BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Strayer University

Phone: (877) 261-6908Fax: (919) 878-6625

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
10/22/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was billed for the program even though I dropped the program early.
Why was I billed for enrolling in a program while waiting on financial aid? I thought my financial aid would pay for it once I was approved.

Desired Settlement
I want them to forgive the 1600.00 tuition debt that they charged me.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern,

Thank you for forwarding case #******** on behalf of ************. Mr. ***** enrolled in two courses at Strayer University ("Strayer," "the University") for Spring Quarter 2008: ****** and ******. Mr. ***** utilized financial aid to pay for his tuition charges totaling $3,670 and his textbook charges in the amount of $179.19.

Mr. ***** received two book vouchers for the Spring Quarter 2008. Mr. ***** did not comply with the University attendance requirements in both of his classes. He received a Withdrawal/Fail (WF) grade for ****** as he only attended Weeks 1, 2, 3 and 4. After four consecutive weeks of nonattendance Mr. ***** was administratively withdrawn from his course. Mr. ***** did not post any attendance for his ****** class and received a No-Show (NS) grade for non-attendance, hence the balance on his account.

Because Mr. ***** posted attendance through Week 4 in ******, he incurred a 50% tuition charge. Mr. ***** had a No-Show in ****** as he did not past any attendance; he incurred a No-Show Fee of $150. His total balance was incurred by the following:
Tuition Maters for (2) classes $3,670.00
Book Voucher $100.00
Book Voucher $79.19
Discount Voucher -$100.00
No-Show Fee (for ******) $150.00
Drop Graduate Fee for ****** -$1,835.00
Drop Graduate Fee for ****** -$458.75
Total Balance for Spring 2008 $1,605.44

Mr. *****' total balance as of June 3, 2008 for the Spring Quarter 2008 totals $1,605.44. On April 13, 2011, Mr. *****' outstanding balance was sent to collections for nonpayment and he was assessed a $10 Collection Fee. This brought the total balance due the University to $1,615.44. As Mr. *****' balance was incurred in full accordance with University policies, I have no reason to recommend an adjustment on his behalf.

Sincerely,

***************
Director, Student Affairs




07/24/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I sent payment to have my transcript sent to ***************. They cashed my payment June 3 ( I checked and it was took out of my credit card).

Cashed my payment for a transcript to be sent to ***************. They took 10$ out of my credit card on June 3, 2014.I have called multiple times and the school still does not have my transcript. My student ID number is *********. My transcript has to be sent to:
***************
*****************************************************************
**************
***********************

Desired Settlement
Please send my transcript to the school as I paid for.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:

Thank you for forwarding case #******** on behalf of *****************. A transcript request was made and sent twice to the following address provided in the University case submission, first on June 16th, 2014 and again on June 25th, 2014. The address, where the two transcripts were sent is:
***************
**************
******************
The address that was provided in the University case is different than the address provided in case #********.

A transcript will be sent to the address provided in case #******** and it will be sent by *** ground. A scheduled delivery is set for the end of the day on Monday, July 21st, 2014.

Sincerely,
***************
Director, Student Affairs

05/26/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been charged for tuition for a semester that I attempted to withdraw from numerous times. The college sent me a refund check stating that I had funds left over after tuition was paid via my student loans and then turned around and stated that I owed them over $2,000.00 for tuition and they never charged this to my student loans. After numerous attempts to clear this billing error, I decided to bite the bullet and just start paying the bill to eliminate the bill from hitting negatively on my credit report. I reached out to the college numerous times speaking to ******** ********* the School Dean - Dr. ******* and ***** **** (from the 800#) and after speaking to *****, in March of 2014, I was told that this account would not be sent to collections if I paid a consistent amount towards the account monthly. I expressed to him that I did not feel that I should have to pay this tuition but that I would start making payments of $50.00 monthly to ensure that they would not send this to a collection agency. For the last two months they have accepted my payments and never contacted me expressing that I was not paying enough. Last Thursday, I received a call from a collection agency stating that Stayer sent this to collections and posted this to my credit report! I was ensured by ****** **** that this would not happen as long as I made my payments. I have not received a single statement from the college, nor call, informing me that they were not satisfied with the payments that I was making. I am frustrated that this is now negatively affecting my credit when I have been initiating the payments on time in the agreed amount that I talked with ***** **** about. I also have had to contact the school for the last two payments because they would wait two weeks to post the check to my account. The business center is never able to be reached and thus I have to contact the Dean. They are violating the Fair Credit Billing Act of 1974 and Fair Debt Collection Practices of 1977. I will get a lawyer if needed.
Product_Or_Service: Tuition
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I am requesting that Strayer University retract the negative impact on my credit report. I also want them to allow me to make affordable monthly payments of $100.00 per month. I have been given false information by numerous employees of Strayer University and I deserve to have the option to find other ways of payment prior to them just sending it to a collection agency. I was told today that I was not suppose to be sent to collections because of my payments and that was a mistake. Now fix it.

