BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Wisconsin

This Business is not BBB accredited

Massey's Credit

Phone: (866) 229-2316 1251 1st Ave, Chippewa Fls, WI 54774 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.masseys.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states it offers the sale of women's shoes, apparel and accessories on the Internet and through mail order catalog sales. Through Massey's Credit customer receive payment plan options for purchases of the company's goods after credit approval

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Massey's Credit include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Massey's Credit
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 17, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1904 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1904 Business incorporated: 11/14/1906 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Timothy F. Scobie, General Counsel / CSO Mr. Daniel J. Hunt, CEO & President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Timothy F. Scobie, General Counsel / CSO
Business Category

Mail Order & Catalog Shopping

Alternate Business Names
Mason Companies, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1251 1st Ave

    Chippewa Fls, WI 54774 (866) 229-2316

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My issue is the way Masseys is assessing the minimum payment due. On their website and in the terms and conditions listed in the catalogs they send, it states, "This Minimum Monthly Payment amount is calculated as shown in the box above and will not decrease until your Highest Net Purchase Balance goes down OR your account is paid in full." In October 2013, my highest purchase balance was $634.91. A payment was made, along with a return credit, which brought my balance down to $499.26, below the $500.00 threshold that requires 10% of the balance. Masseys is continuing to require me to pay a minimum balance as if the balance was still $634.91. When I call and spoke to the representative, she said I would have to pay it off for my minimum required payment can decrease; however, this is not what the terms say. According to the table, a balance of $500.00 requires a minimum payment of $40.00. What I don't understand is why minimum payment remains at $63.49 and according to the representative, will remain that amount until I pay it off. This does not make any sense. If my balance is decreasing, why isn't my high net balance and minimum payment decreasing? According to what the representative is saying, and whichever supervisor she conferred with is saying, the only way to decrease the high net balance is to pay off the balance in full. This is a total conflict with their statement of,"This Minimum Monthly Payment amount is calculated as shown in the box above and will not decrease until your Highest Net Purchase Balance goes down OR your account is paid in full" when in reality their practice dictates the only way to bring down the high net purchase balance, and minimum payment is to pay the balance in full. This totally negates the OR in their statement. If this is the case, then what situation, other than to pay the balance in full, will cause the highet net balance to decrease if not by making payments to decrease the balance?

Desired Settlement: I'd like my minimum payment due to fall in line with the balance table as reflected in their terms and conditions. Also to revise their deceptive terms and conditions to coincide with their practice. As it stands to date, there is no way to decrease the Highest Net Purchase Balance through payments and that should be made clear.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. One of our Lead Customer Service Representatives will be in touch with Ms. ******** forthwith.

 

 

******* ** ******

Mason Companies, Inc.

1251 1st Avenue

Chippewa Falls, WI 54729

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/4/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a bunch of shoes and recieved one pair. I have repeatedly sent letters telling them this with no response. I only recieved one pair of the ***** **********.

Desired Settlement: i just want to be charged for the pair i got and credit for the ones i didnt. I also want an adjustment on the interest.

Business Response:

Regarding case ******* for ***** ***** zip code *****.

I show on August 6th 2012 an internet order for 7 items was received but nothing ever shipping.

The order was requiring a 100% payment before anything could be shipped.

I do however show on July 31st 2012 a mail order was received from ***** *****.

Because the account is in *****’s name I am not able to discuss this matter with anyone other than *****.

I can be reached by email or at ###-###-####.

 

****** ********

Customer Service

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. One of our Lead Customer Service Representatives will be in touch with Ms. ***** forthwith.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: December 6th I returned an item, a hat on order ********, using their return label as instructed by their customer service rep. It was a birthday present for my niece and the item was not as expected and she said it felt poorly made. Their website states 2-3 weeks for process and refund. However they are claiming non receipt of the item and blaming the holiday season for the delay. I work in the logistics field and know that 3 weeks from here to WI no matter what time of the year is excessive. Have sent several emails that all yield the same result, no item no refund. As I used their return label there is no recourse for me except to inquire and hope that they do the right thing. So far this has not happened. This hat was not only not as described but SEVERELY overpriced, as I stated on the return label. Found a similar item of higher quality at * * ******'s for under $20. Hopefully this is not the cause of the delay as honesty should improve a business not cause it to become upset. The reason I am writing this portion is to show I had no desire to keep the hat and did indeed return their item. The emails I am receiving have ranged from apathy to accusatory. Both cases unwarranted. All I am asking for is what is right. I returned item I am entitled to a refund. Simple as that.

