Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

HWD Acquisition, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 433-4873 575 S. Whelen Ave., Medford, WI 54451 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.hurdreplacementparts.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company manufactures aluminum clad/wood windows and patio doors in a variety of styles and types for both new construction and replacement applications.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that HWD Acquisition, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for HWD Acquisition, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on HWD Acquisition, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 27, 1987 Business started: 12/01/1922 in WI Business started locally: 12/01/1922 Business under new ownership as of: 07/07/2014 Business incorporated 04/09/2009 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dominic Truniger, Vice President - Sales Mr. Stuart Brown, Director of Business Development & Customer Service Mr. John Schafer , Field Service Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. John Schafer , Field Service Manager
Principal: Mr. Dominic Truniger, Vice President - Sales
Business Category

Windows Manufacturers & Producers Wood Window and Door Manufacturing (NAICS: 321911)

Products & Services

HWD Acquisition, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Hurd Windows

HWD Acquisition, Inc. offers the following product(s): Superseal Vinyl Windows

Method(s) of Payment
Sales are through Hurd and Superseal dealers
Refund and Exchange Policy
Products are all made to order and not returnable
Alternate Business Names
Hurd Windows and Doors
Business Management

On December 12, 2008, Hurd Windows and Doors, Inc was acquired by Longroad Asset Management LLC of Connecticut. HWD Acquisition, LLC is a division of Longroad Asset Management, LLC. Pursuant to the terms of the acquistion, HWD Acquisition Inc did not agreee to assume Hurd Windows and Door's Inc obligations as it relates to Hurd Windows and Doors, Inc limited warranties. However, HWD Acquisition Inc has agreed to service certain Hurd Windows & Doors products purchased after January 1, 2007. For a complete list of serviceable products, please visit the company's website.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

HWD Acquisition, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 575 S. Whelen Ave.

    Medford, WI 54451 (800) 433-4873

  • 869 S Whelen Ave (Retail Store)

    Medford, WI 54451

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/13/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/20/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Four years ago we had **** ******** install new Hurd windows and doors. Shortly after install and painting, the paint began to peel off the windows. The windows and some doors were lightly sanded and painted again. Again, the paint on the windows started chipping and peeling. After another failed attempt at painting, ****** *********** had the sashes replaced and painted by them. These sashes had slowly begun to chip again. The parts of the windows and doors that were not replaced look like 50 year old windows! In addition to the paint, the several mullions have busted, and fall out on a regular basis. Thirdly, the screens that were provided have mitered sharp corners that scratch the wood when putting them on and off. The screens are very ill-fitting as well, so many gaps! There are nice screens in our den, so I know they have better screens available. Not only do the windows look terrible, but also have exposed bare wood from excessive peeling on the outside and risk further damage from the elements.

Desired Settlement: I need the windows to be completely repaired so NO chipping or peeling of paint occur, or replacement of said windows and doors. Also, replacement of poorly fitted screens with no mitered corners and mullions fixed.

Business Response:

I will need better definition of the mullions that have broken and fall out. There are some simulated divided lite grille bars adhesive applied to the glass. These are not removable.  Are these the mullions referred to in the complaint. Are there some removable interior wood surround grilles that snap in and out involved which are removed each time the glass is cleaned?

Hurd is ordering a replacement sash to exchange for a sash identified by the builder as one where paint is chipping from the wood. The paint chipping sash will be returned for lab analysis as the original sashes were replaced with sashes that Hurd applied primer paint to the interior.  The investigation will focus on the integrity of this primer paint on the sash in question.

The original order was built and sold with no interior finish on the kiln dried Ponderosa pine frame parts and the original window sashes.  An investigation was done in 2011 that eliminated several possible causes and identified the likely cause of the field applied primer and top coat paint.  A copy of that investigation will be included with the final report and reply once the above sash with Hurd prime paint is analyzed. The original report may not have been shared with the homeowners.

I would appreciate information on window size of windows where Mr. and Mrs. ****** do not like their screens. Not all windows contain screens and it is a bit unclear from our records of screen color.  Screens are not a warranty component as they are excluded from warranty because they are a maintenance type item. I would like to review the screen list, however; for special consideration.

An update will be emailed once the replacement sash receives our best expedite ship date so all will know when the sash exchange for analysis can be scheduled. This claim will need to remain available for an updated response. Please advise if this is possible.

