BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/15/2012

Contact Lens King, Inc.

Phone: (800) 352-0255Fax: (800) 352-0463

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
09/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Product was not good. Contacts were blurry. Contacted to pay the difference and get the right product. They refused to help me.
6/2/2015
49.85
Ordered contacts. They were blurry so they sent replacements. Those were blurry too. SO i called and asked to get a different brand and send the other unopened ones back and pay the difference and they said they couldn't help me. I would have to purchase and pay full price for new ones.

Desired Settlement
I would just like to be totally refunded my money and I will return all 10 contacts.

Business Response
Customer placed an online order # WXXXXXXX which was shipped on 6/1/2015. Customer called on 7/9/15 complaining that lenses were dry and blurry. We asked her how many lenses she had a problem with and we replaced the two lenses per eye (on 07/20/2015) to assist . She was informed that if her vision remained blurry thereafter she would have to speak with her eye doctor. On 08/04/2015 customer emailed that even the replacement lenses were blurry. Customer complained that she used to wear these lenses before but never liked them. We explained that we can provide her with replacements again but she wanted us to provide another brand, which is an action prohibited by Federal law. We delivered what she ordered online. Finally customer wanted us to give her a credit for a partial box per eye which we refused and explained that our online return policy clearly states that returns must be in factory sealed, unmarked, undamaged boxes. Partial boxes do not fit this criteria. Customer was unsatisfied however we went as far as possible to accommodate her. Our responsibility is to make sure that we deliver what the customer ordered online and to follow Federal law when processing such order.

11/10/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Misleading advertising and links, received completely not the contact lens I ordered.
I followed the website's google sponsored advertising link to order some ****** ****** contact lens. When I received the contact lens, it is just called ****** one-day, and with foreign characters all over it. When I called to complain I was told that: 1. The product I ordered is no longer available; 2. I failed to detect the inconsistency of the original link and the final order; 3. The product is just bi-lingual. None of these reasons is sounding. And the bottom line is that the company misrepresented information to solicit customers into purchasing and then delivered incorrect product. I've been using ****** ****** for as long as the product has been available and has never seen foreign characters all over the package. Looks very counterfeit.

Desired Settlement
The company has agreed to refund the amount I paid for contact lens but refuse to pay for return shipping. I would like full amount including the shipping cost refunded.

Business Response
Dear Ms. ****,
Thank you for shopping at Contact Lens King.The order that you placed online on 8/4/2014 was for the 1 Day ******* Prescription verification conducted on every order showed a conflict between your the copy of your prescription and the online order. We faxed your eye doctor but he elected not to respond, which is his right. Based upon Federal law we are then to accept your online order information and proceed. The law presumes that the online shopper will have credible knowledge of their lens measurements when placing an order. At the time of your order the ****** 1 Day ****** 30 pack, which is what your eye doctor prescribed, was not even on our website as the manufacturer had discontinued its production in favor of a larger format.So your order was fulfilled as you input it. When you called to complain my staff repeatedly attempted to explain the above to you. When you remained dissatisfied they agreed to refund the sealed product that you had on hand.A credit note was issued on 8/20/2014 for all 12 boxes of lenses that you ordered plus the discount coupon value of $ 37.71 that you used.Shipping costs on the return are not covered by us when it is not our error.Customer service acted according to normal protocol in this instance.
Please note that as the President of the company I resent any insinuation of impropriety in regard to the product that we sell or of its origin. Contact Lens King is an authorized reseller for all of the major manufacturers. We have no involvement with manufacturing or repackaging in any way.The product sold on our website is directly purchased from the manufacturers and then shipped to our valued customers as they order.How the manufacturers manage their packaging, manufacturing sites, or any other proprietary aspect of their business is exclusively theirs along with the oversight of the competent authorities. So I completely reject your comments related to the product.It is of the same high quality as any of Johnson & Johnson's products worldwide.
On the matter of an incorrect link; I would need to see a string for the link that was used. Our IT team is very diligent in ensuring accuracy for our customers. If a link is not operating correctly or was coded incorrectly we would be interested in knowing so that it may be corrected. No other customer complaint has been brought forward regarding this issue for this lens.
Contact Lens King has a 100% satisfaction guarantee for its services. We take this policy very seriously and it is practiced at all levels of the company. We credited your order as was required without question.If the error was made by our staff we would have wholeheartedly credited the transport charges on the return. However the error was made when the order was placed online by the customer and therefore it is not our responsibility.Please refer to our return policy published online.
Thank you.
Sincerely,
R. *******
Customer Relations

05/10/2016Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contact Lenses

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.