BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Wayne's Automotive Center, Inc.

Phone: (803) 649-0228Fax: (803) 644-4796

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
04/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Wayne's Automotive failed to address 3 simple items that needed fixed on scheduled appt but charged for diagnosing a 4th issue.
Our vehicle was scheduled for service at Wayne's Automotive for 8am on 3/18/14. When we brought the vehicle to the service center, only 1 of the 4 items on the written list (supplied to them the previous day, 3/17, when appointment was scheduled) were addressed in any way. The items on the list were the only reason the vehicle was brought to them. These items included a burned out headlight, a faulty turn indicator flasher control unit, rotating/balancing tires, and inquiry about the heater fan not working. Wayne's Automotive spent 3.5 hours diagnosing the heater fan and charged $129 just to diagnose it, but failed to repair or in any way address any of the other three items, which were very simple items that any automotive shop could have quickly completed. A police officer had written a warning ticket for the burned out headlight and we showed Wayne's Automotive the ticket prior to servicing so they knew how serious the headlight issue was and knew it needed fixed. Three and a half hours of work were missed and wages were lost to have no repairs completed and a $129 diagnostic bill.

Desired Settlement
$129 for heater fan diagnostic, OR $115 of lost wages (which we feel is deserved since Wayne's Automotive couldn't even address the burned out headlight, even though they knew how serious that issue was, since this was really the one single issue that absolutely needed fixed and the only immediate reason we took the vehicle to Wayne's Automotive instead of waiting for a move convenient time that wouldn't result in missed work.)

Business Response
I would like to talk to Mrs. *****, and apology for the unacceptable service that she received , and thank her for the information that she provided me to help with the service exceptions that I require and expect from any of my employees, I want to repay *** for the money spent and the time that was missed from work for the unprofessional service received, and let her know that I am in the process of fixing the problems that I am having with my service manager not doing his job. I have tried to contact *** directly and only left messages have not had contact or a response my cell# is ************ (Although ****** is/was the service manager I am the owner and take full responsible for the poor Management **** *******)

07/23/2015Billing / Collection Issues
06/22/2015Problems with Product / Service
04/30/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company is continuing to hold my goods hostage even though the bill for it has been paid.
I work for a freight broker. A truck carrying one of my loads was inadvertently tipped over. Wayne's was contract to upright the trailer which they did. They sent one invoice to the trucking company for the charges associated with righting the trailer and an invoice to us for the labor involved with tending to the cargo. We have paid the invoice for the freight charges but they are still refusing to release my freight as the trucking company has yet to pay their portion of the charges. The invoices were clearly bifurcated and invoiced to different parties. Our corporate legal team is looking into the situation and suggested we try contacting the BBB to help resolve the issue before we file suit.

The towing company at one point had also given us an incorrect balance due for the trucking companies portion. We paid the amount we were told was owed yet when our new truck arrived to retrieve the freight, we were informed we had been advised the incorrect amount. This led to us having to pay the new truck $150 for not being used.

Desired Settlement
Our demands are:

- Release our freight immediately.
- Reimburse us the $830 we paid to clear the trucking companies tow bill immediately.
- Reimburse us the $150 fee for the unused truck caused by the companies incompetent employees immediately.

Business Response
The complaint in reference,was a recovery from a over turned trailer that was loaded with 6 rolls of paper each weighing aprox. 7000 lbs, each. total weight aprox.42.000 lbs, it was turned over on I-20 west bound near the 51 mile marker on 3-**-15 ,it was called in by the driver of the trucking company stating that the they had a over turned trailer,we recovered the paper rolls and turned the trailer back over ,and towed the paper back to Wayne's and the trailer back to Wayne's, this recovery started at 4.00 pm and was finished at 300 am , the next day we tried to contact the company about the payment and soon after that discovered that the trailer only had liability insurance and that it would not cover the accident ,and the cargo had insurance ,and would pay the bill, we do not release any portion of a accident until the bill is paid in full,in this case the load was paid in the end and no payment was received from the owner of the trailer and we advised the broker that nothing would be released until full payment was paid, we did not charge either side the cargo or the trailer owner any storage while waiting for this to be worked out. the bill was paid in full on 4-***15 .and we are helping the broker reload the paper back on a trailer so the load can be delivered to its destination on 4-**-15. (What was learned from the recovery is that the broker companies should make sure that the companies that thy chose to use to haul freight so have a back ground check to see if they have the proper insurance to cover their vehicles in case of a accident,or mishap occurs,so they are not stuck in the middle along with us trying to get paid for services rendered)

04/10/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
they will not repair my suv under my 24 MONTH WARRANTY given to me when they repaired my car in 04/2012
they said they cant fix my suv under the 24 month warranty i have on the work done because i drove it knowing that it was running hot and i didn't because my thermostat was working efficiently and didn't read or say the suv was running hot the whole time i was driving it and the thermostat was checked to make sure it was working correctly.

Desired Settlement
I would like for them to honor my 24 MONTH WARRANTY and fix my suv.

Business' Initial Response
From: **** *******
To: *****@csra.bbb.org
Cc: *****@waynesautomotivecenter.com ; *****@waynesautomotivecenter.com
Sent: Friday, March 22, 2013 6:12 PM
Subject: case# XXXXXXXX ****** ******

In Response to case # XXXXXXXX Mrs. ******'s 2005 Chevy Equinox, was dropped off one evening after we were closed ,with a after hours key drop envelope. The next day we read what the customers complaint was with vehicle and it stated the vehicle was overheating . This was of great concern since this is what caused the Head Gaskets to Fail premature when she had the repairs done at Wayne's before. The main cause for a blown or damaged head gasket is extreme engine temperature. High
Engine temperature are often caused by a coolant leak .Mrs. ****** had already stated that the vehicle is overheating. She was called to discuss the problem and she stated during the conversation that the vehicle had run hot at least once. We assigned the vehicle to a technician for diagnosis was reported back to the service advisers that the vehicle did have a blown head gasket and the also check for codes in the ecm to see if had any history or current codes. And had two codes one p0520 engine oil pressure switch and also p1258a ect overtemp .protection mode active, I have enclosed information that usually indicates the vehicle has been run low in coolant to cause code p1258.with the information provided to Wayne's from the customer and the information we recovered from the ecm ,this vehicle was run hot for some reason. low on coolant causing the blown head gasket and the ecm tried to notify the driver that the vehicle was in an over heat condition stop driving and the computer tries to limit the overheating by cutting off cylinders ,but if the vehicle is low in coolant or has a leak that driving the vehicle will cause damage.. The explanation we gave to the customer for not being able to warranty the repairs was that she stated on the envelope she over heated the vehicle and it had a code for extreme overheating and that ended in the result of a blown gasket .and the vehicle should have not been driven until the problem causing the overheating problem was corrected .and the head gaskets would not have been overheated and blown . That is the Reason the Warranty would not take care of the repairs, Thanks **** ******* and questions please ask and I will be glad to explain ,also I have included information about the codes and the factory definitions and also what happens when a vehicle has been run long enough overheating to set the code and what happens when it has .

09/27/2012Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Towing - Automotive

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.