BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central Florida

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/09/2010

Jeff's Mid Florida Heating & Air, Inc.

Phone: (386) 760-1444Fax: (386) 760-0190

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
09/14/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Repairs resulted in additional damage

Complaint: Since installation in 2007 we had over 20 visits from tech due to r22 loss.Jeff would no longer service Trane ac units. Had new co come, say weld leak
In 2007 I had 2 Trane units Model #TWE040E13FB2 and Model#2TWR3042A1000RA installed by Jeff's in our newly build two story home. From the beginning we had pressure issues,after sitting through the winter each summer the tech would explain we had no pressure in unit upstairs because r22 was low or gone. After our upstairs unit froze up completely, flooding our master bedroom and downstairs hall Trane provided a new coil(Oct 2007). This however did not fix the problem. After 2 more coils(2011 & 2012) and multiple years of frustration we continue to have the same issues and Jeff's said they will no longer stand behind their product as it has already cost them too much. We were then forced to consult an outside AC company(good thing I guess), after taking two days to isolate condensors and liquid lines they have determined there is a weld leak in a 50 foots line that leads from indoor coil to exterior evap coil. We have yet again been forced to live in the first floor of our home as there is still no AC upstairs. Why in the past 6 years(and at least 20 visits from techs) has Jeff's been unable to determine what another company found in 2 days. I contacted **** from Jeff's on Monday to express my concerns in hopes of finding a resolution but thus far, no response.

Business' Initial Response
To whom it may concern,
It is true that the ******** had some issues with their upstairs Trane unit. Trane was experiencing problems with their coils leaking. We did have to replace the coil three times and once was the roto locks at the compressor. Two of the coils were because of leaks within the coils. which were returned to Trane and verified as we have to return any defective parts for inspection. The third was because of a faulty drain pan from the factory. Which again was returned to trane for inspection. During the ******** problems with their unit we at ****'s Mid Florida went above and beyond the normal warranty given to the customer. Trane units have 10 year coils and compressor 5 year parts and 1 year labor. As you can see by the service records we went well beyond our 1 year labor agreement. We did everything in our power to remedy their problems. They even had a mud dobber nest form on their downstairs unit after the third year of installation, which is not a factory defect or an install problem and when they refused to pay for the repair because they were having problems with their upstairs unit we said ok and still help them with their problem unit. We are committed to serve our customers and we do. We are only obligated for the 1st year of unit. So lets breakdown their problems. The leak appeared on 7/07 we added dye to system and (I am sure if palm coast heating and air would take a ultra violet light to to ******** A/H they would still see dye on the inside of the cabinet where it leaked out as it is very difficult to remove the dye from anything it encounters.). The unit was started up on 2/07 so that was 5 months for the 1st coil to leak. We installed the new coil in 10/07 The next refrigerant problem was on 6/08 which was about 8 months from the first with dye still in the system we determined the leak was at the roto lock connection at the compressor discharge line as there was dye all over the connection and appon investigation found that the roto lock was 1/4 turn loose at the discharge connection and the suction line connection was tight. each time the unit was pressurized with nitrogen and held.The next time the unit had a refrigerant problem was in 5/09 almost 1 year later we could not find dye at that time and due to the fact that we have not injected any dye in the system since the 1st leak we added more and added a sealer to the system to try to appease the customer from their frustration which was understandable and warranted. At this point we were on the phone with Trane fighting for the customer as they have had so many problems with their unit. As the customer can back this up due to the fact he was on the phone to Trane also neither of us had any luck.The computer generated job card that he sent to you with his complaint I printed and sent to the customer when we and them were fighting trane for the problems with their unit. You can see we had nothing to hide and did everything we could.Now this leads us up to the final coil refrigerant leak. This leak appeared on 8/11 two years and three months after the last leak. We replaced the coil awith a coated coil from Trane, by this time Trane had replaced the coils with a coated coil due to the problems with leaks in their coils. The ******** know this to be true as he was talking to Trane as we were. On 08/22/11 we replaced the old coil with the coated coil and got a call from the ******** saying they had a water leak we returned to find a seam crack in the drain pan from the factory. We replaced that coil on 08/29/11. We contacted Trane again to let them know how dissapointed we were with their customer service to us and to the customer. Trane did not seem to care as the ******** can attest to as they treated them the same way. At that point we stopped selling and installing Trane equipment and cancelled our equipment account with them. The ******** requested that we help him with any information he needed as he was going to sue Trane which he threatened Trane to do as we got a call from Trane requesting more information as to if the ******** maintained their units according to warranty rules and asked for their problem history. We said we would help in any way we can and we did. Shortly after Mr. ******* called our Company and said Trane was to big to sue so he was going to try to sue us for the damage to his floors. I was taken back as we did everything we could to help them through their nightmare with Trane. we were forced to cut ties with the ******** as we did not feel comfortable with the threats of lawsuits. We did go above and beyond anything we were required to do according to the limited warranty but we stand behind our work even though Trane didn't stand behind their equipment. Which brings us to now it has been almost two years since we put the last coil in and 5 years since their 1 year warranty expired we helped them for three years past the warranty expiration due to Tranes neglect not to. I did receive a call from the ******** stating that their unit was not cooling again. I respectfully informed him that he would have to deal with Trane at this point. We had done everything we could for him and was threatened with a lawsuit. Now let's look at what they are saying. They are saying that there is a leak in the liquid line copper pipe from the inside to the outside piece of equipment and that leak was always there and that that was the problem. Now I do feel sorry for their NEW PROBLEM with their unit but to try and blame us is silly. First the time line doesn't add up to the thinking that this was always the problem and we did all that other work for nothing (which they know us not rue as Mr. ******* had seen the dye himself.) and which Trane had acknowledged at the time as we had to return the coils for inspection and they would not have given us coil after coil if they were not leaking. These coils are upwards of $1000.00 each. second problem with the time line is the rate at which the refrigerant was leaking if the copper line was the problem the whole time then the refrigerant would have leaked out relatively close to the same time each time or would have gotten bigger over the last 6 years. It did not the length of time on the 1st leak was 5 months the next 8 months then a year then over 2 years now at almost 2 years. It does not make sense that a leak in the same spot would leak out at such different times as it did. You would assume the refrigerant would leak out faster each time not take longer to leak out if it had always been in the same spot. From leaking out in 5 Months at the beginning to up to 2 years at other times. It could not be the same leak each time. It does make sense however that each leak was and is a separate occurrence. The ******** can only speculate that the leak is in a weld. We however could not say it is or isn't for it has been 6 years since the house was built by the ******* themselves. If the line set was only 50 feet as the customer claims then there is a great possibility there are no hidden welds as 3/8" copper comes in 50'rolls and is easily bent at 90 degree angles with no need for welds. There is always a possibility that the line was struck by a nail from the builder or the subs. These do occur from time to time and the nail actually plugs the hole and over time becomes loose and starts to leak. There is always the possibility that a nail or screw has punctured the line recently as we do get calls from time to time where homeowners have punctured a line with a nail or screw. At this point they are unsure as we are unsure whether it is from a weld or not. In 28 years of business we have never seen a unit or a customer have so many problems with a unit. Although we have had problems with most every Trane units coils that we installed. This was the worst. We at ****'s Mid Florida feel for the customer and helped beyond what most if not all companies would do. We will repair the leak and recharge the unit at no charge even if it was caused by a nail or screw or any reason if the customer will remove and replace any and all material covering the copper line set.

