Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers wholesale and retail sales of musical instruments, sheet music, cameras and audio and video equipment. Additional services include: instrument rental, instrument repair and music instruction.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cascio Interstate Music meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cascio Interstate Music include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Cascio Interstate Music
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 19, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1946 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1946 Business incorporated 01/15/1970 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Houser, Owner Mr. DJ Hostettler, Director Customer Service
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. DJ Hostettler, Director Customer Service
Principal: Mr. Michael Houser, Owner
Business Category

Musical Instruments - Dealers Musical Instruments - Repair Musical Instruments - Supplies & Accessories Music - Sheet Music Instruction - Instrumental Music Instruction - Vocal Internet Shopping Recording Studio Equipment Music Shells Home Electronics DVD sales & service Musical Instruments - Rental Online Retailer Audio-Visual Equipment - Dealers Other Miscellaneous Durable Goods Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 423990)

Service Area
Nationwide
Alternate Business Names
Cascio Music Co., Inc. Interstate Music
Industry Tips
Avoiding Overspending While Shopping Ebay Shopping Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Cascio Interstate Music has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 13819 W National Ave

    New Berlin, WI 53151 (262) 789-7600 (800) 462-2263

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a drum set on December 26 and as of April 20 set has not been shipped and company refuses to issue a refund. Company is hard to contact and once contact is made they have been extremely rude and demeaning on top of being unwilling to help. Advised us that we need to grow up and learn to be patient. That its not their fault and not their problem. They claim that purchases made with them are made at the buyers own risk(sounds sketchy to us). Also accused us of lieing about drums already being paid for in full. Also made demeaning comments about our parenting skills and that these should just be life lessons for a bratty teen. In other calls we were lied to and informed items had shipped and were in route to our home. The name of the person who has been treating us badly is ****** *****. He refuses to allow us contact with any other persons in the company we are sure to hide his poor conduct. We are starting to realize that we might be dealing with a company that is not even real, a scam.

Desired Settlement: We have paid a total of $296.33 including $52.95 for 7-10 shipping. We would like a full refund so we can purchase the needed items from a legitimate company.

Business Response: ****** brought this call to my attention immediately after conclusion of the call. The customer called in angry and was unwilling to listen to ******'s explanations regarding the status of this order, which i will summarize now.

The customer placed an order for item # PA757P08, A Gibraltar rack practice kit, on December 26, 2014. At the time of this order, the item was not in stock in our warehouse and its availability was clearly stated on the website as "ships directly from manufacturer, wait times vary; call for availability." This item has been on back order ever since. Since the order was placed, a number of issues have taken place with Gibraltar that have delayed shipment--issues that ****** attempted to convey to the customer. In late January, Gibraltar was purchased by DW Drums, a transition which has not gone smoothly for DW and has resulted in delayed shipments industry-wide. In addition, a recent port authority strike in California has delayed deliveries and shipments to hundreds of vendors and retailers, and several DW and Gibraltar deliveries have been impacted by the delays caused by the recent strike. It unfortunately has resulted in a perfect storm of circumstances which has delayed this order along with several orders placed by not only us, but music retailers nationwide.

We are certainly willing to contact DW in order to cancel this order for the customer, but as ****** explained to the customer yesterday, DW must be contacted in order to do this. However, as ****** also explained to the customer yesterday, no refund for the items is necessary as the customer's credit card has not been charged for this item. When an order is placed online with any online retailer, a hold is placed on the customer's card to ensure funds are available, but if the item is not shipped in the span of several business days, the hold drops off the card. I do show that her card was charged on 1/5/15 for the amount of $60.33, which was $7.38 for a pair of sticks and the $52.95 shipping fee for the practice kit. I will gladly refund the $52.95 shipping charge today. I encourage the customer to verify my statement with her credit card records, and if she sees anything different, to contact me with a copy of her statement so that I can resolve it with our accounting department. However, I believe the customer will find that her card has only been charged $60.33 and she will see a refund for the $52.95 shipping amount shortly.

With regard to ******'s demeanor on the phone, I can state that as his manager I am located only a few desks down from his and did not hear anything that was cause for concern. The customer was angry at the outset of the phone call and seemed unwilling to listen to any of ******'s explanations regarding the delay on her order.