Regards;
**** ********

******* ******** *******

10/31/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased their windows for our new new construction home in 2006. Since then we have had condensation build up on our windows which resulted in frost build up and lead to the wood of the windows being damaged. The seals on our large picture window dried up allowing the rain to come in the house onto our wood floor. We had another window where the seal broke and now it is clouding up and we can't see through it. The windows are only 8 years old and we have had problems from the first year they were installed. They were installed professionally by the builder. I have contacted the company regarding these issues but they say there is nothing they can do about it. They are not standing by their warranty or product. They do not have the insulating quality that they claim to have or we wouldn't be having these problems. When we put plastic on the windows in the winter we don't get the condensation problem so that tells us they are not well insulated. We shouldn't have to plastic new windows, especially expensive ones.

Desired Settlement: We would like replacement sashes for the ones that got the most damage due to the condensation and frost build up and the one with the broken seal. Windows are a big expense that we cannot afford again so soon.

Business Response:

Please refer to attached letter explaining where service is available and the distinct difference between the company that sold the windows versus HWD Acquisition, Inc today.

thanks

**** ********

Manager Customer Service

11/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In June 2013 we had a patio door installed and have issues from the beginning. I spoke to **** ******** and told him that the door was falling apart. Due to the design of the door, the plunger kept falling off and they sent the wrong parts to install it. **** ******** agreed it didn’t look right but tried to fix it. **** ******** and a **** rep came out to fix the door. When they came back out to fix it, they fixed the uprights and remounted the screen door. After replacing the screen door they moved the plunger to the top of the door from its original location. Now when they tried to shut the door the door wouldn’t close due to hitting the plunger. They moved the plunger down lower making more holes in the door. After a few weeks the plunger broke and fell off. Because they haven’t been out to fix the door properly there is no plunger on the door currently. Due to moving the plunger multiple time there are now 6 holes in the door. I told them I wanted a new storm door due to all of the holes they drilled into it. **** ******** agreed and said that they would replace the door to maintain customer service. This was in August and we have not seen a new door and have been getting the run around w/ both **** and **** ******** from ******** Windows and Doors. I tried to resolve the issue on my own by reaching out to ****** ***** and ******** ******** but they have not returned my calls. Due to the fact that we are remodeling their lack of help has held up our contractor costing us time and money. **** ******** said it was going to take a few weeks to get the part to fix which resulted in a month and half of down time. I am very dissatisfied with the customer service and the product and would not recommend them to anyone looking to replace a window or door.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to be responsible for their product and provide the customer service I deserve.

Business Response: Attached is a letter in the mail today to ******. Also attached are related documents that are factors contributing to his situation.

 
**** ********
******* ******** ******** **** ******* *** *****

8/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is regarding HURD DOUBLE HUNG Windows…My husband and I are building a retirement home and our local lumber yard recommended HURD. They said they sold their casement windows and their customers loved them. They looked beautiful and the glass looked great… I looked them up on the internet and looked at their example in the store. I decided it looked comparable to an upper grade window. We purchased the double hung and had them installed. First thing that happened my contractor said they were so flimsy when they installed them it took twice as long to install to get them straight. Next thing we noticed was the screens didn’t fit and were so flimsy if you just touched them they would fall out! Next we noticed the mechanisms. Two of mechanisms broke when we tried to open the window. Very cheap! There’s ONLY ONE seal to protect you from the outside. The seal is made of some fuzz with a piece of rubber in it! You can literally put a card, knife etc, thru it…These windows reminds you of a MOBILE HOME window! We called our local lumber yard and they contacted the distributor who was from ********…he came out and you could tell he didn’t care and did not want to be there. He was VERY rude and said they were all jacked! My contractor was there and measured them and proved they were not! We got in an argument and he left! The so called HURD rep couldn’t show up for another week! LOUSY CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! We stopped all sub contractors because we could go on until we get this settled...because these windows are not staying. When he finally showed up he wouldn’t even talk to me he said he was there to fix the windows only!! That’s NOT why I called him…he didn’t care and kept on working and totally ignoring me! They got their money and that’s all they care about…I told him his company misrepresented us about by showing examples on the internet and in the store that wasn’t there window!!! He didn’t say a word to me! VERY RUDE!!!! I told them I did not want these windows and he kept on fixing them instead of talking to me and left!! I have built 3 homes and remodeled 6 homes in my life time! I have NEVER had such BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE!! These are lousy windows for the money! They misrepresent their product! CHEAP MECHANISMS AND SEALS. If I had the money I would sue them…IF I FIND A WAY I WILL…I would say they are worst than 3rd grade windows but they are charging for 1st grade windows! We went thru our local lumber yard. They have been wonderful...they are so upset about this that they said if HURD won't stand behind their product that they will...they are the best! HURD and Guardian are the worst!

