This business is not BBB accredited.

Trex Company, Inc

Find a Location

Phone: (540) 542-6300 View Additional Phone Numbers 160 Exeter Dr, Winchester, VA 22603 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.trex.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Trex Company, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 25 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

25 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 19
Total Closed Complaints 25

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Trex Company, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 20, 2001 Business started: 09/01/1996 in VA Business started locally: 09/01/1996 Business incorporated 09/04/1998 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Judy Barrow, Admin Assistant to the CEO Mr. William Gupp, CAO/General Counsel Mr. Ronald Kaplan, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Judy Barrow, Admin Assistant to the CEO
Principal: Mr. William Gupp, CAO/General Counsel
Principal: Mr. Ronald Kaplan, CEO
Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Fence Contractors

Additional Information

According to information provided by the company, its warranty coverage for its manufactured products excludes environmental issues, such as molds.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    160 Exeter Dr

    Winchester, VA 22603 (540) 542-6300

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P.O. Box 921759

    Norcross, GA 30010

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased some Trex Decking just about 10 years ago since it was advertised to be as good as or better than comparable wood products for our decking and had a 25 year warranty. Over the last few years the decking has been flaking and falling apart. We have even fallen through the deck in a few places where the boards have gotten so week that they completely broken apart. We contacted Trex and they reported that there was indeed a factory defect with the product we received and they were willing to send us replacement decking and around $300 in labor to replace the decking. Unfortunately all of the decking will have to be replaced and quotes we are getting to replace (Labor Only) is around $3000. We appreciate Trex offering to send us new decking yet we feel that Trex should in Good Faith pay for the labor to replace their Defective product as well. $300 would not even cover the removal and disposal of the defective product. If this was simply an issue with part of the decking being defective and needing replacement that would be an easy fix. Unfortunately, the entire product line during this production time frame was found to be defective by Trex. If I purchase a car and the engine is found to be defective due to a known factory defect, the manufacturer will not simply send me a new engine and make me install it. They would replace the engine for us. In good Faith we would like Trex to offer to not only send us the product but also pay to have our decking replaced.

Desired Settlement: In good Faith we would like Trex to offer to not only send us the new product to replace our defective decking but also pay to have our decking replaced.

Business Response:

*** ********** has filed a claim against Trex for "surface flaking" on his Trex decking boards.  

On April 7, 2010, the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of California issued a Final Order approving a class action settlement covering the same defect affecting the Trex product installed at *** **********'s home.  Copies of the relevant documents can be found at www.trex.com/legal/classactionsettlement.aspx.

Pursuant to the terms of the settlement, Trex has agreed to replace any decking boards suffering from the defect, and provide a labor payment in the amount of $0.18 per linear feet of replaced product.  The offer made to *** ********** is consistent with these terms.

Trex has replaced tens of thousands of decks under the terms of the class action, and is legally obligated to apply those same terms to every claimant.  We cannot pay *** ********** any more for labor than what is provided for in the settlement.

 

Trex Company

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Nothing should preclude Trex from making its customers whole.  Thousands of dollars have been spent on Trex products and installation less than 10 years ago.  Should Trex not have had such a significant defect in their product during this production period we would not have to be replacing the entire deck at significant expense.  If we only had to replace a few boards due to a warranty issue we could simply get it done.  We are looking at having to replace all the deck due to this Trex manufacturing defect at a significant expense.   The 0.18 cent per linear foot ($300-400) does not even cover the cost to have the defective decking removed and disposed of.

In good faith we would like to think Trex would stand behind their product as advertised and make good on this with us.  We appreciate the offer to send replacement boards yet we believe that Trex should step up and cover the removal and replacement costs as well.

Thank you for your consideration

*** **********

Regards,

****** **********








1/22/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/5/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased Trex decking because of the amazing 25 year fade and stain warranty that is plastered over everything they sell. I have had my deck for just over a year and spilled some juice from a bag of chicken, I attempted to clean it the next day like the instructions with warm soapy water, however it didn't work and now I have stains on my deck. I submitted a claim on 10/5/2014 and waited for a response. I never got a response until my 7th phone call in and after 1 online chat and a voicemail that Trex never returned. My claim was denied because apparently the product line that I was sold doesn't cover stains, and I needed to purchase one of their higher lines. I feel like I was deceived and taken advantage of because there wasn't anything that I ever saw that distinguished these 2 different warranties. Now I have a very expensive deck that I was hoping to last for 25 years, that has stains that make it very unappealing.

Desired Settlement: I would like Trex to honor the warranty that was presented to me when I purchased the product by either replacing the stained deck boards, or reimburse me for the cost of those deck boards.

Business Response:

Trex does offer a 25 year fade and stain warranty, but only on our newer generation capped products, such as Trex Transcend and Trex Enhance.  We do not offer this warranty on our Trex Accents product, because this product will stain under certain circumstances.  We disagree strongly that the consumer was deceived.  Attached is a copy of the 25 year fade and stain warranty that was in effect in 2012 when the consumer purchased the Trex Accents product.  The Warranty is clear that it only applies to the Trex Transcend and Trex Enhance products. 

We do have instructions on how to clear Trex Accent product which can be found on our website at ***********************************************************************************************

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because the warranty that was presented to me when I purchased this product was the warranty for what I have just learned is the higher grades of Trex decking.  I purchased my decking with the understanding fading and staining would be covered under the warranty that was presented to me, this is why I feel deceived.  If I would have known fading and staining wasn't covered I wouldn't have purchased this product.


