BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central South Carolina and Charleston

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Sure Load Moving

Phone: (843) 971-1779

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service9
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints12

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (12)BBB Closure Definitions
02/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint is for contract and customer service issues. Contract to move household goods on 1/11/13. Move was three miles from old residence to new; cost paid by me was $1,240.10. Business employees, without my knowledge or consent and in a negligent manner, proceeded to break down my large, very heavy, solid Danish teak dining table (65" x 42" with two additional leaves, each 20" in width). This table was never meant to be dismantled and in doing so, business employees broke a leg removing screws. The table is now useless. Household/Commercial Goods Bill of Lading notes the broken table leg. Certified letter of complaint by me was mailed 2/10/13 and received by Sure Load Moving 2/12/13. Per their claim form, "Claims take 30-90 Days To Process". No response from business. Called 5/13/13, 5/14/13, 5/16/13, 5/22/13 and 5/29/13. Spoke with Ralph twice who said I would have resolution by 5/17; other three calls have not been returned.
Product_Or_Service: Moving services
Order_Number: 4473
Account_Number: unable to read stamp

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@sureloadmoving.com
Please contact ****** ******** at XXX-XXX-XXXX to immediately resolve this claim as a weight claim per our legal contract. I apologize for any prior mis communication with this claim.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have received nothing from the company.

Business' Final Response
I have settled Ms ***** *******'s claims. I have mailed her a weight valuation of the item she claimed was broken. If you need more info please let me know.



Thank you,



Business Response
I spoke to ******** today, I informed her I am mailing a check within the next 48 hours and the BBB will be in contact with her to check on my response and resolution within a week or two. She said she will be satisfied.

01/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the service

Complaint: I paid $130 per hour for 3 movers, 1 mover was almost 80 with bad knees and did 1/10th of the work of others. They totally misrepresented service
I tried to contact the company on my moving day to complain about the third mover they sent me and left a total of three messages to get another mover out to complete the job and no return phone call was made. We where assured that we would have 3 able bodied movers to assist us and they did not hold up there end of the bargain. I have attempted to resolve this matter and requested a 2 hours credit for my 7 and a half hour job for a total of $260 to which ****** in Customer service offered a $30 credit which is totally unacceptable. I feel like I was totally had! I also feel taken advantaged of or for lack of a better word ripped off.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Sure Load
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: customerservice@sureloadmoving.coom
Customer will not be happy with any solution. Want more time credited than the actual "3rd" man took. The man was no where near 80. the issued for this job, please reference SC State Law on ORS Charges

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

12/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service estimate or agreement

Complaint: This merchant provided a grossly inaccurate estimate for services rendered. The final cost ended up being almost double the original estimate.
We received an estimate from the company that it would take 4-6 hours to move our belongings. We informed the company that we had 75 boxes and several large pieces of furniture. When the company showed up to move our belongings and inspected everything in our house, the load team again stated that it would take between 4-6 hours. At hour 4, they were still loading our belongings on the truck, but kept assuring us that unloading would go much faster and that they were still on track to meet the original estimate. Ultimately, it took 9 hours to load and unload all of our belongings. This is 50% longer than the original estimate.

Upon review of the work order given to the load team, we found that the work order was completely incorrect and stated that we had 1-5 boxes to move, despite the fact that we explicitly told the booking agent that we had 75 boxes and several pieces of furniture. According to Federal Law, estimates need to be "reasonable" and non-binding estimates cannot be more than 10% over the original estimate. I believe such unreasonable estimates constitute fraud on behalf of the moving company because if I was given an accurate estimate to begin with, I would have chosen a different vendor.

I spoke with the COO of the company afterward, and was told that there was nothing he could do because of State Law however, after a careful review I have found absolutely nothing that substantiates his claim and regardless, this claim is irrelevant because Federal Law takes priority.

Initial Business Response
This is an hourly service that could be stopped at any time. On clients original call in, inventory stated was less than actual inventory move hence the increase in time. They call it an ESTIMATE since it is not exact.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Your website listed the FEDERAL MOVING REGULATIONS that stated that estimates should be both accurate and in good faith. Furthermore, it is stated that the final amount will be within 10% for non binding estimates. I believe your estimate was neither accurate nor delivered in good faith. Additionally, once the movers showed up, they AGAIN reiterated that they felt the original estimate was accurate. Once they started loading, it appeared that the estimate was not going to be accurate. However, after asking the employees, we were told that they were still on schedule, and that it only appeared they were running behind schedule because they had to wrap the furniture. After the furniture was wrapped, the question was again asked why we were running behind schedule. Again, we were told that it always takes longer to load than unload, and that everything was still on schedule. By the time we KNEW that the estimate was invalid and we were not on schedule, everything was already on the truck, but we were told by the employees that everything would be off the truck within the hour; which was still within 10% of the original estimate. By the time everything was unloaded, we were 50% off of the original estimate. So I ask you, at that point, what would you have me do? The system only works when estimates are delivered in good faith, and I believe this estimate was not delivered in good faith.

Final Business Response
This is not a Federally Regulated Move. This move is considered non-regulated. The only estimates that can be guaranteed are in-home estimates, you had the right to stop the movers at anytime since this was an hourly based job. It may be impossible to satisfy this customer.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Entire moving crew was in training and lacked basic moving knowledge. Crew and manager showed about with tools. Work performed was unprofessional.
I contracted Sure Load Movers to assist me with moving to move only the furniture items in my two bedroom apartment approximately 4 miles down the road on July 20th, 2013. I was informed that two professional movers would be provided as well as a 16 foot truck. Furthermore, since I only had furniture items to move, that the estimate was less than two hours but I would be required to pay the two hour minimum which I agreed to. On the morning of July 20th, four men arrived and a crew supervisor informed me that the entire team was in training. None of the employees had tools with them to disassemble furniture such as the bed. I called the Sure Load Moving office immediately and they told me that they "were not responsible for the crews that are assigned."
The crew supervisor had to direct each member of the crew every step of the way which took considerable time. He informed me that he would take 30 minutes off the total because he knew the crew was untrained (and thus slow and inefficient). While the manager directed the crew, work proceeded. However, the crew supervisor was also managing other jobs on the phone which distracted him from the job he was doing. The crew supervisor was also constantly interrupted to provide guidance to the movers on how to get furniture around corners, up and down stairs, how to arrange the truck, etc - things that experienced movers would know. The crew supervisor did have tools brought to him on the job, but they were not power tools and it took him over 30 minutes just to reassemble the bed frame (which he did by himself while the rest of the crew stood outside doing nothing). The crew supervisor told me he would charge me for one roll of wrap since I had so few items to move, but since it was going so slow he ordered another roll of wrap and charged me for that one as well. Needless to say, the job took 50% longer than the estimate. The crew supervisor said he was told 4 hours which made me wonder if he was trying to make it last 4 hours. The crew supervisor kept assuring me that I was getting 4 men for the price of 2 as if to convince me that I was getting a good deal, but I knew this was a job gone wrong. The crew manager sensed my frustration with the delay and after assembling the bed, informed me that they were now officially off the clock. The 3 man crew had not done anything for at least the last 45 minutes of the job. I signed the paperwork without doing an inspection, and error on part. They left with all of the furniture not placed against the walls which I had to do myself, which is not recommended during the second trimester of pregnancy.
I have been moved numerous times by various professional moving companies through the military and with employment changes and Sure Load Movers didn't even compare. The service provided was unprofessional and unsatisfactory. I called the Sure Load Moving office several days after my service and asked to speak to management about my dissatisfaction. The manager cut my phone call short and said he didn't have time to listen to my numerous issues and took my name and number to return my call the next day. Of course, he did not return my call. I decided to file a complaint on BBB to warn consumers that when you contract through Sure Load Movers, don't expect to receive professional movers.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: customerservice@sureloadmoving.com
The state of South Carolina does not allow for us to refund over estimated time. This is STATE LAW!. Please visit the SC ORS website for review of the law.There is no Binding Estimates allowed within the State of South Carolina, this is why they call it an estimate. We would be more than happy to refund for any rolls of unused shrink wrap as that is an additional service. Please ask for ****** or ****** when calling in for the refunded shrink wrap or email us at customerservice@sureloadmoving.com

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/25/2013Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 2
02/19/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Disputed warranty coverage and/or terms

Complaint: The mover refused to honor the damage claim, referring to the contract terms, but failed to provide evidence of "improper packing" by a third-party.
This is a Complaint against Goding & Fish LLC d/b/a Sure Load Moving ***** *** ******* Rd., Mt. Pleasant, SC 29464, thereafter "mover"). We (thereafter "recipients") are present owners of the piano and the table (thereafter "furniture"), which were damaged during the move in October 2013. Our relative (thereafter "the shipper") chose "basic value protection" coverage (work order # ***** for the furniture to be delivered safely to the recipients in another state.

The recipients filed a claim and provided required documentation (including photos as evidence) to the mover in late October 2013. The mover's letter of denial, which was mailed to the recipients on November 21, 2013, refused any compensation based on the following two allegations by the mover:

"The items could not be inspected for damages before pick-up and the items are not professionally wrapped as stated on phone order."

The recipients dispute these allegations. First, the piano and the table were wrapped at the house by a different, licensed moving company ("third party"), which delivered the furniture to a local storage facility. The mover offered no evidence of unprofessional wrapping, except for an unsubstantiated allegation "as stated on phone order."

Second, the mover had the opportunity to inspect or at least take pictures of the furniture when picking it up at the storage facility for shipping. Moreover, the move coordinator allegedly told the shipper over the phone that the furniture had been minimally inspected by the mover which recommended wrap for another item. The mover refused to confirm or deny the shipper's allegation.

The mover refuses to assume its responsibility and compensate for the damage based on the claim of "improper packing." In response to a written request by the recipients, the mover failed to provide evidence of "improper packing" (such as photos of the furniture at the storage facility at the time of the pick-up). It is a common practice of professional moving companies to take pictures of items at the time of the pick-up.

The recipients expect the mover to provide evidence for its two allegations through the Better Business Bureau.

Initial Business Response
At the time of reservation, the customer instructed the move coordinator that all items were already padded and wrapped by another moving company that loaded the customer into storage.

Upon our move teams arrival all items were wrapped except the dining room chairs. After the truck arrived at our storage facility we did call the customer and discuss wrapping the chairs for their protection. We preformed this service, we then stored the contents of the load until the customer was ready for delivery.

The items that the customer is claiming are damaged were already padded and wrapped, we were unable to inspect these items as they were padded and wrapped by another moving company.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The mover failed to provide evidence of improper packing. The mover failed to honor the damage claim in accordance with the contract terms and conditions.

Business Response
The move was booked by a customer *** ******, a realtor or landlord of some kind. She was shipping another person's items, ****** ******. During the move the customer did not denote any damage or issues on their signed Bill of Lading. Post move the customer did send a claim form stating damage. The attached letter was sent to the customer October 30th 2013 after receiving their claim letter. *** ****** and ****** ****** called into the office, I went over the letter and explanation of the situation multiple times. I can send you email chains if needed.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The mover failed to honor the damage claim in accordance with the contract terms and conditions and repeatedly failed to provide evidence of improper packing. The damage was documented and photographed on the day of the delivery and in the presence of the mover's representative.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

08/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: Both in our new home & old home the hardwood floors were damaged/large scratches. At our new home drive way was cracked by moving van.
This is my twelfth move in seventeen years. I was satisfied with the curtsy all the men had towards me and my family. At this time I would not likely recommend or use Sure Load Moving again.
In our new home the hard wood floors were damaged / large scratches in the foyer. In our old home the hard wood floors were also deeply scratched on the main floor hallway. At our new home drive way was cracked / a section broke off where the truck ran off the edge.
I repaired the dents and scrapes on the walls, railings and base boards at both the old & new home, disposed of the empty boxes left behind by the crew at the old home, disposed of the cigarette butts left on the driveway at the old home, and cleaned up the gas that was spilled in the garage. I do not expect to be reimbursed for those; however I am not able to, nor qualified to repair the damage done by the movers to the hard wood floors and concrete driveway. I would like to expedite this process having Sure Load Moving pay for the professional repair of the hard wood floors and concrete drive way. Please contact me as soon as possible for I will no longer have access to the old home (2240 Branch Creek Dr.) as of Monday July 29.
It has been over 30 days since the move and no actions have been taken towards correcting the damage that the moving crew did.
I work in an industry that uses moving companies a lot. I work with clients and peers that ask me my opinion regarding who they should use. To date I have refrained from sharing my displeasure with Sure Load Moving, but I am not happy!

Business' Initial Response
We have been working with Mr ******* to resolve this claim. There are things listed in his claim , that are not listed on his walk through at the end of the move.Operations Manager spoke with him again on process.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Sure Load scratched my hardwood floors at both homes and cracked my driveway at my current residence - Fact! I documented the scratches to the hardwood floor and the crack to my driveway, both at my current residence at the conclusion of the move on Sure Load provided document - Fact! At this time, I will settle on Sure Load have my hardwood floors repaired at my current residence. Over thirty days, still waiting... I will manage the other damage they caused to both residences. The only communication I have had is when I contact them. All I have received to date is a lot apologies and comments like "we have up to a year to fix the damage we did, but we shouldn't take that long". They clearly do not care about the customer.

Business' Final Response
We still have not assumed any responsibility for liability for this claim. Especially the driveway claim.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

11/27/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/27/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/06/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Moving Services-Labor & Materials

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.