BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1978

Sundance Mazda

Phone: (780) 665-5207Fax: (780) 451-0346

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
12/13/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
***** ***** 6 has been dropped off for diagnostic (kept stalling when warming up). They said it was the high pressure fuel pump and then this was replaced by myself and the problem persisted. Took it back and they said it was the in tank fuel pump, once again they replaced this and charged for the labor. Problem was still not fixed they finally found a short in the wires to the fuel pump and this was the initial problem, both fuel pumps that were replaced it seems are just fine. Paid an extra $1000 in fuel pumps that was not neccesary and $250 in labor for the fuel pump that was not neccesary. Paid overall an extra $1250

Desired Settlement
Buy both pump and reimburse unnecessary labor.

Business Response
based on the customers' information, the vehicle was unfortunately in on a number of occasions. the 1st occasion for a diagnostic concern with the check engine light illuminating, diagnostic was completed and found that the initial problem was the high pressure fuel pump, cust. left with diagnostic and information, vehicle was then towed in approx. 3 weeks later, as engine would not start, cust. installed own used part, used component had to be tested to confirm integrity, it was confirmed and the condition was later identified to be a fault with in-tank fuel pump, customer supplied own fuel pump - aftermarket component, component replaced and similar condition existed, upon further diagnostic, found the wiring harness shorting/rubbed due to previous damage and/or impact creating excessive resistance within the fuel pump circuit, most likely causing additional and/or accelerated wear of related fuel pump components - the electric fuel pump, the fuel pump relay and additional operational circuits within the fuel pump and ignition system. Understanding the customers' frustration regarding this concern, unfortunately, based on the testing that was completed at every instance, the diagnostic and/or repair was correct, based on having to confirm the integrity of the customer supplied components, the diagnostic and/or replacement of components was correct. Based on the supplied low pressure assisting in-tank fuel pump being supplied/tested & confirmed operational, further testing was completed to ensure the integrity of the remaining fuel pump circuit components, including but not limited to the powertrain control module, during the diagnostic testing & inspection all "main" components were now confirmed to be satisfactory, upon further testing additional problems were identified, and unfortunately, as these systems are complex and work in conjunction and unicen with other components, we would not have been able to identify or further repair the wiring harness and fuel circuit relay without completing diagnostics and testing, customer has been charged accordingly for the diagnostics that were performed and completed, however, the customer has not been according to the time spent on the diagnostics. it is also our understanding that the vehicle has been to other repair facilities in attempts to identify and repair similar and perhaps on-going condition. at this time, we are satisfied that we have completed the correct initial diagnostics based on symptom and information, and also satisfied and confident that we have corrected the concern(barring a failed component) and have charged correctly and in accordance for diagnostic testing and repair. we will not be issuing any reimbursement for labour or material as supplied by the customer - ThankYou

11/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
*************************************************************** For work on my **************** with full ***** added protection warranty
On July 26, 2013 Sundance Mazda diagnosed my car with a faulty turbo and said it needed to be replaced under my warranty. ************************************* my car back to Sundance 3 more times over the course of 19 days for more diagnostics and testing because they claimed ************ required more information before they could approve the replacement under warranty. During this time I was never offered a rental or loan-out vehicle ***************************************************** Finally, the turbo was replaced on August 20, 2013 25 days after the problem was diagnosed** ****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** ********************************************************************************************* As I drove my car home on August 20 the check engine light came on again! I brought the car back to Sundance on August 21. This time they diagnosed the problem as a broken air fuel sensor, needing to be replaced under warranty. A week and a half later the sensor was replaced, but the check engine light remained. At this point Sundance told me that the car needs an "advanced intake cleaning". They said it will cost me $800 because it is considered a regular maintenance item not covered by warranty. ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************ Also, my invoice for the turbo replacement says: "INTAKE DOES NOT HAVE ANY SIGNIFICANT OIL BUILD UP IN IT" and "USED SNAKE CAM TO INSPECT NO OIL FOUND". *************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** ****************************************************************************************************************************************************** ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************ This was on October 2, 2013, but I have yet to hear from anyone at Sundance. *****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

The 2 invoices I have from Sundance are: ****** and ******.