Regards,

******* ******








Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I looked on my receipt and the sales person has a code which is ******. 

Regards,

******* ******








Business Response: We spoke to the store manager of the **** ***** store where the product was purchased, and he spoke with the salesperson identified on the receipt.  The sales person does not recall the conversation with the consumer, but is fully knowledgable on the differences in the various Trex products.  The store manager does not believe he would have advised a consumer that the fade and stain warranty covered the Accents product. 

12/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased Trex "Accents" composite deck boards in August of 2005 for a slightly larger than 10' X 10' deck. We now have the following issues with the TREX boards: 1. Extreme color fading 2. Deterioration of board composition, with flecks of saw dust like particles predominant on the board surfaces 3. Swelling of the boards 4. Persistent mold on all the boards 5. Loss of 'wood grain" on most boards leaving a solid plastic look to the deck The fading was something that was mentioned when we purchased the product but we did not imagine it to be so stark a difference. The central basis for this complaint is that we were told that TREX was a "maintenance free" product unlike a comparable wood deck. It was further claimed that it would always maintain its beauty over the years because of the quality of the composite materials used in the manufacture process. We were told a simple rinsing occasionally was the extent of effort needing for maintaining the deck. For my part I have kept the deck up with consistent leaf and debris removal and the recommended occasional rinsing with water. The small deck is off our master bedroom and is seldom used so there is very little foot traffic on it everl. I contacted the Customer Support staff at TREX to voice my concerns and disappointment with their product. They provided a link to download the "Concern Form" as well as a list of the numerous requirements to submit the form. I complied with all the steps and documents needed with the form and sent them to TREX. They rejected my claim and gave me instructions for cleaning my deck implying that it was a problem with keeping the deck clean. I am very unhappy with not only TREX's response to my complaint, but their lack of accountability for their false claims and poor product quality. After receiving the letter rejecting my claim I went to the Internet to see if I was the only one with TREX related problems. I found that there are many customers out there who have the same or worse problems with the TREX Accents composite boards. Not surprising they all were convinced by the advertised lack of required maintenance to buy the TREX brand boards even though the product was much more expensive than the comparable wood products. The other common factor in all these cases was the poor to bad response from TREX to these customer concerns. It seems that instead of accepting responsibility for the product faults and helping customers rectify their situations, TREX consistently put the blame on the consumer and/or provided minimal or no compensation. Even with a recent class action settlement due to mold, there are many stories indicating that TREX continues to limit their culpability as they find reasons to minimize payouts. I am only going to the Better Business Bureau because the TREX company is unable to see a claim like mine as an opportunity to prove that customer satisfaction is important to them. Promises should only be made to customers if the company plans to stand behind them. As I have plans to replace the deck, my resolution for this problem would be compensation from TREX for the warranted value of the TREX boards. Thank you for your help.

Desired Settlement: Compensation for replacement of the TREX boards.

Business Response: We will be reaching out to the consumer to discuss a resolution of this claim.

11/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are a condo association with 53 units. We purchased Trex product to replace outdoor staircases and walkways to the 2nd story units in our 6 buildings. We selected Trex based on their warranty, the low maintenance and resistance to mold, mildew and fading. After a year, the mold and mildew became unmanageable on the Trex board. We followed the cleaning instructions from Trex, with no success. We filed a complaint thru their customer service, only to be rejected that we didn't have a problem. After numerous attempts to request a Trex rep to come and inspect the walkways/stairs, we were informed there was a class action suit underway. To participate in the class action suit, there were new cleaning instructions to abide by, the process had to be documented with before & after photos, and had to be cleaned again after 90 days, with before & after photos. We complied, and filed our documents and forms. Shortly thereafter, we received a letter our claim was rejected. We challenged it, and rejected again. We challenged it, and rejected again but received a check for $18 to cover the cleaning costs (actual cost was over $1K) and a coupon to purchase new Trex product for 40% off. Trex does not stand by their performance claims or the integrity of their product, so why would we purchase more Trex product.? There seem to be several forums on the internet with a lot of unhappy Trex customers that were also rejected by the Trex class action lawsuit.s

Desired Settlement: We would like a monetary settlement with Trex. We are 53 homeowners that invested $350K for new walkways and stairs. We are an elderly community, and health issues are of deep concern with the constant build up of mold & mildew that is tracked into our homes on a daily basis. The integrity of the product is also a major concern as the decay of the boards is unknown and is a potential risk factor of mass proportion. We would also like a list of the settlements that were made from the class action lawsuit, and reimbursements that transpired.

Business Response:

*** ****** filed a claim on behalf of a condo association with Trex Company under the terms of a class action settlement which covered alleged defects in Trex's product due to mold growth.  The settlement provides for certain Tiers of relief, and requires a claimant to meet certain requirements for the various Tiers. 

In order to be eligible for Tier 2 Relief under the settlement, which provides for a 40% rebate certificate for the purchase of Trex's newer generation composite product, a claimant must clean their deck, and mold must reappear to a certain level within a 3 month period.  In order to be eligible for Tier 3 Relief, which provides for a 20% refund of the original purchase price, a claimant must meet the Tier 2 requirement, and in addition, they must send Trex a sample from their deck, which must fail to meet a certain specific gravity requirement (as tested by Trex).  Trex originally denied the claimant Tier 2 Relief because they did not submit all of the required documentation.  Upon request of class counsel, Trex reconsidered, and elected to provide Tier 2 Relief to the clamant.  Trex tested the claimant's sample for Tier 3 Relief, and it did not meet the requirements.  Accordingly, the claimant was provided Tier 2 Relief.

