BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Friendly Planet Travel Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Friendly Planet Travel Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Friendly Planet Travel Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 03, 2002 Business started: 03/01/1981 Business incorporated 01/01/1981 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Peggy Goldman, President Ms. Katherine Howard, Reservations Manager Ms. JoAnn Runner, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Peggy Goldman, President
Customer Contact: Ms. JoAnn Runner, Office Manager
Business Category

Travel Agencies & Bureaus


Additional Locations

  • 500 Old York Road Suite 200

    Jenkintown, PA 19046

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been planning for a long time to go on a safari for my 50th birthday this year. The Kenyan trip my family and I booked with friendly planet seemed reasonable enough. However, with all the terrorist attacks in kenya the past few months and the terrorists actually warning tourists to stay away or be killed, this is just too frightening. The friendly planet people said that we can exchange our trip for a different one but at a cost of $150/per person change fee!! This is ridiculous because it's not because I've changed my mind and don't want to go to kenya, it's because the threat to my family and my own life if we were to take this trip is too high. The FP staff then ignored my family's emails and refused to contact us until their South Africa trip we wanted to exchange the Kenyan one for was fully booked. In light of the conditions in kenya and all the terrorist attacks, anyone would be a fool to go there now. Even the American embassy, as per news reports have reduced their staff in Nairobi. English tour agencies have cancelled trips to kenya and evacuated their tours which were in progress.

Desired Settlement: I think friendly planet, which has been acting in a most unfriendly manner should fully refund my family for our deposits and apologize for the horrible treatment they've given us. We would have been very happy to swap our kenyan trip for one in South Africa provided there was no change fee involved. They really did not take into consideration my family's safety were we follow to through on the Kenyan trip. Hundreds of people have been slaughtered in kenya in the past few weeks. In addition, over a dozen women were kidnapped. The terrorists are specifically going after anyone who is not Muslim. I can only imagine what horrible things the terrorists would do to my sister and 16 year old niece if they discovered they're both ******! The way FP have dealt with us and this situation has been inconsiderate and unprofessional.

Business Response: Dear BBB,


In regards to the complaint. Friendly Planet has refunded all 4 the passengers, $600.00 PER PERSON back to there credit card.

Already spoke to passengers and is resolved.

Please let me know if you have any questions.



Thanks,

***** ******

Friendly Planet Travel

Office Manager


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Friendly Planet Travel Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart