BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/30/1994

Classic Toyota

Phone: (903) 581-0600Fax: (903) 509-4561

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints11

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (11)BBB Closure Definitions
03/02/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Pressured us into giving them either a check or copy of debit card to hold vehicle overnight then refused to give check back when we decided to wait
We went to the dealership on Monday ****** to look at the used Toyota Camry's they had advertised online. We were met by a salesman *** ******** and we test drove a black 2014 Camry with 29,000 miles on it. We went inside and discussed numbers on the car, possible payment scenarios and amount for my trade-in. They wanted us to bring my trade in back later that evening for them to look over so we agreed. Numbers looked pretty good and we were still going back and forth about the car but had pretty well decided to buy it. They were really pressuring us about things like, "well would you say you are going to buy it for sure" just things of that nature. It was getting late and we had to leave to make a 30 minute drive back home to pick our kids up from school. We told them my husband would take off work the next day and we'd come back and finalize everything, draw up papers etc. They got very nervous and pushy and kept saying that we had to leave either a copy of our debit card or a check to hold the vehicle overnight because if someone came in and wanted to buy it then they had to sell it to them. We resisted and told them "look, we have GOT to go, our kids are getting out of school in like 30 mins and we have got to pick them up and we have a drive in traffic ahead of us. They would not let us leave without leaving something they just kept stalling us. Finally we gave them a check for ***** to hold the car overnight, I made it clear that we were not putting any money down on the car just my trade and they told us that they would give us the check back either that evening when we brought my trade in for them to look at or the next day. I did bring my trade in for them to look over a few hours later after i picked my son's up, in fact they came with me. No check back that night. We went home and discussed it further. Despite really wanting the car we felt like if we waited just a little longer then my husband was going to get more hours at work and it would be better financially for us. So we went back around noon and told them we really wanted the car but we were going to have to wait at this time. I have bought 4 cars from this dealership and NEVER have had any problems with them. They hit the ROOF!!! They told us no that it was going to cost us and it was company policy etc to keep peoples money (not in those exact words but thats what it amounts to) they refused to give us our check back and told us we'd have to speak to the GM who conveniently was in a meeting of course. Gave them our numbers and was told he'd be in contact with us, of course no call still the next day. Instead of saying "hey we'd still like to earn your business when youre ready" or something similar they were jerks! Rude awful and nasty jerks. Never will I step foot on that dealership again or EVER buy a car from them. I called Toyota corporate offices and filed a complaint as well. They agreed that they should have given us the check back. That is not how you earn peoples business now or in the future and certainly not how you treat a person who has bought 4 vehicles from them in the past! The sales manager was the most rude I think, sure the salesman was disappointed but he really had to go over his head to the sales manager and he was awful. We never got to talk to anyone in finance or anything else and we for sure never printed out any contracts! These guys are high pressure salesman, they swoop down on you like vultures the minute you exit your car! I spoke to two former sales people who quit the dealership and are now working at other dealerships and they told BOTH told us separately that that is the reason they quit Classic is because of the way they treat their customers and the things they try and pull on them. It wasnt like they had to locate the car for us on another lot or special order it or anything and they only held it for us overnight for a total of maybe16 hours or so. They argued they could have sold the car!! Just overnight? Idiots!!!

