BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Denver & Boulder, Colorado

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/11/2013

Oak Express (Headquarters)

Phone: (303) 566-8500

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

29 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues3
Delivery Issues7
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service15
Total Closed Complaints29

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (29)BBB Closure Definitions
06/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Services resulted in additional damage (exp. Damaged product during shipping)

Complaint: Movers damaged TV and tried to conceal it by sliding the broken cable behind the TV.
Movers delivered furniture and in the process pulled out the cable where it connects to the rear of the TV. They then slid the broken connector and cable back behind the TV but on the wrong side where the cable actually connects.

Initial Business Response
A refund check for Mr ***** was ordered. He was given a status update on June 6th letting him know that the store would be receiving his check either Saturday 6/7 or Monday 6/9. The check was received on Monday 6/9 and was placed in the mail to Mr *****. He should receive the check any day now. It is in the amount of $400.00

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/16/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: It isn't the dollar amount in dispute. I am called over and over by thier "collectors even though my account is up to date.
I keep getting harassing calls on my phone from their collections even though my account is/has been current, and in this case not due until 6/09/14!!! They refuse to identify themselves on the phone but I can tell from the number they are calling from it is them!!

I remarried and they have a problem changing my name in their system then call me using my old last name asking for me. I have tried repeatedly to change my name I am NOT giving them my marriage and divorce certificates as proof that is stupid.

Initial Business Response
I called Ms ******* 5/30/14 and explained to her that it is not Furniture Row contacting her. The finance account she has is through Capital One. I suggested to Ms ******* that she contact their customer service number to find out if it is inded them contacting her. From her description, it sounds like she is either past due on her payments, or that it is someone other than Capital One "fishing" for her private information. I have never known Capital One or any other legitimate finance company to refuse to identify themselves. Either way, a simple call to their customer service department can answer all those questions. The number is listed on each of her monthly statements.

06/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Rewe received defective merchandise. Stores and managers will not return phone calls.
We purchased a table and 10 chairs from Oak Express. When we received our products, one chair is broken, the table leaf has a stain slop on it making it ugly. The other chairs were only 3/4 of the way put together properly. We paid almost $500 for delivery and setup.
We also purchased a sofa from Sofa Mart. It arrived with one of the reclining footstools bent. It was also the wrong one. It was not the one on the floor at the time of the sale. When I asked about this, the sales woman said I was confused and didnt remember correctly. There were 6 other people that remember it the way we do and have pictures to prove it.
I habe contacted

Initial Business Response
I spoke with **** ******* on 5/22/14 it was my understanding this issue has been resolved. **** was given several options. She was told she could return all of her product and we would exchange it or she could return it and be given a full refund. Alternately, we offered to refund her 500.00 to accept the damaged table and sofa, "as is". Additionally, we agreed she could return the broken chair within the one year and we would exchange it for her at no charge. She agreed to accept the 500 refund and bring the chair in the next time she is in town.
I have had no further contact from **** since we made that agreement She can contact me on my cell phone ,XXX-XXX-XXXX, or by email at ************@furniturerow.com if she has additional questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
***** ******
RSM, Oak Express and Sofa Mart


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did talk with Mr ***** on said date. I said the refund of $500 for damage was appropriate for the TABLE. We still had to complete set up that we paid for. And we had to fix the sofa. We spend almost $4500 including the delivery fee. $500 was not much effort in our opinion. We are agreeable to exchanging the chair. We would like a refund of the delivery/setup fee since we completed the setup and now have to drive 3 hours, one way, to return a broken chair.

Final Business Response
When we last spoke, Mrs. ******* agreed to accept the $500.00 discount, and to exchanging the chair herself. This was offered as an alternative to the store doing a service call and exchanging her product. I explained to Mrs. ******** the reasoning behind the offer was that would be the cost for store either way. If she did not accept the discount we would have exchanged her product at no cost to her. Asking for an additional $500.00 is not a reasonable request.
I will offer Mrs. ******** an additional $100.00 as a matter of customer service. Alternately, she can return the product and we will refund the remainder of what she paid us.




Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We arent going to exchange the chair. We had a local repair place fix it.. You can mail us a check.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

06/09/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of products

Complaint: The Albuquerque store has not completed delivery on items purchased 4/1/14. The store refuses full refund on goods not delivered.
I purchased a dining room set 4/1/14. With this group comes 3 rugs for $498. Delivery ETA was promised at 1-2 weeks. I have received the room group, minus the rugs. I called repeatedly to see if the rugs had come in. On two occasions, I was told that they had, only to find out that they had not. I do not live near the store. I finally called the regional manager 5/2/14. He stated that there was inventory discrepancies, but he would personally go to El Paso, and bring the rugs back. I have not heard from him since, he is not returning my phone calls. The store manager is only offering a refund of $199; he stated that the additional $199 was for a mirror. This is contrary to the itemized invoice. I even sought out an attorney to attempt to force them to refund me, costing me an additional $200 to draft a letter of demand. Again, the store manager refused to refund more than $199. This is even after I showed him the itemized invoice listing the price paid at $498.

Initial Business Response
We don't believe we have acted in bad faith, in effort to resolve her concerns. We will offer Mrs. ***** a refund of $498.00, the cost of the rug.

We have attempted to make contact, and will continue to until reached.

05/12/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Guarantee or Warranty Complaint Issue

Complaint: I purchased a warranty on furniture I purchased from Furniture Row. The warranty guarantees that Furniture Row will repair or replace any of my purchased furniture if it is damaged. I submitted a claim for a damaged night stand and a damaged desk on March 10, 2014 and to date NOTHING has been fixed or repaired. I called Furniture Row and they referred me to the warranty company who approved (in writing) the exchange of one piece of furniture (a nightstand) and the other piece (a desk) was approved for a credit since they don't make my model anymore. However, Furniture Row has received no documentation about the desk. I have called Furniture Row 7 times about this problem and no one has called me back except an assistant manager once yesterday. He told me it would be resolved today and again I haven't heard back. The warranty company, Great White Bottling Company, Inc. will not return my calls. I paid $99 for this warranty and I have spent the last month trying to get someone to honor it.
Product_Or_Service: Michigan Ave Nightstand/ Newport Desk
Order_Number: 1-********

Initial Business Response
We have tried to contact Mrs ******* to address her situation, we are willing to do what ever it takes to address her situation. mrs ******* please call us back at 303-***-**** at your earliest convenience

Thank you,
******* ******
303-***-****.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 6
05/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: dining set pd in full at time of purchase. damaged item delivered. won't deliver non damaged replacement. wont pickup/refund purchase price.Paid in fu
Paid in full at time of purchase. We were told table was in stock and would be delivered the following Saturday. never delivered. I had to call store and they claimed table was never in stock, but would deliver damaged showroom model as temporary until new table set could be delivered 21 days later. 21 days came and went. I had to call and was told my table was delayed in customs on a dock in California, and would be delivered either 4/7 or 4/17. On 4/25 we received a call saying the factory in Asia burned down and now we won't get the table until 7/15/2014. We went to the store and manager Brandon said he would have it picked up Monday 4/28 between 6-9pm and would not refund until returned. I spoke with manager Clinton at 8:15pm and he said his crew was running 30 minutes late but would be here by 9:30pm. I called the driver at 10:10 PM and he said he had one more stop before coming to my house. the driver then shut off his phone and never showed up to pick up table. I believe this whole situation is a deliberate act of fraud because they lied to get my money and have had my money for over two months and are refusing to refund money.

Initial Business Response
We greatly apolagize for the inconvenience to Mr *******. His table and chairs was in fact picked up on Monday Evening 4/28. The refund invoice was processed Tuesday Morning 4/29, the customer was left a message to call back with the payment information. We recieved a call from the customer on the evening of 4/29 with their payment information. The refund has been processed and his reciept has been put into the mail. Once again, our sincere apolagy for the customers inconvenience.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
what the company doesn't admit to was the only reason the table was picked up was I called every 30 seconds until the drivers came out @ 1 AM to pick up the table.they guaranteed a 6pm-9pm window-which they ignored. they have not acknowledged the lies they told and why they felt it necessary to force a customer to such extremes to get a refund for a problem they willingly caused.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

03/09/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/30/2011Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture-Retail

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.