BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Simmons Bedding Co.

Phone: (877) 399-9397Fax: (770) 613-8575

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

43 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 15 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues26
Problems with Product / Service16
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints43

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (43)
06/26/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mattress less than 3 years old and sinking in middle. Simmons claims that there is nothing wrong with mattress.
I purchased a Simmons Comforpedic Loft Memory foam mattress in Nov 2012. I'm supposed to have a 20 year warranty on this mattress. I've had problems with this mattress sinking in the middle after less than 2 years! The firmness that the mattress had in the beginning was gone in less than a year. Now my partner and I, who are both completely average weight, sink in the middle of the bed! I've read MANY of the same complaints from other owners of this mattress. We have had to get a different mattress in our room, and/or sleep in separate beds. I called ****** to come out and do an inspection, which I have to take off of work to be there for. About a week after the inspection is done, I receive a VM from ****** saying that they no longer sell Simmons mattress so I have to call Simmons directly and have someone from their company come out and do the inspection. Which also requires another day off of work! After speaking with ******, they tell me that the inspection report that they're people did, showed a 3/4 inch impression. Simmons tells me that typically they can use their report, but then after seeing the ****** review (and probably seeing that it met warranty requirements), they decide that there isn't enough information and they'll still have to come out. Coincidentally, they only show 1/8 inch impression! So they won't do anything about my mattress. And ****** takes ZERO responsibility for this because they've stopped selling their products! I'm screwed regardless of which company I speak to. Neither one will take responsibility for this bad mattress. I spend almost $2000 on this mattress that I cannot use. Not to mention, I can't even sell it to someone because they will not allow the warranty to be transferred! I have all proper documentation/tags/etc.

Desired Settlement
I would prefer a refund, but am willing to accept and refund or store credit towards a new mattress.

Business Response
Dear **********,

Upon further review, we do concur with our findings. The product is no defect and you were referred to us as ****** doesn't handle our claims in your area. Therefore, we cannot offer replacement due to no defects.

Regards,

Simmons Corporate Warranty Department

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Simmmons is claiming there is nothing wrong with it, when there most certainly is! You cannot have two people sleep in that bed without both sinking to the middle. According to the original inspection done by ******, it stated that the mattress was sinking 3/4 inch. Yet, you guys are saying there's no defect. I find that extremely convenient for Simmons.


Final Business Response
The following email was sent to the customer yesterday:
June 25, 2015

Dear ***********:

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to assist you. We are in receipt of communication regarding your warranty claim. Since it has been 90 days since the product was inspected by the independent 3rd party inspector, we can now offer another inspection. Please advise if you would like to proceed with reopening the claim.

Again, thank you for contacting us.

Sincerely,
Simmons Corporate Warranty Department
Claim # **********

10/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
mattress defective and Simmons wont honor warranty
Claim number **********, Purchased mattress from ****** 5/9/2013 Mattress sinking in middle. Started Claim on August 19 2014. they keep asking me for by law tag off mattress which is not there. I ran into a customer at the post office that was mailing in a claim for the same mattress bought at ****** for the same problem and they keep asking him for the same tag that is not on his either, they wont honor warranty of 25 years because of tag not being there. but they are selling these mattress without tag. I have asked for a rep to be sent out to see there was no tag ripped off and they just keep you on hold and hang up. I have tried thru email and they just keep asking for tag. simmions ******** comfort pedic beauty rest,style ****** silicone,item #***************, project #*****

Desired Settlement
refund or replacement of different mattress prefer refund and will find one that doesn't sink and kill your back.

Business Response
Dear **********,

A questionnaire form was emailed to you to complete and return to us. As of today, we have not received this document.

Please complete and return to us so that we may evaluate your claim. Simmons does not offer refunds as the money you paid went directly to the retailer and not Simmons.

Regards,

Simmons Corp Warranty Dept

09/19/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Matress Bought king size bed in 2010 model #***************Matress should carry 10 years warranty , we used it for 4 years now and it is not like 4 years old , me and my husband are normal weight people not like overwaight and matress is sinking more than 6 inches from where we sleeping , we turn it every month and now me and my husband has back pain , knee pain , I try to call customer service they deny warrenty , so rude people is working there , *********** they quit working with them , we have to take warrenty from manefaturer itself . We pay ****$ for this matress , and now no warrenty after 4 years .I need somebody from this company just to see what is going on with these people .
Product_Or_Service: 10/20/2010
Order_Number: ********

Desired Settlement
I need this matress to be replaced , or refund we end up having back pain issues

Business Response
Dear Ms. *******,

Our records indicate that the product was purchased from an active retailer in 2000 and a replacement was offered through the retailer and the warranty has now expired.

