BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/18/2011

Kia of Augusta

Phone: (706) 312-9200Fax: (706) 731-9000

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
11/24/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Internet sales rep and manager gave false information in order to get me to drive 86 miles, one way, come into the office in Augusta.
On 10/14/14, I applied for an auto via the internet, through Kia of Augusta. I received a call from a rep called ****** ********* at 2:12 pm the same day. We spoke briefly as ****** told me that she would get back with me once everything was done. ****** at this point asked if I could fax a copy of my check stub, which I did. On 10/15/14 at 4:23 pm I received a text message from ****** stating that I had an approval.I responded by asking what the conditons were and ****** didnt know. At 4:31 p.m. (10/15/14), ****** sent another text stating "You have an approval, I wouldn't tell you to come in if you didnt". At that point I replied "you would tell me a lie and I need to know before I come because I live an hour away". ****** did not respond again until 7:01 pm that evening asking if I was close. At 7:26 pm ( same evening), I asked if I should come during the weekend so that Kia could find a lender to which ****** responded "We already have a lender for you", at 7:28pm. This went on for a few days and after I didn't make the 2hr trip, I received a phone call at exactly 7:52 pm,Saturday, 10/17/14. The caller stated that his name was **** *******, ******'s sales manager. Mr. ******* said that he was calling to ensure me that I had already been approved by a lender and that the only thing I needed to do was come in and pick out a vehicle. Once again I explained that I did not have time nor gas to waste on a bogus trip, but Mr. ******* again said I was approved. On Monday, 10/20/2014, I spoke with ****** and informed her that I would be in the office in a few hours. I then gave her ,******, the opportunity to tell me it was a lie. I specifically asked again " Are you sure that I am approved", and ****** replied yes. I then told ******, "Okay,Im taking 4 hours off of work and driving 2 hours to get there but if you have me approved, I'll be there". ****** replied again "you are approved and Ill see you when you arrive. I arrived at 2:35 pm and was greeted by ****** ********** who also informed ****** that I was there. They asked which car I wanted and ****** couldnt seem to find the keys to the Hyundai Elantra for some reason. Then after speaking with **** *******,who by the way never comes out of his office, ****** comes back and says "Mr. ******* says the Elantra is a little higher than what your bank allows, take the Toyota Corolla". I immediately said "I don't want the Toyota Corolla and I also dont have time to look at cars that's out of my price range,point to the cars in my range". ****** ********** wnet back into the office with Mr. *******, and returned saying "there is a "nissan versa in your price range". I replied "Fine, lets look at it". Mr. ********** and test drove the Nissan and returned to the office thinking everything was set. Mr. ********** was gathering all the forms that has to be completed and then had to go back into **** *******'s office. I went outside and sat in my vehicle to use my phone. While using the phone Mr. ********** comes out and says " Mr. ******* wants you to call Equifax to have fraud alert taken off of your report, he has two banks willing to work with you if the can view you credit". Whooooaa! First of all, what happened to Lender that they had been telling me about since 10/14 and how can Mr. ******* say that two more banks are set to be lenders without my credit report already? I kindly replied, "my credit has already been ran....twice". Mr. ********** responded "Mr.******* said it was never checked. I replied " It was checked by two different banks, COAF and Exeter, because I have alerts to notify me of such activities". **** ******* was brave enough to call me at 7:52 pm 10/17/14, with lies, I at expected to see the face behind the lie. Anyway I left the dealership out of $40 in gas, and 4 hours short of my work schedule. I did call back and spoke with ****** *********, and while were were on the phone, ****** asked ****** "what happened to the original lender".

Desired Settlement
I would like to be reimbursed the $40 I spent in gas driving 86 miles from Millegeville to Augusta and 63 miles from Augusta back to Sandersville. I would also like to be reimbursed for the 4 hours I missed from work at $13.00 per hour.

Business Response
We have read the customers concerns and apologize for any inconvenience. the customer was shopping for a vehicle and applied for an auto via our website. We work within our process to get every customer approved and are sorry that we could not come to terms on a vehicle purchase. We understand the customers concerns and would like to offer to reimburse her for the inconvenience. She can contact ***** ***** @ XXX-XXX-XXXX **** to have this issue resolved.

08/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a car on the 7th of June, two weeks later I call to see about a tag. they informed me bank haven't paid them and they needed the car.
Purchased a car from Kia of Augusta on June 7th. Two weeks after the purchase I contact them about the paper work for the car tag. I was informed by **** the sales rep, the title clerk that the bank had not paid them so they need the car back. **** called my job and told one of my clerks they would be sending someone to pick up the car and they would have my check with them. That wasn't the case. Kia of Augusta didn't not leave my $500.00 dollar check but they picked up their car off private property. I have reached out to kia and haven't gotten any where. On June 27,2014 I went up to Kia of Augusta to pick up my check and the Sale Manager informed me he would not be giving my $500.00. If the deal was not final with the bank I should have never been able to drive off out of the dealerships parking lot in the car. **** the sale rep. also made the following statement: If you credit score was better you wouldn't be having this problem. Once I Signed all paperwork the car was mine. The deal with the bank was kia's problem not mines. Kia also still debt my checking account for the first payment knowing they had taking the car back.

Desired Settlement
I'm seeking my $500.00 be return since kia come private property and picked up their car. If monies not returned they I'll be seeking court cost, and lawyer fees.

Business Response
A check was mailed to ********* ****** on June 21, 2014 in the amount of $500.00 (Ck #XXXXX). It was sent to the address on file: ************************************. I don't know who Mr. ****** spoke to but we do not keep customer down payments if the contracts are never finalized. If the customer would like a copy of the check, the address is incorrect or has not received it, please let me know and I will issue another check.

*** *********, Controller
Kia of Augusta
XXX-XXX-XXXX, ext. ***

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the response from KIA of Augusta. I haven't received a check from KIA of Augusta. Plus they have the incorrect address. The address it should have been sent that if they really did send a check would have been ******************************************; However since I'm still in Augusta, GA on business they can mail the check to my business address of ********************************************. And the person who told me that I wouldn't be getting a refund back was the sales manager and ****. KIA of Augusta should be able to be a part of the BBB due to the way that conduct business and how they lie and mislead their customer. I would like a check delivery to me just like they come on private property. I will be contacting my Lawyer today about this matter and the NCAAP, on the comments made by ****.

Final Business Response
I spoke to the General manager, **** *******, and he told me the reason the vehicle was picked up was because Mr. ****** refused to bring the car back. He said the reason the check was not immediately mailed was because Mr. ****** was asked to bring the key back to the dealership and was told that the check would be given to him personally. Mr. ****** never returned to the dealership or returned the keys to the vehicle, even though he works in the area. When it became apparent that he was not going to comply with our request to bring our keys back, we mailed the check (again, all of the paperwork has the same address as his driver's license). If I need to send a check to another address I will. As far as the check being hand delivered to Mr. ******, that is completely unreasonable considering he still has not returned the keys or remote to the dealership, causing us to absorb the cost of replacing it. Mr. ******* said I could mail the check after he saw that Mr. ****** was not going to bring the keys back. However, the check was at the front desk for some time waiting for him to return.

Final Consumer Response
I contacted *** at KIA of Augusta, and she was more than helpful with getting things resolved. I received my refund in the amount of $500.00 from *** today Aug. 11th, 2014. Thanks for all your help. This case can now be closed.

05/21/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They implied that 'engine damage' meant fixable damage, resulting in the purchase of intermediate service without a true estimate of the final cost.
On 21 Jan 2014, I brought my car to Kia of Augusta since the engine wouldn't start. They said they needed to replace the timing belt. They also said that "there might be some internal engine damage." They did not tell me that there are two types of engines and that this was the type of engine that would likely result in a completely destroyed engine when a timing belt breaks, a fact they should have known since I brought a Kia to the Kia dealer to get it fixed. They told me after fixing the belt that the engine needed to be replaced and that they can't fix engines but can only replace them. Since this would cost over $5000, it was more than the cost of my car. I paid $464.58 on the same date after they fixed my timing belt. The car was a white 2004 Kia Rio. I later called up a junk yard to take the car away.
They implied that 'engine damage' meant fixable damage, resulting in the purchase of intermediate service assessed at $500 without an estimate of what the final cost would be to get the car in working order, assessed at over $5000 more.

Desired Settlement
I am not asking for a refund. I signed the agreement and paid for the service provided. I trusted the salesperson without inquiring the final cost of fixing the car's engine, since I assumed, based on the the integrity of the salesperson, that he would mention such an excessive cost difference for further probable damage. I was mortified to find out that you can't fix engines and that any damage meant replacing a part which would cost twice as much as the car's worth. Using such tactics to get an individual to pay for needless service shows a lack of integrity that reflects your business practices towards me, the consumer. I will ask that you put me on your 'Do Not Call' list.

Business Response

In response to case # XXXXXXXX
Customer had vehicle towed to our dealership, this was the customers first visit to our service department. He stated that vehicle shut off and would not re-crank. We checked vehicle and diagnosed that timing belt had teeth missing at the crankshaft pulley. We told customer that we needed to start with replacing timing belt and get vehicle running to see if there was any other damage. As he stated in his concern we did tell him before any work was done that there might be internal damage to engine. After installing timing belt the engine had a miss-fire, this indicated that there was internal engine damage. We gave him a price on replacing engine with used engine. The only way to diagnose vehicle is to start with installing a new timing belt and we always inform the customer of this and that there may be internal damage to engine. This is the policy/procedure we use on all timing belt concerns. The customer has requested for us to add him from our do not call list and I have done that upon his request.