Desired Settlement
I just want my check back plain and simple, they can even mail it to me as I would rather not see their sorry faces again!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** **** General Sales
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX
Contact Email: **********@classictoyotatyler.com
My name is ***** ****, I am the General Sales Manager at Classic Toyota. We sell approximately 200 Pre-owned cars per month in Tyler from the Toyota store. Many years ago we used to "hold" cars for customers that wanted to think about "it", overnight. As our sales volume increased, holding those cars started to cost us business. Inevitably, we would hold a car for a customer in good faith and another customer would come in on same car and we would tell them, "car is on hold for another". The customer who we were holding the car for would call in and say they had a change of heart and not going to buy. So, we would call the second cust and they had already bought elsewhere. So we made a policy to not hold cars anymore. From time to time we would have a customer who agreed to buy but due to whatever time constraints could not wait to have car cleaned up and finalize all contracts. So we came up with an agreement that states that they are buying a car. That they are leaving a ******* NON-REFUNDABLE DEPOSIT (typed in BOLD print that way)and that if the transaction is not finalized within 72 hours the vehicle will be returned to our inventory and the deposit will be forfeited. A description of the car and the terms that the customer agreed to are included on the document. This document is not handled by the sales rep, in our opinion that might be a conflict of interest so we have a finance manager come out and disclose the terms of the agreement so that if the customer did not understand the significance of it being a NON-REFUNDABLE agreement the finance manager that has no commission to potentially lose makes it perfectly clear. After the complete disclosure it is then signed by the customer and the finance manager. They both sign under another line that in bold type reads, "MY SIGNATURE IS ACKNOWLEDMENT THAT I HAVE BEEN NOTIFIED OF THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF THIS NON-REFUNDABLE DEPOSIT AGREEMENT. I am in possession of this form that ******* ******* signed and it has both signatures. I/we, all regret that the ******** are disappointed but what is it that we did wrong? Additionally we attempt,(by the ******* and the commitment to purchase) to make sure that is what the customer wants to do, so if there is any doubt they can back away from the table and "think" about it and the car stays available to the general public.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, the only two people we ever saw were the salesman and then his sales manager! We had to leave to go pick kids up from school and the sales manager wanted us to leave a copy of our debit card and we refused. They kept pressuring us to leave something to hold the car till in the morning so we left them the check. The sales manager told us personally that we could get the check back that evening after I brought my ***** in for him to look at or in the morning. His exact words were "yeah we can do that" regarding returning of the check. After getting back to ******* late because they kept stalling us and picking my kids up, ******* went on to work and the kids and I came back to Tyler with the ****** While we were there the sales manager looked at the ***** and he was still the only one I talked to that day. We in no way shape or form were EVER spoken to by a finance manager or anyone from finance and told that this was a non-refundable deposit. Had we spoken to someone from finance and were informed clearly of this as indicated in the response then of course we would not have left the check! I believe they took advantage of us being in a rush to pick the kids up because all this mess about speaking to a finance manager is a lie plain and simple! Again the only two people we ever saw were a salesman and his sales manager (that's who he referred to him as). I have no idea of what document he speaks of but it was not signed by a finance manager at least NOT in our presence! These may be their company policies but in our case this is not what occurred because I assure you NO KIND OF NON-refundable deposit was ever discussed with us by ANYONE!!! We asked about financing earlier when we discussed payments and were told by the salesman that he had no idea who they were going to finance thru. I thought at some point we would get to talk to someone in finance but never did. What I feel like happened was that since we had to leave late to pick the kids up they slipped a document in on us without explaining it then had someone from finance sign it after we left. At the very least the sales manager we dealt with could have told us about it but he did not. He told us we could get our check back that evening or the next morning ( my husband took off work the next day) and we said that was fine. Why didn't he explain that we were leaving a non-refundable deposit?? Maybe if you go thru the whole process explained in the response then yes they would be justified in keeping the check but the did NOT in our case! Even corporate for Toyota agreed this was wrong when I spoke to them. If they say we got to speak with a finance manager or ANYONE from finance they are lying. No way would we EVER leave a check for that much money if there was s possibility we would not get it back. Personally I don't think this is the way to do business by keeping someone's money if they have to back out of buying a car for whatever reason but I guess you're justified if like the response states you're clearly informed by a finance manager and still sign it anyway. This was not what happened in our case. Maybe the sales manager should let you know if you don't get to speak to someone with finance i dont know. It makes it sound like we knew about the non refundable deposit, agreed to it and then backed out. How could we have known about it if we never spoke to anyone from finance or had it explained to us??

Final Business Response
The business has resolved this matter to the customer's satisfaction.

10/08/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received a coupon via email from Classic Toyota for an oil change for $24.95. I was quoted $49.07 checkin but paid $39.07 after talking with manager
After calling Classic Toyota 3 times and talking to 3 people on Thurs., Sept 4 to arrange appointment for oil change and stating I had a coupon, I arrived on Sat., Sept 6 for my appointment to be quoted $49.07 after talking to the 4 people. I was motivated to use Classic Toyota because of the coupon for an oil change for $24.95. The fine print on the coupon stated the coupon expired on 9/6/14 and was good for 5 quarts of oil. I knew the price would be a little more since I needed 6 quarts. When I picked the vehicle up on Tues., Sept 9 I spoke to the manager who changed the price from $44.07 that the cashier was going to charge me-which honored the price on the coupon of $24.95-to $39.07 as I had 7 quarts of oil added. He explained the $14.12 difference in price was for labor that was not included in the discount.

