BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Lee Orthodontics

Phone: (325) 695-2040Fax: (325) 692-2257

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
12/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had braces from June of 2007 until December of 2015 due to Dr. *** Orthodontics.
I started wearing braces on June 27th, 2007 and wore them with Dr. *** for a couple years before I had them taken off for the first time. I went for an evaluation and they said my teeth were moving and I hadn't been wearing my retainer (which I had) and told me I needed braces again. They then tried to charge us for braces the second time. My mother said she wouldn't pay a second time because she knew I had been wearing my retainer according to Dr. ***'s instructions and it wasn't my fault that my teeth were moving. Dr. *** finally agreed to put braces back on me for free. I have the chart and pictures with me but I don't exactly understand how to read the coding on it for the exact dates. But after my braces were put back on Dr. *** couldn't seem to get my teeth right. A couple years later I started asking him things like how much longer and what are you doing next and he just started avoiding the questions all together, I could tell that he didn't know what to try next in order to get my teeth right. I switched orthodontists to Dr. ****** and if I am reading this chart correctly the switch was in June of 2013 (7/22/13 is the last date on it but I can confirm with Dr. ****** if need be). Before Dr. ****** started working on me he did an x-ray and said the reason why my teeth weren't straightening up is because my wisdom teeth were coming in and pushing my jaw apart throwing everything off. So Dr. ****** got a total of 8 teeth pulled from my mouth and then treatment went very smooth from there. I got my braces off in December of this year at the age of 20 years old and I was 11 years old when I first got them put on. Because of Dr. *** I had to wear braces from before I started 6th grade all the way through school, and years after I was out. I noticed that Dr. *** got an award from the BBB recently and figured I would share my story because I have heard I'm not the only one that left Dr. ***'s practice due to him not taking care of his patients. He never sat down with me and told me that he didn't know what was going on, that he was having problems getting things aligned in my mouth, or anything of that matter. He just kept blowing us off until we finally left and were no longer his problem and I don't feel he deserves the award that was given to him.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be contacted by Dr. *** to talk about a refund for a service that he couldn't provide (the service being straightening my teeth). We had to pay Dr. ****** for braces again so a refund from Dr. *** will offset a little of Dr. ******* cost. I am still unsure if I want to pursue Dr. *** for pain and suffering due to wearing braces for all of those years and all of the things I had to go through such as TAD's (screws that they put into your gums in order to hook cables and pull from. Dr. *** put 2 in me and then decided he didn't like where they were so he unscrewed them out of my gums and screwed them in again a little further back)

Business Response
*** Orthodontics met with Mr. ***** and discussed his previous treatment and addressed any concerns that Mr. ***** had. During that meeting, *** Orthodontics and Mr. ***** came to an agreement on how to resolve these concerns and move forward.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
They refunded the full amount for my braces (around ******

10/31/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dr. Lee's office charges me payments that are not consistent with their written statements they sent me. They also are making changes to our contract.
I received a statement from Dr. Lee's office dated Sept 29, 2014. The statement stated the previous balance was $0 and the next payment was due on Oct 30, 2014. However on Oct 10, 2014 I was charged a $20 late fee. I called Dr. Lee's office and spoke with the financial manager and she said that I had a missed payment on Sept 20, 2014. I asked why didn't the statement say that and I was told because it was printed a day before the due date. She stated that I should have never had a due date on the 30th and that was a mistake on their part, however she will change our contract to state that my new due date is 28th of every month. I stated that I did not want her to do that and any changes to the contract must be agreed upon by both parties. She went on to tell me that if I don't make two payments by Oct 30, 2014, that I will have a late payment again in Nov, and it will continue this way until I make two consecutive payments in one month. They refuse to stand by their statement (online or hard copy) and state that they have had alot of customers who complain that these are wrong and I just need to pay by the 30th of each month regardless of the statement. They waived the late fee for this month, however it was made clear that they will not do this again and I will have to pay a double payment in order to bring my account current.

Desired Settlement
I believe that Dr. Lee's office should have to stand by their statement and acknowledge that my payment was not due until Oct 30, 2014. Therefore I will only owe the one Oct payment (which I just paid) and the next payment should not be due until Nov 30, 2014. Also they should not change my contract without my written approval to do so.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********, Manager
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: **************@gmail.com
Ms. ******,
I am sorry there is some confusion on your payments. If you would please contact me regarding your concerns, I feel sure we can come to an agreement. I would love to see a copy of your statement, so I could explain it to you and get this matter resolved. If there is something wrong, we can fix it. We will not change your due date without your consent. Dr. Lee does not let finances interfere with treatment. We value each of our patients and want all of our patients to be happy and have a beautiful smile.
I have looked up your orthodontic financial agreement signed 7/23/2014 and it states that you have 18 monthly installments of X amount each. The first installment is payable on 08/30/2014 and subsequent installments on the same day of each consecutive month until paid in full. A $20.00 late fee will be charged on all accounts which are ten days past due. If there is something you are unhappy with in this contract, please let me know.
Thank you,
***** ********, Office Manager
*** Orthodontics
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Industry Comparison| Chart

Dentist - Orthodontist

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.