Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/30/2013

Arvig

Phone: (866) 937-4227Fax: (218) 346-8800

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues5
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints15

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (15)BBB Closure Definitions
02/16/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Arvig continues to bill our household for a service that was canceled over a year ago and paid in full at the time of cancellation.
In September of 2013, Arvig, along with all other service providers used in our household were notified that our household was moving away from the area, and were subsequently canceled. For the next four months, we continued to receive bills for "unpaid" balances dated post cancellation. For four consecutive months, I made calls to the billing center voicing our grievance, only to be assured the problem would be taken care of, and told we will not received any more bill in the future. The final piece of mail we received was dated 1/22/14, and after yet another phone call, we were told to ignore the bill, and all would be taken care of. Roughly a year later, we receive a letter dated 1/9/15 stating our outstanding balance has been taken to a collection department. Arvig failed to correct their initial mistake, harassed us with continued bills, and are now potentially damaging my credit score with this accusation of delinquent payments.

Desired Settlement
An acknowledgement that they made a series of mistakes, a sincere apology, and then to never hear from them again.

Business Response
Upon reviewing the customer's account, it appears that Mr. ****'s account was disconnected 10/16/13 as requested. After his accounts were disconnected, his last payment to us was returned by the bank, so his balance due to us changed.

Our representatives tried to explain this to Mr. ****, as it appeared to him that he was continuing to be billed. However, in the end, we ended up crediting the balance due to Mr. ****'s frustration.

The account is at a zero balance effective 1/14/15.

Should Mr. **** have any additional questions or concerns, we would be happy to address them with him.

10/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They are wanting me to pay for a service that was not working. I am happy to pay for the service from the day that it started working correctly.
I refuse to pay for a non working service. They now are not responding.

Desired Settlement
I would like to only pay for the service starting from the day it worked correctly. (Tv) I will happly pay for the other working services from day one

Business Response
We have been in contact with Mr. **** on numerous occasions over the past several months.

Mr. **** had services (including video) installed at his home. Once the service was installed, Mr. **** experienced issues when trying to view programs on multiple televisions. It was determined that the service issues were a result of non industry standard wiring that had been performed by the previous home owner.

Typical construction charges would have applied to this situation to bring the wiring up to industry standards, but we (Arvig) agreed to perform the work at no cost to the customer.

Once the work was completed, Mr. **** had additional wiring requests (mounting our company equipment inside of his home) he expected Arvig to perform at no cost to him. This request would have required the assistance of a licensed electrician and a additional time from our technicians which we explained to Mr. ****. Mr. **** continued to dispute this and insisted we should perform the install at not cost to his specifications, but eventually agreed to allow our technician to complete the work per industry standard (on the outside of his home) at no additional cost to him.

Once the work was completed, Mr. **** then requested credit for his services that had not been working at 100%. We explained to Mr. **** that although the services had not worked at 100%, they had worked adequately and we had performed the construction services at no cost to him instead of issuing service credits. We would be happy to reverse this and credit Mr. **** for the service and in return charge him for the construction instead ~ a charge that would be much greater.

Mr. **** has since argued that the construction performed should be part of the installation process and not his problem or cost. We have explained that "standard installation" does not cover the extensive construction that was performed. We have not been able to come to an agreement.

I have personally talked to Mr. **** via email and phone on numerous occasions. In addition, he has been in contact with a number of my employees regarding the same thing.

Mr. **** had reached out to another individual on our Leadership team, and they asked me to follow up with him on their behalf. I explained to Mr. **** that our entire leadership team is aware of his situation and in agreement of how we are handling it. Mr. **** then told me that unless I was able to make him see things my way, there was no value in having a conversation with him. This was my last contact with Mr. ****.

We have truly spent a significant amount of money to correct construction (not performed by Arvig) that did not meet industry standards. We do not intend to issue any credits on Mr. ****'s account because of this.

10/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Pay for 10 meg speed. Have never received that speed, but would be satisfied to receive a consistent 7meg. Speed often drops to less tan 1meg.
Pay for 10 meg service. Have never received 10 meg of download speed as tested by speed test.net. Would be satisfied with a consistent 5-7meg of service. When service degrades to less than 1meg, and we call the help desk, miraculously, the speed improves back to 5-7 meg. Very suspicious that Arvig is throttling service. The poor speed has become a weekly now daily issue.

Desired Settlement
Want stated speed actually delivered. Will settle for 5-7 meg, and feel this is the speed we should be billed for.

Business Response
When looking at the Jenkin's account, it appears there were trouble tickets called in 6/25, 7/3 and 7/7 in regards to speed issues. We dispatched a technician to their site on 7/10 and made a follow up call to the customer to verify if speeds improved. The customer did not return our call.

We do believe the Jenkin's were provisioned for faster speeds than we were able to provide which quite possibly caused speed/performance issues. I have adjusted their speed and billing to 5 meg as I believe this will provide a more reliable speed for them.

