BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/28/2006

Central Payment (Headquarters)

Phone: (415) 462-8335Fax: (800) 449-7620

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

145 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 57 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues20
Billing / Collection Issues62
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service62
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints145

Additional Complaint Information

BBB's business review for Central Payment was created on March 8, 2008. A recent review of this company's complaints done in September 2014 state that complainants feel they are misled into signing up for service with Central Payment, being told if they sign up with Central payment, there is no contract, Central Payment will pay the cancellation fee (to their current service provider) and that it will be cost effective. Complaints also state consumers are led to believe that company representatives coming into their place of business are from their current service provider and are there to do an upgrade. Customers also state when calling to resolve issues are met with rude customer service representatives.
On November 13, 2014 Central payment responded to BBB's concerns with the following:

1) Central payment's standard agreement is for a 36 month term, however, month to month agreements are always approved when requested upon submission of the Merchant Application & Agreement. Central Payment offers a "Free Terminal Program" (FTP). In order for an account to qualify for the FTP a 3 year agreement is required, but exceptions can be made for the length of the agreement on a case by case basis. Reimbursement of a previous processor's early termination fee is also offered when necessary, which also requires the standard 36 month term. While Central Payment is not always notified by a customer that a cancellation fee reimbursement is required, we will always make exceptions after the agreement is signed and submitted in order to satisfy the customer's needs. Central Payment provides a cost analysis for the customer before signing up with CPAY. However, we understand that there may be situations where further adjustments to a customer's rates and fees need to be made to ensure savings. We also offer all customers a lifetime price match guarantee. This means that when and if a customer is already processing with Central Payment and they receive an offer for better pricing, Central Payment will meet or beat the offer presented to continue providing the customer with the best possible pricing.

2) Central Payment's Merchant Application and Agreement mentions Central Payment in multiple areas indicating the name of the processor for which the customer is applying. Central Payment has ZERO tolerance for ANY misrepresentation or fraud. If any issue of misrepresentation or fraud is presented to CPAY, the customer's issues are addressed immediately and an investigation is performed to ensure the incident does not occur again by the sales representative in question.

3) Customer Service is of the utmost importance to Central Payment. We strive to provide all customers with a pleasant experience and answer all questions. To ensure customer satisfaction Central Payment records all calls in our center. If there is a complaint of a rude representative CPAY Management will audit the call in question and take appropriate action. On-going training is also provided for all call center staff in efforts to continue providing excellent service to all our clients.

Central Payment is constantly holding staff training and making necessary adjustments to continue providing all customers with the best experience when calling our call center. We value our customers and will always take the necessary steps, changes and go the extra mile to answer all questions and address any concerns and provide the best experience.


Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (145)BBB Closure Definitions
11/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
An account executive for your company committed fraud by changing the terms of a contract with liquid paper after I signed it.
Account executive ******* ******** approached me about an account with Central Payment. He offered me a no contract account. When I received my first few statements, I was not happy because it was not what I was quoted. I was also being charged a monthly PCI non-compliance fee even though I had filed out the form online with a customer service rep. I decided to cancel my account and called Mr ********* He was extremely rude and unprofessional, and told me to send him a letter and that he would forward it on. I didn't trust him, so I called customer service myself. That's when I discovered that I was in fact in a 3year contract, and there would be a $550 fee charged to my account. I explained to the customer service manager that I was not in a contract and that Mr. ******** had me write "month to month" in a box on page 2 of the contract which had printed lines on it. The manager was rude when I told him that I would contact the BBB and file a complaint. He said" go right ahead, we have 60,000 clients, we don't care." So in the mean time I emailed Mr. ******** told him what I learned and asked him to honor his word and do the right thing to resolve this situation. He called and said that I was month to month and that he would cancel my account and do the right thing. I received my copy of the contract and discovered that Mr. ******** had used liquid paper and changed the "month to month" and wrote over it to say into 3yr. contract. It is obvious that it was changed because the hand writing is different from mine and the pre-printed lines were missing. That is fraud! I called and spoke to another manager and explained to him what had happen. He told me that only I could cancel my account, so it was still active. Another lie from Mr. ********* He like the other manager backed Mr ********* said that they would investigate, and call me back but they never did. My next complaint will be the Texas State Attorney general(since that is where the business took place) consumer protection division.
my merchant account # XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I don't Mr. ******** should be allowed to legally get away with this behavior. Since he has committed Fraud.

