BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

ShopHairwigs

Phone: (224) 534-3969

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues3
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
04/14/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On March 25th received an email stating my order # Invoice Number: XXXXXXXXX Customer ID: **** had been received. Hours later that day I received a 2nd email stating: Your Shipment #XXXXXXXXX for Order #XXXXXXXXX was shipped and UPS Ground********************tracking number).

On April 2nd, I checked tracking and received the following from UPS: "The sender has voided the UPS tracking number created for this shipment. UPS does not have possession of this shipment."

I called the merchant's number on website, XXX-XXX-XXXX. The lady answered said that the item was not in stock but they had not charged me. The charge is on my card. I asked her to send me and email with what she was telling me and received nothing. No answer on return call.





Desired Settlement
I am asking that the charge of 53.43 be refunded to my card immediately!

Business Response
We do apologize for the over sight of your order. We have went ahead and issued you a full refund in the amount of $53.43 that will be posted back on to your card. Again we do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

Thank you
Resolution Department
****************

02/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered a product that their website stated was in stock on 1/29 The product was not in stock. When I got an email with a tracking number, I went to track the package and it said the number was voided. So I contact the merchant, they tell me they are going to order they product from the manufacturer. I knew the manufacturer was out because I had been looking for the product and went through this with other stores so I asked for a refund. All they did was cancel the order. I waited about four and contacted them about the refund. I was told to wait 7 days for my cc to release the funds. The funds were NOT in a pending state, they had been deducted. I contact the merchant again after calling my card holder. This time I asked what day the refund was process. They now tell me that the original amount was never charged, it was just a pending amount. My card holder confirmed that the amount was deducted. I find it hard to believe they can't tell the difference between a pending charge and a full charge on their end.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund of $34.43 like I originally requested.

Business Response
When we looked into the order the order doesn't show the order as being charged only as pending which is what our representatives were explaining to you. I did look into our account and I do see that there was a payment taken from you in the amount of $34.43. Somehow it didn't update in our system that there was a charge and we do apologize for that. We did go ahead and credit you back in the amount of $34.43 and again I do apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you.

08/06/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/25/2013Problems with Product / Service
02/01/2013Delivery Issues
02/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 1-8-15, I purchased 2 wigs from this company. Upon receiving them on 1/9/15 and trying one of them on, it became apparent that these were not the wigs I ordered. Both of the wigs had a strong moldy odor. One of the wigs was frizzed and matted. I called to complain on 1-12-15 the next business day. I initially spoke to a person who told me to return the wigs for a full refund. I was then placed on hold and a second person picked up the phone and began to imply that I had worn the wigs. I returned the wigs that day via UPS to be delivered on 1-13-15. I received an email on 1-13-15 informing me that I would only receive a refund of $34.00 because one the wigs had been worn. I called to complain again and during the course of the conversation, the employee said "well you had them over the weekend, you probably wore them to a party. My request for a full refund was refused.

Desired Settlement
A full refund including all shipping costs. $95.00

Business Response
The customer called on Monday 1/12/2015 and spoke to one of our representatives. She stated that the items were incorrect and wanted to return them. She admitted that she tore the lace off of the wig. Within the perimeters of our return policy, we do not accept items for return that have been altered or damaged in any way, at the customers disposal. This is clearly stated online under our Return Policy. In order to rectify the situation, the customer was transferred to a different customer service representative who made an exception for her. We explained to the customer thoroughly and in depth over the phone, that before issuing any refunds we would have to inspect the items first. The customer grew increasingly upset and began questioning our policies. We further explained that this was a standard procedure for all returns due to health regulations. We did not promise a full refund; we stated that we would formulate a decision only after a thorough inspection. Upon receiving the item on 1-13-2015, one of the items was acceptable for a return, however, the second item was clearly worn. The unit had a very strong odor that was evident upon opening the box. It was not a moldy odor. The odor was a familiar odor of grease such as Do Gro or Cantu (which we sell at our facility as well). Also, the elastic bands inside of the wig cap were stretched out and loose. We were unable to accept this item for a return because it was clearly used. We did issue a full refund for one of the items and we gave the customer half her shipping cost back, as a courtesy. The customer placed the order specifically for a weekend event and she made sure that we were aware of the urgency of her event. She also chose an expedited shipping method, Next Day Air, to ensure she would receive the unit in time. The customer stated that she did not open the package until Sunday 1/11/2015. It would lead one to think, why would she express such urgency to receive the item as requested, only to wait until Sunday to open the parcel?

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The items sent to me were clearly not the items I ordered! Upon glancing at the first wig, I thought the shabby appearance was due to packing. So, I preceded to style the wig. I wasn't until I removed the lace that I realized that it was not the wig I ordered. I explained that to the person I spoke to initially, who said that she would make an exception. I was then placed on hold and transferred to a second, yet very rude person. This person began to lecture me on "how people return wigs after they've worn them". I informed her that I had not worn the wigs. She continued to tell me about their bad customers, and I asked that I be treated with respect--not with the assumption that I was lying or a bad cutomer. With regards to the second wig, I tried it on, and realized again, that it also was not the wig that I ordered. Both wigs had an odor, but the second appeared to be worn and was matted around the edges. I simply tried the wig on, and as soon as I realized that it wasn't what I ordered, I took it off. I DON'T KNOW WHAT CANTU OR DO GRO IS, BUT I DON'T USE THESE PRODUCTS, NOR DO I USE ANY TYPE OF "GREASE" IN MY HAIR WHATSOEVER!!! To imply that these items were in my hair, or that my hair had an "odor" is insulting and smacks of racism! It's just as insulting as the comment from the rude representive stating that "since I had the wigs over the weekend, I probably wore them out a party". It's comments like these that lead me to believe that this company cares nothing about it's customers, and makes a practice scamming people out of their money--while insulting them. I am requesting a full refund, simply because I did not receive the items that I ordered. I never wore either wig. I have ordered hair products on line for years and have never had a problem. This was my first time ordering from Shophairwigs .com Why would I go through the trouble of filing a complaint with the BBB and other agencies if I receved the wigs that I ordered? To imply that I went through all of this trouble so that I could wear and return two $24.00 wigs (at an additional shipping cost of $15) makes absolutely no sense! A reputable company would simply refund my money!