Sincerely,
***** *****
Service Manager
KIA of Augusta
XXX-XXX-XXXX ****

(c) - 05/19/2014(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

03/23/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i was led to believe that i had been approved for car that I wanted but only to find out they lied to get me into lemon that the engine rattled.
i had waited for days to hear from salesman, **** for a 2013 Kia. He called me to say that I had been approved after several attempts but that I could come by and get the payment information and sign all the paperwork. Upon arriving, I was then told that I could NOT get the car that I was wanting to purchase and was told that I could purchase another car with more miles and an engine that rattled. I was very upfront regarding my credit issues and was willing to take higher interest rate but then to lie to me so that i will come back and possibly by something else of lesser value is unethical. they tried to bait and hook me and all i did was walk away crying. these people are not honest especially when it comes to young women who need a car and are trying to get their feet on the ground. I am a single mother of 2 and I didn't deserve to be treated like this - nobody does!

Desired Settlement
I want them to hold true to their word that I was approved for the car that I applied for and was thinking that I was purchasing. and I want an apology.

Business Response
We use the same qualification process as any other dealership. The bank is the one that decides credit approval. We perform a pre-qualification process on each customer, after this process we wait on customer to come in and we verify all the info that they give us is correct. Once this is done then it is sent to the bank for final approval, there is 1 or 2% of the customers that don't qualify. We apologize and understand how the customer feels. We don't have any control over the approval, the bank has the final say on the type of approval.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I understand how he credit approval works, but I was lead to believe that I was approved and coming in to sign papers... Not be switched out on a newer car with MORE miles and RATTLING. Sorry, thats not what I was expecting esp. after waiting a week going back and forth with your company. You advertise that you work with people with all types of credit and help them... well... Does not seem like that.

Final Business Response
we apologize for any inconvenience. We try to accommodate every sales customer but we are limited by bank approval based on customers info and credit.

11/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am concerned at this time that an AMEX GIFT CARD has not been received at this time from the aforementioned establishment.
I had received FANtastic correspondence from the GENERAL MANager Of KIA of AUGUSTA, Mr ***** dated 7/3/2014 in reference to a promotional test drive - I did eventually respond - completed the test drive on FRI THE 18th of July & was promised am AMEX GIFT CARD which I have yet to receive.

I have in fact contacted the persons whom I had direct contact with on that day - one stated they would look into the matter, yet I have not heard anything since.

At this time, I would like for you to inform the GENERAL MANAGER as I remain certain that he would be very disappointed if he were to be told that his staff did not properly handle this transaction ( submission of paperwork in timely fashion etc. )

Desired Settlement
I would appreciate that the aforementioned item be sent and/or re sent in a timely fashion to the appropriate address

Business Response
Miss * *********, Case # XXXXXXXX, filed a complaint for a gift card. We have had the card for over two weeks but can not make contact and do not have an address to mail or deliver it to. She can come to the dealership to pick it up, or if we have an address we can mail or deliver it to her.

Thanks!

Consumer Response
It is at this time I am receiving this e mail requesting a response within 7 days - Although I did receive a recent phone call as to where GIFTCARD should be sent, I still, as of yet, have not received it.

Mr ***** became irate when I questioned him with a few lingering concerns, therefore I left a message with the General Manager Mr *****.

If you would, please check as to where the item in question was sent and/or pass the proper address on.

*** ********* *****
*******, ******* XXXXX

Thank You for your attention in reference to this pertinent matter.

**** * ********

Final Business Response
The customer has been called, and on 2 occasions a salesperson personally went to her house to deliver the card to no avail. We will mail it tomorrow.


*** *********, Controller
Stokes Hodges Auto Group
1770 Gordon Highway
Augusta, GA 30904
XXX-XXX-XXXX, Ext. ***
XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax

08/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Kia wanted to charge $101.00 diagnostic fee for each item they found wrong plus repairs.
On July 26,2013 Taneika Williams took our 2000 Kia ****** in for service. She was told that a diagnostic check would be $101.00, during this check the technician found the battery terminal loose so he tightened it and informed my daughter that there was no additional charge for that. The check engine light was also on and the technical discovered that the speed censor needed to be replace. She was given a total cost over the phone of around $240.00 for the diagnostic check , to order the censor, and labor. Once we got there to pay for the diagnostic check and to order the part which was $54.00, we were told that she would be paying $101.00 now and $240.00 when she brought the car back to have the part installed. I asked why it cost almost $200.00 to install a $54.00 part and I was told that Kia charges $101.00 diagnostic fee for every item checked on the vehicle. I informed the gentlemen that he was not making since, because if you request a diagnostic check it should cover the entire vehicle. He said that the check engine light was one diagnostic fee and the battery cable was another, but the battery cable being loose would not show on a diagnostic check. The mechanic would have to perform a manual inspection to discover that. The gentlemen went on to inform me that he gave my daughter a break by not charging her both diagnostic fees and then told me he could add it back to the bill. I informed him that according to my recollection, that if you get a diagnostic check and Kia finds a problem and you allow them to repair the vehicle, then the diagnostic check cost goes towards your repair bill. This would make the cost to repair the car with parts and labor approximately $220.00, which is what my daughter was told on the phone before we went to pick up the car.
I feel that everyone is feeling the pinch right now with the turbulent economy; however, Kia does not need to exasperate the situation by trying to take advantage of their patrons by over charging for a diagnostic check. We were not charged but the mere fact that he was going to in these times is just ridiculous. I do not want other patrons to pay $101.00 per repair issue for a diagnostic check that should cover the entire vehicle.

Desired Settlement
No settlement requested. Just want them to change that policy or inform customers before they bring their vehicles in.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *****/Service Man
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@kiaofaugusta.com
I understand the customers question. when she came into our shop she had a concern of check engine light is on. we quoted her a $102.00 diagnoses to check her concern. In diagnosing vehicle we found two concerns, 1) a faulty speed sensor 2) both her battery cables were loose. The diagnoses covered the diag and repair of loose battery cables and the diag of speed sensor code. the second estimate the customer was given is for the speed sensor and replacement of speed sensor, there is no diag included in the price given for this. the price to repairspeed semsor is $210.65. ***** *****

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is not what was explained to me and there were three Kia personnel standing there when the gentlemen was explaining it to me. He stated that they charge a diagnostic fee for everything they fine wrong with a vehicle and he was giving my daughter a credit for one of the diagnostic fees. I had no issues with the cost of the sensor or the labor to put it in, but unless their policy has changed when they find an issue with the vehicle the diagnostic fee goes toward the repair if Kia repairs the vehicle. My concern was the gentlemen's attitude and his lack of professionalism when explaining the situation to me. I asked him how my daughter can be charged two diagnostic fees for one car and he stated that he was giving her a credit for one but he can add that back to her total if he wanted too. That is not good customer service. I just want them to either hire better customer relation personnel or provide some type of training to the personnel they currently have on staff. My daughter was looking to purchase a Kia optima next year but because of this incident we are looking for something else so we do not have to go through this again.

04/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The dealer ship is giving me excuses when the dealer in Ny that I bought it from has told me several times that it is under warranty.
I have a 2008 Kia I have called the dealership in ******* Ny several times with questions with my warranty. I went to Kia of Augusta they will not honor my warranty after the dealer that i bought if from has said yes. I have contacted the corporate office on this and they have seemed to minimal help. I have a defect on my vehicle and it needs to be replaced by Kia of Augusta keeps giving me the run around. I know i have the warranty and it needs to be repaired I want it repaired. ITs a 2008 Kia spectra it needs a new master cylender.

Desired Settlement
I want the parts that are bad fixed and repaired under my warranty.

Business' Initial Response
RE: # ********: ******* *******
From:
***** *****Add to Contacts
Sent:
Mon, Apr 8, 2013 at 2:34 pm
To:
'**** ******'
****,

I just sent the reply in. thanks for calling as a follow-up. We always respond when we get them.

***** *****
Service Manager
KIA of Augusta
*****************

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
What I was told when I called and spoke to Jason not ***** ***** was yes that it was under warranty how soon can you bring it down there. If I did not believe I would have issues I would of never driven it down to the dealer. I was under the impression that it would be taken care of. I had spoke to the dealer that I purchased it from and I was assured that I should have no problems. But that was not the case. I am very unhappy with the company it self and I do not recommend them to anyone. In fact they have lost several sales because of the service people. I will not return my vehicle to them for anything. you would think that they would appreciate the positive instead of all the negativity. Strive to accede excellence.

Business' Final Response
I am the service manager @ Kia of Augusta, the customer brought the vehicle in in November of 2012 with a complaint of the rear calipers are sticking. At that time she was told by the service adviser that her vehicle was under warranty and if any parts had failed due to a manufacturer defect the repair would be under warranty. after inspection we found the rotors and calpers to be rusted (heavily) and sticking. this is not a manufacturer defect and can not be covered under warranty. Customer declined repairs and was advised in writing of safety concern with brakes. Customer contacted Kia Customer assistance on 3/11/2013 and they told her the same thing, If it was a warrantable concern I would be glad to fix it for customer. Kia told her we would be glad to recheck vehicle for her and that she needed to contact me (***** *****). This was what I told KMA to tell customer, I will be glad to re-inspect and repair under warranty if it is a warrantable repair. I would never tell a customer over the phone their vehicle is covered under warranty without inspecting it first, I would make the statement that it is still under the manufacturer warranty if it was manufacturer defect.

07/17/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.