Desired Settlement
I will pay for the two extra quarts of oil and taxes but I believe the base of the oil change should be parts and labor at $24.95 as advertised. I wish to be refunded the difference.

Business Response
Dlr rep contacted customer and apologized for unclear explanation of promotion and refunded full amount paid for service. Customer is satisfied with resolution.

Customer response: Please be advised that Classic Toyota contacted me directly. They provided a refund for the disputed charge. I am satisfied with the result and consider this matter closed.

Thank you for your assistance.

06/13/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
SERVICE DOCUMENTS WERE FALSEIFIED IN ORDER TO SELL THE CAR.
ON MAY 16 2014 WE PURCHASHED A 2013 TOYOTA AVALON VIN # 4T1BK1EB1DUXXXXXX. THIS CAR WAS SOLD AS A CERTIFIED USED CAR AND WE WERE GIVEN A 160 POINT QUALITY ASSURANCE INSPECTION MECHANICAL CERTIFICATION, WHICH HAD BEEN SIGHNED BY THE SERVICE MANAGER, THEUSED CAR SALES MANAGER AND A TOYOTA CERTIFIED TECHNICIAN ON 4/16/2014. ON MAY XX XXXX I WAS INFORMED BY A TOYOTA COORPERATE REP. THERE WAS AN OUTSTANDING SAFETY RECALL ON THE CAR, I TOLD THEM I WANTED TO RETURN THE CAR, IWAS NEVER MADE AWARE OF THIS, THERE RESPONSE WAS I NOW OUNED THE CAR AND THEY WOULD MAKE A APP. FOR ME TO HAVE IT REPAIRED. ON 5/21/2014 I TOOK THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR THE REPAIR. I ASKED THE SERVICE MANAGER WHY THEY CERTIFIED THIS CAR AS NOT HAVING ANY SAFETY RECALLS ON IT, AND IT HAD ONE FROM OCT 2013, I TOLD THEM I WOULD NOT HAVE PAID OVER $35000.00 FOR THE CAR HAD I KNOWN THIS,I HAVE NEVER GOTTEN AN ANSWER FOR THIS QUESTION.THE DEALERSHIP COMMITTED FRAUD IN ORDER TO SELL THIS CAR. I WAS ALSO TOLD BY THE SALESMAN I WOULD RECIEVE A MIL. DISCOUNT OF $750.00 I CANNOT FIND THE DISCOUNT ANYWHERE IN THE CONTRACT, I WAS JUST TOLD IT WAS FIGURED IN.

Desired Settlement
THE THREE PEOPLE THAT CERTIFIED THE CAR AS BEING SAFE SHOULD BE FIRED AND FACE LEGAL ACTION.I SHOULD BE REFUNDED THE AMOUNT OF THE MILITARY DISCOUNT.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****, GSM
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: **********@classictoyotatyler.com
My name is ***** ****. I am the General Sales Manager at Classic Toyota. I met with the ***** this morning to discuss the issues they have been having with their new car and our staff. I was able to show them that we did not falsify any documents, just to be able to offer a car for sale. The certification incident was completely an oversight, human error. We had a very good meeting and I was able to resolve all of their concerns. I followed through with every commitment we had originally made to the *****. They told me they were very pleased with the outcome of our meeting and would happily continue doing business with us.