Replacement of a product does not begin a new warranty period. Therefore, the warranty was only applicable from the date of purchase.

Regards,

Simmons Corp Warranty Dept

08/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
king size mattress - replaced twice in 3 months - need a new mattress and they want to charge an upgrade
I bought a ******* for a King size mattress set - it was discounted over 60% (I paid around $1,100 with tax and I am still paying for this)The mattress was supposedly a high end model. I had it two months and it sagged a LOT. I went through the steps and had it replaced with same model. Had this mattress one month and it is doing the same thing. Went thru the steps again - and asked for a different mode; because this one is terrible. They said yes but I only had 20 days to do so and to find one at the $1,000 price point - there aren't any King size mattresses out there for that price - I asked for a list of mattresses I could even exchange for - they cannot provide that information "you need to find one at a store" I went to several stores and all of the prices are around $2,000. I found a set for under $1,500 and Simmons came back and said i need to pay $340 for an upgrade as well as shipping and more taxes. I have missed time from work on 4 separate occasions.I asked for either an even exchange OR a refund and they do not do that. The representative would not give me her supervisor's voice mail and when I insisted she hung up on me. This has been the worst experience ever. I want a refund.

Desired Settlement
I requested that my mattress be replaced with Beautyrest Recharge World Class Brentford Firm Pillowtop- I found the set for $1,482 and I only need the mattress. Simmons will not do this unless I pay more money and shipping even though my original purchase included white glove free delivery service. At this point I want my money refunded and I will go to a different mattress company.

Business Response
Dear Mrs. ****,

Per your conversation today with Mrs. *****, Simmons will allow your reselect as a one time courtsey only. The revised documentation will be email no later than 8/21/14.

Regards,

Simmons Corp Warranty Dept

03/20/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I initiated my claim on February 20 and was told that I would receive a call from ******* **********. Still waiting to hear from them after 10 calls
I purchased a high end mattress In June of 2007. Was told it had a 10 year warranty. It is almost 7 years old and had very deep depressions in it. We were told that this would not happen. I have all my receipts. We initiated a call to the Simmons Bedding company because Mattress Discounters is no longer in Business. I called Simmons on February 20 and was told someone from ******* ********** would call to set up an appointment to inspect the mattress within 3 to 5 Business days. It is now 4 weeks later and still have not heard from the ********** Company. In the meantime I have faxed and mailed a copy of my receipt and other information to Simmons. I have a Claim # and I have called at least 10 times to tell them that the ********** Company has not contacted me yet. They say that they have all of my information and don't know why I haven't been contacted. I am very frustrated at this time and feel that they are not honoring their warranty. I don't know what to do at this point.

Desired Settlement
I would like for the Inspection company to come out and measure the indentations on this mattress and address the issue, whether it be to replace the mattress or discount on another mattress. I just would like to follow the procedures that they have in place.

The number that I have been calling is XXX-XXX-XXXX and my claim #XXXXXXXXX

Thank you for your attention to this matter.

****** ****

Business Response
Dear Ms. ****:

Our records indicate that we did not have an inspector that covers your area. In an effort to assist you, Simmons is paying additional fees for an in-home inspection to provide service to your area as a courtsey. Also, the inspection date and time was confirmed by you for 3/21/14.

We also offered to provide with a claim form which you denied.

Regards,

Simmons Corp Warranty Dept

Page 1 of 2
04/21/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refusing to honor warranty due to a soup stain on the mattress on the opposite side of the sagging mattress.
We purchased a Simmons King size Beautyrest classic mattress, box springs and foundation on 8/7/9 with a 10 year warranty to cover sagging over 1 1/2 inches. We paid the fee for their 3rd party inspector who told us we have the best foundation and noted a good metal frame on the report. They are using a stain on the mattress as a reason to not honor the warranty. it is a pillowtop and the inspector noted the mattress has an indention of 1 and 5/8 inches. he also noted the sag and the stain on his report and they are on oppsite sides of the mattress. it took 6 weeks for them to schedule the inspection and 2 more to write the report.

Desired Settlement
We originally wanted a replacement but since they do not honor their warranty would prefer a refund to purchase from a reputable company.

Business Response
Dear Ms. ******,

Thank you for contacting us about your Simmons product. We are very sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction.

If the concern you are encountering with our product is related to a manufacturing defect, please contact your dealer to start a warranty claim. Currently, all authorized Simmons dealers handle warranty claims for their customers using our warranty terms and tolerance guidelines. Therefore, your dealer will assist you with validating your warranty request. If additional assistance is needed, contact your retailer and request they contact their local Simmons sales representative.

