BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/14/1990

Fickling & Company

Phone: (478) 746-9421Fax: (478) 742-2015

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
01/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Fickling Management Company refuses to return $300.00 security deposit to us.
Problems: a) Fickling Management Company refuses to return $300.00 security deposit to us; b) Fickling has charged us $419.70 alleging that we owe it for rent and utilities although we moved out of our residence by the end of our lease September 8, 2013, returned the keys on the first business day where the office was open 9/9/13, and we paid our own utilities; c) their on-site agent signed off on or 'walk-through' check list and the company added charges at a later date; and d) we submitted a written request to the company on Sept 18, 2013 asking for our security deposit where we clearly articulated their responsibility and ours only to be met with a hostile response from them 10/23/13.

Fickling continues to try to extort money from us that we do not owe, while also trying to withhold our security deposit. When we returned the keys to their office on September 9, 2013, their agent, told us that we had to submit a 30-60 day letter stating we would no longer be renting this apartment. The property manager added that because we had not submitted a letter in writing we could not receive our security deposit and we would have to pay 2 months' rent. We then called the regional director directly. And she informed us that she would be coming to the property and would call us to set up an appointment to address the issues further. We have yet to receive a call.
On October 23, 2013 we received a response to our written complaint and demand for returning our security deposit. In that letter the company noted their intentions to not return our deposit and then also stated that we owed them $419.70 for some capricious charges. We responded, in writing, that we would not be ripped off and then asked to pay for the favor of the extortion by giving them another $419.70 of our money. When we left the residence, we left it clean and in the best condition possible. Additionally, we informed them that we would not pay for damage to the property, i.e. the carpet, which had been caused by their own equipment, broken and leaking air conditioning units.
3) Fickling did not uphold the terms of our contract, thereby leaving them in breach, yet they are trying to hold us to unfounded charges. Their company refused to operate in good faith with us as lessees: Their company refused to address real living and safety concerns: Their company arbitrarily decided upon some random figure to charge us for making and acting upon a decision to not renew our lease. According to the lease, under paragraph 11, there is no agreement that tenants/lessees will pay some random amount/charge if they fail to provide written notice of intent to not renew the lease. So even in that instance, they are well beyond the scope of the lease.
Please note that had the living conditions been acceptable, as we discussed with the property management, we would have loved to renew our lease. We clearly stated, in writing and in person (Note: when we didn't sign the new lease that was also indication that we weren't going to sign it), that we would not renew the lease if conditions did not improve. Their company pretending as if this does not translate into written notice of intent to not renew is not only insulting, but frustrating.

Desired Settlement
The return of the $300 security deposit that is rightfully ours.

Business Response
The signed lease agreement states there is to be a 60 day written notice prior to the end of the lease term. We did not received written notice within the 60 days. On September 9, 2013, a move out inspection was completed and at the time, damages of $180 were assessed and communicated to Mr. *****. This is in addition to the unpaid rent and utility fee of $239.70 for September 1st - 8th. The total due of $419.70 has been reduced by the application of the $300 security deposit. The current amount due to The Meadows is $119.70.

02/04/2015Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate, Property Management, Real Estate Developers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.