BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2002

Glen Ellyn Storage Corporation

Phone: (630) 543-0500Fax: (630) 543-1430

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
03/25/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

On 3/21, Glen Ellyn Storage Corp. arrived to install gas dryer through working agreement with **** ****** Was informed by installer ********** that standard venting would not fit space behind dryer. Installer recommended taking his paperwork to **** ***** to show, so a telescoping venting kit could be purchased. When I inquired when the earliest date would be that the dryer installation could be completed, he said Tuesday. The telescoping kit was purchased on 3/21. I called to confirm the Tuesday appointment on 3/23 with Advanced Services Inc., the company that contracts out the work through Glen Ellyn Storage Corp. At that time, I was then told that the installation teams do not install specialized venting kits, apparently which includes telescoping kits. I was told that I would have to install the kit myself, or hire another party to do the work. Mind you, I paid to have the dryer installed already through **** ****** and the form that ******** left me with states 'Action required to complete installation: Needs telescope venting to fit'. The installer was contacted regarding issue, only to deny ever committing to returning on Tuesday to complete the job. The conversation was certainly had, further assumed from the Appliance Installation Exception Form I was left with. Additionally, I even told ******** that if the dryer was not able to be installed, I would like them to take it away so I could return to **** ***** and find another model with a shorter depth measurement. But assuming he was truthful, I kept the dryer thinking the company could finish the installation Tuesday. I feel that I was blatantly mislead and lied to by the installer regarding completion of the dryer installation.

Desired Settlement
I would like the company to come back and finish dryer installation. If they are unable to work with a telescope venting system (that the installer recommended), then Glen Ellyn Storage Corp. should pay or reimburse me for the professional I will now have to hire to complete their work.

Business Response
March 25, 2015
RE: *******, *******

Glen Ellyn Storage Corporation has worked with Mr. ******* and have satisfactorily resolved this issue. Mr. ******* has advised us that he is pleased with our response and the installation has been completed.

03/27/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

I hired Glen Ellyn to move from my home in ***** ******* Illinois to **********. First, I will say what was good. The men who came to my house on the front end of the move were professional, courteous, and did a good job with the packing and moving. My items arrived across country in good shape with one notable exception. Now, what was less than desirable.

First, my treadmill arrived damaged. Not unforgivable, but the moving company attempted to charge me extra in order for the installer on the delivery end to come out and repair it. It took multiple emails and phone calls to Michele Finkelstein at Glen Ellyn to finally be refunded the charge that they layed on my credit card.

Second (and this is the matter I am contacting BBB about) I was promised that as part of my contract and the price I paid up front, that the unneeded boxes and packing material would be picked up after I unpacked. When I called Glen Ellyn to arrange the pick-up, they stated that they cannot find any evidence of this in the contract and that it will be an additional $150 charge to the agent on the destination end of my move. Blame me for not checking the fine print of the contract to determine that the service that ******* *********** told me was included was not, but frankly I mistakenly believed that I could take the word of what I thought at the time was a premium moving company. ****** ***** and her supervisor have been very polite in telling me that they are sorry but that they are not going back up ********** verbal promise due to the fact that the charge was not included in the contract.

Desired Settlement
I want Glen Ellyn Storage arrange to pick up the packing materials as promised.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******, Office Mgr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********
In August, 2013, Mr. ***** contracted Glen Ellyn Storage Corporation, agent for ********** to move his household belongings from ***** ******* IL to ********* *** He signed an Order for Service/Bill of Lading via E-Acceptance on 8/19.2013 with our salesperson, ******* ************ This document spells out to the parties what services are to be provided and the costs associated to those services.

On August 29, 2013 Mr. *****'s goods were loaded and began transport from IL to *** As part of the loading services, a third party was hired to disassemble and prepare for shipment a treadmill and a multi station home gym. These services were part of the original charges.

On 9/6/13, the shipment arrived in **********, and was delivered to another ********* agent. Our Coordinator, ******, contacted Mr. ***** and he informed us that the closing of his new residence in ** had fallen through and that he would require storage for about one month at the ********* agent.

On 10/7/13, Mr. *****'s goods were transported to his final destination. ****** spoke to Mr. ***** on 10/9 to check on delivery and if there were any pending issues. This is when we were informed about a stripped screw during the reassembly of the home gym. ****** spoke to both the third party assembly company and Mr. *****. Mr. ***** felt that he should not be responsible for the additional charges the reassembly company charged. After numerous emails and phone calls between the sales person, ******* ************ Mr. *****, and the third party company, the additional charges were refunded to Mr. ***** on 12/6/13.

Throughout those numerous emails and phone calls, there was never any mention of a debris pickup. On February 5, nearly 4 months after delivery, Mr. ***** called and asked the Coordinator, ******, to arrange for a debris pickup. ****** initially informed him that although the service was available, it was not covered in his original contract and there would be a charge of $145 for the local agent to come out and pick up the used boxes. Mr. ***** then requested to speak to a manager. Our Customer Service Manager, ***** ******* returned his call and reiterated that this was not covered in his signed Order for Service but we could contact the local agent and set it up but there would be a charge of $145.00 for this service. At that time, Mr. ***** told ***** that the delivery driver had mentioned a debris pickup but had not mentioned the price. He also acknowledged that the charge was not in his contract. ***** informed him that while we can understand the need for this service, we would be unable to arrange for this to be done at no charge. He stated that because of the problems he had had with the reassembly of the gym, that "we should do the right thing".

Since that time, Mr. ***** contacted the agent in CA directly on 2/24/14, and has agreed to pay the charge of $145 to have the used boxes picked up.

It is unfortunate that Mr. ***** encountered difficulty with the reassembly of his home gym, however, we feel that that issue has been resolved.

Regarding the debris pickup, all services that were agreed to are spelled out in the contract that Mr. ***** accepted. He has stated that he has moved on several occasions and was familiar with the process. On page 3 of the contract, under Terms and Conditions, paragraph 3, it notes that "The total price set forth in this contract does not include charges for extra services or products that you may order from us or that are necessary to accomplish delivery. Charges for any additional services or products will be presented to you within 15 days after delivery..."

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Debris pickup was verbally promised. I acknowledge that I missed that the verbal promise was not reflected in contract. I am moving on, agreeing to disagree with the **** ***** response; but I am dissatisfied with their response and I will continue to be dissatisfied with their response.

Final Business Response
It is always regrettable when a customer is unsatisfied with the service he or she receives. This is especially true when the dissatisfaction involves a verbal claim that cannot be supported by a signed agreement. Transportation agreements are very clear in the interstate moving industry. The agreement lists the services included and the applicable tariff charges for each of those services. There was no debris pickup listed on the agreement and Mr. ****** was not charged for it in his total cost. Glen Ellyn Storage Corporation has an excellent reputation and has serviced the Chicagoland area for over 80 years with high quality and honesty. It is also true that many customers get several estimates and can potentially be made many promises by several salespeople. It is easy to get confused with who said what and when. That is why we have a written signed agreement.
After reading the BBB report, I know that Mr. ****** will not accept any responsibility for the miscommunication. I accept that fact. I also realize that he did make arrangements to have the debris pickup performed and was quoted a price of $145 for that service. It is our understanding that Mr. ****** has now paid for the debis pickup.
As the president of Glen Ellyn Storage Corporation, I have reviewed all the paperwork on this order and do not feel that Glen Ellyn Storage Corporation has fallen short in their ethics or responsibility to Mr. ******. As a sign of good faith, I will personally write a check to Mr. ****** for 50% of the charges that he paid for the debris pickup, reportedly $145.00, if he will agree to completely drop his complaint with the Better Business Bureau. This is only a goodwill gesture to lessen his dissatisfaction level.
Please advise.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
While certainly less than optimal, this is a good faith offer and a substantially more constructive approach than that originally taken by the business. I will accept the offerand will also rescind online reviews I have posted for this company once the "goodwill gesture" is received. Thank you.

08/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The Glen Ellyn Mayflower company has canceled two of the delivery dates for my furniture and now they are refusing to give me a date and time when they will deliver. When I purchased my furniture from ZGallery on July 3rd I was told that it would be delivered by late July. On July 24th, I called to check on the status of my furniture delivery. I was told that the Glen Ellyn Mayflower company would not be delivering my furniture until late September. There was one piece of furniture
that was being custom made and would not be delivered until late September. All other pieces of the furniture were in stock and could be delivered. This split delivery was clearly noted on the order. Once the Glen Ellyn Mayflower company realized their mistake, I was told that they would ship out the furniture immediately and that someone from the Glen Ellyn Mayflower company
would be contacting me within the week to schedule a delivery. I waited until Friday July 31st and made a call in the afternoon. I spoke to a supervisor name Donna Dean from the Glen Ellyn Mayflower company. She informed me that my furniture was sitting in their docking facility since Wednesday July 29th. Donna told me that it was not their fault that the split order
was not seen because they never get to see the notes that the ZGallery sales people make on the order. Donna also told me that the moving trucks are very large and that it takes several days to inspect them. This is the reason she did not call me to schedule a delivery date and time for my furniture. Donna could not explain why I wasn't contacted on Wednesday July 29th when my furniture arrived in their docking facility. They could have done both the inspection and scheduled my delivery at the same time. I explained to Donna that I needed to have the furniture delivered by the next Saturday; August 8th. Donna
told me that she could not guarantee any delivery but she would "do her best". I then told Donna that the Glen Ellyn Mayflower company could not deliver my furniture by next Saturday August 8th, that I would be canceling the order.

Desired Settlement
Full refund of my order if the furniture described for the delivery in July on Order # XXXXXXXNPTO is not delivered by the morning of August 8th. This includes the Lola Bench ($296.65), the Palais dining table ($1,189,15), delivery cost (190.00) and applicable tax (about 243.23).

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****, Office Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********
Date: August 14, 2015
RE: Response to BBB Complaint, Shipper *******

We have spoken to Mr. ******* and believe that the matter has been resolved to his satisfaction.

However we would like to respond to his original complaint.

Our company, Glen Ellyn Storage Corporation, is a Last Mile Delivery Agent for the store where the furniture was purchased. That means that we have no prior knowledge of his purchase or delivery needs until the furniture is delivered to our warehouse. At that point, we contact the customer and set up a delivery time directly with the customer. Mr. ******* states that he called and his delivery dates were cancelled two times. Glen Ellyn Storage would not have arranged for any delivery directly with him prior to July 28th, when we received the furniture in our warehouse. Our office called to set up delivery on July 31, and left a voice mail message asking him to call back. Unfortunately, we did not make contact with Mr. ******* within our 2 day window. We have apologized for this.
At this time, the furniture has been delivered and as stated, we believe that this matter has been resolved

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This matter is definitely NOT closed. I will re-open this complaint in the event it is closed without my permission or knowledge.
I want to remind Glen Ellyn Movers that my furniture sat in their warehouses for three days before I received a call from them. And the only reason I received a call was because
I initiated it with ZGallery. Had I not called to inquire on the status of my furniture I have no doubt that the call from Glenn Ellyn Furniture on Friday July 31st would never have occurred.
Glen Ellyn Movers refuses to acknowledge this as a problem.
As much as I would like to sever my contact with Glen Ellyn Movers, this order was split (Order #XXXXXXXNPTO). The remaining furniture is scheduled to be delivered within the next three weeks to complete this order.
It is reasonable to assume that until Glen Ellyn Movers acknowledges and corrects their mismanagement of this order that I will be go through the same nightmare when the second half of the order arrives.
I have already notified ZGallery that I will never use Glen Ellyn Movers for any purchases that I make at their store. I will be on a 'cash-and-carry' basis with them from now on. And I have gone to another furniture supplier
to complete my home decorating project as a direct result of this horrible situation.
I sincerely believe that I have been given blatantly false information from Glen Ellyn Movers and based upon their callous reply to this problem I don't see that changing. Glen Ellyn Movers refuses to acknowledge these lies or the problems they have caused. I do not want this complaint closed until the entire order has been completed. Once that has happened, Glen Ellyn Movers will never hear from me again.

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******** Controller
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********
Mr. ******* is correct in his statement that Glen Ellyn Storage did not contact him for three days after the first portion of his furniture order arrived in our warehouse and after his phone call to ********* This was acknowledged in our original response. We also acknowledged this in our phone call with Mr. *******, and at that time, we believed that the matter had been resolved and the pieces of furniture that had been received were delivered on the requested dates. We recognize this to be an internal staffing issue, and have worked with our office staff and ******** to improve in this area.
The previous response was not intended to be callous. We had reached out personally to Mr. ******* by phone and honestly believed this was resolved.
Unfortunately, there is no way for Glen Ellyn Storage to know when the rest of Mr. *******'s order will arrive in our warehouse. Per Mr. *******, this is a custom order and therefore its arrival is outside of our control. We are on the look out for it. Once received, we will make initial contact and ensure that his delivery dates and times accommodates his needs to the best of our ability.
Glen Ellyn Storage Corporation has been in business for many decades and works very hard to meet our customers requests. We strive to maintain quality and customer satisfaction. Our sincere apologies to Mr. ******* for his inconvenience and additional stress this may have caused him.

04/10/2015Delivery Issues
11/18/2014Delivery Issues
11/17/2014Problems with Product / Service
05/19/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Moving & Storage Company

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.