The claimant now wants additional compensation from Trex beyond that provided by the terms of the settlement.  Trex cannot do this.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The response from the Trex representative is inaccurate and I have a complete copy of the documents we submitted plus a CD of the 160 photos supplied of the required 6+ month cleaning requirement.  How is this company able to misrepresent their product to the public and not stand behind their warranty.   There are a multitude of forums on line with dissatisfied Trex customers, and we all have the same issue during a 6 year period of inferior product.  Why wasn't there a recall?  The automobile industry does it, as man others.  We have a health concern and  safety concern with Trex.  The good news is they have ceased production of the particular line of product.  But now 70,0000+ (Trex estimation) customers are at risk.  How can this company continue to conduct business selling inferior product and not fulfilling their claim of a warranty that is non-existent?


Trex needs to be held accountable, and we want a $375,000 reimbursement for the decks & stairs that were built with Trex product.

Regards,

*** ******








9/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Trex is failing to honor it's product claims and warranty. I have been working on a warranty claim for 2 years. My boards have adsorbed so much water that the 1/4 inch gap between the boards have closed. In addition, there is wood decaying fungus growing both above and below the decking surface. ******* County Consumer Protection Division has gotten involved but there has been no resolution as Trex continues to deny the damage to the decking material.

Desired Settlement: Refund of decking material and installation.

Business Response:

The consumer has made a claim based on alleged "fungal decay" on her Trex deck.  The deck was installed in 2002, and the consumer first made a claim in late 2011.  We inspected the deck in January 2012, and again in April 2014.  In neither inspection did we find any evidence of fungal decay.  The deck does have substantial dirt and mold growth, both of which can be cleaned.  The deck is now 12 years, so there is some expected “wear and tear”.   

 

The inspections did indicate that there is no gapping between the boards.  Trex's installation instructions require that the boards be installed with a gap between the boards.  This gap is intended to cover the slight thermal expansion and contraction of our product, which is normal.  It is also intended to allow for shrinkage of the joist system.  Our installation instructions require that the gaps must be at least 1/4", but notes they should be 3/8" if installed in colder weather.  The consumer's deck was installed in October/November of 2002, so the gaps should have been at least 1/4" and possibly 3/8" if the weather was cold. 

 

With respect to the consumer's deck, the gaps have substantially closed, which is causing water to pool on the deck, contributing to the mold growth.  This may be because of insufficient gapping at installation or excess shrinkage of the joist system.  At this point, there is no way to definitely determine it.  We do know, from measuring the boards during our inspection, that the width of each board today is still within our original specifications, suggesting that the boards did not expand beyond expectation.

 

As a legal matter, the consumer's deck is subject to the terms of a 2004 nationwide class action settlement.  The terms of the settlement can be found at http://www.trex.com/legal/classaction.asp.  One of the claims covered by the settlement is swelling of boards, which is being claim by the consumer.  Under the terms of the settlement, Trex agreed to replace, with labor, any boards which have expanded by more than 1/4 inch from the nominal measurements set forth on a schedule which is available on www.trex.com/legal/measurements.asp.  The nominal width for the consumer's boards is 5.50".  Our 2012 inspection and our 2014 inspection measured 60 seperate boards, whcih  varied on the low end of 5.47" and on the high end of 5.55".  About half the boards measured under 5.50" and about half measured over 5.50", which is what we would expect to find.  No board measured more than 5.75", which what is required for a remedy under the class action settlement.

 

Trex recently settled a class action relating to mold growth.  (See http://www.trex.com/legal/2013classactionsettlement.aspx)  Under the terms of the settlement, if a claimant cleans their deck, and if the mold returns to a certain level within 3 months, they are entitled to a 40% rebate on our newer generation Transcend® or Enhance® product.  These products are mold resistant.  We agreed to provide to the consumer, on a confidential basis, with this 40% rebate certificate.  Given that her deck is now 12 years old, we believe this is more than a fair offer.  The consumer rejected this offer.

 

William *. G***

Chief Administrative Officer, General Counsel & Secretary

 

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

My complaint was not about mold, it was about fungal growth and swelling so I refuse to settle for something that applies to mold.  There is fungal growth both below and above the decking material and as Trex admits, substantial water gain so that the boards no longer have space between them.  I have no interest in spending more money on a product that has failed (they are going to make more money off of me) and the company is unwilling to uphold their warranty.   
Trex no longer manufactures this product because of these problems and there are two class action lawsuits related to my problem that I do not qualify for -
Flaking:  **********************************************************************************
Swelling   - **********************************************************************************
Mold and color fading **********************************************************************************
While my decking has swelled at least 1/8 on each side I will never meet the criteria for the 2nd class action lawsuit because the boards are completely swollen together.  If they are still claiming that Sundecks improperly installed the deck, we need to bring them into the discussion. However, I don't see how 1/8 inch swelling is acceptable since it completely closed the gap between my boards. Please see attached photos for the evidence of both fungal growth and swelling.  I had a mycologist identify the material growing on the decking material as a "wood decaying fungus."  I currently have a sample out for DNA analysis to support this claim.  Fungal growth and water adsorption to fill a 1/4 inch gap do not equate to normal wear and tear but rather a product failure. Please see attached product warranty information.  

