BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/20/2004

Vacation Reservation Center, LLC

Phone: (757) 345-6748Fax: (757) 221-6761

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

27 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues9
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service16
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints27

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (27)
09/14/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
VRC description of offer and incentives received differed from the description of offer and incentives after vacation booked.
08/25/2014. I purchased the Gatlinburg TN Resort Vacation for $219.99 which included a $100 visa gift card and additional vacation after completion of a Time Share presentation in Gatlinburg. I asked many questions regarding cancellation, refunds, etc. When I recevied the confirmation of purchase and offer, I contacted VRC and addressed the issue of the visa gift card amount only showing $50. I was told that was a mistake and they would take care of that. 08/21/2015, I contacted VRC to book my package. I was told I was to receive a $50 gift card. I referenced the calls placed to them in Aug and Sept of 2014 and ask they listen to the recording of the calls. The representative stated he would have a manager do so and he would call me back. I never received a call back. I received an email with my confirmation of the vacation with ******* ******* in Pigeon Forge TN and a HOTEL I would be staying in, not the resort. I contacted ******* ******* and cancelled due to it not being in Gatlinburg TN as advertised and not at the resort. After reviewing the Terms and conditions sent to me on 08/25/2014 from VRC and the conditions sent to me on 08/21/2015 from ******* ******** there is a big difference in requirements and conditions between the two companies. I have called VRC many times and have not been able to make contact. The 2 times I did speak to a representative at VRC about my concerns and a request of refund for misrepresentation of offer, terms and conditions, I was told the manager would call me back and I have yet to hear from that person. I am very unimpressed with VRC sales techniques and ******* ******* for using them.

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund of the purchase price of $219.00 from VRC.

Business Response
A full refund has been processed for **** *****. Please give 48 - 72 hours for credit to be applied to your card. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused.
Thank you.
****** *******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I spoke ****** on 9/8/2015. She made many attempts to offer me the package and I did not accept. She stated she would process the refund. The same day, I received a confirmation email for the Vacation Package she was trying to get me to accept. Nothing indicating a refund. She was very polite but I dont think she understood the reason I would not accept another package from them was the lack of faith in the company from my past experience. I am accepting my full refund and hope it processes in the time frame quoted.

08/25/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have called numerous times to get refund and each has assured me of it.
I canceled account 1 day after i paid beginning of July.i was told i would receive refund w in 72 hours.I was told I would get a phone callfrom accounting.it never came.i callwd again and was made other offers but i declined.i was told then it would be 7 to 10 business days.Refund never came.I called again and i was given the same answer.as ofAugust 13 ,2015 I was told it would be with in 72 hours. I STILL DO NOT HAVE MONEY.

Desired Settlement
I want my total refund and apology and the public to know their refund practice scam.

Business Response
**** ******** refund was processed on August 13, 2015. I apologize for any inconvenience this has caused.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

07/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Promised a vacation at the resort they are trying to sell us but booked us in a small hotel room. Customer service has not returned my calls.
Purchased vacation package 10-27-2014 after being solicited via telephone and offered a 3 night vacation stay at ******* resorts for **** as well as a gift card and and 3 night cruise in exchange for touring the property. I ask specifically prior to purchase if we would be staying at the resort or in a cheap hotel and was promised a stay in the resort that would accommodate 5 people. Called and made reservation on 4-2-2015 to arrive on June 23 and again informed them that we had been promised a resort stay. When paperwork came in mail the reservation for for 3 nights in the Hampton Inn! A small hotel room to accommodate 5 guest! The hotel is no where near the beach and doesn't even have a pool, far from the resort accommodations I was promised! I have called numerous times trying to get the issue resolved and was told on several occasions that I could pay more money and upgrade to what I was promised in the first place! I ask for a refund and was referred to customer service. I called customer service and got a answering machine and was never called back by them. The vacation reservationists whom I have spoken to many times finally called me back and offered a stay at ****** *** in a 2 bedroom condo that would only accommodate 4 for the same price so I told her to go ahead book this. She said I would get a confirmation in the mail which I never received. I was also suppose to get a call 14 days prior to our reservations to confirm our reservations and I never received that either. I called on Monday June 15 to confirm our reservation with ******** and informed her that I never received anything in the mail. She called back and said for some reason unknown to her it was never confirmed in the system and our reservations were still for the ******* **** she ask for another day to get this resolved. I again waited and nothing was accomplished. I spoke to customer service on Tuesday June 16 and ask for refund and was again transferred to ******** who only handles reservations not refunds. She said she would call back by the end of the day hopefully with a confirmation at ****** Oak but called late last night and stated she is still waiting! Our reservations are in 6 days and they still have us in a hotel room! I called again this morning and requested a refund from customer service since they are not putting me in the accommodations promised! I was told someone would call me back. About 4 hours later, I am still waiting even after stating that I was gonna file a complaint with BBB if I didn't get a call back very soon.

