BBB Accredited Business since

MI Windows And Doors, Inc

Find a Location

Phone: (717) 365-3300 View Additional Phone Numbers 650 W Market St, Gratz, PA 17030 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.miwd.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that MI Windows And Doors, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for MI Windows And Doors, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 5
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on MI Windows And Doors, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 29, 1998 Business started: 11/01/1966 in PA Business started locally: 04/01/1981 Business incorporated 11/22/1966 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stan Sullivan, President Eastern Division Mr. Anthony Matter, Marketing Coordinator Tara Miller, Field Service/Supervisor Mr. Josh Williard, Retail Account Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Tara Miller, Field Service/Supervisor
Principal: Mr. Stan Sullivan, President Eastern Division
Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers Screens - Door & Window


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/17/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are original homeowners and had a whole-house window installation on our custom home in 1994. The hardware of the sliding windows, which has failed on several units, is covered under their Lifetime Customer Assurance to Homeowners warranty but, at their convenience, refuse to honor that claim. They denied us the lifetime warranty responsibility of ********** Windows, a product name they still use, because our units were built prior to 2010. First they said the frame only was covered then claimed the ********** warranty as a whole became null and void in 1999.

Desired Settlement: Honor the Lifetime Warranty of a brand they continue to market. As difficult as it is to comply, we met the criteria for a lifetime warranty claim : Original owners, non-glass issue, non-coastal area. Replace the hardware of the units that have broken down.

Business Response: Dear ***,
In reference to *** **** *********** located at **** ** ***** ****** ******, AZ *****. MI Windows and Doors (MIWD) has reviewed *** ***********’s complaint. The sale of ******* ****** **** went through in March of 1999 and ******* *********** went out of business in 2004. MIWD handled the warranties for ******* *********** until they went out of business in 2004. The Customer Assurance Warranty *** *********** is referring to did not go into effect until 2010.
 
*** ***********’s windows are from 1994 and MIWD does not have the parts available since *********** went out of business and MIWD never manufactured original windows and doors.
 
Sincerely,
 
 
 
**** ******
Customer Care/Field Service Manager
MI Windows and Doors
650 W Market St. Gratz, PA 17030-0370
****************** ************
o:  ###-###-####
f: ###-###-####
********  *******  ********  *********

Consumer Response: We bought windows with a lifetime warranty. MIWD owns/owned that business and should take responsibility for those lifetime warranties. Even more so since MIWD continues to market the ********** name.

Business Response: Dear ***,

In reference to **************’s response. MI Windows and Doors (MIWD) did acquire ******* *********** in March of 1999, however MIWD purchased the assets. MIWD is not responsible for any liabilities and warranties of the Previous *********** company. MIWD was sending parts out for windows and doors at a charge that were manufactured prior to 1999 while supplies lasted those supplies have since been depleted. There are two different places that *** *********** can look to see if he can find parts available and they are:
 
*****************
***********
 
I apologize for the inconvenience this is causing *** ***********.
 
Sincerely,
 
 
**** ******
Customer Care/Field Service Manager
MI Windows and Doors
650 W Market St. Gratz, PA 17030-0370
********************
o:  ###-###-####
f: ###-###-####
www.miwd.com

Consumer Response: Thank you for your response. We're not inconvenienced, just disappointed. It's clear that the lifetime warranty means nothing. It's a shame.

5/26/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2 installed windows have cracks upon the front door and back door. One crack was on 12/28/2013 but another crack was on 4/26/2014! We are not sure when MIWD glass will be broken or crack in some day!!! MI window claims that the type of cracks is not covered with warranty and claim that cracks were caused by someone or something. Note all 2 windows have same cracks, and was purchased in 2005. Upon purchasing this home an inspection did not reveal any problems with windows. How can a window manufacturer not be held accountable for product beyond ten years. Any windows company told me that the windows come with a lifetime warranty at 20 years. I sent the claims to MIWD but they refused my request. The glass is as below: (1 of 1) ** ** *** *************** ** *** * ** *** * **** ********** ********** ********** ***************** **** **** *** ***** **************

Desired Settlement: I am seeking MI Windows to replace the 2 windows as covered by the warranty. And have technicians check whole glass in house.