Regards,

***** ******








8/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a deck installed with Trex decking installed in 2008. The price for just the product was $3817.00 plus labor. We noticed there was discoloring, green and black, on the decking soon after. We were advised to use ******* Deck Cleaner. We purchased the cleaner, cleaned the deck and the discoloring went away temporarily. We received a letter in the mail that there was a Class Action Settlement because of a problem with the decking. I sent in the information they requested on April 16, 2014. I received a letter stating they needed more information, which I sent on May 15, 2014. I stated I would not purchase more cleaner since it didn't resolve the problem. We still have the container and some of the cleaner, however we no longer have the receipt. I then receive a letter onto June 30, 2014 stating they needed more information from us, including a sample of the decking, which I would be more than happy to send in, however they stated they claim has since been closed and they can no longer do anything for us. We still have a discolored, moldy deck and no one at Trex wants to help us out with. We were also told, they have a 25 year warranty, obviously they don't stand behind their warranty. When someone spends that kind of money on a product that is supposed to be a great product and company and then turns out that they don't stand behind their product just because we can't produce a receipt is unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: I would like the deck boards replaced, labor included or a refund for some if not all of the defective decking we purchased

Business Response: The homeowner filed a claim under a class action settlement, and did not comply with the requirements for relief, even after being notified of the deficiency in her filing.  Under the terms of the settlement, there is nothing further Trex can do.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I sent the letter and information far enough in advance if there was a problem with it or something was missing, they should have contacted me then, not wait until after the deadline. 


Regards,

****** ****








Business Response:

The homeowner's first claim to Trex under the class action settlement was postmarked April 17, 2014.  On May 1, 2014, we sent to the homeowner the attached letter noting the deficiencies in the filing.  The homeowner was seeking Tier 3 Relief under the settlement, which requires that the homeowne clean their deck usiing a prescribed product and procedure, and then mold reoccuring within a 3 month period.  As of their April 17, 2014 filing, the homeowner had not done this.

The deadline for submitting all information under the settlement was May 27, 2014.  As of the deadline, the homeowner did not submit all required documentation.  The settlement was announced in August 2013.  The homeowner waited over 8 months to file their claim. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I sent in paperwork and other information needed in the first letter.  I was then told I needed to go and purchase more deck cleaner (which I knew wouldn't work) and I told the Trex representative I wasn't wasting another $30 on a product that wasn't going to work.  I have some of the cleaner in my home, however I don't have the receipt for it and that wasn't good enough.  I also told them I had a sample I could send them but they said without the receipt it wouldn't do any good.  It sounds to me that they have some connection with ******* (the cleaner they wanted us to purchase yet another time) because why would they have us waste more money on the cleaner just because I didn't have the receipt.  Obviously there is a problem with the actual product.  When it was first installed I had called into the company and they told me to use the cleaner then, which we did and it made no difference.  Never once did they mention there was a problem then.  They stated it must be something with just our product.  It all doesn't make any sense and sounds like they are trying to cover something up.


Regards,

****** ****








7/28/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Requested delivery of replacement Trex decking boards on June 2, 2014 We're given July 7th delivery date. Scheduled contractor and. PTO for July 7th. Contacted on July 1st that delivery was postponed due to material back ordered. Contacted trex who could not tell me when product will be available and when it could be delivered. Trex claims rep, ****** *****, advised us via letter dated 3-27-14, " please allow 3-4 weeks for delivery.

Desired Settlement: Delivery of replacement trex decking . Compensation for missed work, $400 per hour x 3 work days. Trex can install product at their expense and find us a new contractor to install.

Business Response: We have arranged for delivery to the claimant on July 21, 2014.

7/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Trex in 2010 about issues with our deck and filed a complaint #*****. They did send out a representative who confirmed problems. They offered a partial remedy but said I had the right to wait and request another evaluation. Since that time I have contacted them numerous times with no satisfaction or returned calls or rmails. They continue to send me letters about the claim I have in process but do nothing about it. THey sent a warning that the boards may even break, but do nothing to replace them...

Desired Settlement: I want Trex to replace all the effected boards in a way that keeps to the design of the deck and flow of the house. I want them to cover all costs, shipping, labor, etc. All of it My deck was installed in 2006 and by 2010 We already had trouble and made a claim. They have ignored by requests since their offer in 2010. Their offer did not cover all shipping and no labor to replace these boards. Since then the boards and others have continued to deteriorate and per their safety notice pose a safety hazard.

Business Response: On July 1, 2014, we spoke to the customer, and have sent her a letter addressing her issues.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am probably going to reject this response because: Trex has finally after 4 years of discussion offered to replace all the decking materials. However they have only offered about 250.00 dollars of the labor cost to remove and dispose of their faulty decking and replace it with their new prodict. When I purchased the Brasilian decking in 2005 It was the top of their line. Their replacement offer is their least expensive product..'select' as they call it. I have had one contractor give a verbal estimate of approximately 2,400.00 to remove, dispose of, and replace the deck with the new material. That also includes 100.00 worth of Trex deck screws. I have another contractor coming in the next few days. Once I have their written estimates I will forward them to you. I have attached their offer for you and their first offer from 2011. I appreciate your involvement.


Regards,

**** *****








Business Response: Subsequent to the claimant's reply to the BBB, we have communicated with her.  Our offer to the claimant is consistent with the terms of a 2010 national class action settlement.  We regret that the claimant is not satisfied with our offer, but we are legally bound by the terms of the settlement in what we can provide.

