4/21/2016 THE WORST Heed the warnings you will find all over the internet about Jim Laabs Music. The manager Troy ***** of Jim Laabs Music is RUDE DECEITFUL and a LIAR. Jim Laabs Music had three Custom Engelhardt Upright basses with high flame maple for sale on their website,said they were in stock in store.I have all the pictures of the maple basses they advertised for sale.The one was a custom one off by Head Luthier Tom of Engelhardt. The price was beyond low,I clicked to buy.The one I purchased was not available after I purchased which meant it was mine.In the morning Troy ***** called me first thing and said the bass was sold but that he had Beautiful Vienna Strings basses just as good. I knew they were made in China and asked him about the Engelhardts on the site. He got NASTY and said to me "Do you want to fight about it?" I laughed and said "I didn`t even raise my voice,what are you talking about?" He just snapped at me "I`ll refund your money" I hung up rather than argue with the rudest manager I have ever dealt with. ** ******* ****** **** *** **** ******* ***** I have never been spoken to by a store manager like that for no reason. It was obviously a "BAIT AND SWITCH" tactic because I immediately went to their site after our conversation and ALL Engelhardt basses were removed.I also had to wait five days for my refund as it was through Paypal. Thanks Troy THE WORST
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by David M. on 4/21/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
4/11/2016 I ordered a standup bass. Jeff was friendly and informative. Jeff said he would throw in rosin for the bow. He told me they deliver personally in a van to protect item. Well, they arrived at 2:30 AM! As the guy was getting out of the van, he handed me the invoice. He tugged and pulled my bass out of the top of the van. He didn't ask if I wanted to check it first, he just jumped in the van and headed out. The bag was full of splinters of wood from the ceiling of the van. As I pulled out the splinters, one piece of wood slit the case bag about 1 1/2". Some of splinters could not be removed they were stuck in so bad. And the rosin that he promised was NOT included. When I called Jeff, he was no longer friendly. He was rude and actually said nothing.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Miracle25 on 4/11/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
4/16/2015 I attempted to purchase a Trixon Karl Heinz Weimer Vibraphone that Jim Laabs Music had advertised on Amazon. However, after placing the order they contacted me and informed that unit in fact was not available but I still could order and wait "2-3 weeks" for delivery. I agreed and on Dec 16th of 2014 we made a deal over the phone - I gave them my credit card and advised to go ahead with the order. For the start they charged me $257 higher (total $2555) than I'd pay if ordered the unit from Amazon. I was not pleased but decided I could live with that as I needed the instrument desperately. Then I've been having nothing but false promises to ship during FOUR MONTHS!!! Finally, on April 3rd I warned them I must have the instrument on hand by April 10th or I cancel the order as my client, a showbiz producer, could not wait anymore. They did not react. On April 10th I called and cancelled the order requesting the refund. A guy - **** - told me "that's fine but it'll take a couple of days". 5 days later I called to check on status of my refund and the same guy answered - "I'm not going to give you the refund". Just like that!!! After four months of having my $2555 in their pockets, which is against the Visa/MasterCard regulations in the first place!!! Did he mean he was going to steal that sum or what? He was clearly warned that unit was no longer needed after 4 months of wait time while 2-3 weeks were committed. I had nothing left but to call my credit card and place a charge-back. Avoiding this business is highly recommended!
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Yuriy D. on 4/16/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
3 people found this review helpful .
1/30/2015 We purchased a clarinet from Jim Laabs Music in Stevens Point, WI on 1/24/2015. We were told it was a great instrument and asked questions about other ones but persuaded based on the knowledge of the sales person to buy the Schiller clarinet. However, our daughter's clarinet teacher said the tone was horrible and it was a low quality instrument. When asked to return it - guess what NO RETURNS!!! Was never informed of that in the store, on website, or in person! The people we have dealt with less than helpful. WE can trade it in but no refunds. The price for a better instrument are much higher than other businesses. STAY AWAY!! I wish I would have read all the other complaints about this business before I gave them my business.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Disappointed on 1/30/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business We spoke with the customer, who has since returned the Clarinet to us and has been sent a new and better Clarinet. *** *****, owner, sent the following email to ******* on 2-5-14: ******* - We received your clarinet today and are preparing to get the Buffet Clarinet to you. Now that this matter is settled could I please trust you to contact the Better Business Bureau and indicate that your situation has been solved? We, in turn, will also let them know what has transacted since your complaint. I'm sorry for all the confusion that has taken place regarding the clarinet situation. I appreciate your cooperation and sincerely hope that you will enjoy your new Buffet Clarinet. I will check with you tomorrow to see if you have removed the complaint. Thanks again. Sincerely *** ***** ******** Owner • Jim Laabs Music Mobile: ************ ******* ************ ** *** ********************* by on 2/6/2015

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 person found this review helpful .
4/16/2014 i bought a piano and it was delivered in late dec. with the understanding that after ninety days *** **** would have piano tuned after calling to set up appt i am told now that they recommend having it done the deal was at time of purchase that THEY would have it done now we find out differrent i have written them and they will not respond
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by bill w. on 4/16/2014 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 person found this review helpful .