BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/11/1996

R V Center, Inc. (The)

Phone: (260) 244-3414Fax: (260) 244-3898

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
05/30/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The RV Center listed a trailer on their website but would not honor the sales price.
The RV Center listed a 2010 Northland trailer for ****** on their clearance section of the website. I called and confirmed with an employee the sales price was ******* Upon driving 1.5 hours to look at the trailer, I was told the sales price was an error. The regular price is ******* The clearance price should have been ******* The owner would not stand behind his website price, and would not stand behind his employee confirming the price over the phone.

Desired Settlement
For the company to honor the sales price listed on,their website, and the price also confirmed by their employee.

Business Response
Mr ***** did call in, and the employee was trying to accommodate Mr ***** since sales was tied up, did tell Mr ***** that she was not sure which price was correct. We identified that there was an error and apologized to the agitated Mr ***** for the error and tried to explain that the listing had the wrong price attached. I will be including 7 attachments which will solidify that a mistake was made by a third party firm.
Attachment 1 shows communication between the owner, *** and **** ****** from the Fort Wayne newspapers regarding the add. **** sent a message wanting to know unit and pricing (on pg 2) *** responds with the information which shows a stock# XXXXX for *********** pg 1)
Attachment 2 shows response from **** at FWN regarding the error and what happened on their end. He admits that the wrong picture was attached.
Attachment 3 shows the signage in the 2011 Heartland camper (which Mr ***** incorrectly stated as a 2010 Northland trailer). The 2011 is actually the trailer in question. It shows the stock #C-XXXXXX for ******* which online has a special price of ******** Again, the communication from *** to FWN indicates stock# XXXXX.
Attachment 4 shows again said 2011 heartland trailer stock #C-XXXXX listed at ********
Attachment 5 shows the title for the trailer in error that was supposed to be in the add with the vin which we use the last 5-6 numbers of the vin for our stock numbers which was again...#XXXXX a 2012 KZ Sportsmen camper. Attachment 6 shows the registration for the 2011 heartland in question again with a stock# XXXXXX.
Attachment 7 is a copy of our disclaimer on our website which clearly states errors do happen.
Mr ***** was very threatening to our staff and myself making false claims that we are scammers and accusing us of "Bait and Switch". Clearly this was an error and I can guarantee him that I don't run my business in any slighted manner and I certainly do none of the things he has accused us of. Again, we apologize for the error.

05/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was quoted $225 in an estimate and the final cost was over $500. I never received any calls informing me the cost was going to double.
I had called The RV Center on March 31, 2015 and spoke with **** in the service dept. to get an estimate to have my trailer brakes replaced. I had mentioned to **** that I had already purchased the parts and all I needed was the cost of labor. I was quoted over the phone the cost of $225 and was told it would only take a few hours. I had asked ****, while the brakes were tore apart what would it cost to have the bearings repacked, I was told an additional $50. The total cost of the estimate was $225.00. I set scheduled for the work to be done on Friday April 3, 2015. I dropped of the trailer the day before my appointment to ensure the work would be completed. At 3:15pm I called because I never received a call from Mark the whole day, I was then told his guys were having problems getting the brakes off and would not be completed that day. I was told then by **** that he would call me Monday morning when the trailer was completed. Monday afternoon April 6, 2015 comes and goes with no phone call, so I called around 2pm and had to leave a message and that the office would give him the message. I called back at 430pm and **** told me he never was given the message. While I was on the phone I was told that it was still not done and that they were waiting on 2 lug nuts to put the tire back on and the lug nuts were to be there on Tuesday morning April 7, 2015. I said ok, but I need to get the trailer back so that I could work, he said he understood and would call me when finished Tuesday. At 4pm Tuesday April 7 I had to call AGAIN to ask what is going on, I spoke with Bailey and was told she would find out and call me back. She call me back 15 minutes later and said the trailer was still not done because the lug nuts were the wrong ones, but they were working on it. Wednesday April 8, 2015 Bailey called me to say the trailer was finished and ready for pick up.
During this whole time I was never called about a change in price from the estimate nor did they ever contact me about the delays. I had to always call them when their time frame of calling me had expired. My original estimate was $225.00 plus tax because I provided the parts to fix the brakes. When Bailey called for me to pick up my trailer the invoice had more than doubled to $505.52. She went on to explain what they had done and added that they had replaced a 7 way electrical plug that costs $12.00 for no extra charge that I did not ask for. I argued the fact that my final cost was more than double and all I received was I am sorry but it took longer than expected. I also argued that I did not give them a blank check to fix this and that common courtesy would have been to call me with updates, but nobody in the office seemed to care. I mention to them that I hope they made enough money off of me for this one job because they will never see me in their store again, nor will I refer anyone that I know to go there. Everyone in the office did not seem to even care and let me walk out the door.

