BBB Accredited Business since

Bachmann Industries, Incorporated

Phone: (215) 533-1600 Fax: (215) 744-4699 View Additional Phone Numbers 1400 E Erie Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19124 http://www.bachmanntrains.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bachmann Industries, Incorporated meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bachmann Industries, Incorporated include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bachmann Industries, Incorporated
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1924 Business started: 01/01/1833 Business incorporated 01/01/1833 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kenneth Ting, President Ms. Laura Harris, Customer Service Manager Mr. Edwin T. Winter Sr., Sr. Vice President Finance/Administrative
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Laura Harris, Customer Service Manager
Principal: Mr. Kenneth Ting, President
Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers


Additional Locations

  • 1400 E Erie Ave

    Philadelphia, PA 19124

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased Christmas rain on 01/13/14 at ***'s **** ***** ****** **** ********, Pa ***** . Took it home set it up and it worked for about 45 minutes. Went back to ***'s and he told me I would have to send back to Bachmann Industries. I called them, told me to send engine back, I did. 6 weeks later got engine back, still didn't work. Called them back, told me to send the power track back, I did. They sent me the new power track back (so they say) still didn't work. I called back, they told me to send engine back again. So I did. Got it back still didn't work. I called back., they told me to send the whole train back. So I did...Got it back , made three quarters around track and it quit working again! I called them back and they told me to send it back again.. But I have not sent it back yet, so this is where we stand.. I have paid for all the shipping but once.. I'm not getting anywhere, all I want is a new working train for my granddaughter and I to play with!!!! Complaint against Bachmann Industries, Inc **** **** **** *** ************., Pa ***** I paid $317.00 for this train. Thank You *** *********

Business Response:

Hi ******,

*** *********  is correct when he said the first time he sent this in we had a 6 week turn around because it was at the heigth of our busy season.

This was tested and we could not find any thing wrong with it so the engine was returned to the customer and a phone call should have been made to him which i cannot confirm if it was or not. (RO #****)

The second time was when he received the engine back from us which was working here when we returned *** ********* he called to say it was not working for him and he returned again to us(RO # *****)

The engine was tested again and confirmed working here and return to the customer again.

*** ********* recived his return we were called again to say it was not working when he received his return so we mailed out a new tranformer thinking it may not be the engine but his controller to the track (RO#*****)

The thrid time after he used the new controller and i this did not work we send a call tag (our cost for return)  for the engine , controller and power track to test all here  (RO # *****)

All was tested here confirmed working but the tech did repair his power track and all was returned to customer confirmed working here with two tech"s working on his return.

The customer did call and talk to another tech about 2 weeks ago to say it was this not working for him.

I will call *** ********* today to see if we can resolve this together with out any further action with the BBB.

Thank You Laura

6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: received christmas gift of plasticville item ***** airport terminal-unable to assemble as the right wall is missing in the kit, but there are two left walls. have spoken to company several times since dec 27, and exchanged many e mails. also wrote letter to president of company. they say the part is not available, and the must replace the kit(about$20.)but will not becasue i cannot produce receipt--it was a gift,

Desired Settlement: new part (right wall) or new kit

Business Response:

I do apologize for the incovenience to our customer but in order for us to help them we need proof of the purchase.

I will call them and let them know we will  mail out a new item # ***** complete because we do not carry parts for the Plasticville line.

Thank you for your patience.

 

Regards *****