BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/08/2007

CSO Financial, Inc.

Phone: (800) 888-6597Fax: (541) 957-4576

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues4
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
12/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Spoke with service handlers ***** and **** They were both quick to hostile nature and tone. *** stated,"We deal with people who have thousands of dollar claims, yours is $10, they are fees, they are due." She went on to be very condescending and abusively aggressive. I had to at one point ask her to take perspective: I was not being aggressive or rude, simply asking questions regarding my fees. To which she responded, "It's $10, pay it."
I understand these woman deal with extremely rude people daily. However, I was not. They used inappropriate, unprofessional, and hostile tactics with someone they did not need to.

Desired Settlement
1)I would like letters of inappropriate conduct put into these woman's employee files, so that when they do this again there is a trail of hostile work practices that may lead to their dismissal from a customer service oriented position.
2) An apology, preferably from them and their supervisor so I know they took this seriously.

Business Response
I have reviewed the file/account for **** ********. I do not believe that ** ******** was treated appropriately by our collection staff,and I apologize for the way the entire matter was handled. ** ******** was correct in that it is not the amount she may or may not owe, it is a matter of principal. ** ******** deserved to have her questions answered completely and with courtesy. I was out of my office at the time ** ******** called me to report that she was upset, and then later I was unable to reach her by phone. The file has been appropriately noted and I have asked my assistant ***** to contact ** **** ******** as I am retiring from CSO and will not be available for discussion. Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

05/20/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Credit Services of Oregon bought our account from Kroger(Fred Meyer) for a $130.00 returned check last year. They are now attempting to collect $1962.05 for this $130.00 check. Fred Meyer was in total contact with us all the way through the process. Credit Services of Oregon never attempted to serve/reach or contact us prior to going to court for a judegment. I have always wanted to stay in great standing with Kroger. This should have been resolved in a different manner. According to a collection manager at Credit Services of Oregon,they have the legal right to "sub-serve" us. What that means,I am not sure.

Desired Settlement
I am willing,ofcourse,to pay off the check debt and a few hundred dollars for billing fees but in no way will I hand this collection agency almost $2000.00 on a $130.00 debt. I feel they prey on the struggling.

Business' Initial Response
The dishonored check was ASSIGNED for collection to our company by Fred Meyer/Kroger; Credit Services of Oregon,Inc. for collection. Credit Services did not buy the check; our company is not a debt-buying company. We do not get paid until the check is paid to or company by the consumer. Credit Services pays out-of-pocket for any collection costs incurred in the collection of accounts. If it is necessary to file a lawsuit to effect collection, Credit Services pays all costs: Court filing fees, Service fees, and Attorney fees. If judgment is entered against the defendant(s) the law allows the Plaintiff to collect those costs from the Judgment Debtor(s) consumer/defendant. When our company received no
response and no payment from the consumer, after collection notices were sent and were not returned by the post office, we left a phone message at the consumers residence for a return call. When the check remained unpaid, and we had no contact from the consumer(s) a lawsuit was filed in Multnomah County Circuit court via our attorney. The consumer/complainant was personally served our lawsuit on December 09, 2012. When no answer was filed to the lawsuit and the balance due at that time remained unpaid, a Default Judgment was entered in favor of Credit Services of Oregon, Inc. on Feb 07,2013. I was contacted by the consumer via phone on March 18,2013 after judgment had been awarded to Credit Services by the court. A complete breakdown of all amounts due on the judgment were
explained to the consumer at that time. I offered a payment plan option which was refused by the
consumer, as the consumer was at that time disputing the total balance due. I explained that no discount was available, that the full balance needed to be paid per the default judgment entered. The check was written at Fred Meyer on
March 12,2012. When the check remained unpaid,
Fred Meyer assigned it to our agency on July
18, 2012. When the check continued to remain
unpaid and we received no response to our collection efforts, the lawsuit was filed in
December, 2012. At this time no discount is
available on the judgment. If the consumer wishes to obtain legal advice, she/he must contact their own legal counsel. Credit Services of Oregon is prevented by law to give legal advice. At this time, the full balance of the
judgment remains unpaid. If the consumer wishes to again discuss these issues she *** contact me at either of the below tollfree numbers.

Sincerely,

******** ****************
VP, Collection Division Supervisor
Credit Services of Oregon, Inc.
Tollfree # XXX-XXX-XXXX.
My personal company tollfree # XXX-XXX-XXXX

10/14/2013Billing / Collection Issues
11/13/2012Billing / Collection Issues
08/07/2012Problems with Product / Service
10/27/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was not fully disclosed that my wages were going to be garnished when I spoke with ***** at the first of August 2014 when we spoke.
On August 30th I received a notice that my wages were going to be garnished through my employer. I called CSO to find out why and they told me it was from a $197 ticket from a Corvallis court that I thought had been paid off. So a $197 bill has gone to $800 something. I have no proof that this was paid so I am in fault.
Because of this garnishment I will not be able to afford to drive back and forth to work and thus now I will have to quit my job. I begged and pleaded to be able to make payments and they denied me. I honestly did not know this was going to happen and ***** never told me this when we spoke on the phone at the first of August.
Im going to loose my job now and I think this is totally unfair and not good practices. Im not trying to get out of the debt. I just dont want to acquire more debt and have to explain why I had to quit my job. They would not accept any payments and want payment in full which I cant afford all at once.

Desired Settlement
I want to be able to make payments so I do not have to quit my job.