Desired Settlement
Make it right to a customer that is not just a 1 time customer as I go in their store a few times a year for repair parts and service for my 3 trailers.

Business Response
After attempting to fix his trailer, the customer contacted us for assistance. We quoted for a wheel bearing pack and additional time to change out the brake assemblies. When we got into the job, and it was more complicated than anticipated and when we did contact the customer, we did a poor job communicating that more time also meant more money. The owner of the dealership contacted the customer the very next morning regarding his dissatisfaction when he left the dealership, to get his side of the story. Within 24 hours the problem was resolved by the customer and The RV Center splitting the difference. I believe the customer is satisfied and customer received an apology for the miscommunication.

09/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was looking for a small camper for me and my boys to do more camping. I was wanting one that was ready to go. I found one on their website, looked good from pictures, I went and did a walk around a couple of days later. It looked ok, except one corner was lower than the others. I mentioned it to them and was told with older pop-up campers that was normal. Not knowing any different, I agreed. I bought it on March 7, 2014; did not fully set it up until May 22, 2014. It seemed to set up ok, I took it down on May 26, 2014; and did not set it back up until on or about June 12, 2014. That was to clean and rearrange for my next camping trip, which was to be about 2 weeks later. That's when the right rear lift cable failed and broke. I tried to see if they could fix it, and they said that it was going to cost anywhere from **** to ***** but I was told that the part could not be found because the company that made the pop-up camper was no longer in business. But I have also talked with a camper dealer here in town that deals with this type of camper and can get the part. But that isn't what frustrates me, it's the hassle of getting the camper, plating it, and only getting to use it one time.
Product_Or_Service: 1982 Coleman Colonial Tent Camper

Desired Settlement
I would be glad to give them the camper back if I can get what I paid for it, the document fee, and the cost to transfer the plate to a different one, if I so choose to get a different one. I think all in all ***** for the camper, *** document fee, *** tax, and **** for plate transfer and aggravation. For a grand total reimbursement of *********

Business Response
In reference to case #XXXXXXXX. In response to said complaint and proposed resolution:
Our everyday goal is customer satisfaction, and we make every effort to ensure when a customer buys a used unit, that everything is functioning properly. All used units are purchased "As Is" "No warranty implied" due to the fact that it is used and we can't guarantee nor assure the longevity of all working parts. In this particular case this is a 1982 Coleman Tent Camper that is 33 years old. As stated in complaint, it was working fine (and was put up and down several times) prior to purchase, and we have no control over the longevity of that particular cable. Unfortunately, with Coleman parts, we have no source or means of manufacturing cables.
We would only entertain returning the said camper on a trade of their choice, giving them their full ***** credit towards the purchase of another camper. We look forward to hearing from you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If they are willing to give me ***** to trade it back in, I will just take the ***** and go somewhere else. My reasoning behind it is I may get one that I can only use one time again, and I want one that I can use more often than that. I paid for the inspection, and apparently it was either done poorly or something was over looked. The place I have trying to fix it now said that it was "jerry rigged" by someone who knew what they were doing; and unless you knew what you were looking for, you wouldn't know any different. Therefor any trust in getting a working unit has been broken.

Final Business Response
First of all I want to clarify and guarantee there has been NO "jerry rigging" done on our part. That is not, nor EVER will be how business is conducted here. Second I want to clarify that the customer did NOT pay for an inspection, that is a courtesy on our part. We are a very reputable dealership and would never intentionally sell a damaged trailer without the full consent of the customer. The trailer you purchased was a 33 year old trailer that is not perfect, but was working well at the time. All our used units are sold with the same "As IS,no warranty implied" and we can't guarantee the longevity of any unit. Again, we would like to offer to you to bring the unit back in (with broken cable) for a trade deal. Again, we will give you the full ****** credit towards another camper.

Consumer Response
Sorry that it has taken me a while to get back to this response. My trust with the company has been compromised, so doing a trade in is out of the question. Now I do have a company that can repair the unit for more than half of what they were going to charge me. Since they do not want to refund my money, I would be satisfied with them paying the repair bill.

05/15/2014Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Recreational Vehicles - Dealers, Recreational Vehicles - Storage, Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service, Recreational Vehicles - Rent & Lease, Recreational Vehicles - Equipment, Parts, Supplies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.