BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/06/1990

Ken's

Phone: (478) 474-2324Fax: (478) 474-4671

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service9
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
03/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I took my car into Ken's and told ***** the manager that I had a CD stuck in the radio and he said if he took it out it would ruin my radio (true or not I do not know) and I would have to buy another radio so I had ***** pick a radio out for me and he charged me for the transaction. When the installer brought the car to me he said the CD just popped out and he gave me the CD. I made it clear to ***** if they could get the CD out without tearing up the radio I did not want to buy a new radio. When I found out what horrible reception I got from the radio I asked for a refund and was told no. After spending $358.43 I spent another $148.73 to get a better radio which still hI hated this radio which only got 3-4 FM stations and no AM stations and there were no refunds and I was not aware. Looking at losing the $358., I spent another $148 at Ken's to put a radio that matched my car better and had buttons large enough to see unlike the first radio that had miniscule buttons and was had to navigate.So I had to buy a more expensive radio to get better reception or lose $358.00. But the 2nd radio did't get much better reception either.Also the installer ruined my wood grain consol finish. When I showed ***** he didn't offer any compensation.BOTTOM LINE: Had I been told the CD popped right out I would not have bought a new radio becuase I have a Toyota Limited Edition car and the radio was top of the line and no other radio Ken's had matched my car dash. I know ***** was not communicating with the installer because on the 2nd radio install I told ***** to let me choose where the USB port would be installed and the installer installed it in the glove compartment without asking me. As a woman this is very offensive as if being a woman is excuse enough to be ignored.Also Ken's has military murals all over their walls and to a veteran it is simply pandering. You can also read what I wrote in full detail on your complain web sit
Product_Or_Service: DVD Radio
Order_Number: NA
Account_Number: NA

Desired Settlement
Pay at least $50 toward replacement of the wood grain console that was scratched up during installation. It had not marks when I brought it to your store. And give back half of the $507.16. I should ask for all of it back seeing that all ***** had to do was tell me the CD came out without tearing up my radio, but ***** seems not to be communicating the car owners wishes to the installer for a reason. I still get terrible reception after spending over $500.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Kenny Jones, President
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***2@email.com
I have talked to ****** Scarborough. She explained her issues and she is bringing her car to the Macon store to figure out everything.
I am here to serve the client......I will do whatever it takes to make everything perfect.

Consumer Response
One of the owners of Ken's stereo named Kenny made an appointment for me to have my car radio problems repaired at his expense on March 4, 2015. He offered to add a component to my radio without charge, in exchange I dropped the claim against the damage to my woodgrain console.
I asked him if he would speak to the manager of Ken's stereo in Warner Robins about paying closer attention to the female customers and he said that he had already spoken to *****.
But, I still stand by my issues with the Warner Robins Ken's Stero manager crossing the sales ethics line and capitalizing on his customers ignorance of the radio business to make his sales instead of informing the customer and letting them make their only intelligent decisions.
I have been a manager and I have been in sales and I know when a sales person crosses the ethics line and ***** crossed that line and I can tell that he will continue doing so.
This closes my complaint with the Better Business Bureau. I thank you for serving this community and wish you all well.
You made a difference.


11/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
purchased DVD w/camera input/remote access, outdoors cameras with installation with IP address on 10/12/2013.



As of today 11/2/2013 my installation has not been completed.

Desired Settlement
I would like for the work to be completed ASAP. I am tired of calling the Warner Robins store employees and getting no responses.

Business Response
Called Mr. ****** Small breakdown in communication. Have rectified problem. Mr. ***** will confirm.

***** *****, President, Ken's

05/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not receive the year model HDTV, Speaker, and new stand that I paid for.
TV is a 2013 model, was told it was a 2014 model. The original invoice clearly states a 2014 model.
Speaker is ******* RC-10, not a *******1 that is also on the invoice. The stand is clearly a floor model, not a new one. Has chip on it and is dirty. I discovered the price of the equipment was worth much less than what is available locally and got a $600.00 refund after I initially refused to accept delivery. I asked for a refund at that time. I started looking closely at what I received and called Sharp about the TV after questioning the store's integrity. ****** sent a new invoice with the TV year model changed. He said I would get a new stand and the correct model speaker. Original purchase date is 4/20/2013. My wife texted him and we both have called several times. ****** ****** won't return our calls. We have not received the stand or speaker we paid for. The TV is not the TV we were shown on the showroom floor. At checkout ****** said he had a "2014" model. The original invoice also didn't mention the old speaker or used stand we received. I have no confidence ****** will honor the extended warranty we paid for.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, President
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****@email.com
My service tech, ****, has called Mr. ****** four times for two days. He has to this minute, 4:26pm, May 1st, 2013, has not called us back. I can only rectify the issue if Mr. ****** calls us back. We strive to make every client happy.
**** can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX

03/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Kens improperly installed a CD player in my car which fell out the dash when i turned and said they did not see my name in system for repair
I paid 350.oo dollars cash to have a cd player installed in the car. A week after it was installed it started moving around and scratching all my Cd's. when I returned and gave them the same number they used to put me in their system they said they could not find me.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to give me the proper harness system so that I can install it myself. I do not want them in my car touching anything again ever in life.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@email.com
Ms. ****** came in the store on Tuesday afternoon saying that her radio fell out of her dash after a car hit her. Yes, the radio on most any car would more than likely fall out of the dash if hit by an oncoming car. That is no fault of ******'s. This was installed 1 year ago. We told her we would be glad to look at it at no charge but would have to make a appointment. She wanted us to drop everything we were doing and look at her car right that second. We were not able to do that for we had cars we were already working on. She stormed out.............I will be more than happy to talk with Ms. ******. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX

Thanks, ****** ******, ******'s

03/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
No finished installation of security cameras. No refund of extra cameras not installed.
I was very satisfied with ******'s service in the past. I ordered a security system with four cameras over a month ago and I have yet to have the DVR or finished installation by ******'s. I have called several times, been hung up on 3 times and ***** tells me someone will be out to finish installation. I ordered 2 more cameras and was charged over $800.00 2 weeks ago. I want that money credited back to my card. i called today and ***** said she had to get verification on that, the cameras have not been installed and i don't even have security on the $1,900.00 I originally purchased over 3 weeks ago. please help me get the security system installed by ******'s so i can have my house protected.

Desired Settlement
I want my card refunded for the over $800.00 for the 2 extra cameras Ken's has not installed and the DVR upgrade I do not need now.I want the 4 channel DVR I paid for over 3 weeks ago installed and working. I am so shocked at the horrible service from Ken's. Please help me get this issue resolved Ken's acts like they do not want to install the DVR and get those cameras working for security my house needed 3 over 3 weeks ago.

Business' Initial Response
Mr. ****** is completely happy and satisfied. Everything in perfect working order

Thanks, Kenny *****, Ken's
478-********

Consumer's Final Response
See PDF file.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Television & Radio - Dealers, Television & Radio - Service & Repair, Audio-Visual Consultants, Sound Systems & Equipment, Musical Instruments - Dealers, Home Theater, Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers, Auto Alarms & Security Systems, Home Automation

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.