Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Leather Unlimited Corporation?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states it is a hides and leather goods dealer offering wholesale, Internet, and catalog sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Leather Unlimited Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Leather Unlimited Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Leather Unlimited Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 02, 1999 Business started: 12/16/1971 in WI Business started locally: 12/16/1971 Business incorporated: 07/05/1978 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joseph O'Connell, President Ms. Patricia O'Connell, Secretary/Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph O'Connell, President
Related Businesses
Deer Shack
Business Category

Leather Goods - Wholesale & Manufacturers Furniture - Retail Leather Goods - Dealers Sporting Goods - Retail Internet Shopping Hides Luggage and Leather Goods Stores (NAICS: 448320)

Industry Tips
Internet Shopping

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Leather Unlimited Corporation has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7155 Highway B

    Belgium, WI 53004

  • PO Box 342

    Belgium, WI 53004

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Placed order on11/17/14 . Did not hear anything for a week. Called on 11/23/14. Asked *** if order was shipped. Was told yes by Fed Ex that day. Then I asked if she could tell me who owner was. She told me **** and ***** *********. And for me to call back in 24 hours for tracking number. Called on 11/25 in the morning got a woman named *****, Asked for **** or ***** ********* and was told no one their by that name was told the owner was ****** *********. She connected me with him. I told him *** was giving out false information and he hung up on me. I called back and he said he had checked my morder and they no longer had any of the leather I had ordered, So I asked for my money back including the five dollars for their catalog. He hung up on me again. When I called back to ask if he was going to do so noone would answer the phone.

Business Response: I talked with **** on 11/25/14 and told her that the two items that she had ordered were not available. She requested a refund and I told her I would send a check............. # 45288 for $61.84 dated 11/25/14, and it was sent yesterday. We did have difficult phone issues, However I did not hang up on ****. She did not leave a phone number with her order so I could not call her back. *** *********

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Thamk you very much for your help.

Regards,

 

****  ********

 

 

 

11/30/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My order ***** was shipped uninsured by usps, I never recieved the order. Leather Unlimited, Inc has refused to reply to my emails or reship my my order.

Desired Settlement: I would like my order. If not, I want a refund.

Business Response:

Good Morning,

The order for this customer was mailed, with delivery confirmation as per attached.  The package was delivered to her address as shown.

We will resend the items she has ordered at no addtional cost.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** *******

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** *******

 

 Leather Unlimited Corporation made a offer to send me the order after I had received my refund at no addition cost (check the response on this complaint)

as far as the refund, they never informed me that they were resend the order or that is was on back order. they said I got the order and stopped all communication with me. 

Business Response: Good Morning,

The order for ******* ******* was shipped on May 20, 2013 via USPS with tracking number of **********************.  The package was delivered on May 23, 2013 at 8:52am.  Our customers pay a flat rate for shipping.
Customer stated she did not receive the order.  We had planned to reship the items, but the one halter we could no longer get as it is discontinued.  In the mean time, customer put a dispute in with Paypal claiming non-receipt.  The dispute details are attached.  Because we could no long ship the items she wanted, the dispute was allowed to go through.  ******* received a COMPLETE refund.  
Customer says package was not insured.  The package was tracked and shows delivery.  According to the tracking by the post office, she received the package. Customer has also received a COMPLETE refund, including the shipping costs.  
Thank you,
Leather Unlimited