Business Response
Mrs. ********** expressed her concerns and we have waived said fees in October.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Cpay has stated that they have closed my account with no further charges, but I just received a second notice from their collections department saying that I owe them money. I called them last month and this month, but no one will return my call. If they send me into collections, I will be forced to contact the attorney general and report fraud. The terms of the contract that I signed were changed after I signed it.

11/19/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The sales representative lied about fees and contract agreement
On the first days of this year 2014, this representative named ******* in ******* *******, claiming many of the things that this sales representative promise at the time of acquiring this service, were lies, fees, lies about cutting by half my prior service, lies about getting referrals, I am spending more than 3% of fees than what we agreed???
I just want out of this company!!!! I am very disappointed for the outrageous fees charged for their services.

Desired Settlement
I just want simply out of this comapny, there are better fees with other companies.

Business Response
We have attempted to reach Mr. ******* to address and resolve his concerns. We will continue to try to get in touch with him. Until recently, Mr. ******* has been using CPAY for his credit card processing. Mr. ******* has not contacted our office to voice his concerns. CPAY is more than willing to make any necessary adjustments to his rates to ensure he receives the best possible pricing.

11/19/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
False Advertisement & False sales technical skills

Central Payment sent a sales man who has criminal background with following charges:

Aggravated Indecent Liberties,GE14less than 16,Sex Intercou, &
Aggravated Criminal Sodomy; Child less than 14

How i found out, I gave the application and needing help to set up, but sales man couldn't help me and called customer service, it took hours on the phone, and problem is still there.
I request to close the account, and they said there is $550 early termination fee. I am very upset with them sending a criminal person took all the private information.

Desired Settlement
I just want to close the account without early termination fee, if they are going to refund the money fine, otherwise keep it, I will not be poorer.

Business Response
Mr. *** opened two accounts with CPAY. He did not use one account. As a courtesy, CPAY has agreed to waive the Early Termination Fee in light that the account was not utilized. Mr. *** has agreed to continue processing through CPAY on his second account and his concerns have been addressed and resolved.

11/13/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My business used Central Pay Machine three days, I canceled as quick as I could and got charged $550 for canceling. Central Pay refuses a refund.
13 August - Central Pay credit card machine installed in my "**** & ****" business.
18 August - Machine sent via UPS back to Central Pay.
25 August - Machine received by Central Pay.
19 September - Routine follow-up call reveals I have to formally request cancellation via email, which is done.
30 September - Close out statement from Central Pay charges $27 for low sales volume. When I call, I'm assured the account is canceled and there will be no further charges.
28 October - I'm charged a $550 "cancellation fee."

Desired Settlement
Refund of $550 and formal written assurance that my account is cancel and "***********" is purged from Central Pay customer database.

Business Response
CPAY corp waived the cancellation fee for this account. We obtained information that iPayment charged this cancellation fee when the account was closed. We have instructed iPayment to issue refund right away as Central Payment had already waived this fee. We attempted to contact the customer to apologize for this mistake. The credit will be issued in full.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As of 5 Nov 14, the $550 refund has not yet posted to my BofA account and until it does, I will not consider my complaint resolved. Once it does post, I will promptly accept the response.

Final Consumer Response
The $550 refund has been posted to my account and I regard the complaint resolved. Thanks to all for their part in successfully closing this issue.

11/12/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unauthorized charges to my bank account. (Money taken out without my knowledge)
I was visited at my business by a representative of this company. I told him I was interested in the service. He said he would be back next week. He didn't come back for 2 months. When he did I told him I was no longer interested in the service. (This all took place in May and June). In July I received a billing statement and charges to my account were taken out in the amount of $19.50. I called the company and they told me to write a letter of cancellation. I did and sent it in August. I received another billing statement October 17th for more charges to my account. (The money is automatically withdrawn). In the amount of $35.45. I called the company again and they refuse to reverse the charges and stated I would be charged again this month! Help!