Sincerely,
*******




Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In regard to the mudd dobbers being removed that you insist I refused to pay for (because anything that happened to my unit I refused to pay for), I have a copy of the check #**** that was written on 07/07/2010 and cashed by ****'s Mid Fla. Heating & Air,Inc. on 07/12/2010 (I have Suntrust sending me a copy of the check if you would like a copy.)
When you refer to the problem in the beginning, is this in reference to the lack of pressure in my upstairs unit upon start up on Feb of 2007 or the fact that you had to return 3 more times in 2007 to continue to search for the leak. I recall the comment from your tech was, "The owner won't be happy if we have to tear down walls to find this leak".
In reference to your warranty of one year labor on this unit,how is this even an issue if the unit never worked properly in the first year or continually for any year after that? I have no idea what record your referring to when you say this unit ran problem free for two years. My records indicate that you returned at least once a year for every year following and sometimes more then once in the year.

02/07-no pressure in unit
07/07-no air upstairsleak search (tech documented that he could not find the leak)
10/07-no air upstairs-performend leak search again(thought they found leak in coil)
10/07-changed out coil
01/08-no heat- changed wires
06/08-did pressure test on line set
05/09-no air in upstairs unit(added sealer to system and charged
12/09-check syst3em charge to upstairs unit
07/10-no air upstairs- removed insect in contacter
08/11- no air upstairs-unit low, found dye on tap side. Told customer to contact Trane
I find it hard to believe these records are normal for the units that you install. We would always need service after our ac unit sat without use for a few months, upon starting the unit we would find no pressure. Our calls were always in reference to the upstairs unit not cooling properly, not once in all this time did we have to have our downstairs unit repaired. Thus telling most of us that the product never functioned properly.
I understand that you wanted to avoid tearing down walls but the fact is there is a leak somewhere and it has always has been there. Granted you did try many techniques to resolve this issue but none included examining or fixing a leak in the weld. This unfortunately is most likely the problem as stated by another AC company performing required tests. As previously stated, if it is a nail hole as a result of my contractors I will assume responsibility of taking down and replacing materials. I also think it is fair that if it is a existing problem in the welds or your craftsmenship that you should assume the responsibility. If you are confident in your work this should not be an issue for you.
Your cooperation is appreciated in this matter. Sincerely, **** *******

Business' Final Response
We have done everything we can to resolve this matter with no outcome. The last offer was our last offer. Thank You.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Heating Equipment, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Refrigerators & Freezers - Service & Repair, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.