Desired Settlement: Want the amount paid refunded. Nothing more, nothing less.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. One of our Lead Customer Service Representatives will be in touch with Mr. ***** forthwith.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This is unacceptable. It has been over 5 weeks and I still do not have the refund. Their attitude was apathetic at best belligerent at worst. No reason I still do not have this refund. Tired of their putting it off and ignoring it.  Not my fault they can not get their act together

Regards,

***** *****

 

 

Business Response:

Our Lead CSR, Ms. *** ********, is very familiar with the situation and can be reached at ###-###-#### or at ********************************

Business Response:

Regarding case ******* for ***** ***** zip code *****.

We apologize for the delay in refunding but the mail returns have been running behind.

The amount of $29.95 plus .63 cents for the monthly finance charge was credited on the 10th leaving a balance of $27.54.

If I can be of further assistance I can be reached at ###-###-####.

 

****** ********

Customer Service

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Since that time I received two emails asking me for the ORDER NUMBER and ITEM NUMBER as well as what the issue was. The "senior" customer service rep who left me a message asked me to all her and let her know what the problem was, what order and what item and what I was looking to have happen.


The entire process has been a disaster. A multitude of people asking me the same question over and over, o follow up at all and several VERY RUDE emails telling me "do what you want but we have been very busy". As an internet company the majority of their correspondence is email. You would never know it by the responses I received. Like their response here they simply want to clear their queue and ignore the situation.


Will pay the balance and have them close my account. Will not make the mistake of using them again.

Regards,

***** *****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/4/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Now I will refer you / Masseys to an email I sent on July 7 at 6:00 am and Massey sent a response at 10:20 am and this matters because Masseys has now given me the run around and misrepresented their intentions for the past 10 days This is an electronic mail request for a full refund of monies received for. Order Number ********** I do not do business with companies of questionable ethics. I received your companies catalogue I at no time requested the catalogue you mailed it to me. The catalogue covers said in big bold print I was pre-approved on both covers which in these tough economic times I thought great I can handle low monthly payments there was no mention of pending credit approval see attached photo. In good faith I placed an order and agreed to your rather high prices and even higher shipping prices I enclosed a postal money order for the amount of $54.75 or around 10% of the order placed and in the memo portion of the money order was written for payment in the "buy now pay later plan" According to the USPS the money order was paid out on or about June 26th 2012 which means you had the money order for a day or two before cashing it and at any point you could have gotten in contact with me to let me know of any pending approval but you did not technically by cashing the money order you agreed to the terms of your pay plan that was indicated in the memo bar of the money order you waited 2 more days before letting me know that you decided to request more money To me your request is nothing more then corporate extortion Masseys *PRE* approved me and in good faith I placed an order you took the money and by cashing the money order you accepted the pay later plan With over 7000 followers on twitter and 2700 on facebook I will be more then happy to share this experience with all my followers as well as http://louisville.bbb.org/ The Better Business Bureau and http://ag.ky.gov/ Office of Kentucky Attorney ******* **** ****** just to make sure Masseys is not violating any of the states consumer protection laws and what steps I should take Noel Avery In a message dated 7/14/2012 4:13:04 P.M. Eastern Daylight Time, service@masseys.com writes: It looks like we have received your down payment of $54.75, but this order was needing 50% of the balance paid before shipment. Please contact our credit department on Monday for the remaining amount they are requesting. Thank You Masseys Customer Service ajp **Please "reply" to this e-mail when answering so information is not lost** -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- From: MRFNLarry@aol.com [MRFNLarry@aol.com] Sent: Saturday, July 14, 2012 3:08 PM To: Masseys - Customer Service Subject: Re: Order Number ********** which is it ? In a message dated 7/7/2012 10:23:23 A.M. Eastern Daylight Time, service@masseys.com writes: Dear Customer, Your order should ship out this next week. Thank You Masseys Customer Service **Please "reply" to this e-mail when answering so information is not lost** In a message dated 7/14/2012 11:54:14 A.M. Eastern Daylight Time, service@masseys.com writes: When you are on our website you need to leave off the "20" part of the order number. That is put on by our credit department. Your order is requesting down payment before shipment. Thank You Masseys Customer Service ajp **Please "reply" to this e-mail when answering so information is not lost** -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- From: MRFNLarry@aol.com [MRFNLarry@aol.com] Sent: Saturday, July 14, 2012 10:49 AM To: Masseys - Customer Service Subject: Re: Order Number ********** What exactly is the status of this order ********** I have checked online in my order history and was told: There is currently no order history to display.Previously placed an order and it's not showing up here?Try tracking your order (you must be signed in when you place your order for it to display here), or contact us. So then I tried to track the order I was told *Billing Zip Code The order number and billing ZIP code you have entered do not match our records. Please try again now I know my zip code ***** was correct and so is the order number **********.I sent you the screen captures in my previous email In a message dated 7/12/2012 11:45:34 A.M. Eastern Daylight Time, service@masseys.com writes: Dear Customer, You can find your order status on our website if you create an account. Otherwise you can call us at 1-866-229-2316. Thank You Masseys Customer Service bzn **Please "reply" to this e-mail when answering so information is not lost** -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- From: ***************** [*****************] Sent: Thursday, July 12, 2012 6:00 AM To: Masseys - Customer Service Subject: Re: Order Number ********** How do I check the status of my order? In a message dated 7/7/2012 10:23:23 A.M. Eastern Daylight Time, service@masseys.com writes: Dear Customer, Your order should ship out this next week. Thank You Masseys Customer Service