Business Response
Thank you for bringing this concern to the attention of the Office of Student Affairs at Strayer University. I have researched the issue and find that the student is currently in conversation with her home campus about establishing payment arrangements. The university will agree to remove the account from collections as long as the student signs the prior balance promissory note. In addition, the student will need to keep her account payments current as the balance is valid and the student has acknowledged such. The campus will be reaching out to the student today to discuss the parameters of the payment arrangement. It has been confirmed that the student has been in conversation with the campus as of this week. The student must sign the agreement in order to properly establish the repayment plan of action. Thank you for allowing the Office of Student Affairs to address your concerns. We consider this case closed.

06/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I haven't received proper credit for my classes.I haven't received my federal disbursement.Poor customer service.School has continual system issues.
I'm extremely unhappy with the handling of this case. To begin, the system went down for about a week. I was unable to access my classes. Next, I didn't receive sufficient time to catch up as a result of the poor system. Next, I haven't received my federal disbursement from this school as a result of their "system being down," but according to ************* other students have received their federal disbursement. I haven't received any correspondence regarding this issue. I was told I would receive a call back from ********* 4/30, but never received it. She "supposedly" called corporate to get this issue resolved. Customer service is poor. I was told by ************* that my student loan was canceled. This is issued through Federal Direct Loans, and Strayer has received this money from the government. I completed the FAFSA, and this information was sent and approved by the government and Strayer. There has been a misappropriation of funds. I've contacted the school, and I am in the process of withdrawal.

Desired Settlement
I have asked for a refund due to poor customer service and service in general.

Business' Initial Response
Thank you for forwarding case #XXXXXXXX on behalf of ****** ******. Ms. ****** is currently enrolled in ******* for Spring Quarter 2013. A reported outage of the Blackboard course management system occurred on April 14, 2013, bringing the system down from 9:15pm to 11:30pm. This outage was reported to students and faculty as soon as possible. Announcements were posted in all course shells notifying students that any coursework due by 11:59pm EST on April 14, 2013 would be extended until 11:59pm EST on April 15, 2013.

My review of Ms. ******'s course shell revealed that her instructor complied with the extended deadline for coursework and did not penalize any students who submitted work on April 15. I apologize for any inconvenience our students experienced while we worked out some issues while launching a new version of the Blackboard platform for Spring quarter. The University's course management system has not experienced any other reported outages.

Ms. ******'s loans were never cancelled; in fact they posted to her student account on May 3, 2012 (in Week 4) and her refund was processed on May 9, 2013 (in Week 5), which is a standard loan processing timeline; there was no delay in the posting of her funds or the processing of her refund. Ms. ****** has rescinded her withdrawal at this time, and we wish her the best of luck in her ******* course and all remaining courses in her degree program.

05/31/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Oct 2011, I showed interest in taking classes at strayer unversity, by filling out application forms, and govt funding forms, after filling out and faxing these forms,my next step was to register for a class,which i never done,however, strayer has me not only registering for clases,but actually attending a class, "once",and with that false claim of my regestering and attending a class,i supposedly owe them approximately $450.00.I was not aware of this debt, until a collection agency called and informed me that i owed this debt.I never received a letter,or a phone call from strayer,saying i owed them money.Some what i saying, is someone commited fraud at strayer unversity,by signing me up for a class i never registered for or attended...

Desired Settlement
Well i know that since a collection agency was contacted, i want strayer to rectify this problem first and foremost,and admit wrongdoing.And for an outside audit to be done,because i'm sure that i'm not their only victim..

Business' Initial Response
Thank you for forwarding case #*** on behalf of ***. Mr. *** applied to Strayer University (''Strayer,'' ''the University'') and enrolled in two classes for Fall Quarter 2011, SOC 100 and BUS 100. For the SOC 100 course he shows no attendance or user activity. For BUS 100 our administrative system marked him present in Week 2. However, my review of his user activity in the course shows that he did not log in or complete any coursework for Week 2, and his attendance appears to be incorrect.

As he showed no attendance for SOC 100, Mr. *** was administratively withdrawn after four consecutive absences per University policy and charged a No Show Fee of $250. Because the University's administrative system initially marked Mr. *** present for BUS 100 for Week 2, upon his administrative withdrawal he was charged 10% of his tuition ($166.50) plus a $25 Withdrawal Processing Fee, totaling $191.50 for the course and bringing his total balanced owed to $431.50. On April 24, 2012, Mr. ***'s account was sent to collections for nonpayment, and he was charged a $10 Collection Fee, bringing his total balance to $441.50.

In my investigation, I was unable to find any case submitted to our system or correspondence indicating that Mr. *** intended to drop his two classes prior to the beginning of Fall Quarter 2011. If Mr. *** has any records of his interaction with University staff regarding his enrollment for Fall Quarter 2011, he is welcome to forward it to our department at studentaffairs@strayer.edu and we will conduct further investigation into the charges on his account.

At Mr. ***'s request, I can asked for attendance change to be processed for his BUS 100 course for Fall Quarter. Prior to making this request, however, he should consider that absent documentation indicating that he asked University staff to drop his Fall Quarter courses, changing his attendance would increase his charges for the BUS 100 course from $191.50 to $250 for a No Show Fee per University policy. Please let me know if you have any further questions or concerns.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Colleges and Universities

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.