BBB Accredited Business since

Specialized Saw & Mower, Inc.

Phone: (540) 380-3901 3954 W. Main Street, Salem, VA 24153 http://specializedsawandmower.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers landscaping equipment and supplies, lawn and garden equipment and supplies, lawn mowers, mulches, top soil and much more.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Specialized Saw & Mower, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Specialized Saw & Mower, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Specialized Saw & Mower, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 17, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1993 in VA Business incorporated 02/05/1997 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond VA 23218
http://www.state.va.us/scc
Phone Number: (804) 371-9733
Fax Number: (804) 371-9211

Roanoke County Business Lic.

Phone Number: (540) 772-7587

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert J. King, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert J. King, President
Business Category

LAWN & GARDEN EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES LAWN MOWERS LANDSCAPING EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES TOPSOIL MULCHES

Industry Tips
Advance Fee Loan Schemes BBB TIP

Additional Locations

  • 3954 W. Main Street

    Salem, VA 24153 (540) 380-3901

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 2, 2013, I went to Specialized Saw & Mower, Inc., a company I had done business with before, to purchase a reconditioned weed trimmer similar to the one I had used for many years. I took my trimmer with me in order for the sales person to see what I had used and was interesting in purchasing. A very nice man was showing me a reconditioned trimmer with features that I wanted. We were discussing the price when another sales person approached us and started telling me about the Stihl Trimmer. Among the things he mentioned were that the Stihl was the leading trimmer with a two-year warranty and was on sale. He said the Stihl would cost about $30 more than the reconditioned trimmer I was considering, which I believe was priced at $125. By this time, the first salesman had walked away. Another salesman said he did not thing I would be satisfied with the Stihl. But I decided to purchase the Stihl with some hesitation. When everything I needed to operate the trimmer, the total bill was $193.41, which I paid that day with my bank card. The feature that concerned me was the mowing head which had two cords for cutting. Since I purchased this trimmer, I have used it twice for about ten minutes each time. The cord on one side breaks if you hit the wire on a fence or the post on the mailbox--anything but a blade of grass or a weed. I took the trimmer back to Specialized Saw at least three times to see if I was doing something wrong. But they told me nothing was wrong with the trimmer and gave me some suggestions for how best to use it. Unfortunately, when I tried the trimmer outside in my yard, the same problem existed for me. Now when I need to pull weeds, I get on my knees and pull by hand. The store is approximately ten miles from my home, so I talked with them by phone. They offered me $25 on a trade for another trimmer. They also said they could put on a single trimmer head at my expense. I take responsibility for letting someone change my mind about something other than what I intended to purchase. But I believe the salesman who interrupted my dealings with the first salesman acted in a disrespectful and unprofessional manner.

Desired Settlement: Replace the head with a single trimmer at no expense to me.

Business Response: The owner, Mr. King states if the consumer will come in or call him he will be glad to address her issues.  If he is not available please ask for his General Manager *****.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.Regards,*** ******Read comment on subject line.Thank you for your help.

Consumer Response: Last Tuesday, August 20, 2013, I took my Stihl Trimmer out to Specialized Saw & Mower to see what could be done to resolve my complaint.  I spoke with Mr. King, and he said that my money would be returned if that was what I wanted.  But I did not feel this was exactly right because I was the one who made the final decision to buy  the Stihl, even though I thought the salesman put too much pressure on me to purchase it.I asked them to replace the double cutting head with two strings with a single head with only one string. Unfortunately, a single head with one string is not available.  Mr. King said he had tried several companies and could not find one.  If only one string is threaded on the double head, it would take twice as much string to do a job.  He suggested that I try the trimmer blades that can be installed and take the string off.  This is what I decided to do.  This was done at no charge to me.I have used the trimmer with the blades twice, and I do like it much better than the string.  I do need more practice to get better control of the trimmer.  But, at this point, this seems to be the only reasonable solution.