BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Unicahome

Phone: (702) 616-9280Fax: (702) 616-0771

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues5
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints11

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (11)BBB Closure Definitions
11/25/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Light fixture ordered in Feb 2013 and promised in 16 weeks. After several attempts to contact with no response, still not received 9 months later.
Product Prandian Notte Suspension Lamp (Item# XXXXX) ordered on XX-XX-XX from Unica Home online, and paid for via credit card: $2,240.00. Vendor order # XXXXXX, their Customer ID XXXXXX.

Desired Settlement
Refund purchase price of $2,240.00

Business Response
We have already addressed this issue directly with the client. Furthermore, he did not pay $2240 for the fixture. He only paid a deposit of 50% to place the order. There were production issues of which he was advise that further delayed the order. He was refunded his deposit (to orig MC used) of $1120 on NOV 1.

05/31/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
we ordered from unica home in mid sept2012.contract said 12-14 weeks for delivery. it has been 33 weeks and no product.difficult to get responses.
We ordered a couch and daybed from unica in mid sept.2012.per contract, furniture expected to ship in 12-14 weeks.customer service with ********* and ******** has been spotty at best and it has now been 33 weeks and we have not received furniture. they took an initial deposit of over 6,000.00 (50% of cost). we have all documentation, including contract and all e mails which indicate when we have attempted to contact them, when we receive 'automatic out of office' replies and the amount of time it has taken to get them to respond. when they have responded, they have told us first in January, then in April that the furniture is coming, now they are saying it has not left Italy. at this point, we do not want the furniture, we want our money back and we want to purchase furniture so we can finally use our sitting room again, which has been empty of furniture for over 33 weeks and counting. we do not believe that the furniture is coming and we are concerned that there is at the worst, fraudulent behavior on behalf of unica home and at best, gross negligence.

Desired Settlement
We want our deposit back. we are prepared to handle this in court if necessary, but we have waited for 33 weeks for furniture that was to have arrived long ago and it is an important room in our house, which has remained empty of 2 important pieces of furniture for 33 weeks. The customer service has been very poor and there has been an abominable failure on the part of unicahome to keep us informed, and when they have bothered to reply, it has not been truthful/accurate.

Business' Initial Response
Our client has been advised that the although product was delayed, it is in fact on a container from ITALY and is estimated to arrive to Long Beach, CA on or around 6/15/13. The items were special order, and as such cannot be cancelled. Product is due to arrive very soon.

05/28/2013Delivery Issues
01/22/2013Problems with Product / Service
01/11/2013Delivery Issues
Page 1 of 2
10/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered something in April 2013 and still have not received it. I have emailed and left messages multiple times and have gotten no response.
I made a deposit on April 3, of $1,320 with a credit card for a chandelier. I was told it would be ready in July. Then I was told it would not be here until the end of August. My last communication was via email on July 29. I have left approximately 5 voicemails and 6 or 7 emails asking for the status. I have not gotten an answer, I called all the phone numbers and have never been able to speak with a person live.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of my deposit as soon as possible.

Business Response
Our client services associate, manager and owner have all spoken to this client- repeatedly. Last night she hung up on the owner. Her claims of no answers are not true; she simply does not like our answers. The product she ordered is a special order item from Germany. It is arriving soon, and we will not allow a cancellation. We have advised the client of all delays, and apologized for them.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
After 6 months the light has finally arrived but only after multiple unanswered emails and phone calls and filing this complaint. The reply is not true, they never returned my calls and I never had an opportunity to hang up on anyone even if I had wanted to do so. I believe that the light was not even ordered by Unicahome until I filed this complaint. Please consider this situation before ordering from this company.

04/01/2013Problems with Product / Service
10/02/2012Billing / Collection Issues
09/03/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
no delivery of products 21 weeks after ordering, no answers as to the whereabouts of my furniture
i ordered 2 cabinets for clients back in march, the lead time was quoted as 12-16 weeks, we are now at 21 weeks with no explanation as to where my furniture is or when it will be delivered. i have repeatedly called and only get a answering machine, i have emailed my contacts at unicahome and always get a "i get back to you ASAP" which never happens.
my order should have been in my hands mid june. in addition to calling which almost always goes to voicemail, i emailed ******* ****** on 5/6, 5/14,5/15,5/20,5/31.6/5,7/17, 7/18,7/24,7/30. i also email ********* ******* 7/2,7/12,7/20
the order was for 2 bensen partu 10 cabinets, quote number ****
dated 3/7/20139(payment was received on 3/12/2013) my customer number is REIHALXXXXXXA, this order has been paid in full. i did have a email from ********* saying that my order would ship around the 6th of july, but have still not seen it or been given tracking.

Desired Settlement
if the furniture is not delivered in the next week, i want a full refund for the pieces.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Commercial Products Wholesale & Distributor

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.