Business Response: Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. One of our **** ******** ******* *************** will be in touch with Mr. ***** *********.

Business Response: Regarding case ******* for **** ***** zip code *****.The complaint states Mr. ***** received a catalog with a pre-approval offer.The offer was pre-approved for $100.00.Mr. ***** mailed in an order totaling $504.79.Because the order was over the approved limit a down payment of 50% or $252.40 was required.The amount received was $54.75 leaving a balance due of $197.65.The catalog should have had the amount Mr. ***** was pre-approved for.If Mr. ***** is still interested in the order the remaining balance of $197.65 can be sent or a request to cancel and issue the refund of $54.75 can be done. I apologize for any inconvenience and if I can be of further assistance I can be reached by email or at 1-800-627-7397 ext. 4278. ****** **************** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

As you can see to this day no one at Masseys will acknowledge any wrong doing June 25th 2012 they accepted payment June 28th Masseys gets greedy and wants more money July 7,2012 I requested a full refund Masseys response was to tell me the order was shipping that week and here it is July 20, 2012 and I have neither and it will be almost a month since the took procession of the funds. I have not wavered from my position My position has been either Masseys can either ship the orderlike THEY said they would oe ship me a full refund which is what I had asked for 2 weeks ago

Regards,

 **** *****

 

 

Business Response:

I have confirmed with Ms ******** that Mr. ***** wishes his order cancelled. A full refund will be forthcoming.

 

Business Response: Regarding case******* for **** ***** zip code ******
The request to cancel order ******** and refund the down payment of $54.75 has been received. Please allow the accounting dept. 24 to 48 hours to process the request.Checks are issued the following Monday after they are received. If I can be of further assistance I can be reached at 1-800-229-2316. ****** **************** ******* 
IMPORTANT: The information contained in this transmission is intended only for the personal and confidential use of the designated recipient(s) named above. This transmission is privileged and confidential and may be subject to certain Nondisclosure Agreements. If you are not the intended recipient(s) or an agent responsible for delivering this email and any attachments to the intended recipient(s), you are hereby notified that you have received this document in error. Any review, dissemination, distribution or copying of this message is strictly prohibited.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/9/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Masseys has attempted to debit money from my bank account on three occassions for mercandise I have never received. Their actions has caused my bank account to be negative by 111.00 due to NSF fees assessed to my account on 4-9-2012, 4-11-2012, and 4-13-2012. Masseys alleged that I gave them my checking account information which is false because I specifically did not provide any checking, routing numbers or check numbers of any kind. I've tried on numerous occassions to resolve this issue but Masseys has been most uncooperative in the matter.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement of my 111.00 to my bank account immediately.