Desired Settlement
I would like the account cancelled, $54.95 returned to my account, and written confirmation that this has taken place. I have NEVER authorized them to take money out of my account. And for this company to not take any more money!

Business Response
Central Payment received the merchant's cancellation letter. ****** signed a merchant agreement to process through Central Payment. Central Payment agreed to cancel the account with no Cancellation fee as a courtesy. ******'s account is closed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Page 1 of 22
12/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This business is scam
Sale person ***** *** XXX-XXX-XXXX set up an account for us with promised lowest rate with no contract. He told us to call him with any issue even if want to cancel the account. However, it turns out the fee for this company is way too high. I contacted the sales person to cancel the service. He did not pick up calls. I left serveral messages for this person. This sales person is unreachable and never return calls. Central Payment keeps charging monthly fee. I contact Central Payment customer service to request the refund. They refused to offer me refund. I asked for the CEO phone number. The customer service representative not only did not provide me the contact info but also threaten me that will not issue or cancel the account for me. Somehow I got to talk with the head of the department called *****. He promised to issue me refund if I agree to see him. I agreed to see him. He wanted to see me 2nd time but he failed to keep his schedule and he never called me back or refund any of my money. I believe this business is a scam. I don't know how this business accredited with BBB but I 100% will not recommend this company for anyone. This company practice is unethical.

Desired Settlement
I want my 3 months refund back May June and July. The head of the department ***** promised to refund me. He scheduled to see me but came in late. And schedule 2nd time but did not make it and never heard anything from him since.

Business Response
**** personally visited this client, furthermore we offered reductions and demonstrated how we could assist. ******* **** has placed a complaint with the BBB with no merrit. Furthermore ********* account has been closed since 8/8/14.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did stay in my statement **** visited me one time. **** then requested to see me again because he said he could offer me lower rate. I agreed to see him 2nd time. However, he failed to keep his schedule. He called me on the day he supposed to see me with the reason he could not find parking. I then schedule to see him different day. Again, he did not show up. And, I have not heard anything from him since. **** failed to keep his schedule twice. Therefore, it makes me think that this company is seriously a scam.

I requested to cancel my account because I no longer trust this company, and I wanted my refund. The customer representative threaten me over the phone that he would not close my account if I keep asking for the CEO contact information. I then stop asking for the CEO contact information to please the customer representative in order for my account to be closed. I do not mind to sign a release form to release a conversation with this customer service rep.

All of this incident happened because the unprofessional manners of both employees: the sell person - ***** **** and head of the department - ****. ***** *** did not answer any of my calls. **** failed to keep the schedule. I am a client and I do not have any responsible with any of the company's employee. Because I did not hire any of these people. Therefore, if the employees did wrong, the company has to have responsible for that, not me. If ***** *** had answered his call to solve my concerns then I would not have to file a complain.

I want the company issue the refunds for 3 months May, June and July. Because this incident was not my fault. This is the employee's unprofessional manners. The company has to have repsonsible with those employees, not the clients.

In addition, there are many complaints file against this company with similar reasons. And, the complaints happens quite frequently every 2 months. It even makes me thing that this company is a scam.

I want my refund back for May, June, and July.

11/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was signed up for a new processing company unknowingly.
The rep from Central Payment came to my business (he previously worked for Merchant Services, whom I used as a processing company through him) he stated I needed to upgrade my machine to comply with new laws. He also stated that since I was a good customer I was eligible for a rate decrease. I agreed since I had worked with him before, I assumed he was with the same company and just keeping me updated on everything. It turns out that he was in fact with a new company, Central Payment, and I signed up for a new processor. I still have a contract with the old processor and a cancellation fee of $400. I now have another contract for another 3 years with Central Payment that includes a cancellation fee of $550. I am also now "Leasing" 2 machines at a monthly rate of nearly $100. I do not wish to do business with a company that uses trickery and employs representatives that do this to small business owners like myself. Neither company will help me in any way, and I am stuck paying two monthly bills, leasing 2 machines, or having to pay $950 in cancellation fees. NOT GOOD!

Desired Settlement
I want to cancel with no fees! I want my money back for the new machine I was told I needed, and have been "leasing" from this company.