Business Response
This account was assigned to CSO in May 2011. CSO attempted phone and letter contact to resolve this debt and after unsuccessful attempts filed small claims suit in December 2011. ***** was personally served and judgment was granted in January 2012. After the phone conversation with ***** in August 2014 we contacted our client and verified that the amount was in fact due when they assigned the account to collections and is still due. We then issued a writ of garnishment as allowed under Oregon state law for post judgment remedy. We spoke to ***** on September 2, 2014 and she wanted the amount of the garnishment to be reduced. We refused to release the writ of garnishment without payment in full.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This debt (traffic ticket) was from 2003/2004 and it was paid at the *********************. I paid it on a day their system was down. I only received a written receipt. I did not save the receipt since it has been over ten years. I never received any communication from the courts reporting that I still owed them any money. Yes, I received a judgement in January 2012 and on May 10, 2012 I paid off all my outstanding tickets and got my license back. The *** will not release your license if you had any outstanding tickets owed to courts. I paid all the courts that needed to be paid and at that time considered the judgement paid that I had received in January. Now I get this call in August 2014 from collections saying I owe a past court. I explained to the lady that there is no way that can be true, I have my drivers license and would not be able to have it nor work at the *** if I owed courts. She agreed and said she thought that was odd also and would call the courts and call me back. NOT once did she say there was a judgment in process to garnish my wages. The lady never called me back and I assumed she had called the courts and figured out the situation. September 2 I received a letter from my place of work saying that my wages will be garnished. I called the collections to find out what this was. It was the traffic ticket court issue again. I asked why they had not said anything in August to me about this and got the answer that they did not know there was a garnishment in process which is a lie. They knew there was a garnishment and gave me no choice or any room to research the situation. So now unless I could provide proof after ten years with a receipt, the courts can't do anything. The collections also would not accept any payments from me to stop the garnishment. I explained to them that I only get paid once a month and a $400 a month cut from my pay check forces me to not be able to travel to and from my job since I was in the process of moving to a house an hour away from my job. My job does not let me relocate. They explained they will NOT accept any payments and require payment in full and will not pull back the garnishment from my employer. This is a $170 dollar ticket that THEY the collections have now charged me $800 something. This has now forced me to quit my job because I now can't afford to commute to my job. Today September 19 is my last day at my job. Now I'm unemployed. This is not right by any means.

Final Business Response
On *** 10, 2011 ************************* mailed a final demand letter to the last address they had on file to Ms **** to inform that if the ticket was not paid in full it would be sent to collections. On May 26, 2011 the account was received by CSO for collections. CSO made several phone and letter attempts to resolve the debt without results. Small Claim was filed with ****** County Circuit Court in December 2011 and Ms. **** was personally served with the Small Claim papers on January 2, 2012. The Small Claim paperwork gave notice to the Defendant to inform that within 14 days they must pay the claim to the Plaintiff (CSO) or Demand a Hearing or Demand a Jury Trial and if failed to do so then the Plaintiff may ask for a judgment. Ms. **** did not pay the claim and did not request a hearing or trial and Judgment was entered against Ms. **** on January 25, 2012. CSO has made phone attempts to contact Ms. **** after judgment with no results and has issued writs of garnishment as part of post judgment remedial actions. After the conversation with Ms. **** on August 6, 2014 CSO re-verified the account with our client, ********* ********* ****** Without a receipt or proof of payment being produced by Ms. ****, the account remains owing. A license suspension is only valid for a number of years and suspension on this action would have expired. A writ of garnishment was requested on August 18, 2014 (after the August 6th conversation with Ms. ****). Ms. **** contacted CSO on September 2, 2014 to dispute the garnishment and request that the garnishment be reduced. CSO policy is to only accept payment in full to release a writ of garnishment.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did not have record of this receipt because it was over ten years ago. I did pay the courts because if I had not then there would not have been a release on my drivers license.

I never received anything from the courts saying I owed anything because I had moved over ten years from when I had paid the ticket off.

I worked for the *** of ****** until just recently last month (Sept) and the law that you can not re-suspend for outstanding tickets did not go into effect until this year, 2014. So, if I had owed on this ticket then they should have re suspended my license.

When I received the garnishment first time letter in 2012 it was before I had paid off all my tickets and had my license reinstated. There was no where in the paperwork for me to demand a hearing.

When I paid off all my tickets and got my license back on May 10, 2012 I assumed this was all taken care of because I could NOT have got my license back owing a court any money. I never heard anything more about it until just recently. August 2014 when I spoke with CSO and told them that had been paid off many years ago and thus I would not have my drivers license or be working for the ****

The first of Sept 2014 after I had not heard from CSO anymore I received a letter from my employer stating I would be getting my wages garnished. I called CSO and they told me there was nothing they could do to help me.

I called Corvallis courts and they explained to me that the collection agency could withdraw the garnishment so I could make payments. CSO did not give me an option to make payments and thus I had to quit my job because I could not afford to drive back and forth to work.

As of Sept 19th CSO HAS been paid $300 and some dollars from my last paycheck for a $175 bill they are claiming I owe to Corvallis courts.

CSO still wants over $400 dollars from me.

I at this point consider the debt paid in full and require that it be taken care of and that I owe nothing more because I have lost my job and this has caused me considerable financial troubles.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Collection Agencies, Screening - Background & Employment, Credit Reporting Agencies, Billing Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.