I will contact DW immediately and have the customer's order cancelled.

If the customer wishes to discuss this further, I invite her to contact me directly at *******************************.

Thank you,

** ********** ******* ****** ******* ****** ********** *****

4/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tried to order 14 sheets of music that were advertised on ****. The stated postage price was not met and an attempt to charge me far more postage than stated was made. I contacted the customer service department and was told it was not their problem, it was ****'s and I should contact ****. It WAS their problem due to the way they had entered their information on ****'s "sell" page. Customer Service suggested I send in more money than the actual cost and they would refund the extra, but by this time I did not trust them. I pointed out that this was the Seller's situation to resolve, not the Buyer's. At that time, they cut me off and blocked future bids on ****. At no time was I rude or impolite. I wrote a letter about this to *** ***** of the store to which he did not reply. The Customer Service person was rude and unhelpful. *** ***** was rude and unhelpful. If you are interested in dealing with a company that will do nothing to resolve difficult issues that may come up, and if you are looking for someone who will treat you rudely, this is the place to go.

Desired Settlement: *** ***** should have responded to my letter. I should have been able to complete my order correctly. I should have received an apology.

Business Response: I was made aware of this complaint via a letter sent 3/3/15 to my attention and the attention of *** **** ******. At that time I consulted with ***** ****** and **** *******, the reps who had been working with Mr. ********. **** and ***** both explained to me that this is a routine occurrence with ****'s web setup -- when a customer wants to ship multiple items in the same shipment, ****'s site often glitches and applies too much shipping. When this happens, our **** sales reps ask our customers to either use the "request an invoice" feature to have us generate a manual invoice for them, or to pay the shipping and have us then reimburse them immediately. These options were both offered to Mr. ******** and he refused to cooperate. Please note that this is a routine circumstance that happens with many orders through ****, and ***** and **** have used this solution with countless customers with no issues or complaints. Mr. ******** was the first to refuse to use this very simple workaround, insisting that it was our responsibility to fix ****'s website issues. At this time, ***** and **** exercised their seller prerogative and blocked Mr. ********, which sellers are allowed to do via ****'s sellers policies.

After discussing the issue with ***** and ****, and discussing the matter with Mr. ******, it was decided that no further action would be taken, as we had exhausted every option to rectify this for our customer. We are sorry that we were not able to come to a satisfactory conclusion to this issue with Mr. ********, but we offered every available option we had. If Mr. ******** would like to resume doing business with us, I would invite him to contact customerservice@interstatemusic.com and look into placing an order with us directly instead of via ****.

Thank you,

*** ********** ******** ******* *******

5/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered PlayStation 3 - 320 GB System/PlayStation Move Bundle - SONY PLAYSTATION 3 MOVE STARTE and a couple days later revieved only the PlayStation Move Bundle. A few days after recieving half of the product I ordered I called the company asking when I would be recieving my PlayStation 3 console because only half of the my order was satisfied. I was informed that on the website the Console was not included in the bundle package. But clearly stated on my receipt there is a console included. After complaining I had noticed that what I had ordered has now been changed on the website, it is still the same price, but the console has been removed from the "whats in the box" description catagory.

Desired Settlement: For the rest of my order to be fulfilled

Business Response: We sent a pre-paid shipping label to the customer and offered to pick up the misadvertised items at our expense and offer a full refund. This customer returned the item and was refunded in full. We also sent a link to our legal disclaimer on the website that states that we are not responsible for honoring pricing or catalog errors on the website. We made a good faith effort to refund this customer after a return of the item was to be completed. We also sent this customer a $25 gift cards as compensation for the error.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** ********

 

 

5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have taken 2 things to have repaired. A JBL Studio Monitor and a Berhinger Stage Monitor. Both have been taken back twice due to no being repaired correctly. Now the studio monitor and the stage monitor a both doing exactly the same thing they were supposed to have been repaired for. Plus, there is a feature on the Studio Monitor that no longer works because of this repair. Im Done with this company. I want a refund and I want to go to another store. You would thing spending over $4,000 in product within that period of time, you would a least get a good repair.

Business Response: **** ****** (our CEO) and *** ******** (our head of repairs) are looking into this now and I will report back with a resolution.

5/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered some drum bags for one of my drum sets online & it was shipped to the wrong address. I called on numerous occasions & they promised to re-ship the item to the right address but never did, I requested a refund & was told it would be back on my card on Jan. 10th, i checked my account & still no refund! I will continue to keep calling until I receive my refund & will no longer do business or refer them to any of my musician colleagues.

Business Response: The customer was refunded on 1/22/14.

5/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a 320 GB PLaystation system w/ move bundle from Interstate music. I made sure to check the description of the items because the price was so low. The description, which I took a screenshot of, as after I checked on my order the business pulled that particular advertisement, read that I would receive a 320 GB Playstation Console, and accompanying chords, and the move bundle, with demo games. I placed my order after reading that, and my card was charged the proper amount. About three days later (2/11/13) I received a FedEx package that was way too small to be a Playstation system. It was just the move camera and wand. So I called Interstate music to inquire about the rest of my order. The lady that I spoke to, informed me that the rest of my order was on backorder, and that I would be receiving the rest of my order shortly. However after about three weeks I decided to call on 2/27/13 to check on my order. The gentleman on the phone said it was a mistake and that I shoudn't have expected to receive a playstation for the amount that was advertised. I told him that is precisely why I ordered it because of the price. He said it was obviously a mistake. I then said I had a description, and the website that was at that time still advertising the move bundle with console, and it should be honored. I then asked what my options were and he said I could talk to a supervisor which I requested. I had to leave a voicemail as the supervisor was conveniently not there. I have not at yet had this situation resolved so that is why I am filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau.

Desired Settlement: I expect to receive what I ordered. It isn't my fault that they had made a mistake on their advertisement. The bill I have showing what I paid for is not what I received or what the company said I would get, and I think that is a bit shady. To say the least I will not be ordering anything through their company again.

Business Response: We sent a pre-paid shipping label to the customer and offered to pick up the misadvertised items at our expense and offer a full refund. This customer did not return the item. We also sent a link to our legal disclaimer on the website that states that we are not responsible for honoring pricing or catalog errors on the website. We made a good faith effort to refund this customer after a return of the item was to be completed. We also sent this customer a $25 gift cards as compensation for the error.

5/8/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RE: order # ****** ... vendor charged in full and failed to deliver the full order. When I ordered online all the products were in stock. When I received August 8 email showing what was shipped the Ludwig L111 Torque Wrench Drum Key ***** $16.78 was not referenced. There is no reference in my order information such as if the item is backordered or when it will ship. I sent an email responding to the shipment email at orders@interstatemusic.com on August 8, 2013. Think anyone would have contacted by now? As of August 16, 2013 ... I have not received a response to the email of August 8, 2013 much less the missing product.

Desired Settlement: Send my Ludwig L111 Torque Wrench Drum Key ***** $16.78 Correct store practices to NOT charge customers when items are not in stock. Make sure items are in stock in real time so that customers do not order items out of stock.

Consumer Response:

Thanks for helping with my complaint against Cascio Interstate Music. As you have indicated they did not respond. One reason I did business with them in the first place was that I saw no negative reviews nor a bad letter grade. In fact they do not have any BBB letter grade. I really hope in the future that the BBB gives them a letter grade (F) to protect consumers from this company.

Sincerely,

***** ******** ************

Business Response: This item was shipped on 8/30 and delivered on 9/6: tracking number  ******************* The customer’s claim that we charged him for the order before shipping the item is easily explained by the fact that he paid us using PayPal. It is impossible with PayPal’s setup to wait to charge for an item until it ships. Had the customer used his credit card, he would not have been charged for this item until it shipped. 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** ********

 

 

 

