BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/15/2011

Resident Research, LLC

Phone: (704) 438-9905Fax: (866) 628-5355

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Other1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
10/22/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company claims it guarantees accurate information using reliable sources to gather consumer reports while abiding by the FCRA.
Problem date: 9/22/2014

In receiving my rental background report this company gave information to the rental company that was in clear violation of the Fair Credit Reporting Act "FCRA"

Specific instructions where given when pulling my information and those WHEREN'T followed as agreed upon.

One example: Submitting a traffic infraction or dismissed case is not a criminal record.This clearing indicates they don't review the information they receive and they are pulling information from ROBOT sources that spit out anything.

According to FCRA you MUST pull the information from accurate and proven resources that are in compliance with the 'FCRA", in which they didn't and I can prove that.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking whatever the courts allow my to seek from this point.
I would also would like an apology letter to all the consumers/clients that purchased something from them letting them know that their website is misleading.
Take ownership of the issue and stop SCAMMING folks, that's why the FCRA was enacted because of companies like this. Defamation of character

Business Response
Dear Mr. xxxxx,

We received your BBB complaint and we do apologize for the inconvenience. We make every effort to follow all the FCRA rules and regulations.

We have reviewed your report and did make some changes, by removing the traffic cases - so your report will be easier to interpret and resent it to the Property Management Company for them to make a determination on the approval of your rental application.

We will also be mailing you a copy of the revised report for your records.

If you have specifics you want to discuss please contact us and give the specialist the details. We would be happy to follow up with you.

Sincerely,
Resident Research, LLC




Consumer Response
I received a new report from said company and they are still reporting things that should NOT be reported under the FCRA rules. This time I am not going to mention the exact infraction on the report because I want a legal team to handle this going forward. This is why these fly by night start up background check companies need to be regulated. They are not lawyers and don't understand how the legal system works. Please refer me to a lawyer.


Business Response
Dear Mr. xxxxx

We sincerely regret that you are dissatisfied with our report. Resident Research LLC prides itself in thoroughness and accuracy for our corporate clients and fairness to their rental applicants. Our processes and documentation demonstrates that we are in compliance with FCRA rules.

If you feel the need to escalate your grievance through legal channels have your counsel contact us on the specifics.

Sincerely,
Resident Research, LLC

04/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company is giving out wrong infomation on me. It listed an eviction in 2013 for me in xxxxx nc. but I don't live in n.c. I live va.since 1999
Eviction Records
RESULTS Records Found
NAME SEARCHED
xxxxx
SEARCH DATE 03-22-2014 4:43 PM MDT
JURISDICTION
NATIONWIDE
SEARCH SCOPE
xxxxx
Defendant
Full Name:xxxxx
Address:xxxxx
City, State Zip:xxxxx

Plaintiff
Full Name:xxxxx

Judgment Information:
Case Number:xxxxx
CaseType:CIVIL NEW FILING
Case Disposition:Civil New Filing
Court Location:xxxx MAGISTRATE COURT
Reference Id:xxxxx
Judgment Amount:$0
Filed Date:2013-07-10

xxxxx
Defendant
Full Name:xxxxx
Address:xxxxx
City, State Zip:xxxxx

Desired Settlement
That they verify by middle name and s.s. # that this person is not me and remove from my records

Business Response
Dear Mr. xxxxx,
We received your complaint through the BBB and we do apologize for this inconvenience. We immediately contacted the local courthouse and expressed concern as to why we received the incorrect record. We asked them if they could verify the information on the file to see if it was a match with your personal information, however the only information on the record is what we received, and that did not include a social security number, or date of birth. With the lack of identifying information on their end, we have removed that eviction record in our system. Because your name is very common, this is not an unprecedented situation. In our search, since the names matched it pulled this record, and that is why it showed up on your report. After we have corrected the report here, we re-sent the updated information to the property management company you had applied with. In addition, we have mailed a consumer copy of the revised report to your address on file.
In an effort to try and remedy the situation, we reached out to the company that incorrectly filed the eviction; however we were unable to get in contact with them. Their phones are disconnected, and the website was not connected to that company. The court will not remove something based on our request. We typically recommend that the individual take the original consumer copy to xxxxx County Courthouse and advise them that this record is being inaccurately reported to your name to prevent further issues.
We apologize for how the situation was handled on our end. We will make every effort to ensure that it doesn't happen again. We have refunded your application fee as a courtesy for the inconvenience. At this point there is nothing else we can do in regards to your application. Please reach out to the property management company you applied with for any further information on your application.
We hope this resolution is to your satisfaction and if you need any further assistance please don't hesitate contact us.

Sincerely,
Resident Research

06/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
provided my wrong credit report to an agent without checking proper details.
I applied for an apartment for rent- and this agency checked my credit.
In their form they asked my current job details and last 2 pay checks.
In report they wrote- he fails as he have no job after June 30th, when he is moving to other state.

Actually I am moving to other state for a new and better job, and applying for apartment rental there.

I am disqualified for the rent depending on the report.

Nobody called me, after hearing from my current employer that my job is ending this month.

Desired Settlement
Correct my credit score and send a copy with explaining their mistake and apology to me and to the real estate agency.

Business' Initial Response
In response to your complaint I am happy to provide the following details:

1. The credit report that was provided to xxxxx is a valid current version of your xxxxx; any disputes in regards to items contained in your credit report would need to be directed to xxxxx Consumer Support at www.xxxxx.com.

2. I can confirm that we did check your credit in relation to your request for residency at a property managed by xxxxx.

3. When you submitted your rental application online you were asked for any/all income to be considered when evaluating your rental application and you provided employment details for your employment in NY with xxxxx which will not be valid once you have relocated to North Carolina for residency at the property you are applying for. This was validated by the office manager of the hospital; xxxxx on 6/3/2013.

4. Since this employment will not continue once you have relocated and no other income sources were provided your rental application was declined due to a failure to meet the income to rent ratio guidelines.

5. We do not contact applicants for other details that have not been provided as the applicants clearly state that they understand that the details of their application will be used to evaluate their approval for residency and the applicant states that they are providing all of the required information to the best of their knowledge.

6. This morning an email was received from Mr. xxxxx expressing his concerns with our decision. It was at that point that he provided details of his future employment that will start upon his relocation to the North Carolina area. Upon receipt of these details we promptly updated his report and sent a revised approval decision to xxxxx.

Based on these details we feel that we have followed the correct procedures on this matter and you would need to contact xxxxx to see if the property that you were applying for is still available. I am sure that if it is then they would be happy to accept your application for the property based on the revised background check that was sent to them this morning.

01/29/2015

Industry Comparison| Chart

Screening - Tenant, Screening - Background & Employment, Drug & Alcohol Screening & Testing, Real Estate Rental Service, Employment Screening, Credit Reporting Agencies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.