7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased Trex Accent Saddle Decking for a deck that is approximately 1,000 square feet including Trex railings as well as spindles. I chose Trex because of its reputation, durability, quality, and outstanding warranty. Over the short period of time, I have started to have more and more problems including disappointing staining, extreme fading, multiple scratches, and re-appearing black sports. Food dropped such as pretzels, chips, or even clear apple juice was immediately apparent and after quickly cleaning up, the marks remained. Even soap and water did not remove the stains. Fading has become more and more evident to the point where after cleaning the deck it appears white in color. It is noticeably lighter and in time, I assume, will only become lighter and lighter. This only increases my issue as I purchased a deck for its color. Multiple scratches appear all over the deck due to people moving chairs. We have attempted to put numerous pads, chair protectors, glides, and even tried unsightly tennis balls, yet scratches are still made. These scratches are not intentional and are rather from someone picking up a chair and moving it to sit up or down. The deck has been cleaned now numerous times with the Trex recommended cleaner, ******* Premium Deck Cleaner. The cleaning began in an effort to remove re-appearing black spots that continued to cover the entire deck space. These black spots appear on all deck boards, stairs, railings, and spindles. When cleaning railings and spindles, the entire surface is cleaned, yet some of the spots disappear---only to reappear within weeks. The black spots reappear at greater darkness and seem to multiply. I chose Trex not only because it is a quality product but also because of the company in that it stands behind its product. I am now questioning this thinking. I also wrote to the company and made multiple phone calls, to only receive a letter stating excuses/reasons that are beyond the company's control of the product. I have asked for a representative to visit the property where the deck is located as well as to speak to a representative, all to have been told that it is not possible. Lastly, I was included in a class-action suit and received $18.00 for a refund of one bottle/container of deck wash. Trex claimed even though all evidence was sufficient for the claim, a claim could not be made as the integrity/structure of the deck was not impacted nor was the evidence enough to receive a refund or repayment.

Desired Settlement: The product's materials has been changed so new decking material that is now purchased does not have this problem. Desired outcomes include a percentage back on the purchase price or even better, complete removal and replacement. Half of a deck's cost is the labor to install. My family does not have the money to do this, so part of the problem remains not being able to afford only new decking but installation costs as well.

Business Response: We have approved the homeowner for Tier 2 recovery under the 2013 Trex Mold/Color Class Action Settlement.  Correspondence has been sent to the homeowner. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
The Trex product that was installed cost in excess of $20,000 this included Trex decking, Trex railing, Trex spindles, Trex fasteners.  This did not include any labor and/or structural materials to install the decking, which alone cost over $10,000.  In response to the class action settlement, I did receive a 40% off coupon to replace the decking, however, why would I want to incur more costs for a deck that is only 3 years old?  I purchased Trex composite decking over standard wood decking because of its superior quality and low maintenance.  This product clearly did not meet its lifespan nor the standards that Trex Company advertises.  To re-do the deck, not only would I have to pay 60% of the new product (using the 40% off coupon), but also any additional costs, like labor (demo of old and replacement of new).  Why should I be responsible for any of these costs? 

Trex offers a 25-year warranty, however, is not standing by their product.  We contacted the company within the first year.  At this time, we were told to just clean the decking with a Trex authorized cleaner.  We have done this cleaning now numerous times and the problems re-appear within weeks.  In my opinions, this is definitely a manufacture defect.

Regards,

******* ******








Business Response: We regret that the claimant is not satisfied with the relief provided under the terms of the class action settlement.  However, Trex is now legally bound by this settlement, and cannot provide any further remedy.

6/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 9 year old deck is discolored and moldy, I tried using the suggested cleaner with no success. There is currently a class action lawsuit http://www.trex.com/legal/2013classactionsettlement.aspx but in order to be made whole there are so many steps to this process that it is almost impossible. , I realize that in order to properly submit a claim I have to jump through rings of fire, I can’t believe that I would need to hack off pieces of my deck (UNACCEPTABLE!) in order to prove to Trex that my deck is discolored and moldy, and that cleaning with the proper deck cleaner did not fix that problem. Too bad my time machine was not working, if I had known that my $8,000 deck (built in 2005) would look like this less than 10 years later, I would not have purchased the product. I feel that the whole process is incredibly wrought with obstacles that are almost impossible for a regular non-lawyer person, such as myself, to overcome. All I can do now is just clean my deck and deal with how horrible it looks. This is no way to treat customers and I will do my best to turn anyone away from Trex products whenever it comes up in conversation. They have successfully made it nearly impossible for a consumer to be made whole, even with the class action lawsuit.

Desired Settlement: I want a 20% refund for the damages, as outlined in their Class Action Settlement.

Business Response: The consumer did submit a claim form under the class action settlement, but did not provide all of the documentation and the product sample necessary to be entitled to relief by the cut-off date of May 27,2014.  Therefore, we will not be able to process his claim.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  Part of their "requirements" involved me sending them pieces of my deck, which simply is not possible.


Regards,

********* *******








Business Response: Under the settlement, there were 3 tiers of relief for which consumers could try to qualify for.  Tier 1 and 2 did not require any samples to be sent.  The homeowner elected to try to qualify under Tier 3, which did require a product sample.  The homeowner could have elected to qualify under Tier 1 or Tier 2 without having to send in a sample.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Tier 1 and Tier 2 do not make me whole.  That would just provide for payment of the $15 deck cleaner I was required to buy.  I submitted my claim on 5/13/14 but was not given a claim number as of yet.  I was told that everything had to be PERFECT by the cutoff date of 5/27/14 in order to qualify for Tier 3, which I deserve.  Cutting pieces of my deck is not acceptable.  Someone can come down and inspect my deck at anytime if they want to see the discoloration/mold damage, that the cleaner did not repair.

