Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Duluth Trading Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (608) 424-1544 Fax: (888) 950-3199 View Additional Phone Numbers 170 Countryside Dr, Belleville, WI 53508 http://www.duluthtrading.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is an online retail and catalog shopping service providing clothing, outerwear, tools and equipments services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Duluth Trading Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Duluth Trading Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on Duluth Trading Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 5
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 28, 2000 Business started: 10/29/1986 in WI Business started locally: 10/29/1986 Business incorporated 10/29/1986 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Schlecht, President Mr. Mark Pickart, Retail Store District Manager Ms. Eena Taylor, E-Commerce Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Joan Conlin, Director of Customer Experience
Principal: Mr. Steve Schlecht, President
Business Category

Mail Order & Catalog Shopping Mens Clothing & Furnishings - Retail Womens Apparel - Retail Internet Shopping Men's Clothing Stores (NAICS: 448110)

Alternate Business Names
Duluth Holdings, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Duluth Trading Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 170 Countryside Dr

    Belleville, WI 53508 (800) 505-8888 (877) 382-2345 (608) 424-1544

  • PO Box 409

    Belleville, WI 53508

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/7/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a first time buyer at Duluth and placed an online purchase the morning of April 2, 2015. I ordered an empty Man Can w/lid and a $75.00 gift card. (customer #**********, order #*************). I paid an additional shipping fee of $14.95 for Second Day Air service. When I placed the order, I had no idea that the gift card was being sent separately. I received the Man Can on Friday, April 3rd and since the gift card was not included I called Duluth customer service. I was told that the gift card was shipping by itself and I would not be receiving it until Monday, April 6. I had no idea that this is the way my order was being processed and to make matters worse, the customer service rep told me the gift card was being sent USPS Priority Mail. Why was the card shipped Priority Mail when I paid for 2nd day air???????? Priority is a ground service that is very inexpensive especially when using a flat rate envelope to ship. The customer service rep offered no restitution to my complaint. She simply stated you got the $5.00 can early and will be getting the gift card on the 6th. I explained that this purchase was for a gift for my son and I wanted to give it to him on Sunday, April 5th. Since I live in Illinois, I didn't expect and delay in shipping from ********* to ********.

Desired Settlement: As a first time buyer, I am very unhappy with the mail order service, customers should be told upfront about delivery. I only received one follow up email with only one tracking number which was for the empty can. Spending $14.95 for delivery and ruining a special occasion for my family is very disappointing not to mention receiving NO satisfaction from the customer service phone call.

Business Response:

We will be refunding the customer for the shipping charge.

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******* *****

 

 

 

2/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I visited there web site once since November 2014 ever since I have been hounded by them emails two or three times a day, now I get catalogs in my wife name . She has never visited there web or requested and catalog from them . I have requested to be removed from there HOUNDING ME ,STALKING ME LIST MORE THAN ONCE . MY WIFE AND I HAVE HAD ENOUGHT AND DONT USE THERE PRODUCTS

Desired Settlement: For them to leave me alone

Business Response: I have removed  Mr. and Mrs. ******* from our catalog mailing list and our email list.

1/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Placed an order and received the confirmation on Jan. 4, 2015. Next day I received an email stated that the pant I ordered was not available. I suggested them to give me the different color of the pant to show their effort to solve the issue. My suggestion was turned down. They don't seem care that there is a breach of contract.

Business Response:

The customer odered a clearance color which sold very quickly in size 32/30.  Because we did not have the product requested there was no money exchanged.   We do have several colors at the regular price in the size required if the customer is interested.  

**** ****** 

Business Response:

I would be happy to talk with the customer if they would leave their contact information.  I do have other colors and would like to help the customer find a pair of pants that work for them.

****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** ***

 

 

They know the detail of my order then they should have my contact information. This shows how they conduct their business practice-they don't give a **** about their customers. I will never buy from them and all my friends on FB and twitter will learn about this.  Please close this case. I am not interested in their product any more.

 

2/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a jacket through Dulath and received it a few days ago. The order was made on January 27, 2014 through their website. The jacket was 79.99. On 2/4/14 I noticed the jacket was 59.70(at a lower price), so I purchased another jacket(a different color) and emailed the company asking if I can get credit on the previous jacket I bought since it was on sale cheaper now. The next day 02/04/2014 I called Duluth and talked to customer service asking if they could please credit the difference on the jacket to my credit card. Mind you this is only a few days since I ordered the jacket and got it in the mail, that it went about 20.00 cheaper than what I paid. Duluth stated that their was a glitch in their computer system, and I was lucky to have got the lower price on the second jacket..but they would not honor the lower price on the first jacket. They stated that the jacket was a computer error and not on sale and some how I was able to get it on sale through a computer glitch. I couldn't believe that they were telling me this. Glitch or not the jacket was at a discount price and I went through the whole system and purchased a second jacket at this price. But, to not honor a repeat customer coming back to get another coat(being happy with the first) and not giving a sale price that they just got on another coat(within days) is very poor customer service. I could understand if I came back 3 months later and demanded the sale price and they said no. But, it was a few days and they said if it was a normal sale they would have honored the difference in the price, but because it was a glitch in the computer they would not. Wow!! Well, after I talked to the customer service I went back on and acted like I was ordering another coat today and that glitch is still going on, as the price is still showing 57.50.

Desired Settlement: Greed and poor customer service gets a company no where. Especially with this day and age. A good idea is to take a look at LL bean's fashion of customer service and why they are so good at what they do. And are they losing money or customers? I think not. I would like the difference credited back to my account. The glitch issue is not my problem, it is what it is. They offered that sale price before, so it's not like it was so cheap that they are losing money.

Business Response:

·         Customer contacted us again on 2/5 regarding the discount on the coat, ******* **** took that email, adjusted her order to reduce the price of her jacket to $59.70 (40% off of original price of $99.50) – please be aware that this jacket is now on clearance on our website for $79.99. Noted on the order that she adjusted due to the FEB25 promo. Credit was applied as requested for $20.29

o   Jacket sale price is $59.70 (40% off of $99.50 = $59.70). This is what also she paid per jacket on subsequent orders that were done online with the promotional offer code.

o   Customer originally paid $79.99 on order #********

o   Refund was done for $20.29 ($79.99 – 59.70 = $20.29) on 2/5 as requested.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** *******

1/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ordered items for christmas attempted delivery on dec13 [no noe home people have to work] supposedly sent to post office did not leave notice. post office didnt have. called and reported problem told all they could do was have me reorder with a guarantee delivery on dec 23[ of course they were out of what i originally ordered] called on dec 23 had not arrived , called duluth was told would b delivered on 24. still has not arrived!!!!!!!! this is false advertising, several seperate operators gave me their word it would be there christmas, i ordered from them last year and they left package at door why not this time they totally ruined my christmas!! No one has any idea where 1st package went i am on a fixed income and couldn't afford ordering twice and only did si because i was promised it would b there. he lives in a sub-division not the outback

Desired Settlement: they need to stop advertising guaranteed delivery by christmas that is an out and out lie, not to mention FALSE ADVERTISING if its a new policy not to leave at door change it or at least hire a company that leaves a message get my order there refund monies

Business Response: We will contact the customer and refund their shipping and offer a gift card.

12/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received an advertisement form Duluth trading on 11/27 at 4:12PM ET saying they have long tail T's on sale. Went to the link in the email to their site where it listed a price of 24.99. I tried to select the items and they go into the cart at $32. I called them and they said they were sole out of the one that was on sale and they only had $32 shirts left even though their site showed the 24.99 price. I think showing a low price on a sold out item and trying to get me to buy the higher price items is "bait and switch" and wrong. I would still like to buy the product at a sale price but not at $32.

Desired Settlement: I had 6 shirts in my cart ready to checkout when I learned they were advertising something on their site that was sold out. I would like to complete that order at the sale price.

Business Response:

We  would be happy to honor his request at 24.99. Duluth will contact this customer today.

**** ******

11/9/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a product with overnight shipping from Duluth Trading on Thursday 10/24/13. According to their website, the order was processed and shipped on Friday 10/25/13. I should have received my order on Saturday 10/26/13, however, the order did not arrive until Monday 10/28/13. When I contacted Duluth Trading about not receiving my order on time, I was told Saturday delivery is $15.00 in addition to the overnight shipping cost. I was also told that if I wanted Saturday delivery, I had to call customer service by 3pm CST to arrange it. Neither of these things are stated on the shipping page of the website. At no time was I informed I would have to pay extra to receive my order when I paid to receive it.

Desired Settlement: I paid for overnight shipping and received three day shipping. I wish to be refunded the cost difference between the two. Also Duluth Trading needs to update their shipping webpage to include the instructions and extra charge for Saturday delivery.

Business Response:

These are the guidelines on our website that do call out the overnight Saturday delivery.

 

 

Standard Delivery

Our Standard Shipping combines the efficiency of UPS with the convenience of USPS. UPS picks up your package at our distribution center and delivers it to your local post office for final delivery to your mailbox or door by USPS within 5-7 business days.  Standard delivery is the only service available for shipments to Alaska, Hawaii and U.S. territories, APO, FPO and P.O. Boxes.

UPS Ground

Orders sent UPS Ground are shipped only via UPS directly to your door and should normally arrive in 3-5 business days. Not available outside the contiguous 48 U.S. States.

2nd Day Delivery

Orders sent 2nd Day Delivery are shipped via UPS and must be placed by 3pm Central Time to ship that day. Orders received after 3pm on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday or on holidays will ship the next business day. Not available outside the contiguous 48 U.S. States.

Overnight Shipping

Orders sent Overnight are shipped via UPS and must be place by 3pm Central Time to ship that day. Orders received after 3pm on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday or on holidays will ship the next business day. Not available outside the contiguous 48 U.S. States.

Saturday delivery is available for Overnight shipments. To place an order, you must contact Duluth Customer Service at ###-###-#### before 3 p.m. on the preceding Friday; do not place your order online first. An additional $15.00 will be charged to your order for this service.


International Orders

Place your order online as usual and enter the overseas shipping address. Once your order is received, we will calculate the applicable shipping charges for the order. An email will be sent to you outlining the charges including shipping and processing. The email will ask you to verify your billing and shipping address and give us approval to go ahead and ship the order. If you approve, your order will be processed and delivery should occur within 4-6 business days. Duties, taxes and brokerage fees are the responsibility of the purchaser. They will be collected at time of delivery. If you have any questions, please feel free to call customer service at ###-###-####.

Orders shipping to Canada

Packages shipping to Canada will be shipped via the United States Postal Service. Transit time is approximately 6-10 business days. Duties and taxes are the responsibility of the purchaser.

APO, FPO addresses

Duluth only charges the Standard Delivery fees above. Deliveries are shipped via the United States Postal Service.

Saturday Delivery

Saturday delivery is available for Overnight shipments. To place an order, you must contact Duluth Customer Service at ###-###-#### before 3 p.m. on the preceding Friday; do not place your order online first. An additional $15.00 will be charged to your order for this service.v

7/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered #***** *** *** *** which are supposed to have deep pockets and these do not. Phone calls and emails are ignored or not acted upon.

Desired Settlement: Refund full amount of charge plus the shipping to return them to vendor. $49.50

Business Response:

The new contact information is **************************

Mr ******* contacted us on 3/13/11 and indicated he was not happy with the product. We emailed him on 3/13/2011 at 10:51Am sharing our "No Bull" Guarantee-which customers can return anything at any time for a full refund. We also shared with Mr ******* how to make a return.   Another communication was sent on 3/22/11 at 7:23am and voice mail was left on the same day.

Please see the attached documentation.

Let me know if you have further questions or need additional information.

Thank You,

**** ****** ******** ******** **********

###-###-####

************************* *

2/14/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I ordered a shirt and pair of pants for husband, this was a late Christmas present. Upon receipt, although they were the correct size, they did not fit his frame. I immediately sent them back, received a prompt e-mail response that the items had been receibved back by the company. I paid a total of $111.44 for the items, I received a debit back to my checking in the amount of $90.54. It was my understanding that the $6.95 for the return shipping would be deducted but not the additional initial shipping and handling also of $13.95. So, the items cost me $97.49 and I only received $90.54 in refund funds. This seem to be a rip-off and I will never order from them again.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $6.95 back so that I will financially be in the same position I was before the purchase. Thank you,.

Business Response: I did respond back on your website this morning.  If my response wasn't clear please contact me via e-mail.

Business Response:

According to our records the customer purchased two items for a product total of $97.49.  The order also included process and handling charges of $13.95 making the total transaction $111.44.  The customer returned both items and used our pre-paid label.  The instructions on the label state that $6.95 will be deducted from your return if this label is used.  The customer received a total credit of $90.54 which is the product total $97.49 minus $6.95.    I am a little confused as the customer stated in their complaint detail that they understood the $6.95 would be deducted but not the initial shipping and handling.    We have in instances where customers have been confused with pre-paid label charges credited back that amount.  I reviewed the customers account and saw no notification that a request had been made.

 

Please let me know if I an be of any further assistance or further contact should/could be made with the customer.

 

***  *********

******* ****** *******

Duluth Trading Company

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.] 

We feel as if this was unfair because we are not in the financial position we were in when we began this process.  We will never do business with Duluth Trading Company again nor will we recommend them to anyone.  We feel as if we have  been ripped-off and there is nothing we can do about the situation.  No further contact is required.

Regards,

******** ******

 

 

2/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 2 pairs of slacks in order to my size. Upon arrival they absolutely did not fit. I went to alterations at my local post. I was told that they were not capable of being altered. (this size is comparable to all slacks I wear from other companies) I returned the slacks and adjusted the size to what I though most appropriate to their sizing scale. At that time I selected a primary and an alternate style to compensate the style of pants I ordered. 2 weeks later my slacks arrived but instead of 2 pair there was only one pair included. The second pair was stated to be refunded to me. (I have yet to receive that refund). Let me say I did not authorize a refund or adjustment to my order. I listed a primary selection and an alternate choice. They disregarded my alternate choice and sent the one pair and refunded the difference which to date has still not arrive in my account. Upon calling them about the issue they told me that the mistake was theirs and that I would have to buy yet another pair of pants at full price. (they deducted 8 dollars from my refund that is supposedly in transit) I refused. I told them to send me what I ordered and when the refund came I would promptly send it back to them. They refused, even after admitting the error was on their end. I filed a complaint with them at which I received a phone call the following day. The same company line was repeated as forementioned. I once again refuse and characterized their business practice as unfair. I additionally stated that I felt we were beyond resolving this matter at their level. Please note that this company has a "No Bull" guarantee and since doing business with them I have received nothing but a run around. If this is not bull then I do not know what would be? I am extremely unhappy that I can spend well over a hundred dollars for this transaction only to be accused at first that the failure was at my end and then only later that they admit it was their issue only to be completely as uncooperative as before. I could not be less satisfied. The pair I did receive I intend to give to charity at this point as this transaction has completely soured me towards this company. I believe their "No Bull" guarantee is a patent fraud.

Desired Settlement: I would like the pair of slacks I ordered to be delivered as promised in addition to a refund for an absolute failure on their end of this process.

Business Response:

On 1/17 Mr. ****** placed an order for 2 pairs of pants sixe 40/34.  Due to sizing issues he returned the pants and requested to exchange them for a different size and color.  On the return form he clearly stated to substitue another color if his original one wasn't available.  This was on oversight on the person processing the return and resulted in and "Item Cancelled" status as the product is no longer available.  It also generaterated a refund for check for $57.55,  which included a debit of $6.95 for the pre-paid lable he used to return the items (Orginal charge $64.50 minus $6.95 = $57.55).   Due to his frustration on the processing one of our customer care agents did refund him back the $6,95 on 2/11/13.

I spoke with *********** ****** this morning and asked him if he was still interested in receiving the pants.  He said he was,  therefore he was asked to dispose of the check once he recieves it.  We will be sending him a new pair of pants in the correct size and color today at no charge.

 

When asked if he was satisfied with the results he said yes and he would give us another chance.

 

Please let me know if there are any other questions regarding this complaint.

 

*** *********

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

*********** ******