5/4/2016 Absolutely HORRIBLE experience working with Travel Guard. We purchased our policy in August of 2015 for our honeymoon travel to Fiji in March 2016. 2/20/16 Fiji experienced the strongest cyclone on record (Winston) which evidently closed the resort we were supposed to travel to. We filed a claim on 2/26/16 (Claim# **********) having to cancel our trip because the resort we were going to was CLOSED. We submitted all documentation including a letter straight from the resort explaining why they needed to close and not accept guests at that time on 2/26/2016. I called back in March for an update and was told I needed to "wait 4 weeks and call back if I hadn't heard anything". Time went on and I called back in early April after it had been 4 weeks and was given the name and number of my claims adjuster which I also tried to leave a message for but never received a response back. Placed a call back to the very friendly customer service agent that did return all my messages and she said she would "escalate our claim". We then apparently got assigned to a different adjuster because I received a response back from a new claims adjuster saying they were now working on our claim and that they needed to contact our tour operator to verify the cancellation policy. A few more weeks went by again with no response (I was hesitant to try and call back because I once had to wait over an hour on hold to get in touch with anyone in the claims department). I again tried to reach out to the claims adjuster via email and voicemail with no response. I called the very friendly and helpful customer service rep back again and she said she'd "cc the adjuster's supervisor". Coincidently every time the supervisor was copied we then received a response from the adjuster. As of 5/3/2016 the adjuster still states that she "has contacted the tour operator twice to verify cancellation penalties with no response from them so nothing can be done until they get back to her." 5/4/2016, I called our tour operator to verify this and our tour operator has received absolutely no information from Travel Guard. They checked email, voicemail, fax and their general mailbox and never received any information which our claims adjuster states she tried to contact them on multiple occasions. Our claims adjuster even stated in a voicemail she was trying to contact "Down Under Answers" which is in fact the same people I got an immediate phone call and return email back from within 15 minutes of trying to contact them this morning just to verify they were trying to contact the correct tour operator. I again have emailed and left voicemails to follow up with said claims adjuster regarding this with no response. I also left a voicemail for her supervisor. In an attempt to discuss my serious concern regarding how this claim is being handled I called back the very friendly and very helpful customer service rep who always seems to get the ball rolling. She verified that they are waiting for proof of the resort being closed (which she actually found right in the file and verified that this was indeed proof with her supervisor) as well as cancellation penalties. I also informed her that now our tour operator has taken the initiative to reach out to Travel Guard and attempted to contact the claims adjuster directly this morning (I was cc'd on the email). The tour operator emailed our claims adjuster today verifying again that they had not received any documentation from them but to please contact them regarding the claim so they could get this sorted out for their client. All in all.... it's been over 2 months and we are still out the $19,205.56 that Travel Guard owes us. I used to work in the insurance industry and can assure you this is definitely not excellent customer service! I'm embarrassed for your company that 2 months have gone by and not 1 thing has progressed on getting our claim handled except a lot of emails back and forth from customer service regarding the claimant not receiving responses back from anyone. I actually highly praise her courage and customer service skills. She was the only one who repeatedly was "reaching out for us on account that she was going to get yelled at for continually contacting the people I had already tried to." Yelling at the employees who actually are trying to help? Doesn't really seem logical to me.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Jacqueline S. on 5/4/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business We acknowledge that your claim documentation was not reviewed timely and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this delay has caused. As of today’s date, the claim has been processed, and payment in the full amount requested is being sent to you. The check should be rec’d w/in the next 7-10 business days. by on 5/10/2016

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
4/23/2016 I have never felt so tricked and schemed in my life. I had to travel for a medical procedure with a tentative surgery date, so I of course purchased the optional "insurance" just in case something were to happen and I needed to change my flight; isn't that what insurance is for? Sure enough 2 weeks prior to my flight leaving I got the call that the physician was pushing my date forward by a few days. I first called Spirit Airlines to see about changing my flight dates due to medical reasons (who are by the way awful as well, employing not a single representative who you can actually understand clearly on the phone), and they of course would not help me at all. They told me to call Travel Guard (AIG) and they would help me. I called their 866-877-3191 number and explained the entire situation to the rep. I was put on hold and she came back on the line to explain that the only way they would cover the cost of my flight change or cancellation are as follows: a natural disaster (with proof), a terrorist attack (with proof), an airline strike (with proof), if I am hijacked (with proof), if I am called to jury duty (with proof), if I am in a car accident ON MY WAY to the airport (with a police report AS PROOF), if I lose my job within the week of travel (with proof), if I die (with proof), or if I am dismembered (with proof). So basically- if something completely out of the realm of a normal life occurs, like death- THEN they'll refund my dead or dismembered self my $506. And should our plane be attacked by terrorists, don't think that qualifies you for an automatic refund! Oh no. You must file a claim with AIG and ATTEMPT to recoup your monies. BUT, if a physician to whom I am travelling to for life saving surgery needs to reschedule their patient.... do you think that would be covered? OF COURSE NOT. Their insurance only covers things that should they occur you would get your money back REGARDLESS of purchasing flight insurance or not! So, I ended up paying the $506 for the flight, PLUS the $220 change fee (which was the entire reason I purchased the insurance for in the first place). Oh but I forgot. The rep on the phone did give me the email address to their refunds department so I could ask for my $28 back. How kind. I won't hold my breath on that. But if I do, and I die, then maybe I'll have a chance of getting it back.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by K. R. on 4/23/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business We are sorry to hear that the coverage decision was not found to be favorable to you. We highly recommend that before purchasing a policy, each potential insured read the description of coverage for the policy they would like to purchase, to make sure that the travel insurance policy is the right one for the trip they are taking. by on 4/25/2016