04/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ended up paying additional labor charges that could have been handled in 1st or 2nd visit.
I told **** to be sure and let me know of findings, the cost before any repairs were done because I did not want any surprises. On this visit, **** never called me with an update. I called him, and he told me no need to worry but he still didn't give me an estimate of pricing. The only time he called me was when it was time to pick up my car with an amount of $975.16. Supposed they changed the drive belt. Based on the age of the car, I was ok with that. I told him to go ahead and order the part for the oil leak. The mechanic said it was ok to bring it back in January for repair of leak. When I got my car; the engine light was off; but after a day or so, it came back on.
I took my car back to dealer in February for repair of oil leak. On the ticket, it states I had given authorization for a multi-point inspection. This was never discussed on this visit. When I picked my car up; I paid them $724.05 which is pretty much what I expected to pay. Ok no problem. **** advised the oil didn't get to the belts because he checked them with his actual hand and they were dry. Oil light off.
February 8th, I was going to the store. In my home parking area, there was a red liquid leaking from under my hood. I touched it with my finger and it had an oily consistency. I panicked and took it to Classic. **** was off this day, so the gentleman that sits next to him looked at it and said I didn't actually have an oil or transmission leak. So he washed underneath and said it should be ok.
On February 12th, my sister and I were on our way to an Estate Sale. Headed down Hwy 155, my car just died; right in the middle of the highway. I rolled over to the side and parked in a nursery parking area. It would turn over but wouldn't start. I called tow truck, and I at the time did have any more money to spend. So I borrowed money to get the car the next day and take it right back to Classic. Joel stated he didn't know what was wrong with it. He was afraid the original technician had overlooked something. Several hours and days, no messages, no information. Early one morning I got up around 3 or 4am. I chatted with one of their representatives and requested the Head Manager to call me about my car ASAP. Finally, I spoke with ****. He kept me abreast of the details. He stated some coils and something else that was foreign to me. He told me he needed to get those replaced and later he called and stated I needed a battery. The battery was ok because I usually change around every 4 or 5 years. After almost two weeks without my car; I ended up paying $985? I told **** about how Joel handled me as a paying customer. I was hesitant about saying anything, because everyone needs their jobs. I told him I felt that I was and has been taken advantage of. He said he understood and also apologized saying **** is vague.

Desired Settlement
I had their rental that had to be secured with my insurance and my card. But there is nothing like driving your own car. I was nervous the whole time I had that car.
I understand my car is a 2000 Lexus GS300. But it is well kept. I see to that. I am proactive in getting things done because the car has never given me any problems. The interior is immaculate. But when I received my car from Classic, there was oil smudges on the carpet in the back. I am a one person family; a 64 year old female who live alone. My car is soooo filthy. They didn't even try to protect my car. I have a piece of something that has come off of something. I don't even know where it goes. So, after getting over my sinusitis and bronchitis; I am going to take my cell phone and take pictures of the insides.

Business Response
We have spoken directly to Ms ********* and have reached an agreement regarding the charges for repairs to her vehicle. Classic has applied more than $1,500 in discounts and complimentary repairs in an effort to assist Ms ********* with the cost of the work required on her vehicle. This matter has been resolved and Ms ********* confirmed to us her satisfaction with our assistance in addressing her concerns.

02/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failed to return phone calls as promised, failed to give me a price before work was completed as asked
I recently had to order parts for my son's 2000 Toyota truck. I called Classic Toyota and spoke with the service department. I gave them information and was told they would call me back. They didn't. I called again the next day, same thing. On the third call, I did receive a phone call back. But, I was told I had to find out the production year. I told the man everything I knew about the truck, year, make, model, vin, ect. However, the man acted like he didn't know what I was talking about, and that he couldn't order the part. I got extremely frustrated with the whole ordeal at this point. After four days of dealing with this, over the phone, then in person, my patience was running thin, and now the lengthy in-person conversation was really pushing me. Finally, I made the man at the counter understand what I needed, I thought. I don't' know if it was because I was a female, or he was just having a hard time, but I felt like he didn't take me seriously. He told me to call my ex-husband or send him a photo of what I "thought" I needed to order. My ex-husband had already spoken to this man and TOLD HIM EXACTLY what he needed. I was beginning to wonder if this guy even wanted to do his job! Finally, we managed to get the parts ordered. I paid for the parts ($387.13). I was told by this man that the parts would be in on Tuesday and that he would call me to let me know the parts were in. FINALLY! On Tuesday, I waited for the phone call. It never came. Mind you that this whole ordeal has taken - between my ex-husband and myself - two weeks. On Wednesday, I called Classic Toyota. I spoke with another man, who said, oh yes, the part came in yesterday. Then he asked if no one had called me. NO!! No-one had called me. So, I drove back to Classic Toyota to get the part. Once I get there, it took someone fifteen minutes to find the part. I told the other parts person that I needed to get the parts pressed. Finally he told me to go to the Service Department. So, I go to the Service Department. I was directed to ****. I showed him the parts and explained that I need to see if they could press them. He did not seem to understand me. He could not tell me anything...not a price, not a timeframe, nothing. Finally, after a few minutes of confusion, another young man told me that they would have to ask a technician about it. I said, fine, but before they did the work, I wanted to know a price. I was told that all the technicians were gone to lunch. **** proceeded to tell me that he needed a vehicle to identify this part with. I told him the name, make, model, etc.. He told me he needed to know the mileage. I told **** that I would call him back with the mileage. I left, as frustrated as I was when I began this nightmare.I called **** back and left a message on his voicemail as to what the mileage was. I also reminded him that I wanted to know the price of the work, before they did the work. Guess what, never found that out! **** called the next day and left a message saying that the part was ready. I drove back to Classic to pick up the part. When I went to the Service Department, no one knew where the part was. Surprise! So, I was told to go in and pay for the part and they would find the part. This is when I found out the price. Another $55.00. I am beyond disgusted with the service I received at Classic Toyota. My husband and I were looking at purchasing a truck from them, but I can promise you that it will never happen! I have heard nothing but bad regarding their service. I wasted time, effort, gas, and phone calls on trying to get a part for my son's truck. I can guarantee you that I will NOT purchase another part from Classic Toyota or any other Toyota business. Customer Service is awful!
There is no worse feeling than being a female, walking into an automotive service department and being treated like you don't know what you are talking about.