If the Jenkin's are continuing to have speed issues, we would love to visit with them further so we have an opportunity to troubleshoot and resolve it.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We have paid for 10meg for years. Adjusting the speed down now to what they state they can really deliver seems rather poor business. I tested the speed at 5:30 am September 4th, and still did not manage to get even the 5meg they said we should now receive. The most favorable download speed generated was 3.19. Amazingly, on the days I called the help desk I could get the 5-7 meg, though it was never sustained for very long. If I'm not even getting the 5meg. This doesn't seem like I'm getting even what Arvig now says they can deliver.

Final Business Response
Our intent is always to give customers the highest speeds we can and they are interested in. We attempted to deliver faster speeds to the ******* based off of their requests. As I read through the history of their account, it does not appear there were speed issues reported until recently. After troubleshooting (internal techs and outside plant techs) we've determined the best way to resolve it is to lower the speed as we may no longer be able to support the faster speed at this residence.

I do not see any indication that the ******* have been in contact with our HelpDesk staff to verify speeds. Again, we would be happy to assist them with verifying service is performing as expected if they could contact us at **************.

09/01/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We had Arvig as our cable and internet service but we canceled them 6/18/2014 and we have a credit owed to us for $67.42. We have called for this refund but we were told today 7/22/2014 that it could take up to 2 billing cycles for our refund it has already been over 30 day's.

Desired Settlement
I really feel that 30 day's should be a sufficient time to refund the money.

Business Response
It does appear Mr. *****'s account currently reflects a credit balance as he has indicated. We do ask our customers to grant us 60 days to finalize their billing, apply any additional charges/credits once we have had an opportunity to ensure their returned equipment is still working properly and to check their equipment for any potential pending purchases (ie - Pay Per View) that we may not have been aware of. We then process the refunds in a check batch through our offices and issue directly to the customer.

We apologize for the delay to our customers and appreciate their patience while we ensure an accurate refund is processed. Mr. ***** should have his check in hand very shortly. Thank you!

08/20/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Please Retrieve unwanted smartsearch directory left on my property. I called and was rudely told to do it myself. I am on yellowpagesoptout.com.
I have been on yellowpagesoptout.com for several years. It seems smartsearch directory does not care what people want. I called the fargo branch and told them to come and pick up their unwanted directory. I was told to do it myself. I saw on their website that they are owned by arvig. Wow. What a bizarre way to do business. Force people to take unwanted product for which they have already expressed a dislike for. Then rudely tell them to deal with it themselves. I want someone to come and collect the unwanted directory and to cease and desist from all future deliveries.

Desired Settlement
I want the unwanted directory picked up at my residence immediately and to stop all future deliveries.

Business Response
Our representatives followed up with Mr. ***** prior to receiving this complaint and the directory was picked up by one of our representatives immediately. If there is anything additional Mr. ***** needs from us, please let me know. Thank you!

Page 1 of 3
04/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Not willing to fix the internet problems in Pelican Rapids. Excuses Excuses Excuses. Old wires old equipment. We know you have a problem . So what
They say they know I have a problem they do not know how to fix it . Excuses that is all you get from tech support. They will not let you talk to any one else.

Desired Settlement
An internet that works.

Business Response
We have been in contact with Mrs. ***** on numerous occasions. Unfortunately, we have had to restrict Mrs. *****'s service due to DMCA violations (illegal content downloads). In addition, we believe there are issues with devices within their household that can sometimes cause poorer service.

We have attempted to work with Mrs. ***** on numerous occasions to help her understand how this affects her service. However, Mrs. ***** is reluctant to work with the individuals equipped to assist her and instead always insists she would like to speak with someone else instead.

Although we would like to resolve the issues Mrs. ***** is having with her service, we fully believe it is in regards to her usage and equipment and therefore the resolution lies in her hands.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was contacted by ****** supposedly the head of tech support. She asked what the problem was as I started to tell her she started to talk over me. I quit talking so did she every time I started talking so did she. They have a recording of this call. nothing got solved because she would not stop talking over me. When you call tech support you get a different answer for the problem every time. Just last night 17 times I got can not find server. As big as the sky is I do not think that it is the skies problem that there is no server up there for Arvig. When we did not have the devices they are refering to we still had the problems.Therefore once again blame the customer. These problems happened way before the DMCA violations. nice try Arvig. check the records.

Final Business Response
Multiple individuals on multiple occasions have attempted to help Ms. ***** resolve the issues at her location. Ms. ***** has been difficult to work with during those interactions.

Arvig is happy to make a final good faith attempt at helping Ms. ***** identify and resolve the cause of the issues she is experiencing. Our Help Desk Supervisor, ******, would be happy to reach out to Ms. ***** during a time that is convenient for both.

If Ms. ***** feels we are still not able to provide her with the service she deserves, we understand her choice to look for alternate providers and will waive any disconnect fees if applicable.