Business Response
Central Payment management spoke with ******. ****** expressed her concerns. To date ****** is still processing with CPAY, but stated she has signed up with another provided. CPAY is still more than willing to assist ****** with her needs. At this time she has decided to use another processing company. ****** and CPAY mutually agree on a reduced cancellation fee.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When my new company tried to reprogram MY machine so we could start processing with the new company, Central Payment locked the machine...I cannot process any credit cards...they won't unlock the machine until I send it back to them with a fee of course, stating I was responsible since I let my new company "tamper" with equipment running CP programming. By law I own the machine, (Central Payment DOES NOT)I should be able to have any processor I choose, without fear of losing my machine. I am completely unable to process any cards, I know own a $895 paper weight. Since my business is at least 50% credit cards, I am experiencing a significant loss of income daily. This is a nasty response to a client who decided to take their business elsewhere, based on poor customer relations to begin with. I am absolutely floored that a company in this day and age would use tactics like this. They have put me behind thousands of dollars, and I do not appreciate it. They will hear from my lawyers.

11/19/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Central Payment is taking fees daily when it should be once a month.
Central payment corp stated that as April 1, 2014 our company was on monthly fee deduction. Yet and still they continued to take fees daily which in turn created over draft fees that they refuse to reimburse our company for. Have spoken with ********* on 7/17/2014 and she stated that it wasn't her companies problem. They fail to take responsibility for the mistakes that their company has made. And we should not have to cover the price for their mistakes.

Desired Settlement
We just want them to cover the overdraft fees that our company has incurred as a result of the daily fees being taken out even after they put us on the monthly fee deduction.

Business Response
CPAY received statements from this customer. The statements were already reflecting overdrafts not caused by CPAY. CPAY is willing to assist with some of these as a courtesy, however we cannot cover fees not caused by Central Payment.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Cpay is responsible for any and every overdraft that was caused by their company. We are not worried about the overdrafts that we created as we are not asking them to pay for those. And seeing that our account was suppose to be on MONTHLY fee with-drawls and Cpay kept taking out daily fees. We would have had maybe one as opposed to 6 or 7. Cpay refuses to accept their part in the matter by throwing blame at everyone else, but refusing to accept responsibility for their actions. Bottomline they created a bigger problem by not sticking to their end of an agreement because for some reason they couldn't get their system to update that our account was a monthly fee account. We just want them to take care of the fees that they caused.

11/06/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mr. ***** ***** verbally misrepresented terms and fees involved in Central Payments Services, and sign an Ipad based on his verbal communications
Merchant ID XXXXXXXXXXXXXX; Mr ***** ***** Account Representative did not disclose all fees involved with the credit card service. He verbally advised only 2 fees. One of $75.00 annual fee which would be waived the first year and a transaction fee of 1.51% of each credit card transaction. He was looking at an IPAD out of my view. After disclosing only these 2 fees. he moved the iPad around for me to sign with only a signature line viewable. He advised the only funds taken out of my business account would be the 1.51% of each transaction and no equipment or shipping fees at all. On 05/15/2014 Central payments began taking various fees out of my account. The equipment had never been activated or used. I contacted ***** by phone and was told not to worry about it he would get me a credit (which they did) On June 2nd there were 2 more charges, June 17th another charge. June 24th another charge June 30th another charge, July 2nd another charge, July 10th another charge. These charge were all refunded to me. Again none of the credit card equipment was ever used or activated and the account was never set up to be used because my retail store wasn't open for business yet. On July 22, 2014 I called central payments and advised some background research on ***** ***** revealed previous fraud type activity and that I was mislead and want to cancel the account. They said I had to do this in writing and via fax. I did that on July 22, 2014 and advised them to have somebody to pick up their unopened equipment. By July 31st 2014 the equipment had not been picked up so I emailed them again and advised the account was closed on July 22, 2014 and to pick up the equipment or send me a UPS tag and I would return it. No response from central payments. On August 4,2014 Central payments tried to withdraw 48.95 from my account. My bank stopped the payment and advised me to file a police report, which I did. On July 25th I received a letter from their collection agency stating I owed 48.95. I called them on 08/27/2014 and spoke to a male person. He advised I owe that because even though I cancelled the account it took several weeks to close it. I advised him of all the problems. He said it wasn't there fault I signed a blank contract and I am liable for early termination fees. I advised him in detail of how I was scammed in front of witnesses. No resolution was reached and I told him I would contact the BBB of their practices. I trusted what their employee ***** ***** verbally told me and there was nothing but a blank screen on the IPAD that I signed and there was no verbiage for me to read. He said it wasn't is fault I signed a blank screen. They have tried to charge me hundreds of dollars (close to $1,000.00) for an account that was never activated or used. As I was preparing to submit this to the BBB, ***** ***** called me on my cell phone. (XX-XX-XXXX) He said to not send this to the BBB and he would take care of everything and cancel the account without penalties. He said he would call me within 24 hours to confirm. I never received a call back from *****, but did receive a voicemail from Central Payments to call them (**** ******** I believe, couldn't understand him on the voicemail) I returned the call and left a message for him to call me and never received a call back. Again the service was never activated and the equipment was never used. I would have never agreed to anything except what was verbally disclosed due to the fact I was already set up with credit card service at a much cheaper rate.