Desired Settlement
I would like a discount on the service I received, I believe that is fair. My bills were $387.13 and $55.00, plus my time, phone calls, gas, etc.

Business Response
Dealer representative spoke with customer 2/12/14 and apologized for the poor service received. Additionally, offered to reimburse for a portion of the cost as a gesture of goodwill. Customer's comments were valid and of great concern to management and the processes are being reviewed to ensure that all associates are sufficiently trained and committed to serving customers appropriately in order to maintain our high standing and reputation in the community. Classic Toyota is grateful for the honest feedback and is confident that given the opportunity to serve again in the future, the experience will be more consistent with our typically high level of customer service.

Page 1 of 2
06/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Car was serviced on Jan. 24th, 2014 and on Jan. 25th had problem with car.
The oil ran out of car, the service manager(****) stated that it was caused from the coolest system. The car was checked out on Jan. 24th, 2014 and problem the next day. The service manager (****) stated that I ****** ***** told different things about car. I do not know proper car language. I know that everything was checked out to be OK by the machanics. This is wrong and I need help with this problem.

Desired Settlement
I was only asking for replacement. I have moved the car to Engine Express for them to check it out.
I was told by a repair person that a coolest system will not cause a car to go out like that.
I think classic is wrong and I am not trying to lie. I am just explaning the best I know how. There is no advantage in lying in this case.
Help Please

Business Response
This matter has been resolved to the best of our ability. The vehicle DID NOT run out of oil after being serviced. The engine installed by another facility nearly two years ago experienced an internal failure that caused it to consume engine coolant and resulted in overheating and engine failure. This was completely unrelated to the routine maintenance performed by us. The other facility confirmed our findings but unfortunately there is no remaining warranty on the engine replacement. Classic made every attempt to assist with the cost of repair or replacement of the vehicle, but was unable to come to terms acceptable to the customer. We remain willing to assist in any reasonable manner, but cannot assume responsibility for a mechanical breakdown that was not anyone's fault, but simply an unfortunate occurrence.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My car was in for service on 01/24/14 for a Multipoint Inspection.The only things that ******* told was needed was state Inspection,and two filter and they were replaced. He did talk to me about the cooling system fluid being the wrong color,not low.I checked with toyato about this and was referred to page 358 in manual and nothing about color. We have two witness that got oil on hand when rub under car.The Tow truck driver change his mind after talking to **** and stated, " he made mistake" about oil. I was told by **** that,"I could not be believed because I have said to many different things. The tow-driver can be truthful.I have the print-out with all Inspection Result OK.
If cooling system was low it was checked OK.
**** response has changed from the fluid being low to an internal engine failure.
At this point I feel **** tried to force me to drop the complaint by agreeing for the car to be repaired at Classic without knowing the Price.
No I AM NOT PLEASED WITH CLASSIC RESPONS