My VIN: *****************
My extended warranty agreement no and plan no: *****************

I have sent numerous emails to ************ and Sundance, most of which have been ignored. And have called customer relations at ************ *********************************************************************************

Sundance Mazda is located at:

*****************************************************

Desired Settlement
I want ************ to pay for the "advanced intake cleaning". I want ************* ***** to perform the cleaning and any further servicing*****************************************************************************

Business Response
I have left a message with Mr. ***** *********, upon receipt of his initial complaint/concern with the BBB, addressed to **** ******, to contact myself,******* *** - General Manager of Sundance Mazda. Thank-you

06/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Last July, I was sold a Mazda X XXXX by sundance Mazda with a carbon package as an additional cost. But the day itself, before I took out the car, It already had a scratch on the ride side mirror. Not even a week, the front panel sticker is peeling off, then the side mirrors stickers are crumpled. All issues were reported then to the Manager, ******** and they want to buy me out by 500 dollars instead of telling me that they would fix it. He said he would give me money and I'll be the one to fix it. I bought a new car, and paying for the feature and package. ************************************************ Now I went and talk to the new service manager, *****, and he gave me a commitment of April 16 every part would be available and will be fixed and none of that had happened yet. Its been a nine(9) month wait and I patiently waited, but they dont seems bothered that I am a loyal customer and I already bought two cars from them.

Desired Settlement
I want that every cost of that carbon fiber be taken out from the total of what I'm paying for. This is with regards to their lack of customer interaction, lack of response and customer interaction *************************************************************************************

Business' Initial Response
On April 27th,2013 *** ******* brought his car in and the mirror wrap was replaced. On May 9th *** ******* returned and the interior carbon fibre was replaced. ************* met with *** ******* last year over his concerns and was offered $500.00 of which he refused. It is our understanding that all concerns have been addressed.

Consumer's Final Response
I brought my car last Friday (April 26) and until now (april 29) they havent worked on it. They didnt give me a loaner car and I'm walking going to work @ 5am in the morning. The service manager said last saturday "If I want my car, It's outside, take it... bring it back Monday". Why should I make three trip for them? ************************** ****************************************

01/31/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
COPY OF LETTER I HAVE SENT TO SUNDANCE ***************************************************************** Letter was sent to our salesman and cc to 4 upper management.

I have not heard back from you in regard to my phone call to you so I am going to address my concerns by email with copies going to all supervisors there in the hopes that our feelings will be heard with a more positive outcome.

When we purchased our 2010 Ford Focus from you, I felt assured that you had the best interests of us, as your customers. Now, I am wondering if this is true. The negotiating was, in our opinion, fair and we are happy with the vehicle so far.

What we are not happy with is that you did not tell us until after our purchase that there was only one set of keys for it.



We put our deposit on the car on November 17 and asked that it be checked for a pull to the left and to have the front windshield chips repaired and were told that it would be ready for us on Tuesday, November 20. On that day we made our full payment and then were told that there was only one set of keys. You said that we could go to a Ford dealership to get another key made. On Monday, November 26 you phoned and left a message that you had found another set of keys for the car. At that time ***** was on his way to ************* to get another set of keys so your message was too late.

***** was informed by ************* that they could not do a new key with only one existing key and they had to reprogram the car and cut and program two keys costing us a total of $244.00. The key that you have is absolutely no good to us now. My question to you is, where was this key for the 3 days before we picked up the car and another 7 days before your phone call. Had both sets been given to us upon picking up the car, there would be no issue.

I phoned you on your cell to tell you what had happened and that we were not very happy with the situation. You said you would have to speak to the Sales Manager to see if anything would be done for us.

It is now November 30 and I have not heard from anyone. I even phoned in myself on November 26 and spoke to *******, who also said he would have to speak to the Sales Manager on duty at the time of our purchase.

We are now not happy that no one could be bothered to get in touch with us and that we were left with a bill that we do not feel that we should have been responsible for.

I think that calling back would have been good customer service and we are left feeling that we did not get this after all and, ****, this was something that you said you and your company take pride in. Sincerely,

Desired Settlement
I would like to be reimbursed the $244.00 ******************************************************************************************************************************** I have waited for over a month for some kind of communication from Sundance.

Business' Initial Response
It is unfortuneate at time of delivery that the spare keys were not located. It is not uncommon to have cars traded in with only one set of keys and upon finding the spare keys we did contact *********. We will, however, put a $100.00 credit on her Loyalty card, that can be used in any department at Sundance Mazda.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The reason that we do not accept Sundance' response is that they only responded after BBB was contacted. If they had made any effort to respond to my phone calls and emails to every person, from our salesman to upper management, and if they had explained their side and then offered a credit to our loyalty card, we would have most likely still felt like valued customers. As it is, there was no effort made to contact us. *************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** they could have given us the courtesy of responding to the first phone call. *************************************

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, All-Terrain Vehicles, Truck Dealers, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.