Business Response: Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Our Lead CSR, Ms. *** ********, will be in touch with Mr. *** *********.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I do not accept the business response because I am still out of 111.00 in NSF fees as a result of this business's error.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

 ******* ***

 

 

Business Response: I know Ms. McDonald was looking into this matter. Mr. *** should feel free to cantact her at************ or at ********************************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Masseys is being very misleading in resolving this matter and I'm not satisfied with their response and i wish to pursue the matter further. Thank you.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* ***

 

 

Business Response: Thank you, I will inform Ms. ******** of Mr. ***'s rejection of the option to speak to us about this.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

 ******* ***

 

 

Business Response: We were under the impression that Mr. *** no longer was willing to speak to anyone here concerning this issue. If that is not the case, our Lead CSR, Ms. *** ********, is very familiar with the situation and can be reached at ###-###-#### or at ********************************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

 

I reject Masseys response based on the fact that their information is inaccurate and I have filed a complaint with the State Attorney General of *** **** and ********** regarding this most disturbing issue. Ms.*** ******** has been most uncooperative and very unfair in the matter.

Regards,

******* ***

 

 

Business Response: While I can understand that Mr. *** wishes to have no further contact with us, we still stand ready to discuss this matter with him. As I have indicated a number of times, our Lead CSR, Ms. *** ********, is very familiar with the situation and can be reached at ###-###-#### or at *******************************.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I reject Masseys position in this matter because their information is incorrect and the transaction was made by a credit card, not by a check because I gave no checking information to Masseys. I gave them credit card information and the transaction was successful. Masseys did indeed debited my account on 3 occassions, causing my bank account to be in a negative status by 111.00. I wish to pursue the matter further because Masseys is being very uncooperative regarding issue.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* ***

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

6/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called ************** Customer Service today and was connected with an extremely rude man by the name of ***** [11:00 approx/tx. time 5/14/12]. I was informing him that I was refusing the backyard swimming pool and cover and asked him to issue a pickup order for it. I told him it had not been opened at all. That I had not had the opportunity to refuse it has who ever delivered it just left it in our yard while were gone. He immediately turned bilegerant and his tone of voice became harsh and he told me that if I wanted to return it they/Stoneberry were not going to pay for it. He continued saying it is not damaged, it was not damaged in shipment and there is nothing wrong with it so you are going to pay for it! As nastily as he could possibly spew it out of his mouth! I said wait just a minute, my background is law, you do not know if it is damaged or not the box has never been opened! You cannot make illegal claims like that. He nastily repeated himself again telling me I was going to pay! I said again I want you to issue a pickup order on this I am refusing it and returning it... the fact that it is unopened should be a plus. He hung up on me!

Desired Settlement: I want **************** to have the pool and pool cover picked up and returned to them forthwith. I have the legal right to refuse shipment and it should not have been just left on my lawn w/o my acceptance signature. If they do not pick the pool and the pool cover up forthwith... I will file a complaint with their State's Attorney General's office Consumer Protection Divisioon and post complaints on all of the Internet Complaint Boards about what they are doing to me and how badly I am being treated as one of their customers! They do not have a shipping signature of acceptance from me as it was just dumped on my lawn by whom ever they shipped it through!!! Additionally, the nasty customer service representative needs to be reprimanded for his horrid treatment of their customers!

Business Response: Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Our Lead CSR, Ms. *** ********, will be in touch with Ms. ******** forthwith.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** ********

 

 

Business Response: I know that Ms. ******** was looking at this matter and was going to contact Rev. ********.  Ms. ******** can be reached at ###-###-#### or at ********************************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. This interactioon with these alleged "customer service" people is exemplary of my first experience.  Their first contact thru the BBB they said someone would be contacting me a week ago.  NOTHING NO CONTACT - and now we get a one liner repeat of the same thing! Do they care about there customers?  Or are they just good at hanging up on them and giving them the perverbial "run-around". My Background is in Law... I am going to send a letter and a fax to the CEO and President of Masseys and see if they feel they built their business on this abusive behavior that I am getting from their Customer Service department.  What a sad sick joke! They do not want to contact me and play ring-around- the rosey fine I will go to the top!

