BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/19/2012

Golden Creek Kennels

Phone: (919) 957-7962

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
10/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We had put $300 towards a puppy back in May when we went to open house then sent another $300 in July. Wont refund us our money!
We went to an open house in May where we were told to give $300 to hold a puppy that was going to cost $1,600 at the end of July. She never told us it was nonrefundable. She told us she would mail us the receipt and that was that. Then we received an email in June stating another $300 was due. So we sent that in as well. In July we started having financial difficulties and told Mrs. **** we were unable to get the puppy could we move our money to a puppy in the future. Well August come around and she claimed to sign us up for a puppy in November 14'. We knew we weren't financially sound to purchase the puppy or to take care of a puppy and decided to ask for our money back. This is when she said our deposit was nonrefundable and she would return only $300. I was really upset because she never said that at the beginning. We work hard for our money and are in a bad place for someone to just take it. After speaking to her many times at the end of August and Beginning of September, my husband and I realized we weren't going to get our deposit back because she had robbed us. We asked her to hold the deposit for the future and return $300 of the $600 that we had given. She stated she would return it and a week went by...NOTHING! Then we called her again and she said at the end of the September because that is when she did her books. Well end of September came around....NOTHING! So then we contacted her again and said that after a litter was born in a week she would send the money....NOTHING! So we called after a week and she said she sent the money out 10/7.....NOTHING! It is 10/17 and we haven't received anything! Now we have been robbed $600!!!! I want my money back we don't want any dogs from her we just want our hard earned money she never returns. We want all of it because now I don't trust her and would never do business with this lady again. Please have her return my $600!!!!!

Thanks

Desired Settlement
We would like out $600 that we have given to ***** ****.

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
On March 3, 2014, The ***** family came to one of our monthly Open Houses and put down a deposit of $300 to go towards the purchase of a male pup out of our Embers. At that time I stated that puppy deposits are non refundable.

It is also stated if some one contacts us by email and we respond with our Introductory Letter.

ON 6/23/14 their pup was born and they submitted a second deposit of $300. as requested.

The male was due to go home on 7/25/14, after a no show, I did receive a email on the 7/29th I get a email stating that could not receive the pup do to moving and wanted to move to a later litter.

Both deposits ($600) were moved to a litter do in Oct. That litter was born 10/3/2014.


This email came on the 29th of June, 2014.

Good Afternoon *****,

I know that we delayed getting a puppy for about 6 months due to an unexpected expense and we are moving houses, just didn't work out. When do you feel you will be having more puppies so we can plan for a future date. We are still very exited in getting a puppy and would like to sign up for your next go around.

We apologize for not being able to pick up the puppy this past weekend.

Thanks,

******* **** **********


We just bred our Macy and Dillon this morning.

I can offer you first pick male from this litter. They will be ready around Thanksgiving.

Interested?

*****

Sounds good......Please sign us up!

Thanks,

******* **** **********


On Sep 5, 2014, at 1:44 PM, *** ***** wrote:
***** -

After discussing it further with my wife we would like to ask about getting half our deposit back, leaving the original deposit as is towards a puppy later in the future. Honestly we would hate to lose money however our current living condition would not be suitable for a dog the size of a golden retriever, we have two little children in a three bedroom apartment and we were just given a small breed dog making it extremely tight. I hate to complicate things on your end but I can think of a few other things that at least half of that money could go towards at this time for our family. My hope is to get out of this apartment by next summer when the contract ends and buy a home where it would be easier to manage two dogs. I'd really appreciate it if you could work with us, especially me because getting a golden retriever has always been something I've personally wanted and I can't think of a better place to get it from than you're kennel.

Thanks!

*** ******

I sent their first deposit ($300) by check to the address I had on file, on 10/7/14.

I get a email from his wife ******* on the 17th that stating they had not received the check. We were on vacation at this time and had to contact the bank to see if the check had been deposited. No it had not.

We returned back home this past Monday evening and after checking the bank one more time to see if it had been deposit, I sent a second $300 check out yesterday am, Tuesday the 21st.

The first deposit will be held in our holding account so if they change their mind and wish to get a pup the first deposit will be available do go towards a new pup.