Regards,

********* *******








6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In June 2012, I purchased Trex for decking on construction of a new house. The deck was completed in August 2012. It is a 25ft x 18ft deck with (2) 6ft x 6ft 2in steps. The color is Woodland Brown w/a darker Trex that accents the outer edge and the steps. Within a few months of installation, I began to notice dark spots on the boards (I did not realize this was mold). Over the last 18 months there has been tremedous fading (white pigment can actually be seen in the boards). Also, some warping can be seen. The only cleaning that I had previously done was to spray wash with a water hose. I did not use any cleaners. Within the last week, I received cleaning instruction from Trex which instructed me to use "******* Deck Cleaner". After following the cleaning instructions, the dark spots were cleaned, but the deck remained spotty, but this did not do anything for the fading and warping.

Desired Settlement: The warranty stated that Trex had a 25 year warranty. That Trex required "low or no maintenance" and that it would not fade in color from light or weathering exposure. I am requesting replacement of the defective product and to include all labor cost incurred in the replacement.

Business Response:

The consumer has complained about mold spots and color fading on his Trex deck.  (Because of the nature of the claim, we believe the consumer has our "first-generation product", which was sold under the trademark "Trex Accents".  We discontinued the manufacture of this product at the end of 2013.  Beginniing in 2010, we started selling the "next generation product", which has a protective shell that resists staining (including mold) and color fading.)

As a technical matter, the growth of mold on a first-generation Trex deck is not due to any defect in the material, but rather environmental conditions.  Trex fully discloses that Trex first-generation boards, like any exterior surface, require periodic cleaning, and mold growth may occur if the necessary environmental conditions are present.  We also include instructions on how to clean mold in our Product Guides and on our Website  Our limited warranty specifically excludes mold.

 

With respect to the consumer's claim regarding color fading, Trex fully discloses in its Product Guides and on its Website that its first-generation boards “weather”, and that the weathered color will be “faded”.  Our limited warranty specifically excludes color claims.  The consumer alleges that Trex represented that the boards "would not fade in color from light or weathering exposure."  This is not true.  (We do provide a fade and stain warranty on our next-generation products, but as stated above, we believe that the consumer has the first-generation products.)

 

As a legal matter, we recently settled a nationwide class action regarding mold and color issues.  The documents can be found at ********************************************************.  We advised the consumers of this class action in telephone calls on April 30, May 2 and May 5, 2014.  We also advised the consumer that the last day to file a claim was May 27, 2014.

 

******* ** ****

Chief Administrative Officer, General Counsel & Secretary

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

When I purchased the Trex product in June 2012, I was not told that there was a "first" or next "generation" product.  It was advertized as being "low" or "no" maintenance and that there was a 25 year warranty. If we had been told that this product was inferior, we would have chosen something else. I really do not know that there were any other options in the Building Supply Office in which we purchased the product. I have spoken again with the Building Supply Company and have been told that they were under the same impression concerning the warranty. They were unaware of any problems or that there was a Class Action Lawsuit going on at this time. The "rep" that calls on this company has never informed them of the problems going on with this product. I was never notified by Trex concerning the Class Action. I only learned about it wihen I called in regard to the problem I am having.
I have spoken with the claims department, but have learned from them that they only assist in filing a claim (paperwork required).  So, it sounds like Trex is not willing to stand behind their product or warranty.  On a deck that is only 18 months old and materials that total over $8500 and Trex is only (maybe) going to give me a fraction of what I have paid for a product that they knew was inferior.  It is outrageous for a company not to stand behind a product that they clearly misrepresented.



Regards,

***** *****

6/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Trex decking boards are absorbing moisture resulting in the product expanding,warping and popping off screw heads

Desired Settlement: The product being replaced.

Business Response: We do not believe the Trex product is defective in any way.  Notwithstanding, as a gesture of goodwill, we are going to offer the homeowner replacement materials.  An offer letter was mailed on June 3, 2014.

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Trex decking is crumbling, making it unsafe to walk on and the appearance is very bad

Desired Settlement: I want the deck replaced as Trex has admitted they made defective boards. The estimate to remove and replace the defective decking is $18,400. I am estimating the cost plus lumber is going to be $25,000

Business Response: We have completed our inspection of *** **** deck, and will be responding to him shortly.

1/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In June of 2010 we had a Trex Transcend deck installed to replace our old deck. That winter the 6 and 12 inch fascia boards cupped. We contacted the contractor and he reached out to the supplier (*** *****) and the Trex rep. Emails were exchanged, but no action was taken. There was discussion about the screws used and how the boards were already cupped prior to installation. There was discussion about the 2010 installation guide – but no verification that the anyone had a copy of it! Nothing changed in 2012. In 2013, I contacted Trex directly and started a claim because nothing else was being done at that point. I completed an extensive pile of documents along with pictures and proof that we own the property and sent the packet off to Trex. I didn’t hear anything from the company so I called back again. The customer service representative said that they couldn’t do anything – they stated that the boards needed 3 screws, I think asked for a supervisor and discussed the pre-cupping of the boards and noted that the boards on the side of the deck were only 6 inches, not 12 and those were also cupping. He was not very friendly, but finally said they would send out an inspector. I received a call from the inspector in August prior to receiving the letter from Trex stating that they were sending an inspector. The inspector said the only day he could make it was that Sunday – so I scheduled with him – not very convenient for the customer (for a 3 hour deck inspection!). Keep in mind that we do not have a large deck and we are talking about an expensive inspection by an inspector from Colorado – for a few fascia boards on the deck. I tried to call Trex the day I received the letter – left a message and they never called me back – I asked that a copy of the report be sent to me. Again – I did not hear anything back until October – when I received a letter that stated the same thing about the screws and the 2010 installation guide – which I still have not seen a copy of – and was not to my knowledge provided to the contractor – if you don’t have the guide or know about it – how can you follow it? They also commented on other issues with the deck – but how can they say that affected the issue back in the winter of 2010-2011? If they are providing a warranty on a deck that costs 3 times that of a typical deck – a 25 yr warranty…they should be required to inspect the deck for installation issues or have the consumer provide additional proof information from the contractor vs. what has happened above. This situation is so wrong I did not know which issue to select from the drop down. How can a company treat its customers like this? At this point - the supplier, *** ***** has agreed to replace the boards in the Spring of next year and the contractor will need to come back and install - but I don't think this is right - I believe that Trex should take care of this issue and restore the warranty. I still haven't received anything stating that the warranty is completely void - what about if we have any issue with anything else on the deck?