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
4/22/2016 At the top of the AIG Travel Claims web page it states "When you place a claim with AIG Travel, our responsiveness and passion for exceptional customer service will exceed your expectations." This has been our experience to date with their "responsiveness". Feb 3, 2016 - contacted them for claim forms which they emailed to me quickly. Feb 5, 2016 - completed and mailed the 27 page claim back to them. USPS shows delivered on Feb 8. Feb 15 or so - began checking Claims website they have set up for online tracking of claims - under our account it showed (and still does) that they haven't received any of our claim documents. March 1 - called TravelGuard, was told by a very friendly customer service person that they did show they had received our documents on Feb 9 and that they had been assigned to an analyst. He said I would have to wait until 4 weeks had passed from their receipt of the form before I could talk to the analyst. Said to call back if I hadn't heard anything 4 weeks out from Feb 9. March 17 - I called friendly customer service again. Was told the name of our "analyst" but that he could tell online that she hadn't reviewed our documents yet. He would send her an email and their policy was that she would call me in 24 to 48 hours. March 20 - still hadn't heard anything. Friendly customer service gave me direct phone # for analyst and her email and forwarded my call. Analyst's voicemail said she would return call either that day or next. March 22 - still hadn't heard anything. Emailed the analyst and copied both Travelguard Customer Service and Claims Department. March 23 - received response from "World Service Center" that they had forwarded my email to the claim department and to please allow 24-48 hours for them to process. April 1 - received email response from "Travel Guard team" saying my email inquiry would be answered within one business day. April 1 - another response from "AIG World Service Center" saying that someone from the claims department would contact me within the next 3 business days. April 7 - still nothing so called again - message said they have high volume and are undergoing a system change but will get to claims within 4 weeks. April 20 - still nothing so tried calling analyst direct again - recording had been updated to say it might take her longer to return call since behind. April 22 - still have heard nothing regarding my claim. When I tried to call claims department message says wait times are in excess of 20 minutes, but they want claimants to know their system problems are fixed and they are working diligently to catch up. Today marks 73 days since they received my claim and they have done nothing but repeatedly respond with nothing of substance other than broken promises that they will respond within 24 hrs, 48 hrs, 4 weeks, then just 4 weeks more. And all this on an $818 claim for which we paid $588 for the Silver premium to cover this trip. Not exactly my expectation of "exceptional customer service".
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Denise B. on 4/22/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business We understand and appreciate the insured’s comments and concerns regarding the delay in claims processing. We acknowledge that their claim documentation was not reviewed timely based on their original claim submission; however the claim has been processed today and payment has been recommended for the full amount of their non-refundable airline tickets. We apologize for any inconvenience this delay has caused. by on 4/25/2016

Report Abuse I appreciate Travelguard's response and the phone message left yesterday that the payment is in process and we can expect a check within 10 days. by Denise B. on 4/26/2016

Report Abuse We received our payment on April 29. Thank you to the person(s) at Travelguard who finally followed thru and to the BBB for providing this forum. So relieved to have this resolved. by Denise B. on 4/30/2016

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
2 people found this review helpful .
3/22/2016 Very dissappointing experience. We purchased Insurance for a cruise in January. Our ship was late getting back into the dock because it had spent five hours overnight looking for a lost ship at sea, which by law they are required to do. This made us miss our flight. There was nothing else available on that date to get home so we went ahead and booked a flight with another carrier because we NEEDED to get home. This cost us $1300 for two tickets, but according to what we read in our policy, Travelguard would cover up to $500 a person for trip interuption. Well by Travelguard's standards, this was not covered because it did not specifically list "looking for lost ship at sea" as a reason for trip interruption. I agree with hundreds of other reviews I've read online -- this company is a scam. I would be very leary of using -- would not recommend!! This was about the 5th time I purchased this insurance, but having never submitted a claim, I had no idea that this was how they operated.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Shrley R. on 3/22/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business *******, Thanks for reaching out. Our claims representatives work very hard to review the detail of each submitted claim against the wording in the description of coverage on the policy purchased. After speaking with them, it looks like the reason for which the claim was submitted was not listed as a covered reason on the policy that was purchased. We are sorry that our answer could not be more favorable to you. If you have any other concerns, we are happy to talk this through with you at 1.800.826.1300. Thank you. by on 3/23/2016

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 person found this review helpful .
3/18/2016 I bought a "GOLD" class insurance from them. My family trip was cancelled du to sever snow storm on 1/23/2016 by jet Blue. They failed to process my claim till now against my several calls.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by a. c. on 3/18/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business ******, thanks for reaching out. Our claims representatives take filing our customer’s claims very seriously. After touching base with our team it looks like we were in communication with you 3/15 and had indicated that additional information is required to continue with the filing of your claim. We are more than happy to walk you through exactly what’s needed if you have questions or concerns. We are available Monday – Friday 7 a.m. - 7 p.m. CST at 1.800.826.1300. Thank you. by on 3/18/2016

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 2 3 4 5