Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states it is a hides and leather goods distrubtor offering wholesale, Internet, and catalog sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Leather Unlimited Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Leather Unlimited Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Leather Unlimited Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 02, 1999 Business started: 12/16/1971 in WI Business started locally: 12/16/1971 Business incorporated 07/05/1978 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joseph O'Connell, President Ms. Patricia O'Connell, Secretary/Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph O'Connell, President
Related Businesses
Deer Shack
Business Category

Leather Goods - Wholesale & Manufacturers Furniture - Retail Leather Goods - Dealers Sporting Goods - Retail Internet Shopping Hides Luggage and Leather Goods Stores (NAICS: 448320)

Industry Tips
Internet Shopping

Additional Locations

  • 7155 Highway B

    Belgium, WI 53004

  • PO Box 342

    Belgium, WI 53004

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called them up requesting a very specific piece of leather, was told what to order to fulfill my needs, and when I received the product it was not what I had asked for. Called them back immediately, and they told me I could return it for a full refund, but would have to pay for shipping the product back. I thought this was wrong, because they had made the mistake sending me the wrong product. I was told I would have to talk to the owner, who agreed to pay to have it shipped back, which he did, but then they credited my card back $15.99 less than what I paid.

Desired Settlement: I want them to reimburse me the $15.99 that they withheld.

Business Response:

Mr **** ******* ordered a leather hide that could be used for soles.  We sent him an 8-9 oz vegetable side, which is a similar leather used in fine men's dress soles.  It was explained to him what type of leather he would be receiving.  He called and decided it would not work for his use.  We issued a "call tag" for return of the leather (Leather Unlimited paid shipping to return the leather). and then refunded $149.95 on March 28, 2016.

After receiving his refund, **** went to his credit card company and asked for another compete refund on 5-3-2016 for $165.94.  We sent the credit card company documentation that he had already received a refund for his order. 

It seems that Mr ******* is not doing business in an ethical manner, asking to be refunded twice for the same sale and now a complaint with the BBB.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 I called leather unlimited specifically looking for leather for moccasin soles, stating that it had to be supple like a suede leather and not like a hard dress shoe sole leather,  yet a dress shoe sole leather is exactly what I received from them.  This was all explained to the owner when I spoke with him on the phone, and he agreed and told me verbally that there should be no shipping charges.  He also confirmed that their company didn't have the product I was looking for.  

The reason I had to dispute the entire charge with my credit card company is because that's their procedure.   They were aware that the only part I was disputing was the $15.99.


[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** *******

Business Response:

**** ******* asked for  sole leather and we shipped him leather that is used for  soles. He did not ask for suede leather at all. We even suggested that he take a small piece of sole/strapping leather to try it out but **** insisted on a large hide.

**** received a full refund.  It clearly states on our website and catalog that we will allow a complete refund excluding return shipping.  **** received that right away upon return of the hide.   We paid for a call tag to pick up the leather.

In making a credit card dispute, you can easily dispute any amount of a charge.  **** clearly disputed the entire order dollar amount after receiving our refund. This is clearly deceptive and not doing business in an ethical manner

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

There were only three criteria that I was shopping for in the leather I eventually purchased from another company: 
1. Natural undyed leather.
2. 9 ounce or thicker. 
3. Had to be soft and pliable like suede, not hard like dress shoe sole leather. 
Leather unlimited's website clarified the first two criteria. The only reason I called before placing the order was to find out if the third criteria could be met. After I was told by the representative I spoke with that this was a soft leather, unlike dress shoe sole leather, I ordered it.  No offer was ever made to send me a sample of the hide. In fact the company that I did buy a hide from, did send me a sample. 
I called several companies looking to meet these criteria. Nobody else had a problem answering or understanding my questions. 
Even the owner of leather unlimited understood what I was looking for when I spoke with him, and he told me he didn't have what I wanted. If his representative would have done the same I never would've ordered the product.  Since this was a mistake made by their company representative, Leather Unlimited should have to pay for the shipping both ways.

I didn't even dispute the charge with my credit card company until the credit from leather unlimited came in at less than it should have. The credit card company obviously knew that this credit had just occurred and why I was disputing the charge. They insisted that the full amount had to be disputed because I had received the wrong product.
Leather unlimited's allegations are completely false and malicious, and even bordering on slanderous.  I have explained myself clearly and honestly from the start,  and have been responded to with lies and accusations from leather unlimited. 

Regards,

**** *******

12/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Placed order on11/17/14 . Did not hear anything for a week. Called on 11/23/14. Asked *** if order was shipped. Was told yes by Fed Ex that day. Then I asked if she could tell me who owner was. She told me **** and ***** *********. And for me to call back in 24 hours for tracking number. Called on 11/25 in the morning got a woman named *****, Asked for **** or ***** ********* and was told no one their by that name was told the owner was ****** *********. She connected me with him. I told him *** was giving out false information and he hung up on me. I called back and he said he had checked my morder and they no longer had any of the leather I had ordered, So I asked for my money back including the five dollars for their catalog. He hung up on me again. When I called back to ask if he was going to do so noone would answer the phone.

Business Response: I talked with **** on 11/25/14 and told her that the two items that she had ordered were not available. She requested a refund and I told her I would send a check............. # 45288 for $61.84 dated 11/25/14, and it was sent yesterday. We did have difficult phone issues, However I did not hang up on ****. She did not leave a phone number with her order so I could not call her back. *** *********

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Thamk you very much for your help.

Regards,

 

****  ********

 

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Leather Unlimited Corporation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)