Desired Settlement: I would like them to replace them with their casement windows or a full refund...their casement windows are from a different company and are made a lot better. We live on a hill and the wind just howl's thru these double hung windows..

Business Response: ******* *********
********* **********
BBB of Wisconsin
10019 W Greenfield Ave
Milwaukee WI 53214
Subject: Complaint #*******
Dear Mr. *********:
I am corresponding to you regarding a house being built by a contractor for Ms. ****** of *** ******* **** *** *********** ** *****. I understand Ms. ******’s contractor has installed fifteen Hurd H3
aluminum clad double hung (H3DH) windows in her house.
The **** ******** ***** ******* inspected the windows August 7, 2013 and addressed several concerns
identified by Ms. ******. He replaced two window sash tilt latches that were broken off the sash. This
can happen if the frame is bowed out from rough handling prior or during installation. The sash may
release from the balance system if the frame is pulled and bowed. Improper tilting of the sash for
maintenance can also disconnect the spring loaded clutches of the window balance system from the sash
freeing the clutches. The suddenly freed clutches hit and break the tilt latches as the springs rapidly
retract. This may have occurred during installation if the center shipping and installation banding was
removed prior to installation into the wall rough opening.
The building contractor indicated he prefers to shim the mid height point of the windows after
completing the installation of sheetrock on the interior walls. Once this shimming of the frames is
completed at the mid height window check rail area the frame will be parallel to the sash and the triple
fin pile weatherstrip will provide wind and rain performance per the industry certified design parameters
of the H3DH.
Ms. ****** states she “looked up the windows on the internet” and saw an example in the store. She is
correct stating “there is only one seal to protect you from the outside”. The information viewed on the
internet and store displays contain one seal. The seal material used today has been upgraded from the
earlier design which may be on the display Ms. ****** viewed. H3DH windows are currently built with
a pile weatherstrip containing three polyester fins. The pile provides smoother open/close operation
while the three polyester fins within the pile provide wind and rain protection. As specifically stated on
marketing materials, Hurd reserves the right to change and improve product design. This improved pile
weatherstrip replaces the single bulb weatherstrip shown in website literature. This improved design
required independent product recertification which confirmed the change equaled or exceeded the
original certified single bulb seal performance. Most weatherstrip used in the window industry is
compressible. Pushing a knife between a weatherstrip and mating component does not measure product
performance.
One window side frame contains weep holes that should be located in the frame sill. This is incorrect
and Hurd has ordered a replacement frame that is shipping to Ms. ******’s local distributor per the
terms of the Hurd Lifetime Residential Products Transferrable Limited Warranty.
Ms. ****** states the screens do not fit well, however; window installation is not complete until
sheetrock is installed and finally window frame shimming occurs. The frame remains bowed out at the
center height affecting the perception of seal integrity as well as affecting screen fit. Once installation is
complete the screens can be correctly installed and Hurd will continue to support the screens per the
terms of Ms. ******’s Hurd Lifetime Residential Products Transferrable Limited Warranty.
In summary there are 15 H3DH windows in Ms. ******’s house. One requires a replacement frame
which is on order and will ship to Tanco Lumber. The windows require some additional contractor
shimming which the builder acknowledged he will complete after the sheetrock is installed.
Ms. ******’s Hurd windows continue to be supported through her Hurd Lifetime Residential Products
Transferrable Limited Warranty. Ms. ****** writes “these windows are not staying”. Ms. ******’s
Hurd Lifetime Residential Products Transferrable Limited Warranty provides:
In the event the product fails to conform to the express warranties described herein during the first
ten (10) years after the date of manufacture, First Purchaser’s sole and exclusive remedy is that Hurd
will, at Hurd’s sole option and discretion, either repair or provide replacement product, part or parts
for any defective product or part thereof, or refund the original purchase price or original catalog list
price, whichever is lower, of the defective product or part thereof. The defective window frame being
replaced applies to this warranty coverage. There are no other warranty defects in the products.
Sincerely;
******* * ********
******* * ********
******* ********* *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I listened and read everything you want to say.  I figured that would be your response.  Luckily my lumber yard agrees with me and he is going to replace the windows.  These windows cost as much as ******** window.  It's a disgrace!  I will continue to give bad reviews and post pictures on line for a long time coming.  Since that's the only thing I can do to get the word out about these windows!  Thanks but NO Thanks!  Have a great day!

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** ******

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on HWD Acquisition, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart