BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Wisconsin

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states it offers on-line sales of personal and professional safety equipment including safety glasses, hard hats, and respirators. Please notice Cooper Safety  (www.coopersafety.com) and Shop Direct Brands (www.shopdirectbrands.com) are two separate websites run by Direct Brands. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cooper Safety Supply meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cooper Safety Supply include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Cooper Safety Supply
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 04, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2006 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/2006 Business incorporated: 03/20/2009 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brad Martell, Owner Ms. Lauren Wright, Operations Manager Mr. Andy Krystowiak, Customer Service Representative Ms. Barbara Sprinkman, Sales Development Specialist
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Andy Krystowiak, Customer Service Representative
Principal: Mr. Brad Martell, Owner
Principal: Ms. Lauren Wright, Operations Manager
Business Category

Safety Equipment & Clothing Safety & Rescue Equipment Sales & Services First Aid Supplies Other Clothing Stores (NAICS: 448190)

Products & Services

Cooper Safety Supply sells the following brand(s): 3M, Ergodyne, MSA, Bullard, Uvex, Bilsom, Brady , Howard Leight, Ironclad, Moldex, Showa Best

Cooper Safety Supply offers the following product(s): Ergonomics , Hard hats, gloves, rainwear, safety glasses. , Hi-Visibility Apparel , Respirators, Tool Bags & Belts

Method(s) of Payment
Mastercard, Visa, American Express, Discover.
Refund and Exchange Policy
We understand that ordering online can result in unexpected colors variations or wrong sizing. That is why Cooper Safety & Shop Direct Brands products can be returned within 30 days of delivery . In addition, if we made a mistake we like to make up for it by paying for the return shipping. Please note that if you ordered the wrong size, color etc. we will offer refunds but cannot offer to pay for return shipping.Due to the nature of our items we cannot accept any used or opened merchandise. Returned merchandise must be in original factory condition, including all packaging materials, inserts and manuals, warranty cards (not filled-out), and all accessories. Please do not tape or write anything on the item. We reserve the right to refuse any such returns.Cooper Safety Supply and Shop Direct Brands reserves the right to change the shipping carrier selected by the customer for ground delivery service in the event of a return; however you will be notified in advance.

Please view http://www.coopersafety.com/ReturnPolicy.aspx or http://www.shopdirectbrands.com/terms-and-condition.aspx#returnPolicy for more information. 
Alternate Business Names
Direct Brands, Incorporated Shop Direct Brands ShopDirectBrands.com

Additional Locations

  • 311 E Chicago St Ste 520

    Milwaukee, WI 53202 (877) 255-3415

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 255-3415(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a hard hat from Cooper Safety on 12/20/12. I choose a 3 day shipping method for 10.68. When I did not receive the item I called the company and they told me that the item was not shipped until the *** received it which did not happen until Saturday the 22nd. The reason that I did not receive the hard hat was because it did not get tot *** in time.

Desired Settlement: I hope that this company will tell their costumers that it is not a guaranteed shipping date. And I had originally hoped for a refund on the shipping method.

Business Response: Dear BBB of Wisconsin,


On Thursday, December 20, 2012 at 7:55 p.m. CST, ******** ***** placed an order with our online store for an MSA Skullgard Full Brim Hard Hat w/ Ratchet Suspension.  When choosing a delivery method for this order, Ms. ***** selected our *** 3-Day Select shipping option at a cost of $17.14.  As stated on the "Shipping Information" page on our website (***********************************************), since this order was placed after 2:00 p.m. CST, it was processed the next business day, which was Friday, December 21, 2012.  On that Friday, we placed the 3-Day Select shipping order with *** on behalf of Ms. ***** for her item purchased from our online store.  *** shipping protocol, which can also be found on the "Shipping Information" page on our website, states that the first official day of shipping starts the next business day after the order has been placed, which in this case was Monday, December 24, 2012.  As Tuesday, December 25 was a holiday, and hence did not count as an official business day (which was also indicated on our website during the holiday season), the customer did not receive their item until Thursday, December 27, which ended up being one week after the customer placed her order.  Having not been familiar with Cooper Safety and *** shipping procedures, the customer felt that our company misled her regarding our 3-Day Select shipping option.  This information was conveyed to the customer both via telephone and email.

In an attempt to make amends with the customer for her inconvenience, Cooper Safety agreed to refund half of her shipping costs based on the fact that she did not receive her item by the date desired.  Cooper Safety did, however, deliver her item within the appropriate time frame in accordance with *** 3-Day Select shipping policy and the company shipping parameters established on our website.

Should you have any further questions about this incident, please feel free to contact us.  We greatly appreciate your time and effort in regard to this matter.

Sincerely,

Customer Support, Cooper Safety

###-###-####
********************************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, I ordered some 3M Adhesive Glue, I needed 5 gallons but instead I received 24 small tubes in a 5 gallon bucket. I placed the order on 2/26/12 and received the product on 3/1/12 by Fed X. On Monday morning 3/5/12 I contacted customer support rep: ****** and she assured me that she would start the return process by contacting 3M and getting back to me with return instructions. After NO response i again contacted rep ****** on 3/9/12 and she said still waiting from 3M to respond, but would contact them by phone to speed up the process, I asked for a e-mail confirming that she was working on the return. On 3/26/12 I sent a e-mail with my complaint and left a message with customer support on this issue, I did receive a e-mail from ****** with again a promise to get the return started. I have e-mails that say the return is no problem and they will get it done, but no follow up actions. I believe this company has a very poor business structure. I will follow up with this matter if this does not work by filling a claim with the court. Thank you

Desired Settlement: I need a full refund asap.

Business Response: Hello,
We definitely agree that this customer had a poor experience with his Return. We have done everything that we need to do for the return.
We have sent him the Return Authorization number, prepaid ups label and have refunded his account in Full.
I have attached the the credit memo.
Below is the comments history for the return.

************************************ 

 

 

or call us at ************** Monday - Friday, 8am - 5pm CST.

 

Your Credit Memo information for Order #*********. Thank you again for your business.

Billing Address:

***** ******

**** ******** *** ***

*** **** ** *****

US

Tel: *** *** ****

Email:

 

*****************

Shipping Address:

 

***** ******

**** ******* **

*** **** ** *****

US

Tel: *** *** ****

Email:

 

*****************

Payment Method:

 

Credit Card Type:

 

****

Credit Card Number: xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-****

Expiration Date: 09/2012

 

Shipping Method:

2nd Day Air

Item(s) Quantity Price Subtotal

Item# :**** (SKU:***************)

3M™ Scotch-Weld™ Neoprene High Performance Rubber And

Gasket Adhesive 1*** Yellow

1 $463.16 $463.16

Product Total: $463.16

Shipping & Handling: $37.00

Grand Total: $500.16

Total Refunded Amount: $500.16

Comments:

Thank you again,

Shop Direct Brands


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/29/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1