BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Dreadhead HQ

Phone: (877) 719-8078

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues4
Problems with Product / Service8
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints13

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (13)BBB Closure Definitions
03/24/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I submitted an order, and only received a portion of my order.
I submitted an order with DHHQ at the end of March last year. There were a number of items missing, and I contacted them to notify them of the missing items. They said they would ship it soon. Because I live in Canada, beyond the exchange rate for which I had to pay approx. $60 more than the stated price, I had to pay a hefty brokerage fee for the first delivery, and as I didn't want to have to do this again because of a mistake they made, I managed to make arrangements with a friend of mine who has a US mailing address, and asked DHHQ (much later) that if they hadn't already sent the items, to change the delivery's location. They agreed to do so, and said they would send it soon (again). This was at the end of May. Since then, I have been checking regularly with my friend, and the product has still not arrived. In the months since May, I have contacted them numerous times asking for a confirmation that the items were sent, and/or some form of tracking number. It has gotten to the point where they now just close my ticketed request with absolutely no response.

Also Please note: There were s number of conversations along these lines. I printed off a copy of our conversations from their online ticket center, that I am willing to provide upon request, but, due to some personal information, including names and addresses, am not comfortable sharing for public viewing.

I would also like to say that, other than this major issue of having to fight to receive what I ordered, I was otherwise very impressed with the company's delivery time, and their product and tools have all proven to be worth the money. However, they are not worth having to go through this fight every time I order something.

Desired Settlement
I would like to receive the items I ordered, at no extra cost to me (shipping, brokerage fees, etc.) with something extra, such as a large bottle of their Shampoo (the item number can be found on my original order) OR I would like a refund for each of the missing items at full retail value (I purchased some of them as part of a bundle deal). Basically something to make all the frustration, time and stress that I have put into pursuing THEIR mistake worth my while.

Business Response
Hello,
I have searched our email records and it looks like the last correspondence with this customer was in Sept 2014. At that time we confirmed the items that were missing from the order and shipped the replacement items to the friend of the customer. The tracking number for the order was XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX and it was delivered on Oct 14, 2014

08/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered products from their website. The order has not been filled after 2 weeks, although payment was collected. No response from company.
I placed an order on July 16 and was given a ship date of 7-14 days. I paid through my Paypal account and the check of $91.80 cleared on July 21. My invoice number is #XXXXXXXXX. As of today, my account is still listed as "payment review" in my account information. I have tried on 2 occasions through their ticket support system, and have received no reply. I would like a full refund, and should not be charged the shipping charges, as it has not been shipped.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund of my money, without the subtraction of shipping costs, as the product has not been shipped.

Business Response
Hi ********,
I checked on your order and it has not shipped yet because you used an echeck. This payment method takes 2 weeks to clear through the bank. We try to put this information next to the payment method and also in the order policies page, but I can understand that it could be missed. I canceled this order and credited your account back yesterday as per your request in our ticket center.

Best Regards

06/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Pending order that I never recieved from 4/1/14
On 2/22/14 I placed order#XXXXXXXXX I recieved the items and 1 was broken and the other 2 items were not as advertised. I requested a return and a credit because they do not refund. I returned the itmes and recieved an promo code (Discount #XXXXXXXXX) via email to go online and order different merchandise. I went online on 4/1/14 and I placed an order to replace my returned merchandise. This order has been pending ever since and it has never been shipped or sent. The company does not except phone calls. You can only go online to their support page and send an email with your concerns. I have been sending support emails to them since 4/20/14 and I am gettin no response. When I go online to my acccount with them you can still see my order as pending and not shipped but I cannot get anyone to answer my emails about my refund or exchange for credit. So I am out money becasue I cannot get my money or mechandise back from this company.

Desired Settlement
I want them to either ship my pending order that has been sitting out there since 4/1/14 or refund my money. I put in the promo code that they supplied and that is shown on the online oder. If they will not return my money then they need to give me the items that i requested from the order. It has been months and I feel I have been patience.