Business Response:

May 2nd 2014

Dear ***,
In reference to ****** **s complaint concerning cracked glass. Attached is a copy of ***. s warranty and Customer Care claim for the windows in her home. Cracks in the glass are not covered under the warranty nor does the manufacturer bear no other expense such as labor costs. Their warranty also did not transfer to subsequent homeowners. **. and ***. ** is the 3owner of their property according to a property search done by MI Windows and Doors (MIWD).
After further discussions with **. ** MIWD decided to supply the glass as a onetime only good will gesture at no charge but **. ** is responsible for the shipping charge, **. ** agreed to pay the 100.00 shipping charge for the order of 4 pieces of glass and the order was processed 5/2/14.
If there is any further information needed please contact me at your convenience.
Sincerely,

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

1) I am not 3rd owner but 2nd owner of the house. MIWD should have at least ten years warrenty for the customers, which is free installation & fix glass. My house windows was made on 4/2/2005 so they should be covered in warrenty.

2) There are two windows glass breakage/crack on 12/2013 and 4/2014. I think the MIWD windows are not qulified and do not know when the glass is breakage/crack at next time? One time supplies of glass is not enough to us.

3) Till today I bever receive any upadted information on the delivery of glass. Is MIWD a good & respect industry to their costomers?

4) I had to pay for the $100 of shipping fees to MIWD because customer service said it is no way to resolve right now.


Regards,

****** **








Business Response: MI Windows and Doors (MIWD) have gone above and beyond **. and ***. **’s warranty. MIWD did provide glass at n/c even though the warranty states broken glass is not covered under the warranty, also **. and ***. ** are the 2nd homeowner. MIWD did charge a shipping cost of $25.00 per panel in accordance to the warranty provide previously. MIWD bears no expense for shipping and or labor. **. and ***. **’s glass was sent out on 5/9/14 via *** ** which should arrive this week to the **’s residence. A tracking number is available upon request.
 
 
**** ******

4/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/11/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/17/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 3 installed windows ll have cracks around the base and sides allowing water to penetrate drywall and sills. MI windows claims that the type of cracks are not covered with warranty and claim that cracks were caused by someone or something. Note all 3 windows have same cracks. Upon purchasing this home an inspection did not reveal any problems with windows. Within past few months water began to seep through windows. How can a window manufacturer not be held accountable for product beyond one year. The onsite cost for the company to look at windows is $250 and does not cover any repairs. We sent in photographs of all windows instead of the pricey on-site visit. MI Windows looked at the photos and indicated that the windows are not repairable but would have to be replaced. I will be happy to send the email correspondence indicating the conversations. The windows come with a lifetime warranty and a 5 year Surestart Protection. The windows themselves were manufactured in 2006 and installed in 2008 by builder ( ****** * *****). That would indicate that we are still under the 5 year SureStar program and well within the lifetime warranty.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking MI Windows to replace the 3 windows as covered by the warranty.

Business Response:

Dear ***,

MI Windows and Doors (MIWD) has received *** *** **** **********'s complaint on cracks in the frame of their windows. There windows were manufactured in 2006 and they purchased their home in 2008 so they would be covered until the end of this year under the Sure Start warranty. The cracks you will see on the pictures attached are not a defect of the product. I can't say how the cracks occured but they are not cracks in the weld caused when the window was manufactured. MIWD has no control of the product after it is delivered to the distributor, which was ** ****** in *********** ** on time, complete and without damage and that distributor signs for that product acknowledging there is no damage to the product.

I also attached a copy of the Customer Care Claim and a copy of the Sure Start warranty. You will see under the limitations: "Defects or failure caused by improper handling or storage or by installation not in strict adherence with CertainTeed's written intructions".

If there is more documentation needed please contact me at your convenience.

 

Thank you,

**** ****** **** ****** ******************** * ***** *******

| MI Windows and Doors
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

*** * ****** *** ****** ** ********** ****************** ************

o:  ************* * ** ************

Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn  Pinterest

 

 

2/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service