Regards,

****** ********

 

Business Response: I apologize that Ms. ******** has not been able to respond. She has been out of the office for a family matter. Since Ms. ********'s background is in law, perhaps it would be best if she contact me directly about this return request. For her information, our Shipping and Processing Terms are available at *****************************************************************-******* I can be reached at *****************************    ******* *******General Counsel, Mason Companies, Inc.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** ********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

6/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought several pairs of shoes from this company and when I received they were either to small or to large, So I had to return them., and to my dismay I was getting charged the shipping and handling fee and label fee.To my 1 pair of shoes that I ended up keeping I owe $263 dollars, (mind you I NEVER realized that I was going to be tapped for those costs)...I've also paid over $100 already for those shoes.I seriously feel as if I am getting ripped off, So I called the company and CLOSED that account!"Don't want anything to do with company!"Very Unsatisfied Customer!!!

Desired Settlement: Credit my account correcty!!!!!

Business Response: Massey's shipping and returns notices are clearly stated on the web at ********************************************************************** and in the printed catalogs. I have however referred this matter to Ms. *** ******** for review. Ms. ********* should feel free to cantact her at ###-###-#### or at *******************************.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/1/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was billed $23.07 to return a pair of shoes that I returned. Their website states: "Customer satisfaction is our #1 priority at Masseys. If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, please send your item(s) back to us within 120 days and we'll promptly handle your refund or exchange. The Return Label will deduct $7.95 from your refund amount in order to cover the return shipping and processing fees. No postage is required up front, instead $7.95 will automatically be deducted from your merchandise credit. " I KNEW I'd have to pay $7.95 for using their return label, I was fine with that... but after getting billed an additional $15.12 is absurd!! They said it was for shipping and handling fees. But their website says the $7.95 COVERS s&h fees! I paid the $21.94 (per customer service rep who waved a $1.13 FINANCE charge). If they plan on charging customers more than $7.95 then mention that on their site, if I had known I'd have to pay over $20 to return the shoes, I would've used the post office instead of their return label.

Desired Settlement: I would like their fee of $13.99 (minus finance charge) to be sent to me in the form of a check to cover the fees that were never mentioned on the returns website.

Business Response: Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Our Lead CSR, Ms. *** ********, will be in touch with Ms. ****** forthwith.

Business Response: From: ****** ******** [mailto:*******************************]
Sent: Thursday, March 22, 2012 10:26 AM
To: Complaints;*******************'
Cc: *** *****e; **** *******; ****** ********
Subject: case ******* Regarding case 8965286 for Barbi Watson zip code *****.The complaint states being aware of the $7.95 charge for using the smart label but doesn’t feel like she should have to pay any additional charges.The total $23.07 is the result of original shipping charges of $13.99, $7.95 smart label (return label) and $1.13 for the monthly finance charge.As a one-time courtesy the $13.99  original shipping plus the $1.13 finance charges will be removed leaving the $7.95 for the return (smart label) charge.I am asking that both the BBB and the customer note the middle section of the catalog under Masseys Guarantee which states (Sorry, shipping and processing charges are non-refundable).It’s important that this piece of information is understood by all involved. If I can be of further assistance I can be reached at ###-###-####. 
****** ********
Customer Service

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an invitation through mail catalog entitling me to a $400.00 credit allowance. I ordered a pair of shoes that totaled $123.00. I received the shoes in a very timely manner, however I needed a larger size so I returned them for an exchange. I waited and waited to get my larger size in the shoes I ordered, only to receive a notification through mail informing me that after further credit investigation Massys.com could only extend me a $100.00 line of credit, and only if I would send them in advance a down payment of $20.00. I chose to just forget about ordereding from them and to buy the shoes at the mall. I then received an statement via mail for $23.18, so I called the customer service line. They informed me that I owed this amount for shipping on the original order and shipping on the return order and a finance charge. Are they for real?! Companies can do this? I call this poor business.

Desired Settlement: I would like for ********** to remove these charges from "my so-called acount". And to also remove me from their mailing and e-mailing lists permantly!!!!

Business Response: Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Our Lead CSR, Ms. *** ********, will be in touch with Ms. ****** forthwith.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards,

 

****** ******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/23/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
11/20/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/23/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/2/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
5/21/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1