Regards,

Simmons Corp Warranty Dept

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The product is defective and the retailer has denied the claim. The phone number listed is not valid. I feel I am getting the run around.

04/07/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a Simmons Beautyrest Pillow top King size Mattress in May 2015 from HSN $1499.00. We began sleeping on the mattress in June when we moved to a smaller house. After sleeping miserably night after night for months,I noticed a lump had formed in the middle of the mattress. I informed those I talked to at HSN and Simmons of our health issues: I have a hip replacement and a pin in my right leg. The lump is even worse once you lay on down as it goes even lower. My husband is on his 5th pacemaker defibrillator (last surgery in 9/2015). I began talking to Simmons in October and filled out the claim form; which they sent back several times. They asked us to lift the mattress and box springs and take pictures after I had informed them we were physically unable to lift the heavy mattress. They promised me they would send an inspector to the house to measure the mattress twice and I waited and each time they did not call and I had to call them back. Finally, last week the inspector came and measured every thing and took pictures. Today, I received a letter from the Simmons Warranty Claims saying he could not find a defect. That was "The mattress is contouring to the shape of your body." and "The compression does not affect the product's durability." The so-called "contouring of your body" is really a sunken place in the mattress that goes down several inches beside the lump when you lay down upon it. The inspector say it only goes down a half inch; which, is ridiculous. Even when I lay a ruler on top of it it is up at least an inch. This is causing extreme misery for me as my left hip is up higher than the rest of my body when I lay on my back. If I lay on my right side then my arm (an old rotater cuff injury)and my leg goes to sleep and my neck hurts trying to accommodate for the slant in the mattress. I asked them several times for an exchange to a mattress without the pillow-top, the source of our sleeping misery. They told me they would come back in 60 days and inspect and review. Terrible!
Product_Or_Service: 5-05-2015
Order_Number: XXXXXXXX
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXL

Desired Settlement
We would like them to exchange the pillow top mattress for a mattress of the same value without the pillow top.

Business Response
Dear Ms. *******,

Thanks for the message. We will research and reply within the next two business days with an update to your claim.

Regards,

Simmons Corporate Warranty Dept

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Simmons did not call at all or within two business days, as they stated in their reply to you.
HSN called, a woman named ****** to see if Simmons had responded. I called her back on 3/30/16 and left a message in regard to her call.
The mattress is a nightmare. Who can sleep with a immovable lump the size of a four year old child in the middle of the bed. The findings and statement by Simmons is ridiculous. The 1/2 inch measurement is ludicrous, because when your body weight is on the mattress is goes down even further and the lump is higher. The CEO of Simmons should have to sleep on this mattress for months and hope for relief,as , it is a torture rack. I still hold out some hope for us with your help. Thank you for your attention to this matter.

Final Business Response
Dear Ms. *******,

Upon further review of your claim, we do concur with our findings. As stated, after 60 days from the date of the inspection please contact our office and we will be more than happy to re-inspect your product.

Regards,

Simmons Corp Warranty Dept

03/31/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mattress defect
Called warranty company several times,no action taken
Problem been more then almost year or more
Purchase about 3 years
Beautyrest classic
Model: MXXXXX.70.7801
Date of manufacture 12/05/12
$900 to $1000 because I bought it with other staff from the same store, with credit card
Store name: divano home
Store address ****************************** ,ca XXXXX phone: XXX XXX XXXX
My mattress now has bumps, I do have a pain in my back me and my wife
I called warranty services every time get told someone will call you within 72 hours, but no action has been taken so please if you can help me I will appreciate you services
Thank you.

Desired Settlement
I need a refund or at least replacement with good one

Business Response
Dear *********,

Our records indicate you contacted us in July, 2015 at which time we referred you back to the retailer. The policy is if the retailer is still in business and is an authorized Simmons retailer they handle their own warranty claims.

Regards,

Simmons Corp Warranty Dept

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes, I went to the retailer store and the lady she works there even she is the owner or manager told me just go and deal with the manufacture, and she mention that all her clients asked them to deal with the manufacture, like any other business so if she is wrong and she doesn't understand the policy please if you can provide me with the part of the policy
Where the policy mentioning that the retailer store has responsibility for warranty, then I will go back to that store and deal with them
Thank you again

Final Business Response
Dear Ms. *********,

Please contact your retailer for warranty assistance.

Regards,

Simmons Corporate Warranty Dept

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Hi again
I went to the retailer store, I got told that the sale is final no warranty, their policy like that, final sale
But I remember when I bought it the sales person told me
You have a 10 years warranty, even I can see that on my mattress tag code: A means 10 years
Thank you.