Desired Settlement
I originally just wanted a resort stay as promised instead of a hotel stay but at this point I would just like a full refund of the **** purchase price so I can make reservations elsewhere considering my husband and I took vacation time from work for this purpose! I don't want to travel to Myrtle Beach to stay in a small hotel room located more than a mile from the beach that doesn't even have a pool. I would rather stay home or go somewhere else! I don't like being lied to!

Business Response
**** ***** purchase with has been cancelled and her monies refunded. Thank you for making us aware of this situation.
********** *******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

07/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a vacation rental only to be used for certain dates and was told if those dates would not be available I would get my money back.
on 6th of June at the Fairfax Festival event my husband and I purchased a house rental by a man named ** as he stated and wrote down on the paper he gave us. He had pictures of the house that he said would be rented and he said that this would be the house we would stay at. I told him that we were ony interested in going on July 3 thru 5 because we are leaving the country for 6 weeks on the 16 the my Friends and my brother have already made a purchase as well from him for when we come back that we go again to Williamsburg in Septermber. So he said that He will check on the dates next week on Tuesday or Wendsday and if those dates would not be available that he can just return the money for the reservation. I asked him 3 times that if the dayes were not available would we get our money back and he said yes. Once next week came around we had to call 3 times and our reservation was never in. I called him on the phone number he gave me and he said to give him another day thaqgt there was some system update and that is why the reservation was not in. So once the reservation was in I called they told me that I was not able to go on those dates. I asked then to refund me the cahrge since those were the only dates I could go. They sent the request for cancellation and I was told that I would get a call tomorrow. I got a call from Donna 2 days later and after her asking me what days I wanted to go and cehckin for another 30 minutes she told me that that package was not refundable and she can't refund me the money. I exlapined to her that ** has already told me that if I was not able to go on those dates that I requested I would get my money back and she said NO he can't tell you that and nothing I can do for you now. So I tried calling ** for 4 days now and left him messages and He is not answering to me. I have called them again at the reservation center and got no where with them as well. My brother and my friend have also attempted to make reservations on different days and have told me that this is time share and we have to do a 90 minutes sesssion to get this house and that it not even a house that he showed us on the pictured that it is a town house. Evertying this man has told us was not the truth. The people from the reservation center are just daying that nothing they can do for me but I need my money back for something that I can't use and was told that I would get my money back if this happened. Regardless of who this man is he still works for them and they can deal with him of how he deals with people but he told me something and this needs to be honored now.

Desired Settlement
I would like my refund for the money that they took from me. I was told that I can get my money back and I would like them to keep their word and give me my money back.

Business Response
****** ***** vacation package will be cancelled today with a full refund. Thank you for bring this to our attention.
Thank you.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

06/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Will not return phone calls, emails nor voice mails.
On may 11,2015 I received a call about a promotional offer that vrc was offering. This was my 3rd phone call from them before I thought ok let's see how this goes. They charged **** immediately to my credit card company. I then started researching their company. I started calling on may 13th and have everyday since and no one had returned my call,email or voicemail messages. I am well within my 30 day free trial of reviewing the documents sent to me To receive a full refund. I don't understand why no contact has been made with me upon my several requests to cancel. The reviews are horrible So yes I immediately changed my mind and have been calling close to a month now. All of my information is correct that they have on file so they're isn't an excuse for no communication on my part. ***Refund my money!****

Desired Settlement
A full refund and nothing less.

Business Response
A full refund has been issued to *** ******* today - please give it 48 to 72 hours to appear on your credit card. I apologize for the inconvenience this has caused her.
Thank you.
****** *******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Receiving a full refund as requested. Yes I'm satisfied. Thank you.

Page 1 of 3
08/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company has failed to give me a refund of purchased service, even though I was given assurance that this would be done on several occasions.

I purchased 4 day 3night vacation package on5-17-2015. I called back to make some clarifications and could not get anyone. This was during hours. I became disgusted and decided to cancel. I called back during the allotted cancellaton time and talked to ****** (girl) 6-4-15. She assured me a refund would be credited to my credit card. her number is XXX-XXX-XXXX. On 7-3-15 I called again since the refund of ********* had not been credited to my credit card.
I talked to ****** again and this time she gave me a confirmation # XXXXXXX, and assured me again that she had fixed the problem, It had fallen thru the cracks as she put it. On 7-21-15 I called again and talked to ****, He assured me that he would take care of it immediately. As of today, 7-31-2015 this has not been done.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund of the original amount, ******** plus ****** for my time and trouble in collecting this. I want this NOW!!!

Business Response
I have had our manager cancel *** ******** and refund his ******** I am sorry for any inconvenience this has caused him.

04/21/2016Problems with Product / Service
03/25/2016Problems with Product / Service
03/22/2016Problems with Product / Service
05/01/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Travel Packages, Vacation Time Share, Vacation Rentals, Vacation Certificates & Vouchers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.