BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/23/2009

Augusta Medical Systems, LLC

Phone: (800) 827-8382Fax: (706) 821-3626

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
12/08/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
purchased a vitality therapy system , and it does not work aS PRODUCT CLAIMED
PURCHASED A VITALITY THERAPY SYSTEM ABOUT 3 MONTHS AGO WITH A 1 YEAR WARRANTY . ITEM CODE ******* FOR $199.00 ONVISA CREDIT CARD. PRODUCT DOES NOT WORK AS ADVERTISED

Desired Settlement
REFUND

Business Response
We will refund the patient.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
when they called me they suggested trying another variation of their device not a refund.which is what they apparently told you and is what I had expected

thank you

Final Business Response
Will initiate refund check and mail to patient.

08/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
REQUESTED REFUND VIA EMAIL BY RETURNING UNOPENED PRODUCT; NO REPLY
Found the unopened box with their product apparently purchased by my 92 yr old spouse, recently dx'd as "impaired cognitively"; contacted them by email several days ago; no reply. Product listed as Elite Custom XXXXX ECXXXXX Vacuum Therapy System (assume pd $199.99 for it).

Need to return for refund.

Desired Settlement
Refund of purchase price; will return product

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* Cst Serv Sup
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@augustams.com
We apologize that the system is not working for them. Unfortunately, we do not have this patient in our system and, (to my knowledge) we did not receive the email. If we had received the email we would have called or emailed the patient and advised the patient that Augusta Medical Systems does not directly sell Elite Custom Devices. We manufacture the VED and sell them to DME (Durable Medical Equipment) providers for distribution. The customer would need to contact the place that sold her husband the device and they would follow their own internal policy. We cannot give a refund to the patient because we did not sell them the device. We hope they are able to work out the situation with the provider from which that they purchased the device.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Can they provide a correct contact for DME? Where exactly I need to email (preferably) or write?

Final Business Response
We recently called and spoke with the patient. We found the DME for the patient and advised of DME information.

10/03/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
over charging for vacuum pump
Over charging for item when I was told medicare paid for this item.

Desired Settlement
remove98.63 charge. this is not what salesperson told me.

Business Response
We verified Mr. *****' insurance coverage in good faith and communicated estimated out of pocket. Mr. ***** did not return the two phone calls made or respond to the three statements mailed before he was turned over to the collection agency. We will ask the agency to stop collection efforts.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
this company never called me . I was originally told by the company salesman that medicare and insurance would pay fot this product.I most definitely mailed them a letter back when they billed me the 98.63.

Final Business Response
We regret that Mr. ***** is not satisfied with our response. It is our desire to resolve the complaint to his satisfaction. Our insurance staff estimated zero out of pocket based on verification from the insurance plans. Because the insurance companies did not pay as they quoted, the patient co-pay balance remained. Our staff worked the insurance claims in attempt to have them paid as quoted. We have now written off that balance. It appears that Mr. *****'s reply letter to our statement was not filed properly, and we regret this error. What additional action would Mr. ***** like for us to take? Thank you.

07/16/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to honor warranty/refund policy for NOT being satisfied with product within the first 90 days.
On 02/06/2013, I paid with a debit card in the amount of $264.50 for a ED vacuum pump; which is one of three payments.On 03/15/2013, I paid $123.75 and again on 04/15/2013 I paid the final payment of $123.75. I paid a total of $512.00 plus shipping & handling charges for a grand total of $529.00. As stated in the their policy for refunds I had to call to talk to a tech for instructions, I did so both times and still was refused a refund. I had a heart attack in May 2013 and had not been trying to get my money back,but I did follow their policy.

Desired Settlement
Refund of ALL funds in the amount of $512.00 plus Shipping and handling charges for a total amount of $529.00 which I have paid in FULL.

Business' Initial Response
Refund has been approved. Check will be cut on 6/28/13 and mailed to patient.

Consumer's Final Response
As of 07/03/2013, I have not received anything from this company; NO CHECK,NO LETTER, NO TELEPHONE CALL, NO NOTHING. I would like to know when will I receive my money of $529.00 from this company as I have said in my complaint I suffered a heart attack and I need my money to help pay off my hospital bills. Thank you for any assistance in clearing up this problem.

Business' Final Response
Check number 33440 was mailed via USPS on 6/28/13, as promised. We did not commit to express delivery of the check. Please call Stephen Sigmon at 706-312-0198 if you have not received the check by Monday 7/15/13 and we will void and reissue. Thanks.

05/13/2015Delivery Issues
Page 1 of 2
09/21/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Medical Equipment & Supplies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.