02/29/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Warranty department will send you on one scavenger hunt after another to gather information needed for replacement and the demands get more ridiculous
I purchased two sets of Simmons mattresses from JCPenney in November of 2010. Both sets are no longer usable as they both sink in the center. After several attempts to reach someone, an inspector finally came out to inspect them. I was present and took notes as to the measurements of how deep the impressions were. After everything was reviewed they came back with information different from what was found by the inspector and refused to send me a copy of the report stating that it was "property of Simmons bedding" they only agreed to replace one mattress only even though all four pieces are defective and then asked me to go to one of the stores on their approved list to pick out another mattress and email them the name of the retailer, the model number off the penalty of law tag,size requested, the price, full name of the mattress. After all of that was done, I'm now asked to get the purchase price in writing on company letterhead. I feel I've been lead on this never ending process of a scavenger hunt and now I'm just sent on another and then another. This is not good business practice.

Desired Settlement
Stop making me jump through hoops and honor your warranty.

Business Response
Dear Ms. ******,

We are in receipt of the pricing you provided from a local retailer as requested and will replace with no upgrade charges.

Confirmation of such will be provided to you within the next two business days.

Regards,

Simmons Corporate Warranty Department

02/25/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been offered a warranty replacement through Simmons Claims. I do not agree with the difference in payment with zero financing options.
I purchased my mattress (*******************) through ******'s on 23 November 2012. This purchase was a warranty replacement for a previous mattress. After the military re-assigned us to ****** from **********, we began having issues with excessive sagging. I contacted ******'s about the warranty claim. We were told that because we were outside of the service area so we had to go through Simmons directly. I submitted a warranty claim through Simmons claim department early September 2015 Claim #**********. I was told that because my current model (******) was discontinued, I had to select a different model. I was given a list of models that I was told were comparable to what I had. However, there was only one on the list that was the same style. All of the others were completely different style mattresses. The comparable mattress will cost me an additional $400 plus tax. It seems companies change their models every couple of years so they can still profit from warranties. I contacted the claims department and asked how I can finance this and I was told I couldn't. I explained to the woman that this was originally purchased and financed through ******'s where I would be able to finance any differences through them had I been given the opportunity to submit my claim through them. I asked if there was anyway they could work with one of the local stores (********************) and in a rude manner, she told me thats not how it works. I tried to explain to her that me being stationed here was beyond my control and I shouldn't be financially penalized for it. She really didn't want to hear it and explained that I would have to come up with the difference out of pocket. I asked how long the offer was good for and she said as long as they still carry the mattress. My wife and I both have multiple medical issues concerning our necks and backs. We have both had surgeries and may need more. The longer we keep our current mattress, the worse our problems are getting. We cannot afford to pay $400 without financing it.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking either a refund in the amount of $1899.99 which is the credit we are being given toward the new mattress. This would give me the option to purchase from a local vendor and finance the difference. I would also be given the option of purchasing the store warranty so I don't have to deal with Simmons warranty. If I cannot receive a refund, I would like the mattress to be replaced with the selected model without an upgrade charge and still have a warranty.

Business Response
Dear *************,

We will have to review with the Simmons rep for an approval for your product. Keep in mind, you are requesting a much higher end product than your original.

Regards,

Simmons Corporate Warranty Dept

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I cannot accept the response. if I do, I am telling the BBB that I am satisfied and the BBB will close this case. I have not been contacted by Simmons Corporate Warranty department in this matter nor do I know if they've spoken with their rep about an approval as stated in their response. As far as the "higher end product", I was given a list of mattresses to chose from and this one is the only one that is in comparison to what I have. I can't help that Simmons discontinued a model to come out with new ones and charge more money.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If I cannot receive a refund due to policy, I am asking that you work with the local Ashley/Slumber World whom which I already have an account with. I can't see any reason you can't work with with them seeing as they sell your product. This way we would be able to have the $1899.99 as a credit and purchase the mattress through them. That would allow me to finance the difference. We have already spoken with the manager there and he said it would be up to your company to coordinate it. He already knows your local rep because he sells Simmons' product. It is the ***************************************** located at **** ****** *** ********* *** XXXXX (XXX) XXX-XXXX. I am not including his name due to the BBB PII policy.

Final Business Response
Dear ************,

We do not offer refunds and your selection does have an applicable upgrade charge which does not include sales tax or shipping. Please refer to the terms and conditions of the limited warranty.

Also, we don't get other retailers involved as they did not sell you the product and are not included in this warranty claim.

Regards,

Simmons Corporate Warranty Dept

Page 1 of 8

Industry Comparison| Chart

Mattresses

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.