The "no refund of deposit" is very common among breeders of animals (dogs, cats, horses). And we state that up front in person or in the introductory letter.

Thank you so very much for your interest in Golden Creek Kennels. We have been raising our beautiful guys and gals for over 21yrs. We are located in Durham, NC.

Because of this being a working kennel with lots to do 7 days a week, and the fact that our dogs are not kennel dogs but live with their foster families, we allow visitors into the kennel only during our monthly Open Houses. Our next one will be on Sunday Nov. 16th from 1:30-3pm.

We presently have a couple male pups available, that will be ready for their new homes mid to late Nov. Both American and English.

All of our guys and gals including the kids are registered Golden Retrievers. Pups are sold with limited registrations (meaning no breeding or showing.) And must be spayed or neutered by 6 months of age. We sell our pups strictly as family pets.

Parents are screened for hips, eyes and hearts. We do no in line breeding of our goldens to insure healthier blood lines.

All of our pups come with a 24 month warranty on their hips, eyes and hearts. Pups come with their first puppy shot, wormed and vet checked.

The cost of our pups is $1600. (the English Creams and the American Golds).

Deposits can be made by check or credit card over the phone. However we do advise you to make your decision very carefully in reserving a pup, for deposits are non-refundable. We do not want to turn away families searching for that special pup and then find out there was one after all.

We do ship our pups within a reasonable distance, and the average cost to ship a pup is about $350.

We at Golden Creek do things a bit differently. We try to match your desires, your preferences, and your life style up with the right set of parents, providing you with the pup of your dreams. So if you are still
interested, please answer the following questions.

Male or female?

Size medium or large)?
Color: cream, blonde, light gold or honey gold?

Character traits:

Active, likes to play ball, hike, swim, go go go.

Laid back, easy going, slow long walks, layback and watch animal planet. Or a little of both?

And lastly when would be a good time to take a puppy home?

If you are a FaceBook member and would like to know about how our customers feel about us, go to the search bar and type in Golden Creek Kennel Lovers...ask to join.

Thanks again for your interest and let us know if we can provide you with the golden of your dreams.


*****


Once again, their first deposit of $300 is non refundable.

Let me know if I can answer any other questions you may have.

***** ****
Golden Creek Kennels

11/25/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Breeder took our deposit for puppy that she never actually had. Agreed to refund deposit,but then told us she didnt have the money-had used it
Breeder took our deposit for a puppy dueSept.24th and never notified us that she had actually breed the parents. Moved our deposit to another puppy, and again didnt breed or notify us. Agreed to refund deposit on Oct4th and Oct11th. Notified us today she doesn't have the money and used it for other business expenses.

Desired Settlement
We would like our $500 deposit refunded. If she used it for other business purposes, and can not repay it, she will need to pay interest of $100 per every 15 days since Oct 4th. We never agreed to loan her money

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
The following is a Introductory letter sent out to *******'s wife ******* dated 8/31/13.

Thank you so very much for your interest in Golden Creek Kennels. We have been raising our beautiful guys and gals for over 17yrs. We are located in Durham, NC.

Because of this being a working kennel with lots to do 7 days a week, and the fact that our dogs are not kennel dogs but live with their foster families, we allow visitors into the kennel only when a private viewing is arranged or during our monthly Open Houses. Our next Open House is Sept. 15th from 1:30-3pm.

We presently do not have any pups available. But we are taking deposits on fall litters that will be ready Oct-Nov. 2013.

All of our guys and gals including the kids are registered Golden Retrievers. Pups are sold with limited registrations (meaning no breeding or showing.) And must be spayed or neutered by 6 months of age. We sell our pups strictly as family pets.

Parents are screened for hips, eyes and hearts. And all of our pups come with a 24 month warranty on their hips, eyes and hearts. Pups come with their first puppy shot, wormed and vet checked.

The cost of our is $1500. (the English Creams and the American Golds).

A deposit of $250. will hold a reservation for a pup. Deposits can be made by check or credit card over the phone. However we do advise you to make your decision very carefully in reserving a pup, for deposits are non-refundable. We do not want to turn away families searching for that special pup and then find out there was one after all.