Desired Settlement: We would like the deck fixed so that the warranty is reinstated for the next 25 years. We would also like a complete copy of the inspectors report .

Business Response:

Trex arranged for an inspection of this deck on August 25, 2013.  The inspection confirmed that the fascia boards were not installed properly.  Our Installation Guidelines call for attachment every 12 inches with 3 screws.  The homeowner's fascia was only installed with 2 screws.

Notwithinstanding this, the homeowner has said that the supplier has agreed to provide replacement fascia materials.  Even if the materials were defective (which they are not), our Limited Warranty provides for replacement of materials only, and not labor to install them.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:They have failed to provide any proof that they provided those instructions to the supngplier or to the contractor that installed the deck.  They brought the inspector in 3 years after the entire event started with one of their sales reps.  They failed to take care of the issue in a timely manner and are now saying 3 years later that it is not their responsibility.  Regarding their limited warranty - I believe they should now cover the materials and labor because they failed to address the issue immediately when it happened and because they failed to inspect the deck after installation to ensure the warranty was valid.  It's too easy for companies like this to charge three times what a normal deck would be and promise a grand warranty that they never plan to cover.  How many other customers are in the same boat because a company like Trex is allowed to continue operating.  Why aren't they being held accountable?

The supplier should not need to cover the materials - Trex should be willing to take care of the issue with their materials.  The contractor we worked with has over 30 years of experience and shared in the emails sent to the rep details about why those boards failed stating that 3 screws would not have made any difference.  In addition, the smaller boards on the side of the steps failed in the same manner one more screw would not have made any difference and Trex did even consider replacing those.


Regards,

******* *********








Business Response:

With respect to the consumer's claim that we failed to provide proof that we provided installation instructions, Trex cannot do this.  We sell our products through retail, and we do not know the identities of every purchaser of the product.  Our installation instructions are available at retail and on our website, but there is no way for Trex to confirm that each consumer actually receives them.  If a deck is installed by a contractor, it is the contractor's responsibility to make sure the deck is installed properly.

We do want to clarify one issue with the consumer.  It appears the consumer may be under the mistaken impression that their warranty is void.   This is not correct.  The warranty is still applicable to the deck.  It simply doesn't apply when an issue is caused by improper installation.

We regret that we will not be able to satisfy this consumer.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: of all the previous statements.  The screws that were used broke off they did not hold the materials on to the deck and because of the materail used to make the boards it would not have made a difference if 2 or 3 screws were used.  You can see that based on the smaller boards used on the side of the steps.  Regarding the warranty - I want to know exactly what it is suppose to cover and how much and for how long - because as far as I can see - it is worthless.  If you are not going to stand behind your product - then don't offer a warranty - buyers beware!  And we were only asking for a as couple of boards to be replaced...what if it had been the entire deck?  After the inspection that was done - tell me what the warranty still covers?

I am still asking for Trex to step up and stand behind their product.  If you are going to offer a warranty don't hide behind blaming it on the contractor - you could have your sales rep do a much better job of sharing exactly what needs to be done for customers upon installation - that was NOT done in this situation.

I would not recommend this product to anyone.


Regards,

******* *********








11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have purchased approximately $2000.00 worth of TREX brand outdoor decking. Within one day of purchase and construction of deck, we started to notice small black marks emerging from the inside out on the top of the decking. Some markings were the size of quarters with others smaller and a few much larger. Trying to remove them with soap and water proved to us that it was a stain emerging from the inside out. We spoke with our retailer, ***** who have been very accomodating. They offered for us to return the decking, but we were nearly complete with the project when we noticed the problem and decided that rather than remove the decking and "wasting" our time and labor, we would be willing to be reimbursed for the product. We were willing to be reimbursed $1000.00, half of the purchase price. In comunicating with *****, the TREX rep offered $150.00 then increased it to $300.00 after much discussion with the ***** associate. Added to this story, the TREX rep informed the ***** associate that they have had many problems with this product in the past and have D/C'd it, ut continue to sell it to consumers as ourselves.

Desired Settlement: We are willing to accept this product at half price...$1000 and will keep this product as is. Please assist us in this concern. Our sincere thanks to you.

Business Response:

We were aware of this consumer's complaint.  There are stains on a few of the consumer's boards.  These stains can be cleaned.  ****'s offerd the consumer a full refund for the product, but the consumer did not want to accept this offer.  ****'s then offered $150 initially, which they increased to $500.  This is more than a generous offer for the staining (which, as stated above, can be cleaned).  The request for $1,000 is unreasonable. 