Business Response
I checked on your order XXXXXXXXX and the return was received and you received a store credit coupon for $37.35. The coupon code was: XXXXXXXXX. You placed order number XXXXXXXXX on April 1, 2014 and the amount was $86.00 and you used your store credit for $37.35, but you didn't pay the balance on $48.64. I'm sorry but we do not ship orders without the balance being paid in full. Once you pay the $48.64 for this order then it will ship. This is normally something that is done when you checkout, but you didn't complete that step but you did submit the order. You can submit payment for the order on this page: http://www.dreadheadhq.com/store/order-payment

05/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered two products from DreadheadHQ off Amazon in February 2014. The shipment was supposed to arrive by March 21, 2014. I waited about a week after because I had not received it. I called Amazon and they got in touch with DreadHeadHQ for me. To my surprise DreadHead got back with me the next day and explained that my package had been damaged by the USPS and they would either refund me or replace my item. It sounded promising so I chose the replacement, I really just wanted what I paid for. I asked them for a few days if they could give me a tracking number so that I could make sure I was home when it arrived. I received no email back. Finally, after waiting a few more days, I decided to ask them once more for my tracking number, this time they replied back and provided it to me. I looked up the tracking on USPS website and it said it had already been delivered the day before April 28, 2014. That could not be possible because I work from home and I would definitely know if the mail carrier came to my door. I immediately wrote back to DreadHeadHQ and explained that my package still hadn't come and if they could just refund it. They wanted me to try to contact the USPS first. I called the USPS customer support and they told me there was nothing they could do and that I need to contact my local Post Office. So, I called my local Post Office and they just took my name and number and said they would call me back. I waited a few days and heard nothing back. In the meantime I was still contacting DreadHeadHQ letting them know the situation and that so far the post office hasn't been able to do anything. They still never offered a solution and could only apologize for the inconvenience. I am still waiting to hear back from USPS, I ordered the product in February and spent almost $40 on everything. This has been extremely frustrating. I have tried to be polite about the situation and I have asked DreadHead for a refund but they always avoid the answer.
Product_Or_Service: Shampoo and hair Cream
Order_Number: XXX-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would honestly just like my money back at this point, shipping included. If they can ship it to another address that would be fine too but I worry that the USPS will not follow through again. I feel very let down by both companies. A refund might be the best choice so that I can take my business elsewhere.

Business Response
Hi *****,
Your order was not delivered due to the incorrect address given when you placed your order. We have been communicating via email so I'm not sure why you also involved the BBB. A replacement was sent out by us to your correct address.

04/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received my order two days ago with leaked and missing products and Dreadheadhq's support contact doesn't work.
My order was sent on 2.28.2014 and I received it on 3.18.2014 in a Flat Rate Padded Envelope.
The order # is XXXXXXXXX.
The purchase was made with a Paypal account and was of 115 USD, including a discount.
I ordered the following, as written on the receipt :

- 1x Lock Peppa
- 1x Head Honcho
- 1x 16 oz Dread Soap
- 1x Hair Growth Supa-Supplement
- 1x Maintenance Kit with 8 oz soap
(The Maintenance Kit contains : 1x 8 oz soap, 1x Lock Peppa, 1x 18 oz Locking accelerator and 1x Locking accelerator 18 oz refill.)
- 1x Black Summer Tam
- 1x Dread wax
- 1x Waxx-Off
- 1x FAST Priority Handling
- 1x Free Stickers
- 1x Free Car Stickers
- 1x Shipping Insurance

Concerning leaked products, the Maintenance Kit's Lock Peppa, Locking accelerator 18 oz and Locking accelerator 18 oz refill leaked everywhere because of caps and plastic bags not closed correctly.

Concerning missing products, a Lock Peppa and the Head Honcho are missing. Free stickers are missing too but I don't mind about it.

Desired Settlement
I'd like to get the following replacement :

- 2x Lock Peppa
- 2x Locking accelerator 18 oz refills, as I still received an undamaged spray bottle. No need for another one, just refills.
- 1x Head Honcho

For stickers, do as you like, I don't mind about it, I just want the products I paid for. Without any missing ones or leaked ones this time please.

Thank you for your comprehension and for your products.

Business Response
I'm really sorry it was missing from your order. We are training a new person in the shipping room, and a few mistakes have been made. I'm shipping it out today. I feel just awful that something was missing from your order.