Final Business Response
It is very unfortunate that this matter remains unresolved. The information provided by Ms ***** is incorrect and misleading. The representation of events continues to change with each conversation or statement. The work performed is thoroughly documented and the engine failure is unrelated to the routine maintenance performed by Classic. This has been corroborated by an independent repair facility. Any improper repair or inadvertent damage caused by us would be covered by our insurance carrier. Unfortunately, this is not applicable in this case since the failure is unrelated to the oil change service that was performed. Again, the engine that failed was not the original engine and had been installed by another repair facility. We continue to be willing to assist with the repair, but cannot accept responsibility for the failure.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not satified and will not drop the complaint.
**** is stating my story is changing and his story is changing. I have a copy of every conversation.
The last conversation with **** was if I drop the complaint that he would give me a price for repairing. He also told my son the very same thing. I can prove every conversation. My story is not changing. I am not a LIER.I refuse to agree to a repair cost without knowing the amount.I am sorry this happen but Classic had my car for service.

06/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was sold a car that was already damaged and apparently the dealership knew that the front bumbers came off with any normal wear and tear.

I was sold a faulty car. **** the representative at Classic Toyota informed me the cars are low riders and when you hit a curve or bump the bumper will come off, they are aware and they deal with it all the time and that's how Toyotas are made. I told him that they were supposed to tell me that when I purchased the car, because I would not have bought the car with that defect and that they were not honest with me when they sold the car. I told **** that the car was like that when I bought it. I noticed that the front bumper was scratched and I even asked them to paint over all the scratches, but again they did not. The repair shop has tried to fix the car, but they can not and I need a functional car because my car is still under warranty, My car is still under warranty but I',m not able to drive the car a far distance because its a danger, a hazard and the bumper can come off or drag while I'm driving, my life is at stake.

I have been treated unjust and unfair, After purchasing the car, I took the information to my bank and I was notified that the car was over priced at $17,500. Classic sold me a bad car knowing the bumper would come off after every normal bump and that's unacceptable, I still owe over $8,000 dollars on the car and I deserve to be treated fair and right. I have rights as a consumer. **** gave me an estimate to get the car fix at $690.70, Classic should pay to get the car fix, they have a Body Shop on there lot, They should not be charging me. I have been without a car due to it being in the shop getting fix. I have to take off work and find someone to drop me off to take the car in and pick me up after they look at the car. There is not car in this world that the bumper should be defected like that. I've had several cars and has never had this problem. I know how cars should run. I had a car and did home health and the bumper never came off. That is not right.

Desired Settlement
I want either another functional car because i paid full price for this vechicle or I want my car to be totally repaired with a brand new bumper that can stand a bump in the road like normal car or I want my money back. Its embarrassing to ride in a car with the bumper hanging off. I still have to pay a car note every month, the worst customer service ever. My car is still under warranty.

Business Response
We have a "Work Authorization Form" signed by her at the time of purchase that lists five items related to the purchase. 1. The car is "Toyota Certified" with a 7 year/100,000 mile powertrain warranty. 2. Full tank of gas. 3. Detail. 4. Touch up paint on passenger door. 5. Pop dent on driver rear door. It also states that all work must be completed within 30 days and that Nothing Else is Due. The paint and dent were repaired on 10/22/12. In August 2013 she returned to us with impact damage to the front bumper. In the interest of customer satisfaction, the bumper was repaired at no cost to the customer. The customer returned again in February 2014 with similar damage to the front bumper. A minor repair attempt was performed at no charge and the customer was informed that the damage was due to the front of the car impacting a stationary object. Probably a curb or parking stop. Again, as a gesture of goodwill, we offered to repair at a discounted cost. The customer declined and claimed that the car is defective. This condition has been observed on many cars of various makes and models and is not a defect. It is a common occurrence on vehicles with low clearance at the front bumper. It is not unique to this model and is definitely the result of impact. The customer was also advised that her car insurance may cover this type of damage. At this time, Classic has made multiple attempts to satisfy our customer and cannot accept responsibility for impact damage done to a vehicle more than a year after purchase. A copy of the signed documents mentioned earlier is available upon request.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response is not satisfactory. The front bumper was never totally repaired,when I would take the car in, the bumper was patched together like putting a bandaid on the bumper. The dealership never ordered a new front bumper and repaired the area correctly and I was never satisfied because the area would come apart everytime. The front bumper came apart shortly after I purchased the car.I would just manually push it in. I showed the salesperson how damage the bumper was thinking that it would be repaired when they repaired the other things that was wrong with the car, not knowing how severely damaged it really was. I was not told the real truth about why the previous owner traded the car in. I wonder why the previous owner would trade a nice car back in so soon, but I know why now because it was defected. The dealership was never honest with me and I need the car repaired correctly, with a brand new front bumper. That is not too much to ask because my bank paid cash for the car, now I need a functional car, now that is good customer service. Its not right for me to pay for something and never get good use out of it. They can give me my money back and I will gladly give the car back. I pay my car note to my bank faithfully.

