BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Tru-Bilt, LLC

Phone: (803) 345-5709Fax: (803) 345-5593

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
10/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Provided services for me for an insurance claim for a new garage house door. Door will not lock or close. Messages have went with no reply.
In 2012 I used Tru-Bilt for a repair on an insurance claim for my entry door of my garage to my house to be repaired after a home invasion. The door was repaired. I then called back a week later and told them the door would not lock/close and a contractor came back out and loosened the door knob jam. Since then the door jam has came off. When tightened and put back on it will not close properly. When a contractor friend came he said the door will never close correctly because the door and the frame are too far apart when Tru-Bilt fixed it and it will need to be fixed again.

My house has been left open and unsecure by way of my garage for weeks now. I called three weeks ago and spoke with a lady and she said I would be receiving a return call. I never received the call. When I call now, nobody answers the phone and my numerous voicemails have went without a return call.

Desired Settlement
I would only like for Tru-Bilt to come back to my home and see that the work they completed was incorrect and for them to fix my door as soon as possible. I only want my home to be secure.

Business Response
This was not under warranty. I explained that to her and told her we could repair for a fee unless it was our fault. That would have to be determined on site. I have attached her signed contract.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Nobody ever contacted me. This is a total lie. I am however willing for them to come and check my door and fix it at a reduced cost. This was their error and they rigged my door to hold up for a limited amount of time. My number is XXXXXXXXXX.

Final Business Response
We will be more than happy to check the door. I am sure it is from normal wear and tear and is out of warranty as I previously stated. If it is from normal wear and tear the repair will be at our normal rate. It has been almost 3 years since the work was performed and I am sure that if it was initially installed incorrectly it would have taken less than 3 years to get out of line. This is an older house and is probably due to settling and/or wear and tear. Please let me know your decision.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
It is not from usual wear and tear so I'm confident that they will be fixing it.

My contact number is XXXXXXXXXX. I or my husband will make myself available. Thanks!

09/19/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/28/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Tru-bilt remodeled my bathroom. Less than a month completion, a crack developed in the ceiling. It has not been repaired in a timely fashion.
Tru-bilt remodeled my bathroom. This process took from June 30th to December 20th to complete. On January 4th, I noticed a crack in the ceiling where a wall was removed. I called the contractor on Jan. 6th to let him know of the problem. Jan. 15th, he responded saying he was swamped and would call me the following week. Jan. 21st, he contacted me saying he was swamped and wasn't avoiding us. Feb. 4th, I was contacted saying he would get with me the following week. The following week Feb. 9-13, I was not contacted. Feb. 16th, I emailed him asking for a time frame on when the bathroom would be fixed. Feb. 24th, I emailed him stating I had not heard from him and asked him if he was going to fix the problem. It is now March 12th and I have not heard from him

Desired Settlement
I would like for my bathroom ceiling to be fixed. My fear is, the problem isn't cosmetic and when the walls were removed the wood for the ceiling wasn't properly installed. I would like to have someone come out to inspect it and tell me if it was done correctly. If not, it will need to be replaced at a cost to Tru-bilt since it was improperly done. If it is determined to be cosmetic, then the crack should be fixed at a cost to Tru-bilt. The remodel costs over $25,000 and I should not have to cover repairs that were created by the workmanship.

Business Response
I will contact the Greens within 7 working days to schedule the repair of the crack in the ceiling. I would like to schedule the repairs to made within 10 days of the day of contact if possible.



I would like to apologize for not contacting the Greens sooner. I will however take care of the issue.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I will gladly accept this solution. We will have to discuss the date of the repairs due to our current work schedules. I look forward to hearing from Tru-bilt.

Final Consumer Response
Tru_Bilt remodeled my bathroom. After it was completed, cracks developed on the ceiling. This has not been fixed.
Tru-Bilt remodeled my bathroom starting in July 2014. The work was completed in December 2014. In January cracks developed on the ceiling. Tru-Bilt did not respond to my concerns. After contacting the BBB, Tru-Bilt finally came out and fixed the problem in May of 2015. In August of 2015, the cracks returned. In October of 2015 the problem was fixed again. In January, more cracks developed. I contacted the company and he sent someone out to look at it on Feb 23rd 2016. The person told me he needed to have the owner come out and look at it to see what needed to be done. No one came out. On March 2nd I emailed and texted the owner that I needed to have it fixed. I did not hear back from him and it is now March 13th 2016. This all frustrates me because the owner had to remove the original person working on my house for poor workmanship. While the ceiling was down, I asked the owner to look at the work and make sure it was correct because it did not look correct to me. He assured me it was correct. My fear is a load carrying wall was removed and nothing was done to create support for the load. This was also frustrating because when we originally were drawing up the plans we told the owner we wanted two walls removed unless the were load carrying walls. He assured me it would not be a problem. At this point, I would like one of two things to happen. Tru-Bilt can correct the problem. If Tru-Bilt is incapable or unwilling to fix the problem, I need to hire someone who can fix the problem. If this is the case, I need Tru-Bilt to reimburse me for the costs of the repairs. Regardless of what is done this needs to be fixed correctly so it does not occur again.

12/14/2015Problems with Product / Service
09/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Our contract stated that the job would be completed on June 5. The project is not yet completed, and we have been informed that it will not be soon.
Contract stated job complete on June 5. We made one change (tile) which *** ** said would delay the project by 4-7 days. That part of the project is complete, but other parts linger. We have just been informed by subcontractor that the glass will not be in til later in July. We would like the remainder of the balance to be credited.

Desired Settlement
We are leaving the country and cannot have this job linger. We will consider it done, and he will not get the remainder of his balance.

Business Response
We are resolving this situation.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company proposed a solution in which I put the balance of funds in escrow with my attorney to be paid upon completion of the work. However, 10 days have passed and the company has not yet provided an invoice for the final amount (with consideration of credits and any additional charges), nor specific conditions or timeline for this solution to be implemented. I am concerned that the contractor still has no intention of completing the work.

Final Business Response
We were completed by June 5th as stated in our contract. it also states in our contract change order will cause delays and that suppliers may cause delays. She made a change order for the tile in the shower and for the skylight repair which I have attached the email stating it would cause a delay. She and Dot also called Midland Glass my door supplier. After they used profanity and were both rude to Stacey at Midlands they determined they didn't want to perform the work for Ms. ******. I tried to complete the project for them with another glass supplier but he wasn't able to get the shower door fast enough for them due to the measuring process etc. had to start over again. She also didn't want to pay the current balance due which put her in violation of the contract. The terms are clearly stated in our contract.



I also tried to agree on an agreement for the balance to be placed in an escrow account. I made many changes but couldn't satisfy her.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This statement includes multiple outright lies. The project was by no means finished by June 5th (and still isn't). The contractor breached the contract, and I have not violated the contract. I have paid in full, with the exception of the $100 to be paid upon completion of the punch list. I have emails to demonstrate the timeline, the points of disagreement, and any other information that is needed. This contractor is the worst and least ethical of any contractor with whom I have ever had experience. I implore you to revoke his BBB accreditation and take a look at his criminal and liens history to attest to his character.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Remodeling Services, Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication, Windows, Doors - Commercial, Cabinets, Construction & Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Home Improvements - Additions, Home Improvements, Home Builders, Contractors-General, Building Contractors, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.