Final Business Response
We do apologize that you feel this way however our return department is thoroughly trained to inspect all items. When they received your items they were inspected and only 1 of the wigs was in good condition however the other one was not which is why we can not honor the refund for that item. We have accommodated you to the best of our abilities by refunding in full for one of the wigs and half of the shipping cost. At this time due to the condition the other wig was received we can not refund you for that item.

Thank you
Resolution Department

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I returned the wig in the same condition I received it. I had to adjust the band to try it on--that's all. I did not wear either wig, nor did I apply or use any of the products per the acusation of the company representative who responded previously.

I paid money to this company plus shipping costs with the expectation of receiving the products that I ordered. I did not receive those products. Instead, I received products that I DID NOT ORDER. Based on the "dressing down"
that I received from the company's representative,it seems that his company has had
bad experiences with some customers. Specifically, they believe that these customers purchase products, wear them and return them. I am not one of those customers. And thus, should not be treated as such. I did not receive the products that I ordered, I returned them as instructed. I'd like the BBB to assist me with getting a full refund, plus shipping--approximately $95.

10/20/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The product was ordered from Shophairwigs on Aug. 11.2014. Product was never delivered. Shophairwigs was notified. They refused to refund/chargeback money paid by consumer. Shophairwigs continues to blame UPS claims process.
Order #: Unit ***** Lilac wig
Tracking UPS #********************
To date, Shophairwigs refuses to refund money. No other settlement is acceptable. Full refund is needed.

Desired Settlement
Nothing less than $54.81 refunded to my charge account is acceptable. This dispute has lingered far too long. I paid for a product which I never received.

Business Response
We have been doing everything on our part to accommodate the customer. We have opened a claim/investigation with UPS as that is our policy. We have sent in all requested documents that UPS has requested and at this time we are waiting for UPS to close the claim and email us the results. Until we receive the results through UPS we can not do anything on our end. We do apologize that this has happened to you and we are doing our best to resolve this matter and we have been keeping you updated with what is going on. As soon as we hear back from UPS in regards to this matter we will contact you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No, I do not accept the response.
Explanation attached.

Final Business Response
Unfortunately in cases where customers state they did not received a package that states it was delivered it becomes out of our hands. We have to open a claim through UPS as they are the ones who are stating they delivered the package. We have no control over how long it may take for them to resolve the claim. We reached out to the customer every time and and stated that we are waiting on UPS to resolve the claim. We were not blaming UPS in any way and we even referred her to the site which showed the progress of the claim to show the customer it had not been closed yet. At this point the customer has already received her money back as she filed a dispute with her credit card company who did refund her the money. At this time the case with UPS has been closed and customer has received her funds back for this order. We do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Shophairwigs proposed no resolution to the complaint of an undelivered order. Only when I filed a complaint with my charge card banking service to investigate this dispute did I receive the chargeback. The process took three months. Shophairwigs knew the merchandise was not delivered and refused to refund my payment until I involved the bank card company. Consumers have to be vigilant and tenacious to follow up when a company fails to fulfill its obligation to the customer. Know your rights as a consumer by researching the Fair Trading Act (Act).

01/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************


PLEASE SEE TRANSACTION OF MY DEBIT CARD STATEMENT WHERE THE FUNDS WERE TAKEN OUT OF MY BANK A DAY AFTER REFUND WAS SUPPOSED TO BE MADE:

12/11/2013
********************************
Clothing -$89.00 $581.58

Desired Settlement
I am requesting that this Company be looked into. I places a Order and was given a**** tracking Number for an Item that they did not have in Stock. There was no contact advising me , I only found out when I went to Track the package and was informed that**** did not have my order. I contacted them and was advised that even though i paid for 2 day express shipping that they did not have the item and was going to hold onto my Funds until they had it, however long it took. I advised that this was not acceptable and was issued refund before this money was taken from my account. How do you take money from an account and you do not have the Product and you did not ship anything. I want my $89.00 back. They denied taking the money from my account , however my Bank statement reflects that they did.

*******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This company is Outrageous, They keep saying the same thing. Yes a refund was issued after Money was taken from my account , a bogas *** shipping number given to me. They never had the Item in stock, but took the money.I paid for 2 day express shipping so what are they talking about they had 5 days to complete the order. They have not explained to me why they took my money without the merchandise being available. They keep repeating the same thing over and over. If I had not followed up on this order, they would have kept my money.

Final Business Response
Our records show that the refund has been issued 2 days later as we have provided the proofs in the previous response.

Dec 11, 2013 9:19:53***********
Customer Not Notified
Transaction ID: ********** Payment Method: ******** Amount: USD (89.00) Customer Name:********* ******

Please read our policy in the link provided below to see that it states we may take up to 5 business days to fulfill the order.

******************************************************************************

07/27/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Wigs & Hairpieces

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.