BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/2010

Schaumburg Toyota, Inc.

Phone: (847) 882-1800Fax: (847) 843-4410

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service7
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
03/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This car purchased only had 10,000 miles on it and was a 2009. I have only put another 5000 on it. It has been nothing but trouble as the car battery has gone dead despite being changed 2 times over the past 10 months and the alternator being changed. Service can find nothing wrong. It is again in service today. It went dead yesterday. This is particularly a hassle for me as I work on an army base and over the weekend there is no one there when I have to go there and I to jump me.


When I last inquired with ********* about taking the car back and giving me a new one, they wanted to add another approximately $4000 to the exchanged car for me to carry. I feel that any business with integrity should change out of the car for no cost with another with similar miles without additional cost to me.

This has been the most stressful and problematic disruption to my life, my sense of well being, my happiness. I have invested countless wasted hours with this issue and taken hours away from my family in dealing with this battery cutting off and being stranded in the middle of winter anywhere.


i was trusting that the business resolved what was wrong with this car and did not file this complaint earlier but now it happened yesterday after the alternator being changed about 4 months ago.


Desired Settlement
I would like another car with similar miles with no additional cost.

Business Response
Ms. ***** returned to our dealership on Dec. 17th and we put her into a 2014 Camry and she indicated that she was satisfied with the result and we consider this matter closed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The final issue I was waiting on word about was the remote starter with no additional cost which ****** in finance said he would look into an acceptable resolution to the fact that I was not offered the remote starter when the lease was initiated and accepted. I feel this feature should be added to the 2014 Camry lease at no additional cost.


My understanding was that management was supposed to offer a resolution but have not heard back yet.

Final Business Response
I apologize for the lateness of this response. I thought I had uploaded this information timely to the website but perhaps I did something wrong with the attachments. In Ms. ***** second complaint she says that she was not offered a remote start. Please see the attached accessory offering sheet that was signed by Ms. ***** that shows that she was offered many accessories options including the remote start and opted to go only with the rim skins and as such we will not be adding it for her at no cost.



Sincerely,



****



**** ******

Resnick Automotive Group

CFO

XXX-XXX-XXXX Work

XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On October XX-XXXX I went to Toyota Schaumburg dealership to purchase a used vehicle-this was my going to be my second vehicle purchased from them. I was shown 3 cars and test drove all 3. I chose a 08 Nissan ***** with an as is buyer sticker on it. I was assured by the salesman the car was given a complete going over by the service dept and had no major defects and was safe to drive.
Said purchase was made on that day. Two weeks later while driving my car I heard a loud and persistent grinding noise from rear of vehicle. I took it to a local mechanic and was told the brakes were shot and the car was unsafe to drive. I have not even made my first payment on said vehicle. I contacted Schaumburg Toyota in writing via email-never recieved a response. I now have a car I can't drive until I can accrue the funds to have rear brakes replaced. This was totally deceptive and dangerous to me the trusting consumer.

Desired Settlement
I feel Schaumburg Toyota should repair the rear brakes without cost to me.

Final Consumer Response
The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated:

05/19/2014Problems with Product / Service
04/23/2013Problems with Product / Service
01/28/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
07/07/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 6/21/14 I went to Toyota to look for a used vehicle. Sales rep ******** ******** approached me and my father. Took us over to the used vehicles and I started looking from there. Toyota Rav X XXXX Stock Number: ****** price $22,577.00 (basic Rav 4) and 2013 Subaru Legacy 2.5i Limited stock number: XXXXXXA price 22,700 (fully loaded) were the two vehicle's I test drove. Both cars had some dents and scratches. The Subaru was missing the wheel well cover that keeps water from getting to the engine. I already told the rep that I was going through my bank to purchase the car. Rep asked what would be my interest rate. I said 3.3%. He said he can get me a better interest rate, I declined. Me and my father went and sat in the reps office to start talking business. For the third time through this whole process the rep kept asking me if I was old enough to purchase a vehicle. It was getting to the point where it became very annoying. I felt that the frequency in which my age was brought up was discrimination. Now were talking business. I told the rep I would like the Rav 4 for about 20k with tax included. He flat out refused and said I can't and won't do that. I continued to listen. The man tried to offer me the car with a car note that was almost $500 a month. Absolutely not. Even though I said I wanted the Rav 4 he was also trying to push to the other vehicle I test drove. Then he said well you can finance with Toyota can I can get you a rate for 4.9%. No... That's a higher rate then what I was offered and you said earlier in the parking lot you can get me a better rate. I explained I didn't want my credit ran all those times. The rep kept pushing the issue and then started about how I shouldn't use a bank to get a car and how banks are... I stopped him dead in his tracks and explained I know how the game works when it comes to auto loans. I said when you run my credit it's being ran through about 10 or more different banks to see who can get me the loan which hurts my credit. Then I simply explained to him how a bank works since I was a supervisor at a bank before. I simply told him I was not stupid and he couldn't get over on me. Both vehicles were over priced to be used and both had dents, scratches, and more. Toyota defiantly did not stick to there word about satisfying there customers. That was a flat out lie. The sales rep was only thinking about his commission and wasn't even thinking about how I felt. I've been to a few dealerships with other people to purchase vehicles and I have never felt like this. I felt the sales rep thought he can get over on me because I looked extremely young and from the comments he kept making. I just thought the whole experience was unprofessional.

Desired Settlement
I don't want a settlement, but I would like to possibly get the car for the price I was asking or for less.

Business Response
See attached

Consumer Response
Hello,
I spoke with ****** a few times via email. He did email me regarding a 2014 Rav 4. I told him my monthly price range. After that I never heard anything back from anyone regarding the 2014 Rav 4. I assumed Toyota didn't want to do business, so I went some where else where the service was wonderful, the prices were great, and I got a wonderful car with only 10k miles. It's unfortunate that Toyota missed out, but I rather my Infiniti with low miles then an over price Toyota with more miles and dents and scratches. I'm happy with my purchase, so I really don't need to be dealing with Toyota any longer.

Have a wonfderful Day,
******* *****

06/12/2012Problems with Product / Service
01/24/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.