BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

MI Windows And Doors, Inc

Find a Location

Phone: (717) 365-3300 View Additional Phone Numbers 650 W Market St, Gratz, PA 17030 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.miwd.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that MI Windows And Doors, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for MI Windows And Doors, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 13

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 29, 1998 Business started: 11/01/1966 in PA Business started locally: 04/01/1981 Business incorporated: 11/22/1966 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stan Sullivan, President Eastern Division Tara Miller, Field Service/Supervisor Mr. Josh Williard, Retail Account Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Tara Miller, Field Service/Supervisor
Principal: Mr. Stan Sullivan, President Eastern Division
Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers Screens - Door & Window Storm Windows & Doors


Additional Locations

  • 650 W Market St

    Gratz, PA 17030

  • PO Box 370

    Gratz, PA 17030

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    704 12th Avenue

    Smyrna, TN 37167

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (717) 365-2500(Phone)
  • (717) 365-2501(Phone)
  • (717) 365-3480 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/26/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/17/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 3 installed windows ll have cracks around the base and sides allowing water to penetrate drywall and sills. MI windows claims that the type of cracks are not covered with warranty and claim that cracks were caused by someone or something. Note all 3 windows have same cracks. Upon purchasing this home an inspection did not reveal any problems with windows. Within past few months water began to seep through windows. How can a window manufacturer not be held accountable for product beyond one year. The onsite cost for the company to look at windows is $250 and does not cover any repairs. We sent in photographs of all windows instead of the pricey on-site visit. MI Windows looked at the photos and indicated that the windows are not repairable but would have to be replaced. I will be happy to send the email correspondence indicating the conversations. The windows come with a lifetime warranty and a 5 year Surestart Protection. The windows themselves were manufactured in 2006 and installed in 2008 by builder ( ****** * *****). That would indicate that we are still under the 5 year SureStar program and well within the lifetime warranty.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking MI Windows to replace the 3 windows as covered by the warranty.

Business Response:

Dear ***,

MI Windows and Doors (MIWD) has received *** *** **** **********'s complaint on cracks in the frame of their windows. There windows were manufactured in 2006 and they purchased their home in 2008 so they would be covered until the end of this year under the Sure Start warranty. The cracks you will see on the pictures attached are not a defect of the product. I can't say how the cracks occured but they are not cracks in the weld caused when the window was manufactured. MIWD has no control of the product after it is delivered to the distributor, which was ** ****** in *********** ** on time, complete and without damage and that distributor signs for that product acknowledging there is no damage to the product.

I also attached a copy of the Customer Care Claim and a copy of the Sure Start warranty. You will see under the limitations: "Defects or failure caused by improper handling or storage or by installation not in strict adherence with CertainTeed's written intructions".

If there is more documentation needed please contact me at your convenience.

 

Thank you,

**** ****** **** ****** ******************** * ***** *******

| MI Windows and Doors
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

*** * ****** *** ****** ** ********** ****************** ************

o:  ************* * ** ************

Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn  Pinterest

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/30/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/26/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
8/24/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1