5/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested a refund for order #***** over the phone in the beginning of December due to a defect in the product, and promptly shipped the package back to Interstate Music's warehouse. It arrived there on 12/13/2012. After waiting a week and not receiving a refund, I contacted phone support again and was informed that it can take anywhere from 7-10 business days for the refund to process. After the second week of waiting, I called again and was told by phone support that due to the holiday season, it has taken longer to process my return, and that I would have to wait one more week. Instead of insisting on receiving the refund within the 7-10 day time frame as your company promised to me, I decided to wait another week. It's now Monday of the fourth week, and by now I am extremely disappointed that the refund still hasn't been issued. I called phone support yet again, and spoke to ******, who informs me that I must wait YET ANOTHER WEEK for the refund to process because of an issue at the warehouse. Your warehouse's issues are none of my concern, and all I care about is getting my refund. Your company has violated its own policy and promise to me regarding this refund and having to wait nearly a month for what SHOULD be a simple process is completely absurd. I can no longer waste my time calling your support staff and being told the same thing, so in hopes that you will become aware of this issue, I am submitting this claim with BBB. I look forward to your response.

Desired Settlement: I would like the refund that I have been entitled to for over three weeks now to finally be processed.

Consumer Response:

I am not satisfied with the company's efforts to resolve the matter as these efforts are nonexistent.  I finally received my refund nearly a month after they had specified I would receive it, and they gave me no form of compensation despite their violation of their own policy.  They left me waiting for no apparent reason, as every time I inquired about why this process was taking so long, I received a different excuse.

Regards,

******

-- 
****** ***
*********************

11/18/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used to love Cascio Interstate Music. I used to refer people (musicians, roadies, hobbyists) to Cascio Interstate Music. I used to spend a good deal of money at Cascio Interstate Music. That stopped as of this week, when I received the second illegal telemarketing robocall from Cascio Interstate Music. This serves as written notice to Cascio Interstate Music to cease and desist contacting me in clear violation of Wisconsin State Statute 100.52 pertaining to unwanted telephone solicitations. A copy will be sent to the Federal Trade Commission as a formal complaint that Cascio Interstate Music is in clear violation of the Telemarketing Consumer Fraud and Abuse Prevention Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1601-1608. A second copy will be sent to the Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin informing them that: 1) When I gave my phone number to Cascio Interstate Music I was adament that my number was never, under any circumstances, ever to be used to market/telemarket to me; 2) When I received the first "robo-call" sales contact in blatant disregard of my instructions, the on-duty manager, ***** ****, was apologetic and took my number "out of the system", promising that it would not happen again; and 3) After receiving a second call, Mr. **** informed me that: - it was not his decision to disregard federal and state law; - that it was Cascio Interstate Music's marketing department responsible for violating my wishes and the law; and - there was "nothing [he, Mr. ****] could do". Fortunately, there IS something that I can do, and I'm doing it right now. Federal law allows me to seek compensation of $1000, and Wisconsin allows me to recover $100 per violation of our telemarketing laws. Any and all further contact by Cascio Interstate Music, or any marketing agent acting on their behalf, will be considered a third violation subsequent to my demand that they cease and desist their illegal telemarketing activities. I will subsequently seek recompense for all three phone calls, and any subsequent calls of a similar nature, as well as full restoration of my attorney fees, and whatever civil penalties a jury might consider. ****om line Cascio, stop calling me. Stop. Now. Lose my number. If you want to talk this over, I'll probably be shopping at ****** ******. Come tap me on the shoulder if you'd like, but stay off my phone... https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/100/52

Desired Settlement: Lose my phone number, stop violating Wisconsin and federal telecommunication laws...

Business Response: We have received and reviewed this complaint and have removed this customer from our contact lists. We are also in process of reviewing all of our call outs, which have been mostly involving letting our customers know of either special offers or Free Clinics or events. We certainly have no intention of irritating customers, and this process is in full review.
Thank you.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The company assured me that I would not be telemarketed to when I first gave them my number.

Then they telemarketed me.

THEN they RE-assured me that my number was purged from their system, and that I'd not be telemarketed to again.

Then they telemarketed me again.

Now they "resolve" the matter by re-re-re-assuring me that my number was purged from their system, and again promising I'll not be telemarketed to a third time.

You'll understand why I don't find yet another dismissive "assurance" the least bit reassuring...


Regards,

** ********