Page 1 of 3
09/17/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I requested a refund from the company. It took an additional 2 weeks and I did not receive the full amount owed.
I purchased a product from this company for the amount of 18.97 on 8/1/2013. I was charged 9.97 for the product and 9.00 for shipping. These funds were withdrawn from my account on the same day and posted on my account two days later (8/3/2013). When ordering on their website, it clearly states in a red box that the shipping method for USPS is unavailable. I receive all mail via USPS to my PO Box, and all ground mail to my physical address. Since their site said they don't use USPS, I entered my physical address for ground mail. I went on vacation from the dates of 8/5/2013-8/11/2013. When I checked my order status on 8/12/2013, I noticed that had indeed used USPS and sent the mail to my physical address, which is in a different city than my PO box and is also past county maintenance, so USPS will not deliver there. I emailed them and asked for a change of address or a reshipment and they advised that I could pick up the package at the post office it was at within 5 days of it arriving there. Being that the tracking stated that it had gotten there on 8/6/2013, and I was writing on 8/12/2013, the five days had passed. The tracking showed that the package was at a standstill in a city over an hour away from my location, and their response to that was to drive up there and pick it up, which I am completely incapable of doing due to my work schedule. I have been trying to resolve the issue ever since. The employees that have been responding via email are very unhelpful. I was told to wait until the package returned to them in order to either reship or refund. For some reason, even though it took five days to get to my area, it took over 3 weeks to return to the company. Once they received it, they told me I could order a new product via their website and recieve my refund after placing the new order. I did not like this idea, considering that would double the amount I was owed, and given their sloppy shipping system, I was very unconvinced that the second product would make it to me, so I requested a refund instead. I had to state that I wanted a refund at least 3 times before they acknowledged my request. I then was told that I would need to be charged a 5.00 refund fee, which I find completely ludicrous considering the situation, but I eventually agreed and said for them to process the refund/return. Given that I was charged 18.97 initially, with a 5.00 charge deducted, I have been expecting a refund of 13.97. The refund I had been waiting on for about a week or so, and when I asked about the delay they replied that it could take up to two months. This does not make sense to me, considering they were able to withdraw my funds from the initial purchase the very same day. Today when I checked my credit card statement, I had my refund - but it was only 4.97. It looks to me that they did not include shipping in the refund, which I did pay for and expect back as well, considering I never received the product due to an error on their part. I have had SO much trouble with these people, they don't answer my messages for days at a time and ignore my requests for a contact phone number. Now that I am still dealing with this problem a month and a half after ordering the product, I feel it is time to contact the BBB and see if I can actually make some progress on this. I have never had an issue like this before with a company. I have of course had mail lost due to my address conflictions, but every company I have ever worked with to resolve the issue did so in a professional and sensible manner. This Dread Head HQ company does not have any system or protocol for situations like this, their site is dysfunctional and misleading, and their customer service is simply not up to par. Please help me resolve this issue - I know it is not a lot of money but considering the headache this has been causing me for the past month, the very least they could do is refund my money.

Desired Settlement
I will accept either a refund of the amount I am missing from my refund, which appears to be 9.00, or a shipment to a correct mailing address of the product that I initially ordered, with no charge to me, considering that the 9.00 they have kept was for shipping anyway.

Business' Initial Response
I will be glad to assist. The order was returned to us because the address given was an incorrect address. I have provided an image of the package that was returned to us with the sticker from the post office indicating an address problem.

The customer did contact us after the order shipped and requested that we change the address. But as stated in our policies, this is not something we can do after a package has been shipped out. The customer was notified of this and asked to pick up the order at their local post office.

We do offer post office and UPS shipping through our website. I have provided a screen capture of the shipping options displayed when this customers postal code is entered in our checkout. Also, our shipping policies listed on this page show that we do offer Post Office shipping http://www.dreadheadhq.com/shipping

The customer selected the Flat Rate - Typically arrives in 7-14 days.
On our shipping policies page we notify customers that "Free Shipping and Flat Rate shipping are always USPS services."
http://www.dreadheadhq.com/shipping

When the order was returned to us I offered the customer a store credit for the amount of the product $9.97 as a courtesy but the customer wanted the order processed as a return instead. Our order policies and returns policies pages state that shipping charges are not refunded when an order is returned to us and that there is a $5.00 restocking fee on all returned items.

After the shipping charges and $5.00 restocking fee were deducted from the order the credit was $4.97

11/26/2012Delivery Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Shopping Services

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.