The consumer states that a Trex rep. informed the ****'s associate that "they [Trex] have had many problems with this product in the past and have D/C'd it, but continue to sell it to consumers as ourselves."  This is not true.  Trex is discontinuning the Accents product line, but not because of any problems with the product.  Accents is Trex's first generation wood plastic composite product, and will be replaced by newer generation "capped" products (which have a protective shell on top of the wood plastic composite core).

10/7/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We made the decision to build our deck with the Trex material. We went through **** ***** (the ********, UT store number ****), which is the authorized retailer in my area. Over the last 3 months, the experience that I have had working with **** ***** through your local supplier has been nothing short of ridiculous. Through many orders, I have received product that was different colors, damaged product, and multiple deliveries of product that wasn't what was ordered, all causing significant delays in our deck build and hours dedicated by my contractor that he couldn't work because the product delivered was inaccurate or damaged. This project has been delayed close to a month because of the delays due to wrong deliveries and damages. I have spent over $7,000 with trex so far. It started off very poorly when the supplier had told **** ***** that my first large order of decking would be delivered on the following tuesday from when I ordered it. That day came and I had come to find out that it wasn't delivered and that they were "backed up because of a special they were running." That delivery came 5 days later, after the promised delivery date. Ever since that, we have had issue upon issue with the product delivered and delivery errors. We did have one representative from Trex come out to our home to inspect the material that had come in a much darker color than the other material. He agreed it was off and promised to send the correct color. He did that but the future orders came with the same color that was not consistent with the rest of the deck. **** ***** continuously blamed their "supplier" which is why I am also coming to you with the complaint.

Desired Settlement: I would like to know what is going on with your supplier in our area and notify you of the experience I have had with this very large order of trex. (over $7000)

Business Response:

The homeowner has been provided a remedy that we believe has satisfied him. 

9/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called the Trex company several times in regards to filing a warranty claim with issues I'm experiencing with my Trex deck. I only seem to get an automated machine where I have left my telephone number and my name for a follow-up call. No one from the company has returned my calls after several attempts.

Desired Settlement: I would like to speak to a representative in regards to filing a warranty claim and have a Trex rep visit my property to analyze / discuss my issues with the deck.

Business Response: Someone from Trex will call them in the next few days.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, I will comply with the business's instructions in regards to the next step (providing paperwork & Photographs) in resolving this issue. I consider this matter open until a final determination has been reached between myself and the said business herein.

Regards,

********* *******

7/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Visited the local **** ***** and explained to the rep that I wanted to replace my existing wooden deck with a MAINTENANCE FREE material. He recommended the Trex Composite decking. No mold, no fade, no painting.. We purchased the Trex and had it installed. Within 6 months the decking had black mold all over it. We contacted the Trex Service Center immediately. Since the we have spent over $100 dollars on cleaners and solutions that were supposed to cure the problem. Yes, the mold is gone for a few weeks or months but always returns. Trex has promised to resolve the issue but so far all we have received is lip service. I either want the decking replaced with something that will not mold or my money back.

Desired Settlement: I want what i was promised.. a deck that is maintenance free..

Business Response:

Trex carries two lines of products.  Our first generation product, Trex Accents, is not a maintenance-free product, and we have never advertised it as such.  With respect to mold, mold can grow on any outdoor surface, and Trex fully discloses that Trex Accents product requires periodic cleaning, and mold growth may occur if the necessary environmental conditions are present.  We also include instructions on how to clean mold both on our website, and in printed material available at **** *****.  With respect to color fading, we also fully disclose that our first generation product "weathers", and that the weathered color will be faded.

In 2010, we introduced Trex Transcend decking, which has a proprietary protective shell on the surface which resists color fading and mold staining.

We are not sure what **. ******* means when he says, "Trex has promised to resolve the issue but so far all we have received is lip service."  We have no record of **. ******* making a claim with Trex.  We would like to know who he spoke with.

7/9/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Trying to get trex to replace our deck and railing because of the peeling of the boards and cracking on the railing. They have agreed to repacing the boards but not the railing. So after sending more photos by certified mail, and their "inspector". Trex decided they wouldnt stand by their faulty product!! Trying to reach anyone by phone is impossible with the usual run around form them.....ie.....out of office so leave a voice mail that never gets returned, OR on vacation but so in so is in but out of the office(always ). So I am fed up and this is why I'm contacting you.This has been going on since 2012!!!! And I'm sick of it. Please HELP!!!! Trex had a lifetime warranty at the purchase date and our deck is only now 6yrs old!!! Thank You, *********

Desired Settlement: Deck and railing completely replaced by trex.

Business Response:

*** and **** ***** contacted us in June 2012 regarding a defect in their Trex decking boards.  Upon an inspection conducted at their home on September 4, 2012, we found that the decking boards were suffering from surface flaking, which is covered under the terms of a 2010 Class Action Settlement.  On September 25, 2012, we sent a letter to the ***** offering to ship replacement decking materials to their home, and pay them an additional $144 pursuant to the terms of the Class Action Settlement.  *** and **** ***** responded back that they believe the railing material is also suffering from surface flaking.  

The inspection we conducted on September 4, 2012 did not indicate any surface flaking on the railings.  A detailed review of the photographs taken during the September 34, 2012 inspection and photographs submitted by the ***** confirms this finding.  The railings are not defective, and only show normal wear and tear.  Accordingly, we have denied their claim for replacement of the railings.  The railings do show dirt and mold growth, which can be cleaned using the cleaning instructions found on Trex's website. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Trex Company, Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)