We do ship our pups within a reasonable distance, and the average cost to ship a pup is about $350.

We at Golden Creek do things a bit differently. We try to match your desires, your preferences, and your life style up with the right set of parents, providing you with the pup of your dreams. So if you are still
interested, please answer the following questions.

Male or female?
Size (small, medium or large)?
Color: cream, blonde, light gold or honey gold?
Character traits:

Active, likes to play ball, hike, swim, go go go.

Laid back, easy going, slow long walks, layback and watch animal planet. Or a little of both?

And lastly when would be a good time to take a puppy home?

If you are a FaceBook member and would like to know about how our customers feel about us, go to the search bar and type in Golden Creek Kennel Lovers...ask to join.

Thanks again for your interest and let us know if we can provide you with the golden of your dreams.


*****

On Aug 31, 2013, at 9:23 AM, ******* ******* <**************@gmail.com> wrote:

Hi *****-

We just spoke by phone regarding up coming liters in November. We are interested innthe English creams.

Thank you,

******* *******

The momma dog they chose did not become pregnant. So they requested to be moved to another litter. Which was done 9/26/13.

Then they wanted to go to another litter.....then shortly after that decided not to buy a dog and then wanted a refund which we normally do not do.

I sent a email on 10/18/13 stating a refund of $500. will be going out on Nov. 15th. when we have a litter to go home and funds are available.

Once again there was mentioned in my first discussion with the ********** to choose carefully because deposits are not refundable.






Final Consumer Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Please see the attached document with emails from ***** ****, owner of Golden Creek Kennels, confirming the return of our deposits on both Oct 4th and Oct. 11th. Then changing her mind on Oct. 18th and using the funds for other purposes.

She took our first deposit for a puppy on Aug. 31. the litter was due Sept. 24th. That was only 3 weeks before the litter was due and she knew full well there were no puppies coming. Puppies do not just disappear, 3 weeks before their due date. She then offered us a puppy from an American Golden litter, which we did not want, then placed our deposit on another upcoming breeding. That breeding did not occur and rather than letting us know she would not have puppies from litter, I found out on facebook. I requested a refund immediately after finding out she had no litter to provide puppies from.
On both occasions, she never reached out to us to let us know she had no puppies or that the breeding did not take place. She is clearly taking deposits for puppies she does not intend to deliver.


Final Business Response /* ****** *** *********** */
The refund was mailed on the 15th. Check number ****

01/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We paid a $250 deposit for a puppy in a litter between two specific dogs. Those two dog never produced a litter. I was denied a refund
On 07/02/2013 we paid a $250.00 deposit "to go towards the purchase of a female puppy out of Macy and Luka" ( the wording in quotations is on the invoice for said deposit). That litter never occurred. We did not want a puppy from two other dogs and sent on e-mail to ***** ******* 10/03/2013 informing her that we would like our deposit back due to the fact that litter never happened. We were told that the deposit was non-refundable even though the puppy was never born and the "spot" that the deposit held never existed.

Desired Settlement
All I am seeking at this time is my $250.00 that was paid. Our consideration in this contact ( the invoice created an implied if not expressed contract as well as our verbal contract that was created in phone conversations) was $250.00. Their consideration was a puppy out of the litter of Macy and Luka ( no other litter). Due to the fact that that litter never happened, they no longer had a consideration and therefore the contact was null and void. Therefore our consideration ($250.00) is legally due back to us.

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Below you will find our standard Introductory letter, which states that deposits are non refundable.

Most of our correspondence was with ****** ****** the wife.

From: ***** **** <***********@me.com>
To: *********@yahoo.com
Sent: Monday, June 17, XXXX XX:XX AM
Subject: Golden Creek Kennels



Thank you so very much for your interest in Golden Creek Kennels. We have been raising our beautiful guys and gals for over 17yrs. We are located in Durham, NC.

Because of this being a working kennel with lots to do 7 days a week, and the fact that our dogs are not kennel dogs but live with their foster families, we allow visitors into the kennel only when a private viewing is arranged or during our monthly Open Houses. Our next Open House is June 23rd from 1:30-3pm.

We presently do not have any pups available. But we just finished breeding a couple of litter that will be ready in Aug.-Sept.

All of our guys and gals including the kids are registered Golden Retrievers. Pups are sold with limited registrations (meaning no breeding or showing.) And must be spayed or neutered by 6 months of age. We sell our pups strictly as family pets.

Parents are screened for hips, eyes and hearts. And all of our pups come with a 24 month warranty on their hips, eyes and hearts. Pups come with their first puppy shot, wormed and vet checked.

The cost of our is $1500. (the English Creams and the American Golds). We will not have any more American Golds until spring 2013

A deposit of $250. will hold a reservation for a pup. Deposits can be made by check or credit card over the phone. However we do advise you to make your decision very carefully in reserving a pup, for deposits are non-refundable. We do not want to turn away families searching for that special pup and then find out there was one after all.

We do ship our pups within a reasonable distance, and the average cost to ship a pup is about $350.

We at Golden Creek do things a bit differently. We try to match your desires, your preferences, and your life style up with the right set of parents, providing you with the pup of your dreams. So if you are still
interested, please answer the following questions.

Male or female?
Size (small, medium or large)?
Color: cream, blonde, light gold or honey gold?
Character traits:

Active, likes to play ball, hike, swim, go go go.

Laid back, easy going, slow long walks, layback and watch animal planet. Or a little of both?

And lastly when would be a good time to take a puppy home?

Thanks again for your interest and let us know if we can provide you with the golden of your dreams.


*****


Here is the last email I received from *******

On Sep 29, 2013, at 4:56 PM, ****** ****** <*********@yahoo.com> wrote:

I just want to confirm that we are second girl puck for Macy and Silas...is this correct? Also, when will you confirm her pregnancy? We would like an email at that point.

And my response...

Actually, because a customer request to move to a spring litter, I have moved you up to first pick. We will know in six weeks if she is indeed pregnant. We got two good breedings out of her this week.

*****


Our Macy did deliver on 11/28, and the ****** familly was in position to receive first pick female. Macy had 2 girls.

They have since decided not to get the pup.

Once again, they new from the beginning that our deposits are non refundable.



Final Consumer Response /* ****** *** *********** */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Their stance has no legal or ethical backing. I have spoken to other breeders who assure me that this is not standard in the industry. Golden Creek is missing the point. We did not have a deposit for any other letter than that or Macy and Luka ( I have a copy of the invoice that again in NC represents a binding contract that states the same). This is equivalent to under a lease placing a deposit for as apartment. Then that apartment becomes not available at no fault of the lessee. Then the lessor states the lessee has to put that deposit on a property that was never agreed upon. I am sure that would be viewed as not appropriate. It is clear to me now that Golden Creek is adamant in their stance and I will be forced to argue this in another venue that is historically plaintiff oriented.

Final Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Once again my first correspondence with the ****** family was with ****** ****** on June 17th when our introductory letter was sent to ****** after inquiring about a pup.

Our introductory letter was sent on Sept 29th, 2013. And it states the following..."A deposit of $250. will hold a reservation for a pup. Deposits can be made by check or credit card over the phone. However we do advise you to make your decision very carefully in reserving a pup, for deposits are non-refundable. We do not want to turn away families searching for that special pup and then find out there was one after all. "

When our Macy took her time coming into season in time for Christmas Pups, ***** decided to stick with Macy's second pick female.Macy gave birth on 11/28/2013

This email came to GCK on Sept. 29th that I just want to confirm that we are second girl puck for Macy and Silas...is this correct? Also, when will you confirm her pregnancy? We would like an email at that point.

I then followed up with her the same day announcing that First pick female was available due to a cancelation.

You can see that I have spent a big amount of time, trying to get a pup for the ******.

Our puppy deposits are non refundable and have been so for the past 21 years. We have put their deposit of $250 into a puppy holding account that is there so if and when they wish to get a pup, their first deposit is there to apply to their purchase.


If you have any other questions please feel free to ask.

***** ****, Golden Creek Kennels.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Dog Breeders, Pet Kenneling Services, Kennels

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.