Desired Settlement
I want them to cancel my account without any charges or penalties and if they would like to have their equipment send me a UPS or shipping tag and I will gladly return it. I was scammed from the beginning by a person that has been in legal trouble in the past that works for them and have hours and hours on the phone talking to them and taking away from my work. The agreement was very improperly disclosed and I was never given the opportunity to read anything. When I signed the Ipad it was only a blank screen with a signature box. I questioned ***** ***** and he said I was signing acknowleding the 2 fees of 75.00 per year and 1.51% of each transaction and at no time disclosed this was a contract or any of the other dozens of fees that Central Payments tried to charge me.

Business Response
We have reviewed the situation at hand. ****** did not use his account because he refused to activate, despite the numerous attempts made by our support team to assist. Instead called and was verbally abusive to at least one team member and continued hanging up on even a supervisor. Although there is no fault from CPAY, we did waive the cancellation fee upon closure of the account, which is a legitimate fee. ****** needs to return the equipment to CPAY in order to avoid fees for non-returned equipment.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This company's representative ***** ***** did not disclose any of the numerous fees from CPAY and I have spent over 40 hours of my time dealing with the money taken out of my business checking account by CPAY that was not authorized. ***** ***** told me when he asked for my business checking account number that was for deposits only and any charges from CPAY would be deducted from the credit card swipe. He never said money would be deducted from my checking account for any reason. They started taking money from my business account long before my store was open. ***** ***** dropped off their equipment and it was never opened. I am also getting letters from their collection agency for $48.95 on an account that was never activated. CPAY needs to have their representative ***** ***** pick up the equipment he brought to me, or email me a UPS or FEDX tag and I will gladly return it. The collection account needs to be retrieved by CPAY because again the account with CPAY was never activated. I have owned businesses for over 20 years and have been warned about companies like CPAY using Non-Disclosure tactics to lure in customers. I have lost too much money due to the time spent dealing with a company that will not listen to reason or understand non-disclosure. If this is not resolved immediately on the above listed terms I will put it in the hands of my Corporate Attorney. I contacted the BBB as the first step in a resolution.

11/03/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A sales agent from Central Payment signed us up for 2 companies at one time, and failed to disregard Central Payments application, cant get reimbursed
One of the salesmen who works for CP came to us and we switched our CC processing, however he signed us up for 2 different companies and they have been withdrawing money from my bank account. There has never been a transaction with Centreal Payment but they refuse to stop. Have called 2 times and they have agreed that they **** stop if I send in a cancelation letter but with no reimbursement.

Desired Settlement
Full refund for all months collected.

Business Response
******* signed an agreement with Central Payment for credit card processing. CPAY complied, activated his account and made the service available to him. ******* did not voice his complaints until July. As a courtesy CPAY agreed to release ******* from his agreement and closed his account with no early termination fee.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The sales person who works for Central Payment also had him sign another agreement the same day for another plan and did not terminate the first. We are still in contract with Sterling, the other plan the same representative signed us with. He did not cancel Central and we did not know there was two plans activated. I am sure they are saying they didn't hear from us but I called several times. We would like a refund due to their salesman signed us up for two companies on the same day.

Page 1 of 8

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Card Processing Service, Point of Sale Systems

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.