09/23/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a used truck and was told it was guaranteed to have all the needed maintenance done. Maintenance was not done and now it needs repairs.
I bought a used truck from Classic Toyota on 7/24/13. The sales rep, ****** told me that the truck was guaranteed 100% and all the needed service and maintenance was performed on the vehicle. I noticed a slight ticking noise in the engine and again ***** told me it was nothing, it is to be expected on a vehicle with over 100,000 miles. I was given a 30 day warranty. On 9/2/13, I started noticing the engine knocking and the ticking noise becoming louder. A couple days later, the catalytic converters both went out. I ran into ***** and he said to bring the truck to Classic and they would fix it. I brought the truck to Classic on 9/9,9/10, and 9/11. The mechanic agreed that the catalytic converters were out, but could not figure out what else was wrong. I told him I had a different mechanic look at it and it was the spark plugs. ***, the Classic mechanic, told me he guaranteed it was not the spark plugs. I took the truck to the Ford dealership in Tyler and after I paid them $100 they told me it was the spark plugs. The spark plugs were supposed to be replaced at 100,000 miles. Since the vehicle was traded into Classic after that milestone, and I was told all maintenance was done to it, it would be logical to find that Classic should have replaced the spark plugs. Because the spark plugs were not replaced, the catalytic converters went out. That is what the Ford mechanic told me. I talked to the service manager at Toyota, ******, and she said nothing would be done for me. I explained to her that I was lied to during the sale and how it was bad business practices. She agreed and told me to speak to the used car manager. I spoke to the used car manager, ***** and he again told me that they would do nothing. I asked why the spark plugs were not replaced and he informed me that no maintenance is done to traded in vehicles before they are sold. He stated that used vehicles only pass the state inspection, and nothing else is done to them. I asked him that if he knew that a vehicle had a problem, would he fix it? Or would they just do the bare minimum it takes to pass the state inspection. He stated that they only do the bare minimum. I told him that is bad business and this was not a fair sale, as I was told that all needed maintenance was done to the vehicle. He told me that he agreed but still they would not do anything. I work at a different car dealership in Tyler and I told my story to our service manager. He was shocked that Toyota would not just take care of this for me and would rather practice unfair business. Because of Classic Toyota's negligence, I now have to pay to repair parts on my vehicle. If they had done the needed maintenance, just replacing the spark plugs, I would not have to replace parts on the vehicle.

Desired Settlement
I think it is only fair that Classic Toyota pays for the needed repairs to my vehicle. Like I stated earlier, if they had just replaced the spark plugs, like they said they did, then the vehicle would not be having any issues. I have already spent $100 at Ford for diagnostics. Ford will replace the catalytic converts for $1500, and the spark plugs for $700. If I did the repairs myself they would cost $500 for the catalytic converters and $250 for the spark plugs. I would like a check from Toyota for the total cost of the repairs, which is about $900.

Business' Initial Response
We were unable to reach customer due to no longer employed at work number given at purchase date. We were able to contact husband but he is working out of town. Vehicle was purchased over 2 months ago. There is no standard warranty on cars with over 100,000 miles but out of courtesy we placed a 1 month/1,000 mile powertrain warranty. This has expired but we offerred goodwill up to $300 for any repairs needed at this time.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did not accept the response because like I stated earlier, the problems with the truck were due to the company's negligence. I reported these issues to the dealership less than a week after my warranty expired. After talking with the general manager for an hour, explaining how I was lied to by the sales representative, he agreed with me and agreed to fix the truck at the dealership's expense. After being lied to and having to go through multiple managers, and having to file a complaint with the BBB, my truck is finally fixed.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.