09/08/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i have notifed arvig NUMEROUS times of my bankruptcy but i still keep getting phone calls one after another.
This will be the last time i contact you and next time i do it will be with an lawyer. I filed banktutcy in dec 2013. My attorneys name is **** ***** out of st cloud

*** W St ******* ** *** ****
St ****** ** XXXXX
(XXX) XXX-XXXX

That is his phone number do NOT contact me again regarding a bill i have talked to you for the last time. i will deal with the BBB only during this any attempt or call from arvig will be violation of the federal bankruptcy laws and i will file a lawsuit in the state of Minnesota for the maximum allowed of 5000 dollars

Desired Settlement
They can contact my attorney NOT me i filed bankruptcy on this matter and they refused to talk to him but still send me bills after bankruptcy which is ILLEGAL

Business Response
I have discussed this situation with our accounting/collections team. Unfortunately, we do not have any records on file regarding Mr. *****'s bankruptcy. We spoke with Mr. ***** in April and he indicated he would work with his attorney to provide us with the appropriate paperwork but we have not received it to date.

If Mr. ***** could provide us with a copy of his filing, we would be happy to attach it to his account ensuring he will not receive any additional calls.

Please let me know if I can provide Mr. ***** with any additional information. Thank you!

***** ******* - Customer Relations Manager

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not required to provide you with anything under state and federal banktuptcy laws besides my attorneys number which yu have been given if I hear from you at all on this matter again. I will file a lawsuit in stearns county for the maxiumn under law.

06/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Arvig informed it's customer's on April 28, 2014 that they would no longer carry the Viacom channels.
Arvig informed it's customer's on April 28, 2014 that they will no longer carry the Viacom channels, which on the 2 star program is about 20 channels. When I called Arvig about this- they informed me of the results of a survey that was done(which I was not fully informed that an important survey was being done) and they apologized for it but stated the June bill would reflect a decrease, because of not carrying those channels. THIS DID NOT HAPPEN! My bill is the same that it has been over the last year! Other than acouple of showson the Hallmark Channel, the only other channels I watched, was the VIACOM channels, so now I feel that I'm paying full price and can't even watch the shows/channels I enjoy. I'm seriously thinking of switching to Direct TV or Dish TV, so I will be able to watch the channels I have watched for years! If they get rid of 20 channels, then the bill should significantly reflect for no longer having those channels!

Desired Settlement
I want to see the VIACOM channels put back on, as that is what I'm paying for!!

Business Response
Thank you for your letter expressing your concerns in regards to the recent loss of the Viacom channels in our lineup.

Please know, this was a very difficult decision for our company as we never like to disappoint our customers. We based our decision off of the overall impact it would have on all of our customers and the responses we received from customers that participated in our online survey (as you indicated). Please feel free to visit our website and like us on Facebook or signup for online statements so we have your contact information and can reach out to you in the future to participate.

Unfortunately, I'm not able to review your account based on the customer information provided but would be happy to look into your concerns regarding billing if you can provide a valid phone number or name the account is under.

Again...we are just as disappointed as you that we were not able to continue our carriage of these channels and hope to add additional viewing options in the future that meet our customer's needs and are in line with prices everyone is comfortable paying.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Their response is the same 'form letter' they have been sending their customers. Their 'we're sorry', isn't enough for us the customers. Why is it that Direct or Dish TV, offers ALL the Viacom channels plus MORE, at a price that is less then what the 2 star plan is at Arvig? If we're paying over $100.00 a month for the 2 star plan and then they took off all the VIACOM channels, which was approximately 20 channels, why is it that they are only refunding their customers $2.50 a month? So each channel is only $.12??!??? I find that hard to believe! If the channels only cost $.12 each, then why are we paying over $100.00 for less than 50 channels and who is really profiting from it?!??

Final Business Response
Unfortunately, I still am not able to review this customer's personal account as they did not provide accurate contact information.

Unfortunately, the added cost for the Viacom channels package was determined to be too much based on the interest of the majority of our customers. Each network negotiates a package price for their specific channel package which means there really isn't a cost per channel. The price Viacom (or other networks) negotiates with us, isn't necessarily the same as what they negotiate with other providers, such as DirecTV or Dish Network.

Again, we understand this was a disappointing decision for some of our customers and we regret that we will not be able to provide the viewing of these channels anytime in the near future.

We would be happy to discuss additional options with this customer (other video tiers with different channel lineups, other programming options, etc.) if the customer would be willing to provide us with their account information or could contact us at **************.

Thank you!

Industry Comparison| Chart

Telephone Communications, Telephone Equipment & Systems Wholesale & Manufacturing, Internet-Based Telephone Service, Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite, Internet - Web Hosting, Computers - Security Equip & Systems, Telephone Equipment & Systems Service & Repair, Security Systems Consultants, Internet Access Provider, Internet Services, Electronic Equipment & Suppliers - Service & Repair, Computers - Cable & Installation, Computer Business Services, Communication Consultants, Consultants - Telecommunication, Advertising - Internet, Yellow Page Advertising, Telephone Equipment & Systems Dealers, Telephone Answering Equipment & Systems, Telecommunications Equipment - Disability, Utility Contractors, Cable Networking, Cable TV, Internet & Telephone Installation Service, Telephone & Television Cable Contractors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.