wrong, I did not solicit her and by giving her money back (more than she asked for) I admit to doing nothing wrong and am guilty of nothing.

No more games no more negotiations - this is, final offer or everything is off the table. I think I'm been more than generous considering I'm stuck with Material that she ordered and paid for.

05/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

defective laminate flooring installed and have waited 4 mos to have issues resolved. They keep calling to re-schedule the appmts we have made
contracted 10.8.14 for 3 room install of laminate wood flooring (Nevelle Pacific Walnut, qty 882, maching trim, baseboards to be reused, installers to move all furniture and remove & dispose of all carpet. Total invoice was $5,500.00. Installers were mother & son team and had some communication/authority issues. Sr installer spent time calling trying to find a new place to rent. Initially were told a 2 day install but installers only completed 1 room & closet 1st day and had to leave to finish up another job. The son made several attempts to patch the padding together causing sway in the boards. We asked them to correct the ones we saw. Second day install they said they didn't have enough product and were going to have to come back but we insisted they call and have extra boxes delivered. Still had to come back with door threshold. We noticed bubbles in several places and were told we left water on the floor and it was not their problem. Finally they agreed to send out a manufacturers rep to take a look and he confirmed it was not our problem. We had extra product still in the box in our closet and found bubbles on some of those. Rep said it was a defect and nothing we did wrong. They came out once and replaced board sections which caused some seams to buckle and we have been called to get all the issues resolved and they either do not show up for the scheduled appmts or they call on the day of and reschedule for another 2 wks later. 4 mos should be long enough to wait to get defects in their product fixed.

Desired Settlement
just to get someone to come to our home in a timely manner and fix/replace the flooring that is defective to our satisfaction.

Business Response
Resolving this problems has taken longer than both parties would have liked,that is true. The floor needed to be inspected by a manufactures rep and that is based on their schedule. Mr.***** himself had to cancel one appointment with Rep. Also twice, Mr.***** had to reschedule the repair because of his business conflicts. We understand that. Sometimes in business emergencies arise that have to be dealt with immediately. Then we had to reschedule the repair because of such a emergency. That was when Mrs. ***** filed this complaint, without consulting her husband. Since that time Mr.***** had to reschedule the repair again, due to a death in the family. It is currently scheduled to be resolved on April 22. *** ***** Operations Manager

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.