BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/22/1991

Hixson Autoplex of Alexandria

Phone: (318) 448-0871Fax: (318) 445-3531

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
10/22/2012Problems with Product / Service
01/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i recently bought a vehicle on 11/24/14 with a trade in. I financed through an outside bank and printed out the check at the time of my visit and was treated as a cash sale. The exchange was fast and trouble free, so i thought. I later had my trade in vehicle payment deducted from my bank account 3 weeks later. Imagine my surprise when i was not expecting a payment to be dedeucted until january 2015. I called my finance company and found out that they never received the trade in payoff so therefore the car was treated as if i still owned it.I never received a call from the company stating it would take a few weeks to process or anything. I called on tuesday 12/16 and spoke with **** who gave me the imprsseion that the payment was sent on 12/10 but after conferencing with the finance compnay her story later changed to state that she did not send the payment to the company until my check cleared. Turns out the payoff check was not sent out until this week and it was mailed regular USPS instead of expedited mail UPS or fedex. Now I am without my car but still paying for it waiting on a check in limbo to arrive to payoff the car i havent had in 3 weeks. I called and left a message regarding this issue with the general manager 12/16 and never received a call back. I would at least like to have some form of apology from the company or a reasonable explanation why it took so long to resolve an issue that did not seen to be a problem at the time of sale. At this time of year i should not be left without money in my bank due to someone else not doing their job efficiently.

Desired Settlement
Some form of apology for the inconvenience or explanation

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******* General Mana
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ****@hixsonhasit.com
Mrs. ******,
I apologize on behalf of our organization that we did not communicate with you to your understanding on your vehicle purchase. I will address the issue right away with our business folks so this doesn't happen again. I assure you though whatever we set up as your payoff was sent and if they deducted a payment from your account they will return any overage back to you.

It is our company policy to wait until any third party check clears our bank before paying off another account. We do this because in the event any third party check becomes insufficient there is no way we can reverse our transaction of a payoff. This is done to protect you and our company because of the amount of fraud that we have seen in other transactions.

Please accept my apology and feel free to contact me at the store if you would like to talk more. Thanks again for your business and we look forward to serving you in the future.



11/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Taken vehicle in for a oil change in **** ********** then vehicle has had problems.


After taken vehicle in for oil change **** ***** weeks later discovered oil on carport. A relative checked oil, there was no oil in vehicle. Called dealership,they requested I bring vehicle in, arrived at dealership to be told technician could not find any leaks, but he added 1 quart of oil. A week went by, more oil on carport, taken vehicle back in to be checked, was told I needed a Oil Cooler. I spoke to mgr and service adviser, my vehicle had no leaks when I bought car in. I had an out of town trip scheduled 1st of August. I asked how much would this cost in price, I was told around ******** I got the repairs on or around ********* When I left the dealership I heard a ticking noise, returned to dealership (same day) technician drove vehicle. He stated Timing Belt, recall was issued for vehicle under 70,000 miles. Within a week I was back at dealership for the recall. My vehicle was at the dealership for a week, which I contacted the Gmgrs secretary for a loaner (which I was granted, ********* was very polite. I picked my vehicle up on a ******** morning around 8:00 a.m. a week later. Once I picked my vehicle up, upon arriving home (between home and dealership is 5-10 mins)I noticed the fan motor was on for 15-20 mins after being parked (hmmmm where my thoughts). Well a week later a relative says that doesn't sound right..maybe you should take the vehicle back in. Labor Day weekend, my vehicle runs hot no AC unit. I take my vehicle on Tues (day after Labor Day)..to be told my radiator was stopped up...okay..how much would this cost...Service Advisor...response **************** I will pickup my vehicle this afternoon. I wasn't having any issues with my radiator...I contacted Gmgr, he called backed, stated to me he was willing to help with some of the cost of the radiator...the cost he quoted was around 700.00 dollars. I stated to him..I can't afford that. Gmgr stated, possible look at a new *********** I told him not in my budget for a new vehicle,my car has less than ****** miles. Basically I would be upside down. I feel as though I was violated because of being a female. I was a target, because your shop has a quota to meet (a day, month, week). If I had been a man, I doubt it very seriously a man would have not been treated in this matter whatsoever. I'm not looking for a new vehicle, for the dealership to make money off of me and the make double of the car in trading in...I know how the system work at the dealership. If you are a mgr in a business, you should not take advantage of anyone, because in the long run, someone will leave that business for a better pay or advancement, they will eventually tell how business is run on a day to day basis. I was advise to take my vehicle somewhere else for repairs, in which a brand new radiator with a lifetime warranty and to have the radiator put in...total cost a little over ********** will not do any dealings with this dealership, nor would I recommend. OIL CHANGE COST IN **** ********************* OF OIL COOLER *********** CERTAIN IF THIS WAS THE CAUSE OF THE OIL LEAK)Ladies, always get a second opinion after taking your vehicle into any dealership.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be reimbursed for the additional repairs required to reinstore my vehicle to the operable condition, prior to the necessary repairs performed by ****** Autoplex.

Business Response /* (1000, 5, *********** */
We have bent over backwards for Mrs *******.
We have let her borrow a new Mazda twice while her vehicle was in our shop.
We never "sabotaged" her vehicle while it was in our shop. It was a coincidence that her radiator went out during her recall and repairs.
We reduced her ticket for the radiator repair by 40%!

Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, *********** */
Wow, the tone of the voice in the letter, what about no oil in vehicle after a ****** oil change. Let me do the figures, *** of for repairs to radiator. I was quoted a price over ******* dollars, did that include "labor". What about oil change, week later no oil in vehicle. That's okay I will take it at a loss for myself. Trusted Advisor, I left my vehicle in the care of ******.

10/22/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a **** Ranger (XXXX) and when I bought it it was advertised as a V6 with a towing package and when I took it in for it's first Maintanace I found out it was only a V4. And when I bought it it was advertised as a V6 and that is what is on all the Papers as well and I just right now want to know if there i any thing that i can do. I went back to the deal (Hixon) and they told me that it was just a misprint but never changed it and if i had known it was only a V4 i would not have bought it . They also told me that the Vin Number told what it was but what normal person nows how to read a a Vin Number and be able to tell about the Vechical?? Right know like i said before i procide with any other complaint I just want to know if I can and what can be done about it??Thanks ************ *****
Product_Or_Service: 2011 For Ranger

Desired Settlement
I just want to know if there is any thing that can be done and what it is that i can do about it?? at this time this is just information that i am seeking before I go any futher..

Business Response /* (1000, 5, *********** */
Could Ms. ***** please let us know which location she purchased the vehicle - or at least provide a *** number from the vehicle? Was the vehicle in her name? We have no record of her in the records of the ********** location.

Final Consumer Response /* ****** *** *********** */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We have already met with them and all we want is for it to be changed from V6 to 4 cylinder on the papers so it doesn't show up on the Totle as having a V6...

That's all we are asking for...
Thanks kindly

Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, *********** */
***** ***** the General Manager, would like the opportunity to visit with Ms. ***** and see if they can find a solution that would be satisfactory to both Ms. ***** and the dealership. Please let us know what date and time would be convenient for Ms. ***** and Mr. **** will make himself available.

01/15/2013Problems with Product / Service
01/14/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.